43 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Streamyx getting fix? not today (01/10/09)

myremi
post Sep 17 2009, 11:32 AM

1,846 posts

Yeah, there's issues with the servers. Here's GP's latest stand atm : http://forum.gamepath.net/viewtopic.php?f=...0&start=0#p3344

The freezes are common for Malaysian players, with and without Gamepath and depending what raid i nstance you're going into. It's more serious in ToTC raids though, with freezes at boss pulls. Some ppl have position the camera such that it faces the floor during the pull and they turn it back up once the fight is at hand.

The other thing is the crap activities that Streamyx is doing to the lines. They are testing things for improvement but it leaves a lot of things to be desired and giving headaches.

Anyway, I'm chilling and waiting until Friday for suspension to be over.
Quazacolt
post Sep 17 2009, 11:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Sep 16 2009, 07:09 PM)
ABC - American Born Chinese. - If I'm not mistaken. wink.gif
thanks lulz
samiscool2000
post Sep 17 2009, 12:14 PM

Myremi, but this is the observation from 25man Ulduar raid yesterday night.

Basically theres 4 of us using gamepath in the raid. And 4 of us was suffering dc's and freezing throught the raid, no matter how we change the server from Malaysia, Singapore and LA.

But the ppl around 8 of em using gametune was not having any lags or problems at all.

Ive just subscribe to gametune, so im gonna make a comparison of gamepath and gametune tonite at raid and comment about the performance of both tunnels tonite.

rgrds,
Samiscool
evofantasy
post Sep 17 2009, 12:44 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

i'm using gamepath and i rarely suffer freezes and that is with a sharing line (my housemate uses the same line for web surfing and HoN while i raid)...
i rarely dc which would be a big problem if i dc since i'm holy most of the time for raid anyways (even when my ret is outgearing my holy sleep.gif)...

totc pull dc is suffered by lots of people and not just malaysian as i've pointed out...
the official wow forums have a thread about this and as u can see ppl from around the globe is having the same problem...
though its been quite a while since i suffered this =p

its all the matter of finding the best ip for ur location and the best gamepath gate to suit it...
myremi
post Sep 17 2009, 12:49 PM

1,846 posts

Sounds good sam. Yeah, see how it goes.

A lot of the actions from TMNet could have been a resultant from the undersea cable damage, resulting in a lot of actions by them (you can see the complaints in this thread and Broadband-2-user forums) in an effort to put things back to normal.

It may need to be a long-term comparison but if the datacenter in cyberjaya is under a DOS attack, hmm...see how it goes. We're not getting any updates from the administrator atm.

Make sure you log out of WoW properly though else that may trigger a suspension from Blizzard. (common knowledge for tunnel users).

Added on September 17, 2009, 1:01 pmevofantasy : The thing about good IPs now is that it's becoming harder and harder to actually get "Good ones" that a lot of people think it's just a myth.

And yeah, the DCs are very common. I just think that Blizzard may be facing some physical and programming limitations with the existing hardware/graphic drivers. Just reminds me a lot of TBC and the problems faced when major patches with game content were rolled out. Remember TK and the huge latency from the polygons? Or even the latency in Shattrath? Even Sunwell was hell.

I just try to think more zenlike and be more numb when Blizzard rolls out another expansion.

This post has been edited by myremi: Sep 17 2009, 01:01 PM
Tentris
post Sep 17 2009, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(samiscool2000 @ Sep 17 2009, 12:14 PM)
Myremi, but this is the observation from 25man Ulduar raid yesterday night.

Basically theres 4 of us using gamepath in the raid. And 4 of us was suffering dc's and freezing throught the raid, no matter how we change the server from Malaysia, Singapore and  LA.

But the ppl around 8 of em using gametune was not having any lags or problems at all.

Ive just subscribe to gametune, so im gonna make a comparison of gamepath and gametune tonite at raid and comment about the performance of both tunnels tonite.

rgrds,
Samiscool
Sam, please post your results of the comparison. I'm very interested to know the results.
Raichu
post Sep 17 2009, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 17 2009, 01:53 PM)
Sam, please post your results of the comparison. I'm very interested to know the results.
Hrmmmmm is this a clue.... THE RETURN OF RANTIC?
Tentris
post Sep 17 2009, 03:05 PM

perhaps. perhaps...
julia88
post Sep 17 2009, 03:38 PM

88 posts

Hmm..I've been raiding TOC10/25 since its launch. I haven't had the freeze problem before until recently (last few days). My pc settings and graphics have not changed.

oh well, just sit and wait it out.
ekwk
post Sep 17 2009, 04:19 PM

Hehe sorry sorry I didn't mean Raichu's infrastructure, I meant the Malaysian infrastructure on the whole.
As much as people complain about my servers in Malaysia/ Singapore, I have also a lot of other users such as evofantasy who do not have problems.
That is what I meant by very strange... good IPs bad IPs, based on time of the day.

Worse than guessing the mood of a girl with mood swings!
yakuza89
post Sep 17 2009, 08:15 PM

15 posts

lots of spikes lately, range from 500 to 2k. really irritating, dc once in occ, but either then tht no problem.
julia88
post Sep 18 2009, 08:33 AM

88 posts

It was really horrible on malaysian based gates last night. However, when I switched to one of the singaporean gates, hey presto, all is well again. I managed to get about 360ms in TOTC25.

One thing I noticed even with the singaporean gate which has only been happening lately, if you have recount on, the sudden influx of data during the start of the boss fight in 25man was enough to disconnect me. Even if I tried to reconnect it would disconnect me right after the screen loads. What I did was turn off 'Recount' and it worked fine. As we all know 'Recount' takes in a lot of data from the combatlog. Could this cause a DC? I guess there is a sudden bandwidth limitation due to poor network stability? It (recount) used to work very well though sad.gif

Just my guess/opinion, dun flame me ...

