QUOTE(tongserseng @ Dec 3 2009, 02:31 PM)
Sometimes while harvesting i also headach
........... after the baby bird fledged the mother bird already lay egg before i havest the nest..................
Want to harvest every two weekly worried will disturb the bird population speed................ once in a month harvesting also feel like not comfortable as not many nest can be harvested for my 14 months old BH with around 130 nest.....
Currently only every 6 weeks then i servicing my BH and do harvesting.......... end up most of the nest can not harvest due to egg already in the nest after the baby bird fledged........those nest harvested many of them have more than 2 layers but lucky my buyer still good enough offer me 3.1k/kg for those thicker corner and dirty nest. Want me throw egg ??????????? kill the future bird that make nest for you ???????
I not able to do it .....................
Any sifu here can advice on this matter
??????????? Cause some of my BH nest 3 layers already still not able to harvest ............... 
Interesting point there? Some friends suggested shifting of eggs to a fake nest or putting extra eggs to the other nests; I don't believe in either ways will work......Currently only every 6 weeks then i servicing my BH and do harvesting.......... end up most of the nest can not harvest due to egg already in the nest after the baby bird fledged........those nest harvested many of them have more than 2 layers but lucky my buyer still good enough offer me 3.1k/kg for those thicker corner and dirty nest. Want me throw egg ??????????? kill the future bird that make nest for you ???????
I not able to do it .....................
Just to share some experiences, I not only not harvest my corner nests during the initial period, I left the corners there (sometime Blocked it with paper) until it blocked the birds from building nests at the place and then they have no choice but to build next to it.....from my experience, they started building nest next to the corner nests and not only that, the next few generation birds seemed to build nests near the "mother of all nests". Initially, I had 90% corners but after a few generation of birds, I ended up 90% half cups. Although many argued that corner fetch lower market price but then, it didn't make sense to me cos if making lesser 25% will make the birds happier, I rather take lesser amount but then, my increment of birds will be much better than that of my neighbours.
That's the reason that I once had nests that form long row of nests and some even had more than 10 nests which sometime ago, a famous Sifu called it the "king of all nests" which were make up from a whole family of birds.
I did observed that when your birds get used to you, they seemed to ignore your presence in the BH and will remained in the BH as maybe they did feel safe with you and knew that you would do them no harm. Long ago, I had a BH just above my shop (home) and every off day, my wife and I used to go up to the BH and do maintenance and then end up to clean ourself or feeding the fishes at the pond just outside the BH. All the while, the birds remained in the BH circling around you and sometime one would missed and hit you. Thus, nobody knew that we were harvesting Birdnests then.....and it was really wonderful.
Me overtalking again, apologies.
This post has been edited by West Wing: Dec 3 2009, 06:50 PM
Dec 3 2009, 06:13 PM

0.0326sec