Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right

talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 01:13 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(aremien @ Apr 22 2009, 12:54 PM)
wew....

sounds good.....i want to switch to DiGi...
Celcom so saks....lately, i've got this msg frm Celcom,

"A friendly reminder, your data usage is reaching the allocated 5GB/ mth (Celcom Broadband Policy). Pls reduce your usage to avoid having your speeds managed."

and this,

"Dear Sir/Ms, you have exceeded the 5GB/ mth usage as per Celcom Broadband policy. We reserve the right to control yr broadband speed when deemed necessary. Thk U."

both of them were frm 25222.

i dont know, what they mean with the Unlimited Acces... now they reduce my speed...wtf!~ FYI, i used the up to 3.6Mbps pckge.

sm1, i've got aLready blacklist with Celcom, can i switch to DiGi with my blacklist status?

brows.gif  sweat.gif    unsure.gif
i guess, once you reach the limit, they throttle you back to 128kbps right (for 3.6mbps)

even with the digi discover, explore and extreme broadband, there is a usage volume of 3gb, 10gb and 20gb respectively.
See here

Unlimited means differently according to them as we see it in laymen term. Speaking of blacklist, aint sure. You may try your luck.
aremien
post Apr 22 2009, 01:21 PM

22 posts

ya ya..... at least, i knw that the limited access...
i sign wth Celcom, but i DONT KNOW they have this policy (saks policy)
suddenly, i got that msg...

wew....

Is that Celcom cari makan hah? cheating....
davidmak
post Apr 22 2009, 01:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 22 2009, 01:13 PM)
i guess, once you reach the limit, they throttle you back to 128kbps right (for 3.6mbps)

even with the digi discover, explore and extreme broadband, there is a usage volume of 3gb, 10gb and 20gb respectively.
See here

Unlimited means differently according to them as we see it in laymen term.  Speaking of blacklist, aint sure.  You may try your luck.
Unlimited actually only applies in the time you can use the service. As with current broadband connection approach, there are no dial-up procedures to follow. Its an always on connection. Compare this to our traditional dial-up internet, we are charged according to the duration we use for that particular session. Reason being we're using the land-lines infrastructure and TM charges few cents per minute. So even if you not downloading anything, you're still using utilizing the phone lines.

Current broadband always on connection can accommodate an almost unlimited number of users anytime without going through TM's voice land-line systems (therefore skipping the usual charges). We have mobile broadband now that skips TM's entire infrastructure. So this calls for a different approach in billing customers/users. They now either charge a fix rate per month (flat method) or charge according to the number of data transferred (progressive method).

They play this new rules to old internet dial-up users giving them a sense of unlimited in those 'old perspectives'. In the new approach, unlimited has a different meaning... as in NOT SO unlimited anymore since you are charged by the data you transferred. There are more reasons like bandwidth charges, etc but that calls for a different discussion.
talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 01:32 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 22 2009, 01:12 PM)
The likelihood of the modem dropping to EDGE speeds will be higher. Also at such receptions (nevermind how many bars available, we should talk about signal strength, DSSI), the speeds will be unstable too and a lot of 're-transmission' will happen. As a result, your download speeds will be affected and also experiencing loss packets. So the modem will most likely switch back to the nearest cell tower which is most likely an EDGE-only connection (since the 3G transmitting tower is far away).

Weather conditions will also affect coverage at these bordeline areas. Coverage can wider at ideal conditions and coverage can be worse during bad conditions.
ohh my.. hmm, maybe i should hold on to the idea first. I ve still got my edge unlimited and Celcom Prepaid Broadband (boths are running fine) . Anybody in Taman Maluri using Digi BB (helloiinggg...lol)? I agree on weather conditions. Bad weather and especially b4 it rains (when you get those dark and murky clouds - like ASTRO) I ve been like in online games "Hey guys, gtg : Friends like "AIkkk why? : Me - Its going to rain here, bad weather.. LOL.

Added on April 22, 2009, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 22 2009, 01:24 PM)
Unlimited actually only applies in the time you can use the service. As with current broadband connection approach, there are no dial-up procedures to follow. Its an always on connection. Compare this to our traditional dial-up internet, we are charged according to the duration we use for that particular session. Reason being we're using the land-lines infrastructure and TM charges few cents per minute. So even if you not downloading anything, you're still using utilizing the phone lines.

Current broadband always on connection can accommodate an almost unlimited number of users anytime without going through TM's voice land-line systems (therefore skipping the usual charges). We have mobile broadband now that skips TM's entire infrastructure. So this calls for a different approach in billing customers/users. They now either charge a fix rate per month (flat method) or charge according to the number of data transferred (progressive method).

They play this new rules to old internet dial-up users giving them a sense of unlimited in those 'old perspectives'. In the new approach, unlimited has a different meaning... as in NOT SO unlimited anymore since you are charged by the data you transferred. There are more reasons like bandwidth charges, etc but that calls for a different discussion.
olla david,

i think i ve seen this back in other networking posts - Bandwith Capped Post (aint sure here) smile.gif But, thanks again for the clarifications. Haha, i am sure there must be forumers on other threads defending the my-unlimited-against-yours-unlimited biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by talrasha: Apr 22 2009, 01:38 PM
cardin
post Apr 22 2009, 01:41 PM

..::unobtrusive::..
1,256 posts

QUOTE(aremien @ Apr 22 2009, 01:21 PM)
ya ya..... at least, i knw that the limited access...
i sign wth Celcom, but i DONT KNOW they have this policy (saks policy)
suddenly, i got that msg...

wew....

Is that Celcom cari makan hah? cheating....
aremien all wireless telcos got fair usage policy (xcept AMAX Wimax) even streamyx...

