V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

dunsuntutmybuntut
post May 24 2009, 09:34 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(huaty @ May 24 2009, 08:44 AM)
The news is continue tonight 8pm (May 24, 09), please stay tune with the Ch502 Astro Bernama News. Thanks.
Watched it by chance, sorry couldn't record it. Mr. Jown Low did a nice job explaining a bit about the industry. Dis some searching, he also appeared on Bernama in 2008. Keep up the good work. A reminder on what other societies/associations are doing... can't just let the Mukah gang do all the work can we? He also mentioned the difficulties in getting permits.... hehehehe.... i'm sure the related authorities will have 'buntut panas, tak senang duduk' for a while. Get MACC involved? hehehehe.

Anyways, recently made a few friends. It is interesting to see how this industry can bond us, cross culture, cross race, cross religion. I am kinda grateful having stumbled on this industry. Sure opened up my eyes.

Anyways, progress of BH slow.Having ridiculous problems with my contractor cum consultant. Whatever it is, will make sure if he doesn't complete it on time, not only his c/o but his name itself will be erased and never mentioned in the swiftlet industry again. Can't let one bad apple tarnish the whole lot now can we?

West Wing
post May 24 2009, 10:32 AM

1,397 posts

@ this Forum
We share because we care
you learn because we share
All we want from you.........
share and care

Added on May 24, 2009, 11:29 am
A Eco farm may take about 5 to 10 years to be successful if the Eco Farm can get their supply of new birds from the towns

I maybe a swiftlets protectors but it human life first before swiftlets and this is what I shall recommend if the authorities give a deadline to move, start from that day, make sure that you all do a 45 days cycle and no new birds will fledged and see how the so called Eco Parks going to succeed. With no new birds from the towns, it shall be a black time for any Eco Park to get new bird and in less than a year, most of those new buyers will go busted and the developers will go Bankrupt.

Added on May 24, 2009, 12:19 pmTHE STAND TAKEN ON THE ISSUE

(The Director General of SFD who is also the Chief Executive of the SFC Datuk Len Talif Salleh stressed that the industry should be developed systematically based on the existing laws.

"Many of those seeking license are in towns which by the definition of the law they do not qualify," said Len Talif adding that the risks of epidemics like bird flu being the reason why the state government does not want to allow swiftlet farming in towns.

There were also complaints from the public on the stench from the bird droppings and the din from the speaker to entice the swiftlets to nest in the farms.

Len Talif also claimed that the setting up of swiftlet farms within towns disrupts business for some especially those in the food business or having stalls near the farms.

"There should not be guideline to setup the birdhouse in town. This contravenes the law," he said adding that the state government will build an eco-park and provide licenses for individuals keen)

Above are from someone who know nothing about swiftlets or someone who has hidden personal agendas. Anyway, God bless his soul if he has any.

This post has been edited by West Wing: May 24 2009, 12:19 PM
kuching_farmer
post May 24 2009, 02:17 PM

66 posts

Taken from H.... aroma blog
At about 6.30pm I quickly drove to the BH to observe how those birds will react.

My my my ......

It was something which I never expected.

Remember in the same row there were two more BH with 3 kg a month.

What I saw was something amazing. Nearly 80% of those birds roving above the rooftop will jump into the affected BH. The other two next door shared only 20%.

Unbelievable and I am not sure the reason why.

It is possible that they like the aroma very much or they are afraid to enter and keep circling above the roof top?
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
The only way to know the answer is to wait for 2 more weeks before the owner enter the BH for his bi monthly inspection.

I am very hopeful that the result will be unusual.......

Merepek!!!!
Where got birds scare to enter if ur aroma is working.i shot the aroma once and the birds enter from 2pm without going out whole day until the next morning....
whenever u do aroma inside ur farm the birds dun want go in and roving on the top roof,for me i thinks the birds is freakin the smell.and u probaly scare ur 3 kg away
good aroma will not let the birds roving outside BH .
good aroma no need to know answer from 2 weeks.1 day is enuf

my only 1 cent rupiah thought
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ Edible bird’s nest extract inhibits influenza virus infection.

ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Guo CT,
Takahashi T,
Bukawa W,
Takahashi N,
Yagi H,
Kato K,
Hidari KI,
Miyamoto D,
Suzuki T,
Suzuki Y.

Department of Biochemistry, University of Shizuoka, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences and COE Program in the 21st century, Suruga-ku, Shizuoka 422-8526, Japan.
Edible bird’s nest (EBN) is the nest of the swift that is made from its saliva. Although EBN has been widely used for enhancing immunocompetence, its antiviral efficacy has not been studied in detail. We found that EBN extract could strongly inhibit infection with influenza viruses in a host range-independent manner when it was hydrolyzed with Pancreatin F. Western blotting assay showed that the EBN extract bound to influenza virus. Furthermore, EBN extract could neutralize the infection of MDCK cells with influenza viruses and inhibit hemagglutination of influenza viruses to erythrocytes, but it could not inhibit the activity of influenza virus sialidase. Fluorometric HPLC indicated that the major molecular species of sialic acid in EBN is N-acetylneuraminic acid. The results suggest that EBN is a safe and valid natural source for the prevention of influenza viruses.

