161 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 02:01 PM

..::unobtrusive::..
1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 01:33 PM)
cardin,
That's a static discharger. One of the many around the aircraft found usually at the wing tips, flight controls and other parts of the structures.
The main function is, of course, discharging static electricity from the aircraft to the air/atmosphere.
cool!!tenz jazzy939...i tot it is juz 4 stability mins 2 increase aerodynamics 4 efficiency thus reduce da fuel consumption...wht a simple thinking...uhuuh... blush.gif i dun c any static discharger on wings of 737-400, 777-200 n 747-400..could b somewhre...
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 05:29 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

cardin,
They are there, believe you me..
They will be attached similar to this pix.

Some info on static dischargers. This is from the Boeing maintenance manual:

1. Static dischargers are installed on the airplane to reduce radio receiver
interference. Corona discharge, from precipitation static and engine
charging, is emitted from the airplane and causes the radio interference.
The precipitation static is the result of an electric charge accumulated
by the airplane striking charged air and moisture particles. Static
usually discharges at the wing and tail extremities and is coupled into
the radio receiver antennas. The static dischargers are designed to
discharge the static at points which are a critical distance away from
the wing and tail extremities where there is little or no coupling into
the radio receiver antennas.

2. Each discharger that is installed along the trailing edge of the wing and
the tail surfaces consists of a carbon fiber tip at the end of a slender
rod. The rod incorporates a resistive (conducting) material and is
attached to a metal base. The base is fastened and bonded to the
trailing edge surface.

3. Wing tip dischargers are smaller than wing and tail dischargers but have
the same general construction and are attached in the same way.

4. The vertical fin and each wing has a tip discharger and three trailing
edge dischargers. Each horizontal stabilizer has a tip discharger and
two trailing edge discharge

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 23 2009, 05:46 PM

Attached image(s)
cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 05:44 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 05:29 PM)
cardin,
They are there, believe you me..
They will be attached similar to this pix.
wah got so many ah?? BTW dat is A320 isn't it?

diz is wht we cal as winglet am i rite? -->

how about diz? -->

also consider as winglet?

This post has been edited by cardin: Apr 23 2009, 05:45 PM
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 05:47 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Those are winglets. yes.
A320, correct! thumbup.gif
cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 06:08 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 05:29 PM)
Some info on static dischargers. This is from the Boeing maintenance manual:

1. Static dischargers are installed on the airplane to reduce radio receiver
interference. Corona discharge, from precipitation static and engine
charging, is emitted from the airplane and causes the radio interference.
The precipitation static is the result of an electric charge accumulated
by the airplane striking charged air and moisture particles. Static
usually discharges at the wing and tail extremities and is coupled into
the radio receiver antennas. The static dischargers are designed to
discharge the static at points which are a critical distance away from
the wing and tail extremities where there is little or no coupling into
the radio receiver antennas.

2. Each discharger that is installed along the trailing edge of the wing and
the tail surfaces consists of a carbon fiber tip at the end of a slender
rod. The rod incorporates a resistive (conducting) material and is
attached to a metal base. The base is fastened and bonded to the
trailing edge surface.

3. Wing tip dischargers are smaller than wing and tail dischargers but have
the same general construction and are attached in the same way.

4. The vertical fin and each wing has a tip discharger and three trailing
edge dischargers. Each horizontal stabilizer has a tip discharger and
two trailing edge discharge
very technical explanation!! notworthy.gif u r more than thank u.. rclxms.gif learn new things today....going 2 absorbs more in da future..hehe...jazzy939 r u 1 of da AA engineer/maintenance crew?
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 06:10 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

cardin,
Those are extracts from the 'description and operation' section of the manual on static dischargers.
Nope, I am afraid I am not that biggrin.gif
JohnMax
post Apr 23 2009, 06:21 PM

544 posts

Nice one. Congrat.
cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 06:39 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 06:10 PM)
cardin,
Those are extracts from the 'description and operation' section of the manual on static dischargers.
Nope, I am afraid I am not that biggrin.gif
no matter wht i stil consider it as an explanation... smile.gif oo..ok its too public here i knew dat ... brows.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 06:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yes, it is an explanation to your queries... tongue.gif
Not to dissappoint you, yes I am an LAME and it doesn't matter where I worked, is it not? wink.gif

QUOTE(cardin @ Apr 23 2009, 06:39 PM)
no matter wht i stil consider it as an explanation... smile.gif  oo..ok its too public here i knew dat ... brows.gif
cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 06:59 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 06:43 PM)
Yes, it is an explanation to your queries... tongue.gif
Not to dissappoint you, yes I am an LAME and it doesn't matter where I worked, is it not? wink.gif
huahuahua...i didn't force u 2 tel da truth... whistling.gif waahhh...respect la u bro so lucky...i wish i were u now...huhu...mind 2 share wif us how u bcame LAME...

