23 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Health Health & Fitness MYTHBUSTERS, Ask your questions, or ask here!

ectt
post May 23 2014, 07:15 PM

1,049 posts

what other non traditional fitness training is effective?
oneeleven
post Jun 23 2014, 09:52 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(Farah XF @ Nov 24 2013, 03:00 PM)
skip breakfast to lose weight?
but  if we skip breakfast we get more hungry before lunch therefore we increase our food intake during lunch because of so hungry!
I believe in never skip your breakfast to give more energy boost for our daily activities
Obviously didn't read the article. Whether or not to eat breakfast and what to eat also depends on other factors in the overall diet and exercise pattern of each person. Mixing diet plans, erratic meals, poor breakfast choices or random snacking don't work, and may cause insulin spikes to make you crazy hungry 24 hours.

For me, the most effective has been Intermittent Fasting, many days of 18-20 hrs fast, after gym on empty stomach, one main meal and later small snack. It is simple, comfortable after the first hard few days (many Malaysians know this already, Ramadan coming!) Drink lots of non-sugary liquids, mid-way some protein powder or an egg if suffering. How fast or how slowly you want to lose weight is according to how many days you do it and for how long. For me, not so strictly, 10 kg in a few months and maintain by a few fasting days when needed. So whether or not it is skipping breakfast as a meal, I am "breaking my fast" smile.gif

Healthcarejobs
post Aug 11 2014, 02:20 PM

20 posts

[quote=OMG!,Sep 5 2009, 10:58 PM]
what is the reason for a thin people to continue being thin though he eats more , but still remain thin?

[/

I'm saying this from my own experience( take it or leave it) that thin people tend to worry a lot and they don't keep a record of their diet which is very important to have good health.
Secondly, early on rise and never skipping your breakfast can prove to be good habit to improve your lifestyle. icon_idea.gif

FlamingFox
post Oct 5 2014, 07:14 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Will we get sick if we dry ourselves by standing in front of the standing/table fan after sweating profusely?
pigrabbit
post Nov 24 2014, 01:21 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Jan 18 2010, 08:12 PM)
Old myth about water getting into the body if shower at night...wonder how true it is...a myth or a fact  hmm.gif
this is long post, but i somehow scanned through it. there are 50% true and 50% not abbout shower at night but it depend on the condition and situation.

showering at night will get cholestrol bla.. bla.. high blood pressure etc.etc... where is a myth. when a man have clogging blood vessels, then all sorts of sickness will drag together due to clogging blood vessels.

for ladies, they said, leg will cramp, leg pain for frequent showering. not only women, but it will comes to anybody. when some1 ages, our bones will experienced of thinning of cartilage. you will experienced pain on the area. thats why old folks always said raining gives them pain.

correct me if i'm wrong.

pigrabbit
post Nov 24 2014, 01:28 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ May 2 2010, 01:45 AM)
Washing hair at night will cause headaches? Myth or fact.
myth is those live in cold country said is too cold to bath. and confinement lady experienced migraine when they are exposed to cold breeze during raining.

Fact is cold water actually does cure migrane/head ache
DT1
post Nov 24 2014, 03:11 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(pigrabbit @ Nov 24 2014, 01:21 PM)
this is long post, but i somehow scanned through it. there are 50% true and 50% not abbout shower at night but it depend on the condition and situation.

showering at night will get cholestrol bla.. bla.. high blood pressure etc.etc... where is a myth. when a man have clogging blood vessels, then all sorts of sickness will drag together due to clogging blood vessels.

for ladies, they said, leg will cramp, leg pain for frequent showering. not only women, but it will comes to anybody. when some1 ages, our bones will experienced of thinning of cartilage. you will experienced pain on the area.  thats why old folks always said raining gives them pain.

correct me if i'm wrong.
While not fully understood yet, it is believed that pre-rain (or other changes in weather) gives older people joint pain due to a change in baromatic pressure during that time. But of course they have existing conditions e.g. arthritis. That's why some old people can jokingly say they are better than the weather forecast.

http://specialtyclinics.med.sc.edu/joint_pain.asp
http://www.webmd.com/pain-management/featu...eather_and_pain
nujikabane
post Dec 22 2014, 02:03 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi guys.

I have a question.

Would multivitamins (one-a-day variant) be sufficient to cover for the lack of dietary requirements that diet needs?

i.e. would taking more tablets daily = lessen the need for me to take 3 meals daily?

The thing is, it gets hectic at work, and as a result, I'd have to skip meals (breakfast and lunch usually), and am concern that it would have adverse effect on my body..
sadodude
post Jan 19 2015, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(garbanicus @ Aug 15 2013, 04:31 PM)
Guys we all know and have always been told that 1 of the best ways to lose fat and stay healthy is to drink lots and lots of water right?
I agree with this don't get me wrong, but just wondering..