PMID: 16581142 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]

This post has been edited by kuching_farmer: May 24 2009, 03:59 PM
swift4ever
post May 24 2009, 10:15 PM

263 posts

'Sarawak swiftlet farming breaking news' SMS received but missed out on the telecast as I was out on a dinner. Some members are informed at the last minute but they hardly know the true story.... cry.gif

This post has been edited by swift4ever: May 24 2009, 10:22 PM
calvinswiftlet
post May 24 2009, 10:29 PM

35 posts

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsfeatures.php?id=413013
Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 02:15 AM

236 posts

Aiya……..ai………. There gone the 30 plus K ………..and the hope………into the drain.
Looks like the Sarawak owners are not given choice by those corrupted bastards……..Now left with two choices……1) the legal battle…..and 2) the political way.

1) Sarawak owners, our advice is that no point further pleading and kowtows anymore. It is time to really stand up and stand out in unity and pool in funds for a legal battle whether you like it or not. It looks like life or death for your BH business any time as from now. And you have to fight and fight it real hard. Don’t be selfish any more. Hiding behind others for a ride. We understand that many did not pay up as agreed to the previous expenditures of close to a few hundred K incurred. Only a handful foots the bills. All of you have to sit down once and for all and discuss sincerely and urgently as to how to find the best formula to share out the legal fees. This time, you all have to be prepared for a COURT INJUNCTION. Better start preparing now. Don’t get caught like a sitting duck. Or else you shall cry without tears but with bloods. You better believe than not. With the COURT INJUNCTION, you are able to stall them till the next General Election any time in less than a year.

2) Start to join up and support the opposition parties. Donate generously to them and help them become stronger so that they can take on the corrupted bastards finish them just like what we did in several states in West Malaysia. Had we not done that in the last election, do you think that the BN would talk of 1MALAYSIA and negotiated with us over the guidelines now? We are very sure over here that by the next Election in about two years as from now, the BN will become opposition if they don’t try harder enough to win back the people. Don’t be naïve and leave it to god to fight for you. God can only help you provided you are prepared to fight. Remember no one including god will pity you if you are a coward who dares not to fight even for your own justified rights. When everyone of you start to be angry and united as one and become fierce and hard in your stand to resist with good preparation, the idiots would start to have more to worry and think not twice but thrice if they ever want to be that hard again. If they are really that stupid then they are committing political suicide.

dunsuntutmybuntut
post May 25 2009, 08:16 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(kuching_farmer @ May 24 2009, 02:17 PM)
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ Edible bird’s nest extract inhibits influenza virus infection.

ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Guo CT,
Takahashi T,
Bukawa W,
Takahashi N,
Yagi H,
Kato K,
Hidari KI,
Miyamoto D,
Suzuki T,
Suzuki Y.

Department of Biochemistry, University of Shizuoka, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences and COE Program in the 21st century, Suruga-ku, Shizuoka 422-8526, Japan.
Edible bird’s nest (EBN) is the nest of the swift that is made from its saliva. Although EBN has been widely used for enhancing immunocompetence, its antiviral efficacy has not been studied in detail. We found that EBN extract could strongly inhibit infection with influenza viruses in a host range-independent manner when it was hydrolyzed with Pancreatin F. Western blotting assay showed that the EBN extract bound to influenza virus. Furthermore, EBN extract could neutralize the infection of MDCK cells with influenza viruses and inhibit hemagglutination of influenza viruses to erythrocytes, but it could not inhibit the activity of influenza virus sialidase. Fluorometric HPLC indicated that the major molecular species of sialic acid in EBN is N-acetylneuraminic acid. The results suggest that EBN is a safe and valid natural source for the prevention of influenza viruses.

PMID: 16581142 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]
Cool. So where's the local uni's research/studies? We have food tech, biochem/chem, nutrition, medical, health sciences/biomed faculties.... MARDI? Other research institutions.... but still rely on research from abroad. Except from some behavioral research by CK Lim, and one from UPM (protein composotion)... haven't seen much. Assuming EBN extract is taken generally without categorizing its actual contents or percentage... it still needs an activator or maybe a co-enzyme (Pancreatin F) to be in its active form against influenza. In other words, this is just lab work, not applicable just yet due to the lack of information and process. Secondly, inf v has a lot of strains. If the inhibitory action is non-specific, ok la. Kot specific to one strain je, no use also. Then again the inf v family has a common trait/feature. Lets see what happens. Lastly, the inhibitory action maybe secondary to another process. Possible.

No offense but our uni's are more like secondary schools. Not many dept or faculties have an intensive & committed research team. In continuation to Lucas 1's heartfelt post, and in relation tom academia... if there is available research based data, statistics, benefits, protien/chemical content of birds nests, plus education and proper briefing by the right people... i think it would contribute a lot to the industry. We are well aware of the jokers pouring advice to the authorities with possible self interest in mind... it should be countered by real advocates of the industry. Maybe a panel on Bernama's Consumer forum/program? maybe a slot on MHI/SPM, maybe a talk on radio? Maybe a signed petition to the authorities from an alliance of all state associations? Maybe make a birds nest associations presence be felt during by-elections? More press statements? Possibly look back at international conferences of preservation? Maybe link with KPDN's program of sustainable consumption? Maybe look at the possibility of inviting international news highlighting destruction & deaths of swiftlets due to BH closure? Huh... so many ideas but non can be done alone.