-->wif celcom once u reach allocated volume yr speed wil b capped but u stil can use at throttled speed wif no xtra charge...same wif maxis n u mobile (u mobile got FUP but not implemented it yet)

-->wif digi once u reach allocated volume yr speed wil not be capped BUT they charge u 15cents/10MB until yr bill reach RM138(discover n xplore) RM188 (xtreme)...

think again who smarter here... tongue.gif
shinjite
post Apr 22 2009, 02:02 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

DiGi after max capped for Discover and Explore at RM138, speed will be throttled

For extreme, after 20GB (max capp at RM188) throttled.....
talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 02:06 PM

225 posts

aremien,

They just tell you the truth but not the whole truth. Throttled at 128kbps : they will say, "hey you still can surf the net.." but of course at lower speed, thus taking longer times.
Now, this just reminds me of something i used to do when i was small. Mom and dad asked me to study while they were out. And i did, studied for like 30minutes, and played like 1.5hours.
And when asked, "did you study?" Now, of course being a good boy, I would say, "yes i did" I did tell them the truth but not the whole truth. hehe.

They still throttle the speed as in their FAQ.

See hereon Q.16 n 17

Q16. What is the usage limit for these broadband packages?

A16. - The Discover package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 3GB. Usage beyond 3GB will be charged at 15sen/10MB and will be capped at a maximum of RM138/month.
- The Explore package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 10GB. Usage beyond 10GB will be charged at 5sen/10MB and will be capped at a maximum of RM138/month.
- The Extreme package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 20GB. Usage beyond 20GB will be free although the speed will be throttled to 128kbps.

Q17. And what happens after I’ve reach the maximum capped amount…?

A17. My, my wink.gif You will still be able to access the internet but your broadband connection will be throttled to a lower speed of 128kbps for all 3 packages.
aremien
post Apr 22 2009, 03:11 PM

22 posts

for me la...
thats better if i know about the terms and condition..
if compare with the celcom, if i use it at GPRS connection, its going so damn..
when i use maxis simcard, and make connection GPRS connection, so stable..

thats not bout the money, its about the satisfaction...
i rather pay more for the satisfaction...
speed up to 3.6Mbps huh?
i'm at Kota Kinabalu, HSDPA connection available, there were so hard to speed up to 1.6Mbps....
connection always dropped.....
even, i also use the Maxis Broadband, its just the EDGE connection, but the speed same with Celcom 3G and more stable..
ehe......

wew......

pay more for the stable service, good for me, but why i need to pay about the Unlimited pckge but it hv the another T n C that i dont know?

i'm going back to KL this friday, so if one1 frm u DiGi dealer, can u PM me with ur number..

i just clear up my blacklist with celcom...

Its Time To Change!~

icon_rolleyes.gif

thumbup.gif

brows.gif

This post has been edited by aremien: Apr 22 2009, 03:13 PM
zwanvedder
post Apr 22 2009, 03:26 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

so agree with u...so far dg bb never let me down...speed stable as ever runnin on my idm at 130-140kpbs....
never ever regret jump ship from celcom to dg...
its time to change....
shinjite
post Apr 22 2009, 03:27 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

So far so good for me here too as well wink.gif

But the idle "disconnections" do bug me at times (rarely)
talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 03:54 PM

225 posts

Aremien,

ya, i can relate to that..

Anyway, been with digi for so long (from prepaid to postpaid line)

I want to change.. change to better things.. Time to change!! (Digi broadband) lol.. biggrin.gif

sorry, if this sounds like a spam.

zwanvedder, shinjite..

may i know from where are you accessing DGBB? Thanks
zwanvedder
post Apr 22 2009, 04:24 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

from meru klang
talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 05:07 PM

225 posts

Thanks zwanvedder,

130-140kbps of edge speed you mean? or 130KB/s
8kelvin
post Apr 22 2009, 05:08 PM

59 posts

Any coverage at Serdang, near The Mines Wonderland?
Or anyone can suggest the best wireless broadband to used in that area?

cardin
post Apr 22 2009, 05:12 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(talrasha @ Apr 22 2009, 05:07 PM)
Thanks zwanvedder,

130-140kbps of edge speed you mean? or 130KB/s
130KBps on EDGE? doesn't make any sense... sweat.gif
talrasha
post Apr 22 2009, 06:21 PM

225 posts

yeah.. that's why i thought so.. bcoz looking at the coverape map, meru isnt covered..

but, i thought he might be getting it though not shown on the map (trying to do distant comparison between his house to the nearest covered area to that of mine) . 2nd, i may miss his post stating his on edge since all of us are discussing digi broadband. lol.

yepp.. my bad.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by talrasha: Apr 22 2009, 06:29 PM
PrinceCaspien
post Apr 22 2009, 06:54 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

posibble to connect to 2 pc or not? using the usb modem
cardin
post Apr 22 2009, 06:58 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Apr 22 2009, 06:54 PM)
talking about wireless UMTS/HSDPA/HSPA ....YES...
davidmak
post Apr 22 2009, 07:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Apr 22 2009, 06:54 PM)
Yes that is possible. You need to make sure both PC is connected together either with WIFI adhoc, point to point LAN, etc. Then connect the USB modem to one of the PC. Then share the wireless broadband connection to the other PC by bridging it via the network that connect both PCs. The main PC will become a gateway and the other slave PC will be able to go online though the main PC.

The downside is, the main PC must be operational in order to share the wireless broadband connection unlike a dedicated router which does not involve a PC.
shinjite
post Apr 22 2009, 08:50 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Mine would be at klang areas as well as PJ areas

291 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:59 AM