130 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Bodybuilding Bodybuilding Thread V5, Lets pump some blood into some muscles

Florian
post Apr 14 2009, 12:28 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

QUOTE(outside_alone @ Apr 14 2009, 12:18 PM)
Having just started body building a month ago, I have got a lot of questions. Especially the diet part. I hope some of you here wouldn't mind to help me a little on this.

And also, having just started working, I can't afford supplements. Not every month at least. Anyway, here's how my usual diet look like:

Morning:
4 half-boiled eggs (all egg whites + only 2 yolks)
A glass of milk
2 slices of bread + a slice of cheese

or

Milk + cereal (usually POST cereal, but definitely not Coco Crunch, etc.)
Afternoon:
Mixed rice (vegetables + chicken or beef)

or

Chicken Rice (with extra chicken meat - breast meat, minus skin)
Night:
Chicken Rice (with extra chicken meat - breast meat, minus skin)

or

Whatever I can find...but usually some rice with extra chicken.
While I am quite certain the diet is OK, i am not very sure if the nutritional value is good enough. Also, I'd definitely need more variety to my meals as I'd be getting bored of them very soon. I have stopped all types of junk food (McD's, chips, fizzy drinks, etc.) and oily & fattening food (fried stuff, curry, etc). Whenever possible, I also avoid food like Maggi Goreng and Nasi Goreng, etc.

The bigger concern for me is that, what i can take in lieu of protein supplements which I can hardly afford?

Thank you all smile.gif

It's NOT OK, the main reason is that it's only 3 meals/day and with that diet I don't think you even reach 3000cal a day.
More number of meals = higher rate of metabolism = more fat burning + more muscle building = flex.gif

6 MEALS/day. I don't know how you are going to do it, but 6 meals a day is a MUST. 3 meals a day is a no-no.

cracksys
post Apr 14 2009, 01:36 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Apr 14 2009, 12:28 PM)
It's NOT OK, the main reason is that it's only 3 meals/day and with that diet I don't think you even reach 3000cal a day.
More number of meals = higher rate of metabolism = more fat burning + more muscle building =  flex.gif

6 MEALS/day. I don't know how you are going to do it, but 6 meals a day is a MUST. 3 meals a day is a no-no.

steveTV said it should be 3 meal and 3 snack.

by snack, he means small not too heavy food.
tineagle
post Apr 14 2009, 01:43 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

yeah, snack on oatmeal, prunes, fruits,high fiber biscuits,high fiber bread + peanut butter.. stuff along that line

you could throw in some lean meat or eggs if you'd like according to the other meals ur having that day too.
cracksys
post Apr 14 2009, 01:50 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

and what's that about reaching 3k calorie per day. i thought it differ between individual.
outside_alone
post Apr 14 2009, 02:10 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 14 2009, 12:23 PM)
wats ur weight and wats ur goal?
Weighing at 78kg now. I'm 178cm. Goal...? Hmm, this is difficult. How should i answer? The last time i measured i have about 18% of body fat. I'm determined to cut it down to probably 12-15%.
jamis
post Apr 14 2009, 02:11 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

yup u got to split up ur meal and eat more dude.

3k is just a average for normal human tat is weight ard 80kg. So to be "Abit" more accurate on the calculation go for .....

(bodyweight in lbs) x multiplier

Mulitplier - can be 14 - 20 depends on ur metabolism rate since every individual has a diff metabolism. so adjust it to ur needs. However, number sumtime do make u overweight, so still eat as ur body needs. 6 meals a day and consume 1g of protein to per pound of ur bodyweight and divide by 6 meals. Cant eat more? divide to 8 meals then. (i eat 7 meals sumtimes)
outside_alone
post Apr 14 2009, 02:12 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Apr 14 2009, 12:28 PM)
More number of meals = higher rate of metabolism = more fat burning + more muscle building =  flex.gif

Thanks Florian. I know I am not eating enough but I seriously can't stomach that much of food. On the other hand, I actually afraid that I would get fat...I know that's silly but I have so much fat at my midsection I just have this distorted logic playing on my mind.

In between my 3 meals, what sorta snacks can I take?
Florian
post Apr 14 2009, 04:40 PM

Descendant of Leonidas
585 posts

QUOTE(outside_alone @ Apr 14 2009, 02:12 PM)
Thanks Florian. I know I am not eating enough but I seriously can't stomach that much of food. On the other hand, I actually afraid that I would get fat...I know that's silly but I have so much fat at my midsection I just have this distorted logic playing on my mind.