1swiftlet!!! >.<

1swiftlet!!!

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: May 25 2009, 11:05 AM
West Wing
post May 25 2009, 11:27 AM

1,397 posts

[quote=Lucas 1,May 25 2009, 02:15 AM]
"Aiya……..ai………. There gone the 30 plus K ………..and the hope………into the drain.
Looks like the Sarawak owners are not given choice by those corrupted bastards……..Now left with two choices……1) the legal battle…..and 2) the political way.
1) Sarawak owners, our advice is that no point further pleading and kowtows anymore. It is time to really stand up and stand out in unity and pool in funds for a legal battle whether you like it or not. It looks like life or death for your BH business any time as from now. And you have to fight and fight it real hard. Don’t be selfish any more. Hiding behind others for a ride. We understand that many did not pay up as agreed to the previous expenditures of close to a few hundred K incurred. Only a handful foots the bills. All of you have to sit down once and for all and discuss sincerely and urgently as to how to find the best formula to share out the legal fees. This time, you all have to be prepared for a COURT INJUNCTION. Better start preparing now. Don’t get caught like a sitting duck. Or else you shall cry without tears but with bloods. You better believe than not. With the COURT INJUNCTION, you are able to stall them till the next General Election any time in less than a year".

Agreed with you on getting a court injunction on it and battle in out in court and this will buy you time which will be required if you fail to convince the present authorities, you may have time to change the sky if needed. Otherwise, to leave it like this for political changes on the next election, years later, your BHs are already totally demolished and there are nothing to save at all. What the Sarawak BH owners must do are to unite and contribute toward a legal fund and battle it out in court and with so many BH owners and supporters in Sarawak, there shouldn't be a problem at all. Get some sort of a formula like a certain amount per BH and then pay up to a qualified legal firm to prepare for battle on the first battle call.

Meanwhile, those who have contacts with all Societies concerning preventing of cruelty to animals, wild life protection or some similar type of associations to support you on this and apply pressure on the Sarawak Government..........if these societies refuse to help , tell them to go to hell for they are not doing anything to support what they are standing for and only doing all for publicity and trying to get fund from all the Animals loving people all over the world......a cheater and liar, I would say...

THose affected need to take the initiative and if you are not, nobody will care. Again, above are my concerned and any unpleasant remarks or comments are deeply regrettable and obviously unintended at all.

I Luv Swiftlets

This post has been edited by West Wing: May 25 2009, 11:28 AM
Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 11:29 AM

236 posts

I know of a couple of male graduates from local universities working as general clerks in a Bumi company. I know them during the General Election. I was shocked to know that one of them has 5 kids with only a monthly salary of RM800. The wife is a full time housewife. He is of good, pleasant character and religious but slightly timid and lives in kampong. I never expected him to be a graduate until recently that he shocked me with quite fairly good spoken and written English. Later through him, I came to know that there are many like his case. After knowing this, many questions start lingering in my head since then. Besides questioning on the Govt policies in education, the most disturbing is how to help him and the rest? He is nearing 40.

West Wing
post May 25 2009, 02:26 PM

1,397 posts

I received questions for a reader who PM me to asked about Planks in the BH and his diagram show all standardised lenght and distance between planks.

My humble answers to his questions are follow:

1. All planks installed must be fitted tight and solid as swiftlets don't just land,, they sometime they hit hard at the plank to gain grip on the plank and if your plank is not stable, the birds will not be able to make a good landing or hook.

2. Really I don't see why do you need the same wide or lenght for all the planks as you are not making it to be nice but pratical and to the birds, any size of sufficient area will be just great.

3. Utilize all planks if it mean to have different size rectangular planks. Doesn't look nice but we are not concerned as our objective to have birds and appearance does'nt matter to the birds and cost factor. Althought, if the cost is the same, then go for all standard size as it will make your work much easier and faster.

4. Size of plank: 4 or 6 or 8 and to me, it all depend on your area like wind and light, height of floor for easy movement of birds. So, if your floor is low, never go for 8 ins plank and most common usage nowaday, is the 6 ins. plank. cos you never go wrong with a 6 ins plank and you do save plank. Personally, I like 8 ins plank if the situation allow as I can have double layer of birdnests...greedy me.

5.I don't like small boxes type as it hinder the birds movement during landing and I always think like a bird when designing a BH and so far I am OK. Distance between planks and that the most argumentative of all, your Sifus may think otherwise, to me I will stick to a min. of 18 ins. and a max. of 20 ins.