This post has been edited by julia88: Sep 18 2009, 08:35 AM
samiscool2000
post Sep 18 2009, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(julia88 @ Sep 18 2009, 08:33 AM)
It was really horrible on malaysian based gates last night. However, when I switched to one of the singaporean gates, hey presto, all is well again. I managed to get about 360ms in TOTC25.

One thing I noticed even with the singaporean gate which has only been happening lately, if you have recount on, the sudden influx of data during the start of the boss fight in 25man was enough to disconnect me. Even if I tried to reconnect it would disconnect me right after the screen loads. What I did was turn off 'Recount' and it worked fine. As we all know 'Recount' takes in a lot of data from the combatlog. Could this cause a DC? I guess there is a sudden bandwidth limitation due to poor network stability? It (recount) used to work very well though sad.gif

Just my guess/opinion, dun flame me ...
I totally agree with julia..

Cant really test out gamepath or gametune as the sudden influx of data at start lags me out in 25man, but the weird thing is im able to survive dalaran with the numerous amount of ppl there.

But when i off my Recount, everything is back to normal. So guys beware, recount
is EVIL.

Will do another comparison tonight at raid.
Raichu
post Sep 18 2009, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(samiscool2000 @ Sep 18 2009, 09:30 AM)
I totally agree with julia..

Cant really test out gamepath or gametune as the sudden influx of data at start lags me out in 25man, but the weird thing is im able to survive dalaran with the numerous amount of ppl there.

But when i off my Recount, everything is back to normal. So guys beware, recount
is EVIL.

Will do another comparison tonight at raid.
well if the system is setup correctly, you prob would DC. Most systems have a traffic stablizer so no one user can hog up the line. If say the server is FULL, the system will divide the the amount of users to the amount of bandwidth alloted. The more ppl, the smaller amount of alloted bandwidth u get. Over the limit gets put into a que and it waits in line to get to you. ( Hense the LAG )

So in reality when u run Recount, your sudden boost in data might cause you to LD because your packets exceed what you are alloted and prob all stuck in que waiting for you to clear up some to get to you...

Though i know it will NEVER happen... but i think and Eugene would prob agree, TURN OFF ALL UR DANG ADDONS and you probably would never DC , maybe little lag , and we would never have the headache wondering which server died, which DC is fooking up and spend hours answering PM instead of playing lol

This post has been edited by Raichu: Sep 18 2009, 11:04 AM
deodorant
post Sep 18 2009, 11:49 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I'm no addon expert, but doesn't the amount of data transferred from the server to the client remain the same regardless of whether recount is or isn't on?

Or can addons selectively pull extra data from the server?

I normally run raids with recount off, especially in 25-mans, because recount itself takes a huge amount of UI memory.
Raichu
post Sep 18 2009, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2009, 11:49 AM)
I'm no addon expert, but doesn't the amount of data transferred from the server to the client remain the same regardless of whether recount is or isn't on?

Or can addons selectively pull extra data from the server?

I normally run raids with recount off, especially in 25-mans, because recount itself takes a huge amount of UI memory.
Well More Data, more packets, even if the packets are the same size. On the Tunnel Server more packets = more bandwidth, and if you exceed the bandwidth, the packed gets bottlenecked going from Tunnel Server to you.

myremi
post Sep 18 2009, 12:09 PM

1,846 posts

What Raichu said is correct. There's also the added limitation of your hardware that can cause problems too (wireless, laptop, desktop, new components).

julia88, were you around in TBC? During that time, there was a lot of problems with some addons because a lot of data packets were sent in-between addons during a raid that it was impossible to run a raid with anyone using an addon like Recount or DOTimer. DOTimer is probably one of the more infamous ones because even if people didn't have it, they would still lag as long as they were in a party/lag with a person using DOTimer and their bandwidth cannot handle the data rate. There used to be an addon that tracks the amount of data packets received by you from other raiders and high on the list were Damage Meters. Can't remember the nameof this addon. Recount was changed that the option to sync with other people was turn off. Cartographer is another one. Old versions of some of the Ace2 files and their LUA files used to make ppl unstable.

When WOTLK Naxx came out, aiyo...that was bad. Then Blizz made some changes in one of the patch after that and it got bearable.

Raiding, I even turn Omen off because as a shadow priest, I wouldn't be pulling off single target mobs and the tanks are good with AOE tanking. When in healing mode, Omen is definitely off as no point to check it when being a healer. I also had to turn off Recount. On bad days, I turn off DBM but that is the last to turn off.

Added on September 18, 2009, 12:38 pmjulia88 : Found it. It's this addon : http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/...on-spam-fu.aspx

This post has been edited by myremi: Sep 18 2009, 12:38 PM
khelben
post Sep 18 2009, 01:30 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I've stopped using any damage meters what so ever since last December because of our stupid broadband.
julia88
post Sep 18 2009, 03:44 PM

88 posts

Thing is, this problem is intermittent. On some days I can run all my addons without a hiccup.

I only use a few addons:

DBM
Omen Threat Meter
Recount
Grid
Decursive

My UI is default and has not been change since vanilla WoW. Woe is me sad.gif
Raichu
post Sep 18 2009, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(julia88 @ Sep 18 2009, 03:44 PM)
Thing is, this problem is intermittent. On some days I can run all my addons without a hiccup.

I only use a few addons:

DBM
Omen Threat Meter
Recount
Grid
Decursive

My UI is default and has not been change since vanilla WoW. Woe is me sad.gif
On whatever Tunnel server you use, find one thats not FULL or overloaded .. Less ppl , more bandwidth space....

43 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:38 PM