In between my 3 meals, what sorta snacks can I take?
Take 6 SMALL meals, that will solve your "my stomach can't handle that much food" problem.
mofonyx
post Apr 14 2009, 05:27 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Apr 14 2009, 10:26 AM)
My goodness, I'm getting my body parts messed up. Dayum. Thanks, mofonyx.
Got your back brah.
darklight79
post Apr 14 2009, 05:28 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 14 2009, 12:04 PM)
haha... chris, u r almost double of me.
u r huge! =.= and u said u lost 5kg... gosh...
hahaha...
You're quite decent sized yourself. See how, once i get back into the swing of things we can have a few sessions together.
DEVICLOT
post Apr 14 2009, 07:32 PM

Wut?
1,000 posts

Just start my workout, got some questions i want to ask also.

1) I lift at least 3 times a week, rest a day between my workout. My workout routine is biceps, triceps, back and abs on 1st day. 2nd day is shoulder, chest, traps, and abs. Keep cycle with a day rest between. And i do it with my own dumbell set, because no time and money for gym membership. On rest day, i jogged for 20min. But just found out that HIIT is good for burning fat, so i want to try it tomorrow. Need correction for my routine?

2) My diet:

5:30am 1st thing in the morning: Instant Oat, a hard boiled egg, and Fish oil.

9am Morning: Bread or Pau, and Milk

12pm Noon : Homemade lunchbox (Random everyday)

4pm Evening : Crackers + Peanut Butter

7pm Night: Dinner at home (Random everyday)

9:30pm Before Sleep: Milk

I also drink 2 scoops of whey post workout.

I weight 86kg, 173cm, and got 25% of BF. shocking.gif shocking.gif I want to cut off my fats so i need some help for my routine and diet. Hope you guys can help me. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif Thx. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by DEVICLOT: Apr 14 2009, 07:46 PM
-Dan
post Apr 14 2009, 08:32 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Apr 14 2009, 07:32 PM)
Just start my workout, got some questions i want to ask also.

1) I lift at least 3 times a week, rest a day between my workout. My workout routine is biceps, triceps, back and abs on 1st day. 2nd day is shoulder, chest, traps, and abs. Keep cycle with a day rest between. And i do it with my own dumbell set, because no time and money for gym membership. On rest day, i jogged for 20min. But just found out that HIIT is good for burning fat, so i want to try it tomorrow.  Need correction for my routine?

2) My diet:

5:30am 1st thing in the morning: Instant Oat, a hard boiled egg, and Fish oil.

9am Morning: Bread or Pau, and Milk

12pm Noon : Homemade lunchbox (Random everyday)

4pm Evening : Crackers + Peanut Butter

7pm Night: Dinner at home (Random everyday)

9:30pm Before Sleep: Milk

I also drink 2 scoops of whey post workout.

I weight 86kg, 173cm, and got 25% of BF. shocking.gif  shocking.gif  I want to cut off my fats so i need some help for my routine and diet. Hope you guys can help me.  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  Thx. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Where are the legs? =/ Don't neglect muscle groups. And yes, HIIT is good for fat-loss.
zeist
post Apr 14 2009, 10:00 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

The big arm guy is there today again. He is not an indian nor mix. He is an arabian, but a malaysian, speaks fluent English. laugh.gif Goes with the name Taib.

Today he did chest, I tolong him again 90lbs. This time he did 8 reps, 6th rep onwards I helped him to push his elbow. FF only got max 95lbs dumb bells.

Tomorrow he is doing back, if I'm able to catch up with him tomorrow, he'll show me his deadlift at 170kg. brows.gif Close to 400lbs.
lonelydevil
post Apr 14 2009, 10:01 PM

Hello to all,

I'm a 19 year old male and I have trouble gaining weight. My current weight is approximately 52kg and I stand at 178cm.

My weight has been stationary for the past couple of years and it's indeed worrying.

My diet -

Breakfast :
Glass of milk + nestum
Couple of eggs including the yolk.
A bowl of pork noodle(varies) or other regular coffee shop delicacies.

Lunch :
Rice + meat + vegies + egg.(again, varies) OR fast food like McD.

Teatime :
Chicken ham sandwich. and fruit juice, mainly apple juice home-made.

Dinner :
Rice + meat + vegies + soup.
Fruits sometimes.

Supper :
Burger or instant noodles or mamak or yoghurt bars + milk&nestum

Besides that, I'm currently doing push-ups + squats + dumbbell lifting everyday(since a week ago) unless my muscles are sore. (Is it possible to continue the exercises when your muscles are sore?)

If any of you are wondering, yes, I've read the STICKY threads but as I'm really really tiny(52 kg says it all), due to my size, I'm having trouble eating and training as much as u guys rclxub.gif. I just want to know where and how to start gaining some body mass before starting some serious work-out.