I hope that the my above comments satisfied you and if other Sifus will like to add their opinions or comments, I will be most happy to learn. As usual, here we share information and understandings of swiftlets and hope others do feel the same and share their ideas and information to the betterment of all swfitlets sanctuaries. May we all be rich and wealthy plus birdnests bring us good health and long life, too.

ChanK
post May 25 2009, 02:29 PM

451 posts

Lucas, Where hv u been for the past 10 years??

This is normal!!!....not only us but also majority..

Look at today news, what did u read??

Our PM said, he encourage 1Malaysia but....

Don't make use of this to demand for more!!!...

But, did we ask for anything except necessity??

did we ask for 30% shares in Petronas??

Did we ask for 30% shares of Politics power??

no, until our PM really sincere in sharing instead of thinking that whatever we request are mere Extreme Demand, this will not end.

We, businessman, only want peace. we dont want change as long as we are at peace.

As for the graduates case, we are at least still proud of them as they are graduates with high education.

But the trend of our younger generation are dropping out of school even before completing secondary school is increasing at scary rate.

West Wing
post May 25 2009, 02:59 PM

1,397 posts

I have known the PM personally since he is from Pekan, my home town and then, my father was then the chairman of the MCA and was very closed to his father Tun Razak.

Because of these, readers will say that I angkat kaki when I spoke good about him but at least he is the most kind of all PM to our industry. He back us up at state and federal lever but then, in most of our postings here, we hit him hard and hope that doesn't change his support for the industry esp in the towns.

Give him some space and let preform for this term and then we decide whether that we shall give anothe 5 years of mandate or not. BN under M really have kill us and nobody has complaint and not that he allow all to make freedom, everybody hit him like nobody's buz, do you think you will get such from M..............he has been losting enough sleep and do you think that he drop dead will be nice? Actually, he is of the same age as me but we are not classmate nor schoolmate because his father was PM and could offord to send him far away to be educated........

If we keep hitting him from head to toes and putting him on the defensive on all sides, if the country wil to become the unexpected or worst, we are to be blamed, too.
I believe that he know what went wrong and maybe trying to correct past leaders' mistakes, give suggestions and recommendations and he need to hear from the other sides , too.

Sorry about a little politics here......................

This post has been edited by West Wing: May 25 2009, 03:08 PM
Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 03:18 PM

236 posts

MAIN OBSTACLES TO MALAYSIA BIRD’S NEST INDUSTRY

A couple of days ago, an old friend from overseas called to inform that his friend came across something in the WORLD WILDLIFE FOUNDATION (WWF) mentioning the repealing of the swiftlet and its by-products (EBN) from its protected list in 2003. It seems there was a meeting discussing and sanctioned the swiftlet and all its by-product be lifted COMPLETELY from the protection list. And that Singapore has also de-classified the same from the protection list in 2003 too. All EBN products are no longer under any restriction to trade. It is same in Indonesia and Thailand. We confirmed this with our Indonesian and Thai buyers. In fact, no other country in the world except MALAYSIA does that. That means anything of the EDN is no longer under the control internationally and it is free to trade as you like.

Questions and proposals here are that:-
1) Why did the PERHILITAN want to pass the ACT to collect the exit tax while they downgraded the EDN in 2003 based on a decision already made in 1996? Prior to this, there wasn’t any exit tax imposed. Actually, the PERHILITAN was supposed to do the downgrading immediately after the 1994 or 1996 WWF CONVENTION in Surabaya, Indonesia in which the EDN was approved to downgrade from TOTALLY PROTECTED to PROTECTED. This action is supposed to further help and convenient the trade. All the other countries attended the CONVENTION did so immediately after returning. The PERHILITAN did not do it until 2003. While they were doing it, the WWF was again decided to drop EBN completely out of the PROTECTED. What has the PERHILITAN done to this now? It looks like it is either the PERHILITAN is too ‘EFFICIENT’ or is having its own hidden agenda.

2) Reliable information received that the PERHILITAN is contemplating to privatise 16 outlets in whole Malaysia to take charge of the approval and collection of EXIT TAX on behalf to ‘CONVENIENT’ and help the Malaysian exporters. Of course, there will be additional service charge of one to two hundred ringgit per kg by this private company. Understand that a few of the committee from the association who always appeared in the news is secretly lobbying and negotiating for the exclusive privatization. Could somebody with connection to re-confirm this?

3) Need some volunteers here to help go into the WWF, PERHILITAN or any relevant websites to dig into the details for truth. What you need is to surf these websites and copy down the relevant topics and post them here for all to help scrutinise and comment. The findings could be brought up to ‘ALERT’ the Ministers or even PM of the wrong doings. We are very sure that something is very seriously wrong with certain Govt Dept and if this is brought to the knowledge of our new PM with evidence, we think he would not condone this if he is really what he claimed to be a people loving PM. This PERHILITAN matter is the most serious and main obstacle obstructing the Malaysia bird’s nest industry from flourishing and competing internationally for the much needed foreign revenue in the long term. The economy of Malaysia is shrinking as our manufacturing sectors are badly hit ever. This EBN seems to be the only trade that is progressing but under great pressure from not outsiders but own people. What a shame and mockery on the ruling BN administration which always exclaimed ‘MALAYSIA BOLEH’? It is own people hitting our feet and trying to kill us.

