ar188
Sep 1 2009, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:17 PM) but then, the picture will be like distorted  zoom will not be distorted every thing gets bigger horizontally and vertically, smart stretch will be slightly distorted at the edges + slightly zoomed.. full horizontal stretch will be quite distorted horizontally while maintaining original picture height....
Reix
Sep 1 2009, 11:29 PM
Learned something new yesterday. All this while, I thought Astro broadcast in 4:3, didn't know they do 16:9 now. Has it been upgrade? or only on certain channels? Went to a coffee shop last night, they have a 29" CRT and 42" Plasma showing the same channel, 333. To my surprise, the picture in the Plasma didn't get stretch in horizontal, in fact it shows more contents on both sides compare to 4:3.
Lone*Wolf
Sep 1 2009, 11:44 PM
It is not Astro that does 16:9, its the content supplier, eg. Nat Geo, Discovery Channel, etc.
silbii
Sep 2 2009, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 1 2009, 11:44 PM) It is not Astro that does 16:9, its the content supplier, eg. Nat Geo, Discovery Channel, etc. similar to anamorphic dvds? didn't know that's possible from astro...but if this is true, it is good news
TomatomanzSeedlezz
Sep 3 2009, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 1 2009, 11:29 PM) Learned something new yesterday. All this while, I thought Astro broadcast in 4:3, didn't know they do 16:9 now. Has it been upgrade? or only on certain channels? Went to a coffee shop last night, they have a 29" CRT and 42" Plasma showing the same channel, 333. To my surprise, the picture in the Plasma didn't get stretch in horizontal, in fact it shows more contents on both sides compare to 4:3. QUOTE(silbii @ Sep 2 2009, 01:23 PM) similar to anamorphic dvds? didn't know that's possible from astro...but if this is true, it is good news  Err... u guys don't watch much TV huh?...  /runs
Lowyat Jason
Sep 4 2009, 12:30 PM
Im looking for a lcd/plasma with at least 50 inch screen size. Brands i would go for are panasonic, samsung, lg, sharp, philips, and sony. Can i know whats the cheapest 50" or above in the market now? i saw the panasonic 50" X10k , selling below 5k. is the tv value buy? what other choices do i have?
EDIT: Opps sorry, i need a 1080p fullhd tv. seems like the X10k series doest have that. Hmmm..
This post has been edited by Lowyat Jason: Sep 4 2009, 12:34 PM
azbro
Sep 4 2009, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(Lowyat Jason @ Sep 4 2009, 12:30 PM) Im looking for a lcd/plasma with at least 50 inch screen size. Brands i would go for are panasonic, samsung, lg, sharp, philips, and sony. Can i know whats the cheapest 50" or above in the market now? i saw the panasonic 50" X10k , selling below 5k. is the tv value buy? what other choices do i have? EDIT: Opps sorry, i need a 1080p fullhd tv. seems like the X10k series doest have that. Hmmm.. VIERA TH-P50S10K (FullHD)...its abt RM5600++ When I think back, last 2 year 50inch cost RM10K!!...and thats for HD only...
Lowyat Jason
Sep 4 2009, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 4 2009, 12:49 PM) VIERA TH-P50S10K (FullHD)...its abt RM5600++ When I think back, last 2 year 50inch cost RM10K!!...and thats for HD only... hmm seems like panasonic the cheapest ,, what bout 55" and above? tried looking at garage sales, commontan and htkaki aint selling?
SUSKLX213
Sep 4 2009, 01:05 PM

Hi guys, im have some problem using a 42 inch LG plasma tv. sometimes when im using the plasma it will appear some "blistering" in the screen (red, blue, green dot, im not sure what it called). in order to stay fresh i have to restart the plasma for every half hour (depends on luck). how to solved this ? how much does the repairing fees cost ?
This post has been edited by KLX213: Sep 4 2009, 01:16 PM
Lone*Wolf
Sep 4 2009, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(KLX213 @ Sep 4 2009, 01:05 PM) Hi guys, im have some problem using a 42 inch LG plasma tv. sometimes when im using the plasma it will appear some "blistering" in the screen (red, blue, green dot, im not sure what it called). in order to stay fresh i have to restart the plasma for every half hour (depends on luck). how to solved this ? how much does the repairing fees cost ? Under warranty or not, if yes then send back LG, no need farn.
kayroll
Sep 4 2009, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(KLX213 @ Sep 4 2009, 02:37 PM) of course after warranty thats y i ask it here  time to turn for panny plasma s10k......really.....
anfieldude
Sep 4 2009, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(KLX213 @ Sep 4 2009, 01:05 PM) Hi guys, im have some problem using a 42 inch LG plasma tv. sometimes when im using the plasma it will appear some "blistering" in the screen (red, blue, green dot, im not sure what it called). in order to stay fresh i have to restart the plasma for every half hour (depends on luck). how to solved this ? how much does the repairing fees cost ? Might be a power supply issue..U need to get an authorized repair centre to take a look at it.
yslysl
Sep 4 2009, 04:08 PM
hello sifus, is using those monster brand cables to connect your equipments like video and audio etc really that good compare to using those normal cables? thx
Lost Soul
Sep 4 2009, 04:27 PM

hey guys, do anyone knw how to check whether newly deliver lcd set is new or display set ah? any advise?
TomatomanzSeedlezz
Sep 4 2009, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(yslysl @ Sep 4 2009, 04:08 PM) hello sifus, is using those monster brand cables to connect your equipments like video and audio etc really that good compare to using those normal cables? thx  Afaik, Monster brand its way overpriced, and no different from lesser brands and yet u saved like 50% off compared to Monster brand. Just don't get ridiculously low price ones... normal brands like SoundTech, Philips, Belkin will have the same quality as overpriced Monster brand. Unless u can find very low priced Monster 1.3 hdmi cable for like rm100 or lower.. that would be awesome.. lol Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Sep 4 2009, 05:35 PM
slk5538
Sep 5 2009, 08:01 AM

QUOTE(Lost Soul @ Sep 4 2009, 04:27 PM) hey guys, do anyone knw how to check whether newly deliver lcd set is new or display set ah? any advise? You'll need to acess the service menu. You will need a code to access the service menu, the code varies between brands and sometimes even models. Again, this is not 100%. The technicians can actually reset the hour used indicator in the service menu to 0, eventhough I don't think these technicians would do that at the request of the retailer. This post has been edited by slk5538: Sep 5 2009, 08:05 AM
Lone*Wolf
Sep 5 2009, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(slk5538 @ Sep 5 2009, 08:01 AM) You'll need to acess the service menu. You will need a code to access the service menu, the code varies between brands and sometimes even models. Again, this is not 100%. The technicians can actually reset the hour used indicator in the service menu to 0, eventhough I don't think these technicians would do that at the request of the retailer. Really?! Wow, this is scary ... First cars now, TVs ...
ar188
Sep 5 2009, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 5 2009, 06:48 PM) Really?! Wow, this is scary ... First cars now, TVs ...  why not? can even flash firmware..
yslysl
Sep 5 2009, 07:05 PM
wow, no wonder they are going to replace my set next week