This post has been edited by cardin: Apr 23 2009, 06:59 PM
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 10:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

cardin,
To cut a long story short, I joined an apprenticeship programme for 5 years. At the end of that 5 years, I got my LWTR (A&C) and my first type, a Boeing B737. And the rest is history.. wink.gif
cardin
post Apr 23 2009, 11:08 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 10:43 PM)
cardin,
To cut a long story short, I joined an apprenticeship programme for 5 years. At the end of that 5 years, I got my LWTR (A&C) and my first type, a Boeing B737. And the rest is history.. wink.gif
from there i can guessin u r under MAS TAME b4...(key points 5yrs apprenticeship prog + boeing 737)..hehehe...am i rite? (dun answer dat unless u think it is quite safe here.. tongue.gif ) ...sims like yr journey 2 becme LAME pretty smooth i guess..huhu...im de only 1 dat loosing da truth path 2 get there... cry.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 23 2009, 11:20 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

cardin,
Very sharp! wink.gif
Yes.. I was under MAS's TAME programme. One heck of a programme they used to have, producing excellent engineers for the industry biggrin.gif
Yep.. fortunately the journey was a great and smooth one and ALL of us got our licenses as planned.
Too bad, gone were the good old days. sad.gif
cardin
post Apr 24 2009, 07:29 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 23 2009, 11:20 PM)
cardin,
Very sharp! wink.gif
Yes.. I was under MAS's TAME programme. One heck of a programme they used to have, producing excellent engineers for the industry biggrin.gif
Yep.. fortunately the journey was a great and smooth one and ALL of us got our licenses as planned.
Too bad, gone were the good old days. sad.gif
nice 2 know u smile.gif ...u guys r amazing n lucky nod.gif ...u r bonded b4 rite? how long do u hav 2 pay 4 da rest of yr studies in MAS TAME?
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2009, 12:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The pleasure is mine, cardin.
Some of us are bonded for 5 years (the ones under MARA scholarships).
Non MARA scholarships elligible were bonded for 10 years. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cardin @ Apr 24 2009, 07:29 AM)
nice 2 know u  smile.gif ...u guys r amazing n lucky nod.gif ...u r bonded b4 rite? how long do u hav 2 pay 4 da rest of yr studies in MAS TAME?
cardin
post Apr 24 2009, 12:53 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 24 2009, 12:04 PM)
The pleasure is mine, cardin.
Some of us are bonded for 5 years (the ones under MARA scholarships).
Non MARA scholarships elligible were bonded for 10 years. biggrin.gif
owh also got mara? u guys got cgpa in yr studies? mara scholarship? y they hav to b bonded? they nid 2 pay back da scholarship? i tot it was scholarship not a loan.. hmm.gif
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2009, 02:20 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The MARA scholarship was actually a 'dermasiswa'.. and we're paying back 10% of the total amount.
The bond is because the study fees was borned by MAS as we're trained overseas.
During that time I guess we're the best as 3000 applied and only 30 got it. tongue.gif

QUOTE(cardin @ Apr 24 2009, 12:53 PM)
owh also got mara? u guys got cgpa in yr studies? mara scholarship? y they hav to b bonded? they nid 2 pay back da scholarship? i tot it was scholarship not a loan.. hmm.gif
azameel
post Apr 24 2009, 02:46 PM

240 posts

nowadays the bond is up to 15 years but fully funded by MAS
but the training is all messed up
some Tame are on their 6th year and still havent got their LWTR
especially the Avionic guys
cardin
post Apr 24 2009, 02:49 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Apr 24 2009, 02:20 PM)
The MARA scholarship was actually a 'dermasiswa'.. and we're paying back 10% of the total amount.
The bond is because the study fees was borned by MAS as we're trained overseas.
During that time I guess we're the best as 3000 applied and only 30 got it. tongue.gif
wow another sifu here!!... thumbup.gif overc training? i tot u r from MAS TAME subang..wow..things getting hotter... brows.gif

Added on April 24, 2009, 2:55 pm
QUOTE(azameel @ Apr 24 2009, 02:46 PM)
wht? 15 yrs? OMG! shocking.gif is dat da felda stundents? coz i heard nowadays MAS only pick felda students to join MAS TAME...really ah? how about an outsider? cannot enter anymore? so MIAT n TAFE would be da last choice? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cardin: Apr 24 2009, 02:55 PM
jazzy939
post Apr 24 2009, 05:03 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Somehow somebody messed up the apprenticeship training.. sad.gif
I dare say MAS had the best training during that time. Currently no organisation can be better that. period.
Now under METC, you know lah the scenario. What I heard last MAS Training wanted to reactivate the program, then the economic slowdown kicked in and it was put on 'hold' or may be scrapped, I do not know...

Kinda disheartening to know 6th year trainee don't have LWTR.
During my time by 3 1/2 years, everyone got their LWTR, dual cat. and by fifth year, you're already passed your first type dual trade waiting to wear the uniform and the 3 gold bars on the day you passed out. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(azameel @ Apr 24 2009, 02:46 PM)
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Apr 24 2009, 05:06 PM

161 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:37 AM