ChanK
post May 25 2009, 03:22 PM

451 posts

This post has been edited by ChanK: May 25 2009, 09:07 PM
dunsuntutmybuntut
post May 25 2009, 07:05 PM

223 posts

Lucas 1... again... thanks for your valuable information. Thanks to West Wing as well... i have repeatedly mentioned to all regarding this method of approach... using international laws/conventions to counter state or federal agencies regulations. This again, can only be done by strong associations... which again spells unity among industry players. The information pointed out by Lucas 1 should be utilized wisely... and the proper qualified people highlighting this to the authorities. Yes, they might or might not listen... but if out of a hundred knocks on the door... theres a chance one day it might open. A mixture of academics, tauke's and association presidents should be capable enough to approach such entities as WWF or MNS. It is possible.
However as mentioned by some, there is also a possibility of monopoly... a counter check and balance mechanism must be in place. How, not sure myself. There seems to be so many agencies, so many NGO's, so many associations..... but none having the same aim, objective and methodology. Rojak.

1Swiftlet!!!

I wish our PM would read this thread... and V1 as well. Maybe he'd get a clearer picture than what his aides (most likely kipas2 people with agendas of their own) are advising him ?

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: May 25 2009, 07:08 PM
ChanK
post May 25 2009, 08:05 PM

451 posts

The Only way out is by making use of established Chinese Chamber of Association...thats the only way out for all farmers as it is the only association which under William can help all the farmers in malaysia.

It is the only way that the govt willing to listen to us.

We can't hope those new BN Sdn Bhd to help us as they have their own hidden agenda and we dont have time to set up a new one and wait for members to join as by then, most of us will be dead!!!....

Only way out is make use of existing Chinese Chamber Association to represent us to negotiate with the govt. We can make use of all the caliber committee's members there to help us.

THE ONLY WORKABLE OPTION. NO OTHER WAY OUT.

DONT WASTE THE MONEY,TIME TO FIND OTHER SOLUTION.

SET UP A TEAM FROM THE CHAMBER WITH DL AND OTHER SINCERE FARMERS AND WORK FROM THERE.

IT IS ENOUGH TALK K.

ANYONE WITH CONNECTIONS IN THE CHINESE CHAMBER ASSOCIATION, PLS CALL UP WILLIAM CHEN, THE ACTING PRESIDENT, THAT WE FARMERS NEED THEIR HELP URGENTLY!!!!...

Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 08:32 PM

236 posts

Before we jump the gun, we need to have all the facts verified first. Secondly, still we need someone or some ones to be responsible to start digging through the websites to confirm what we were told are correct. So, could more people besides dusuntutmybuntut also volunteer to investigate? The more heads and hands the better. Time is not in our favour. We cannot afford the delay anymore.
ChanK
post May 25 2009, 09:04 PM

451 posts

WITH FACTS, WE CAN THEN SHOW IT TO THE CHAMBER PRESIDENT THAT WE NEED THEIR LEADERSHIP TO HELP US TO WORK HAND IN HAND WITH THE GOVT.

WITH DL CONNECTIONS, IT IS NOT DIFFICULT TO HAVE MOST OF THE BN ASSOCIATIONS TO AGREE TO JOIN THE CHINESE CHAMBER WHERE WE CAN SET UP A NEW WING INSIDE THE CHINESE CHAMBER ASSOCIATION TO REPRESENT ALL MALAYSIAN FARMERS IN ALL FEDERAL ISSUES WHILE THE LOCAL BN ASSOCIATIONS CAN SETTLE THE LOCAL ISSUES ON THEIR OWN.

AND ONLY BY THIS METHOD THAT WE CAN STOP THOSE FEW BN SDN BHD FROM CONTINUE WITH THEIR HIDDEN AGENDA.

Added on May 26, 2009, 11:29 amTHE CAVIAR OF THE EAST © Duncan Graham 2006

When Achmad Basuni and his wife Siti Mariah were building their new house in 2000 great good fortune swiftly flew in the window.

Literally.

A pair of swallows darted into the half finished kitchen and cast knowing eyes around the walls and rafters. Like all astute real estate buyers they knew exactly what they wanted: Security, space, a cool atmosphere, friendly co-tenants and easy access.

Any Westerner who found feathered ferals moving into their kitchen would probably call a pest exterminator, but this couple rejoiced. “It’s a blessing from God,” said Achmad who runs a motorbike workshop. Commented Siti: “I felt pity on them. I didn’t want them disturbed. So we just stopped building there.”

The kitchen was given over to the visitors and the home rapidly re-designed. When the swallows laid their first clutch Achmad substituted a pair of swiftlets’ eggs bought for Rp 60,000 (US $ 7)

Swiftlets have dark plumage. They’re closely related to swallows and slightly smaller. In flight they look sickle-shaped. Swallows are migratory and move between continents and hemispheres. Swiftlets live only in the tropics and usually nest in caves.