Why this Nick Cheung was allowed very limited water during his training in order to get ripped?
http://my.entertainment.yahoo.com/news/nic...-034300127.html

For those who dunno, Nick Cheung is a famous HK star who was recently in the news for his body transformation.
I remember reading somewhere he was only allowed like 1 sip of water per day!
I do agree with you on the drinking water part. One of the good example is from the wikihow
http://www.wikihow.com/Lose-Belly-Fat-by-Drinking-Water

I believe some people who reduce the their water and sodium intake only for a temporary basis. (sodium will retain water in your body) Like for celebrities, they do it for the shooting or printadd maybe, and for those body builder they do it before a competition.

Loosing water in your body in a long run is pretty dangerous. Scientifically it called 'dehydration'. Untreated dehydration generally results in delirium, unconsciousness, swelling of the tongue and, in extreme cases, death.
NeCaRaS
post Apr 28 2015, 08:20 AM

49 posts

what do i eat for dinner when i want to go workout gym at night? any tips?
alien9
post Apr 28 2015, 11:28 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(NeCaRaS @ Apr 28 2015, 08:20 AM)
what do i eat for dinner when i want to go workout gym at night? any tips?
Read the sticky thread.
NeCaRaS
post Apr 28 2015, 01:04 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Apr 28 2015, 11:28 AM)
Read the sticky thread.
which topic?
ihbmart
post May 19 2015, 08:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 22 2014, 02:03 PM)
Hi guys.

I have a question.

Would multivitamins (one-a-day variant) be sufficient to cover for the lack of dietary requirements that diet needs?

i.e. would taking more tablets daily = lessen the need for me to take 3 meals daily?

The thing is, it gets hectic at work, and as a result, I'd have to skip meals (breakfast and lunch usually), and am concern that it would have adverse effect on my body..
Hi there,

In my opinion, multivitamins are not replacement for meals. Multivitamins do not contain any carbohydrate, protein & fat.

You may try some nutritional formula (ie. Good Morning V Plus, Ensure etc) which may act like a meal replacement.

Having said so, not advisable to skip the meals.

Hope that helps
nujikabane
post May 25 2015, 11:30 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Dec 22 2014, 02:03 PM)
Hi guys.

I have a question.

QUOTE(ihbmart @ May 19 2015, 08:46 AM)
Hi there,

In my opinion, multivitamins are not replacement for meals. Multivitamins do not contain any carbohydrate, protein & fat.

You may try some nutritional formula (ie. Good Morning V Plus, Ensure etc) which may act like a meal replacement.

Having said so, not advisable to skip the meals.

Hope that helps
^ Noted on the above reply, much appreciated.

I may try to buy protein shake (off the shelf from pharmacy) to supplement my daily dietary requirement.

-kytz-
post May 25 2015, 04:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ May 25 2015, 11:30 AM)
^ Noted on the above reply, much appreciated.

I may try to buy protein shake (off the shelf from pharmacy) to supplement my daily dietary requirement.
Whole or natural foods are the best. Use protein shakes as supplements like to fill up your daily macro requirement.
nujikabane
post May 27 2015, 11:27 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 25 2015, 04:21 PM)
Whole or natural foods are the best. Use protein shakes as supplements like to fill up your daily macro requirement.
^ Thanks for the info.

I have tried to incorporate as much as possible in my diet.
e.g. eating whole-grain bread instead of white bread.

However, at times it is difficult, as usually natural food are more expensive than processed food.
Carmen02
post Nov 1 2015, 04:44 AM

Hi, anyone went Gleneagles Hospital or other hospitals for Endocrinologist before?
Appreciate if could share me the price!
Thanks!
Petre
post Nov 17 2015, 10:24 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

those people who feel proud coz they can eat all they want and still be thin need to be aware that there could be problems with their digestive system

one possible problem is it may be unhealthy and unable to absorb the nutrients the person eats

if not corrected, the person sure will regret especially when he/she gets older...

so how much truth is in this statement?
kshen
post Nov 17 2015, 04:14 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Nov 17 2015, 10:24 AM)
those people who feel proud coz they can eat all they want and still be thin need to be aware that there could be problems with their digestive system

one possible problem is it may be unhealthy and unable to absorb the nutrients the person eats

if not corrected, the person sure will regret especially when he/she gets older...
so how much truth is in this statement?
the phrase coloured in red itself sounds like a problem. Being able to consume anything they want and still remain skinny is based on metabolism (Thyroid hormone regulation, etc..) . I doubt it has anything to do with ur digestion , etc... (unless you have some digestive disorder or something lol) Just my assumption here. Wait for the sifus to come in.
Petre
post Nov 24 2015, 11:53 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Nov 17 2015, 04:14 PM)
the phrase coloured in red itself sounds like a problem. Being able to consume anything they want and still remain skinny is based on metabolism (Thyroid hormone regulation, etc..) . I doubt it has anything to do with ur digestion , etc... (unless you have some digestive disorder or something lol)  Just my assumption here. Wait for the sifus to come in.
well this is quite new to me as well, but ever since, i have been making some research, although i cannot say i expert

http://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/t...-topic-overview

i searched google with keyword "clogged intestine", there will be lots of results regarding this issue, so i guess this is real

plus, i have experience

23 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:31 AM