MY PRIMARY GOAL - TO WEIGH AT LEAST 65KG(not too far-fetched I hope)

Any constructive criticisms, suggestions or tips are welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by lonelydevil: Apr 14 2009, 10:18 PM
zeist
post Apr 14 2009, 10:06 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 10:01 PM)
Hello to all,

I'm a 19 year old male and I have trouble gaining weight. My current weight is approximately 52kg and I stand at 178cm.

My weight has been stationary for the past couple of years and it's indeed worrying.

My diet -

Breakfast :
Glass of milk + nestum
Couple of eggs including the yolk.
A bowl of pork noodle(varies) or other regular coffee shop delicacies.

Lunch :
Rice + meat + vegies + egg.(again, varies) OR fast food like McD.

Teatime :
Chicken ham sandwich. and fruit juice, mainly apple juice home-made.

Dinner :
Rice + meat + vegies + soup.
Fruits sometimes.

Supper :
Burger or instant noodles or mamak or yoghurt bars + milk&nestum
Besides that, I'm currently doing push-ups + squats + dumbbell lifting everyday(since a week ago) unless my muscles are sore. (Is it possible to continue the exercises when your muscles are sore?)

If any of you are wondering, yes, I've read the STICKY threads but as I'm really really tiny(52 kg says it all), I am thinking to gain some body mass before some serious workout. I don't know where to start and am totally lost.

MY PRIMARY GOAL - TO WEIGH AT LEAST 65KG(not too far-fetched I hope)

Any constructive criticisms, suggestions or tips are welcomed.
Thanks in advance.
Underweight doesn't mean you can eat crappy oily food. I have a friend like you, 50+kg at 180cm. Now he is at 75kg after 2 years. You need whey for sure.

You need to eat clean food, whack more healthy fat, like cheese. You can whack a lot of fruits since you are skinny.

Your ideal weight = 80kg max

lonelydevil
post Apr 14 2009, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(zeist @ Apr 14 2009, 10:06 PM)
Underweight doesn't mean you can eat crappy oily food. I have a friend like you, 50+kg at 180cm. Now he is at 75kg after 2 years. You need whey for sure.

You need to eat clean food, whack more healthy fat, like cheese. You can whack a lot of fruits since you are skinny.

Your ideal weight = 80kg max

Would cheese slices be fine? The square ones we get at supermarkets. If so, how many slices per day?

Sorry for the ignorance but where can I get whey? I'm totally illiterate when it comes to health.
-Dan
post Apr 14 2009, 10:22 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 10:14 PM)

Would cheese slices be fine? The square ones we get at supermarkets. If so, how many slices per day?

Sorry for the ignorance but where can I get whey? I'm totally illiterate when it comes to health.
Whey, as in protein powder. You can get it at most fitness stores. Cheaper alternatives are from this forum, and some local websites, if I'm not mistaken.
zeist
post Apr 14 2009, 10:23 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 10:14 PM)

Cheddar chese should be good. Eat yolks good for you too. Drink 1litre of milk daily, eat more egg whites, chicken breast and other protein.

You can visit any GNC outlet or go to any health store. Or go to The Curve, look for egonutritions. Do compare the prices first before purchasing, they don't come cheap.

This post has been edited by zeist: Apr 14 2009, 10:24 PM
lonelydevil
post Apr 14 2009, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(zeist @ Apr 14 2009, 10:23 PM)
Cheddar chese should be good. Eat yolks good for you too. Drink 1litre of milk daily, eat more egg whites, chicken breast and other protein.

You can visit any GNC outlet or go to any health store. Or go to The Curve, look for egonutritions. Do compare the prices first before purchasing, they don't come cheap.
Is Whey the equivalent to 'weight gain' powder? If yes, I know what is whey.

Btw, is my current light exercise regime fine? or do i have to exercise more?

Also, what form of milk is better? Fresh milk i.e. Dutch Lady, Marigold or milk powder form+nestum?

This post has been edited by lonelydevil: Apr 14 2009, 10:35 PM
bagata
post Apr 15 2009, 12:42 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 10:30 PM)
Is Whey the equivalent to 'weight gain' powder? If yes, I know what is whey.

Btw, is my current light exercise regime fine? or do i have to exercise more?

Also, what form of milk is better? Fresh milk i.e. Dutch Lady, Marigold or milk powder form+nestum?
to make it easy;

whey = a type of protein

weight gain powder = protein + carbs

u can jz add some carbs source (like glucoline oat or cereal) to ur whey to get the same effect as weight gain powder

This post has been edited by bagata: Apr 15 2009, 02:09 PM

130 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:00 PM