Unlike their bigger and better travelled cousins swiftlets build quite different homes; their nests are edible, keenly sought and highly prized: They’re the raw material for the Chinese dish Bird’s Nest Soup – also known as the Caviar of the East.

Depending on the quality and season a kilo of swiftlets’ nests (that’s around 100) can fetch around Rp 10 million (US $1,150) at the barn door.

News about the swallows’ selection flew rapidly round the couple’s village of Jeru, about 20 kilometres west of Malang in East Java. Soon a stranger was knocking with a startling offer: He’d buy their house for Rp 300 million (US $34,000), double its market value.

No sale. Achmad and Siti knew that if their unwanted bidder was prepared to pay that much cash it must be worth a lot more to them.

There are now more than 40 birds flashing in and out of their selected home through small holes set high in the four metre walls. After daybreak the birds zip across to Balekambang Beach on the south coast where the flying insects they catch on the wing are most prolific. The birds return at nightfall, a round trip of about 160 kilometres.

There are a few other lucky folk in Jeru. You can pick their bird barns by the flat grey windowless concrete walls. The giveaway features are small entrance and exit holes, about the size of two bricks.

Some families rejected by the birds find their neighbours’ good luck difficult to swallow. “The big problem is thieves after nests and eggs,” said Achmad. “One farm spends Rp 2.5 million a month on security, five times the normal rate for guards.

“Others visit paranormals to persuade the birds to relocate. I know someone whose house has been abandoned three times by swiftlets after black magic has been applied. But the birds eventually came back.

“I don’t know why we were chosen. We’re just ordinary Muslims, certainly not fanatic about faith.”

Those more pragmatic than psychic are said to be using recorded sounds of swiftlets broadcast through speaker systems to entice passing birds to enter their barn. The birds emit clicks to guide them, a system known as echolocation.

Nests are harvested every three or four months after the chicks have flown. A pair of swiftlets can raise two or three broods a year. Buyers from Surabaya do the rounds of the roosts and take the nests for processing.

Environmentalists are concerned that nest harvesting isn’t always well managed. Greedy gatherers who take nests before the chicks take wing are threatening the species.

(sidebar)

SWIFTS’ SPITTLE

Swiftlet nests are made from the birds’ saliva produced by glands under the tongue. The nests’ edible qualities have been known for at least 700 years. What’s not known is how the discovery was made and why anyone would think a dirty nest could make a tasty dish.

Our ancestors must have choked on a lot of sticks encrusted with dung and vomited feathers and broken eggs before they found an edible variety.

The stratospheric price means bird’s nest soup is a food only for the mega rich. Few restaurants in Surabaya have it on their menu. Those who do can charge up to Rp 2 million a bowl (US $225).

For this sort of money diners want more than a lip-smacking experience. So it’s no surprise the nests are supposed to possess extraordinary characteristics from improving skin tone to warding off tuberculosis, curing consumption, dysentery, malaria … the list has no full stop. And, of course, enhancing sexual performance.

These claims are unlikely to be denied by anyone whose credit card has just melted on the restaurant cashier’s swipe machine. The catch is that the real or imagined benefits don’t come with just one big banquet to celebrate the commercial coup. Promoters say a regular diet of 10 grams a day is necessary.

The cooking process is critical. A microwaved or boiled nest will be nutrition-free. Best to steam slowly after soaking which expands the nest. The taste is said to be sweet, more like a dessert.

Surabaya distributor Dendy Van Hallen said the best nests came from bird barns in Java. These nests were usually clean and glossy, almost transparent. Cave nests from Papua and other outlying regions were often contaminated by feathers and dirt and worth only Rp 1 million a kilo (US $114).

“I send to restaurants on demand,” he said. “Most ask diners for a week’s notice so they can prepare ahead – it’s not a dish you can order on the spot. The bulk of our nests go to Jakarta.

“We do little preparatory work in Surabaya – cleaning up the nest is done in the restaurant where they soak and remove impurities.”

If you’d like to make your own soup at home a Malaysian company sells boxes of six tiny jars for Rp 200,000 (US $ 23). Each jar has an off-white jelly which the label says is made from birds’ nests, ginseng, sugar and ‘white fungug’.

Indonesia produces 80 per cent of the world’s edible birds’ nests. Most come from West Java and are exported to Hong Kong, Holland, Singapore and Taiwan. The last official published figures show Indonesia’s annual production around 27 tonnes. That’s a lot of swiftlet spit.

##

(First published in Jakarta Kini, August 2006)

Added on May 26, 2009, 11:38 am" The ex-situ conservation
measures proposed includes providing special
houses in which the Edible-nest Swiftlet will
breed, thereby significantly building up
populations in these islands, and providing an
alternate source of livelihood for nest
collectors, farmers, and poorer sections of the
community as well as forming an important
source of revenue for the islands."

http://www.envfor.nic.in/divisions/csurv/a...port_E_2008.pdf

Page 18 ~ 19.

Added on May 26, 2009, 11:48 am"2. Commercial Species

i. Edible-nest Swiftlet

Research in collaboration with local authorities on cave swiftlet houses was done to identify their abundance and distribution all over Peninsular Malaysia. Research on nutrient contents of the swiftlets' nests are being carried out in collaboration with the Institute of Medical Research (IMR). The main objective is to identify the differences in nutrient contents of the birds' nest from samples taken from Bentong, Pahang; Bandar Hilir, Melaka; and Kuala Krai, Kelantan. "

http://www.wildlife.gov.my/webpagev4_en/bh...Konservasi.html

Added on May 26, 2009, 11:56 am"

a) edible-nest swiftlets are widespread and abundant with no immediate conservation risk;

"

http://www.cites.org/eng/cop/11/doc/11_01.pdf

Added on May 26, 2009, 12:07 pmEdible nest swiftlets are widespread and abundant
across their historical range. Their aggregate populations
are estimated as tens of millions, based on current
yields from nest harvesting. Despite documented
declines in some cave populations, there is no immediate
conservation risk.

http://www.cites.org/eng/cop/10/doc/E10-50.pdf

Page 1

Added on May 26, 2009, 12:08 pm" They wished to emphasize that the Committee was recommending repeal of Resolution Conf. 9.15 on conservation of edible-nest swiftlets of the genus Collocalia
because the Resolution had been extremely successful and was therefore no longer required. "

http://www.cites.org/eng/cop/11/other/Plen.pdf

Page 6

Added on May 26, 2009, 12:10 pmLink to cites reports :

http://www.googlesyndicatedsearch.com/u/ci...ts&start=0&sa=N

Added on May 26, 2009, 1:24 pm" This species has a large range, with an estimated global Extent of Occurrence of 100,000-1,000,000 km². The global population size has not been quantified, but it is believed to be large as the species is described as 'abundant' in at least parts of its range (del Hoyo et al. 1999). Global population trends have not been quantified; there is evidence of a population decline (del Hoyo et al. 1999), but the species is not believed to approach the thresholds for the population decline criterion of the IUCN Red List (i.e. declining more than 30% in ten years or three generations). For these reasons, the species is evaluated as Least Concern. "

http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/142760/0

Added on May 26, 2009, 1:32 pmLC = Least Concern

Defination :

LEAST CONCERN (LC)
A taxon is Least Concern when it has been evaluated against the criteria and does not qualify for Critically Endangered, Endangered, Vulnerable or Near Threatened. Widespread and abundant taxa are included in this category.

Added on May 26, 2009, 1:33 pm
Defination Of Endangered Species :

ENDANGERED (EN)

A taxon is Endangered when the best available evidence indicates that it meets any of the following criteria (A to E), and it is therefore considered to be facing a very high risk of extinction in the wild:

A. Reduction in population size based on any of the following:

1. An observed, estimated, inferred or suspected population size reduction of ≥ 70% over the last 10 years or three generations, whichever is the longer, where the causes of the reduction are clearly reversible AND understood AND ceased, based on (and specifying) any of the following:

(a) direct observation

(b) an index of abundance appropriate to the taxon

© a decline in area of occupancy, extent of occurrence and/or quality of habitat

(d) actual or potential levels of exploitation

(e) the effects of introduced taxa, hybridization, pathogens, pollutants, competitors or parasites.

2. An observed, estimated, inferred or suspected population size reduction of ≥ 50% over the last 10 years or three generations, whichever is the longer, where the reduction or its causes may not have ceased OR may not be understood OR may not be reversible, based on (and specifying) any of (a) to (e) under A1.

3. A population size reduction of ≥nbsp;50%, projected or suspected to be met within the next 10 years or three generations, whichever is the longer (up to a maximum of 100 years), based on (and specifying) any of (b) to (e) under A1.

4. An observed, estimated, inferred, projected or suspected population size reduction of ≥ 50% over any 10 year or three generation period, whichever is longer (up to a maximum of 100 years in the future), where the time period must include both the past and the future, and where the reduction or its causes may not have ceased OR may not be understood OR may not be reversible, based on (and specifying) any of (a) to (e) under A1.

B. Geographic range in the form of either B1 (extent of occurrence) OR B2 (area of occupancy) OR both:

1. Extent of occurrence estimated to be less than 5000 km2, and estimates indicating at least two of a-c:

a. Severely fragmented or known to exist at no more than five locations.

b. Continuing decline, observed, inferred or projected, in any of the following:

(i) extent of occurrence

(ii) area of occupancy

(iii) area, extent and/or quality of habitat

(iv) number of locations or subpopulations

(v) number of mature individuals.

c. Extreme fluctuations in any of the following:

(i) extent of occurrence

(ii) area of occupancy

(iii) number of locations or subpopulations

(iv) number of mature individuals.

2. Area of occupancy estimated to be less than 500 km2, and estimates indicating at least two of a-c:

a. Severely fragmented or known to exist at no more than five locations.

b. Continuing decline, observed, inferred or projected, in any of the following:

(i) extent of occurrence

(ii) area of occupancy

(iii) area, extent and/or quality of habitat

(iv) number of locations or subpopulations

(v) number of mature individuals.

c. Extreme fluctuations in any of the following:

(i) extent of occurrence

(ii) area of occupancy

(iii) number of locations or subpopulations

(iv) number of mature individuals.

C. Population size estimated to number fewer than 2500 mature individuals and either:

1. An estimated continuing decline of at least 20% within five years or two generations, whichever is longer, (up to a maximum of 100 years in the future) OR

2. A continuing decline, observed, projected, or inferred, in numbers of mature individuals AND at least one of the following (a-b):

(a) Population structure in the form of one of the following:

(i) no subpopulation estimated to contain more than 250 mature individuals, OR

(ii) at least 95% of mature individuals in one subpopulation.

(b) Extreme fluctuations in number of mature individuals.

D. Population size estimated to number fewer than 250 mature individuals.

E. Quantitative analysis showing the probability of extinction in the wild is at least 20% within 20 years or five generations, whichever is the longer (up to a maximum of 100 years).

Added on May 26, 2009, 1:40 pmLASTLY,

SOME TALK K,

SINCE THE CRITERIA FOR ENDANGERED SPECIE IS WITHIN 500KM2, THE POPULATION OF MATURE SWIFTLETS MUST LESS THAN 2500...

SO, I SUGGEST THAT THOSE IDIOTS GO TO JOHN CHEN FARM IN SITIAWAN WHERE IT IS SITUATED MAIN ROAD WITH THREE LINK SHOPS AND COUNT

HOW MANY SWIFTLETS RESIDED THERE DURING THE NIGHT !!!!

OR

GO TO DATUK MAH FARM IN SUNGAI PETANI, AND I MEAN ONE OF THEM ENOUGH LOH AND COUNT HOW MANY MATURE SWIFTLETS RESIDED IN HIS FARM,

ENDANGERED???......DIAO NEI mad.gif !!..

SWIFTLET IS NOT AN ENDANGERED SPECIE, BUT THOSE IDIOTS WHO LIST THEM AS ENDANGERED ARE INDEED

THE ENDANGERED SPECIE LAH!!!.....IDIOTS!!!....

This post has been edited by ChanK: May 26 2009, 06:49 PM
West Wing
post May 26 2009, 06:13 PM

1,397 posts

As We are taking as if the BHs concern and belong to the Malaysian Chinese and mind you that there other races in the Industry, too. So, we should have encourage our brothers of all races and creeks to help to save our BHs @ town. Chinese chamber, Malay Chamber, Indian chamber or any chamber for that matter, please give us a helping hand for the betterment of the industry, welfare of fellow Malaysian, to prevent of repeated Killing field of swiftlets and economy of Malaysia as a whole.

We are infact one race, Bangsa Malaysian keturunan berlain lain. Chinese tak boleh balik China, Indian tak boleh balik India, Melayu tak boleh balik Indonesia or others , too. But we are special, Ahmad having some chinese blood from his mother, Ali may have indian blood thru his grandfather, Minah maybe the granddaughter of Yap Ah Loy......even some of our PMs and many ministers are descendants of mix Malaysian races.

Once, I was in China and my chinese friend announce that we are one family and I should always return home, a statement which I objected. I question him whether the chinese government consider me as a citizen of China. NO! just a visiting oversea chinese.... as I was born and raise in Malaysia and Malaysia is my home and my country.

As always, the above are my view in the matter and appologies if offended.
ChanK
post May 26 2009, 06:36 PM

451 posts

Please dont get me wrong,

We do know that they are both bumi n non-bumi that involves in this industry.

But, The Majority is still Chinese.

For Malay, we have GEM which are the gem of malay farmers representative to help all malaysian farmers to negotiate with the govt.

There is also one Bumi Swiftlet Association in KT which is also lead by a young good hearted bumi friend. With his relatives connection, i am sure they too can assist all malaysian farmers.

But, it is the chinese associations in malaysia that are still liked `San Sah'....too many BN Sdn bhd...

Unless we unite in an established, strong Chinese association which in this case the Chinese Chamber Association is our only option, we will be massacred in the near future.

But it is very difficult to unite all the bn associations when all the presidents n committee members are so in love with their positions n status in the associations as they will worried that their positions will be taken over by more caliber candidates within the established chinese chamber association !!!...

Thats why we need to calm them down and explain to them that their positions in the bn association will not be affected as we still needs their helps to deal with local issues. And it is for their own good to join chinese chamber association where the president n their team of caliber members that are more well connected with the political front to assist them with all federal issues.

TO roll the ball, we need to have a group of existing bn associations to officially join the chinese chamber association and if we can unite at least 80% of all bn associations into the chinese chamber asso., we can then set up a new wing within the chinese chamber association to act as the national BN association in malaysia.

Thats the only option.

don't waste ur time n ur future in thinking of 1Swiftlets!!.... we belum sampai tahap itu lah..

sendiri belum dapat `Unite' sudah mau `Unite' semua bangsa ke?? fikir baik baik lah....

after we managed to unite then we can talk abt 1Swiftlets.....

If my posts offended anyone here then GOOD!!!..

This post has been edited by ChanK: May 26 2009, 06:46 PM

122 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:36 PM