66 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

xelnamikaze
post Jan 29 2009, 09:32 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Jan 29 2009, 10:05 PM)
anyone experience random 2~3 second lag after the  firmware update?
wow .. you sure do have special acute sense of time cool2.gif
pikacu
post Jan 29 2009, 09:51 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Sib @ Jan 29 2009, 09:31 PM)
when updating or running it as usual?  hmm.gif
before update it was ok

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Jan 29 2009, 09:32 PM)
wow .. you sure do have special acute sense of time  cool2.gif
how can i not to notice, if there is 2~3 second stutter happen at every 30~60 seconds? laugh.gif
crazee
post Jan 29 2009, 10:20 PM

134 posts

Any possibly the drive will brick again after firmware update??..only time will tell

I love my data more than the drive...
gjoey
post Jan 29 2009, 11:08 PM

159 posts

I've updated my 3750330AS 7200.11 from SD15 to SD1A successfully using a PC. I'am currently using it as my external drive using Vantec casing (E-Sata).

Unfortunately, before I update the firmware, I have never knew (I forgot to check) whether the drive did have constantly increased in Raw Read Error Rate, Seek Error Rate & Hardware ECC Recovered or not. Only after I've updated it, than I noticed the SMART like below :

I've read over the web that Seagate do have problem with a third party SMART reader that interpret the value incorrectly. I'am using Everest for the above result.

So, could someone that haven't updated the firmware, check about this. Just to confirm that this new firmware doesn't do any harm.... hmm.gif
one_guy
post Jan 29 2009, 11:51 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(gjoey @ Jan 29 2009, 11:08 PM)
I've updated my 3750330AS 7200.11 from SD15 to SD1A successfully using a PC. I'am currently using it as my external drive using Vantec casing (E-Sata).

Unfortunately, before I update the firmware, I have never knew (I forgot to check) whether the drive did have constantly increased in Raw Read Error Rate, Seek Error Rate & Hardware ECC Recovered or not. Only after I've updated it, than I noticed the SMART like below :

I've read over the web that Seagate do have problem with a third party SMART reader that interpret the value incorrectly. I'am using Everest for the above result.

So, could someone that haven't updated the firmware, check about this. Just to confirm that this new firmware doesn't do any harm.... hmm.gif
Haiyya bro... Don't scared la...
Me still using SD15 firmware and still not update with SD1A..
Here my SMART reading...

ID Attribute Description Threshold Value Worst Data Status
01 Raw Read Error Rate 6 116 100 110729696 OK: Value is normal
03 Spinup Time 0 91 89 0 OK: Always passes
04 Start/Stop Count 20 100 100 594 OK: Value is normal
05 Reallocated Sector Count 36 100 100 0 OK: Value is normal
07 Seek Error Rate 30 62 60 5316141 OK: Value is normal
09 Power-On Time Count 0 100 100 291 OK: Always passes
0A Spinup Retry Count 97 100 100 17 OK: Value is normal
0C Power Cycle Count 20 100 100 596 OK: Value is normal
B8 <vendor-specific> 99 100 100 0 OK: Value is normal
BB <vendor-specific> 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
BC <vendor-specific> 0 100 99 262167 OK: Always passes
BD <vendor-specific> 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
BE Airflow Temperature 45 61 49 672989223 OK: Value is normal
C2 Temperature 0 39 51 39 OK: Always passes
C3 Hardware ECC Recovered 0 31 29 110729696 OK: Always passes
C5 Current Pending Sector Count 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
C6 Offline Uncorrectable Sector Count 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
C7 Ultra ATA CRC Error Rate 0 200 200 0 OK: Always passes

ar188
post Jan 30 2009, 12:10 AM

9,206 posts

if you read the seagate forums (which some damning posts were deleted) and also the seagate insider maxtorman blog, you will know that this problem bypasses SMART.. it;'s embedded in the firmware microcode..

even SMART won't know what hit it when it happens.. better dun take chances.. backup the stuffs.. then continue to use the HDD with updated firmware.. if still dare.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 30 2009, 12:11 AM
gjoey
post Jan 30 2009, 12:39 AM

159 posts

Thanks one_guy.... biggrin.gif

At least I know it's normal for Seagate to have values like that.

ar188...

Are you referring to this

ARTICLE?

Yeah...I've read it. But more on blaming their middle Management on pressuring them to release not-fully tested Firmware. Back up my data.... hmm.gif ... mine was 750Gb mind you (Used 85%). Where am I suppose to back it up.... rclxub.gif
ar188
post Jan 30 2009, 12:59 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gjoey @ Jan 30 2009, 12:39 AM)
Thanks one_guy.... biggrin.gif

At least I know it's normal for Seagate to have values like that.

ar188...

Are you referring to this

ARTICLE?

Yeah...I've read it. But more on blaming their middle Management on pressuring them to release not-fully tested Firmware. Back up my data.... hmm.gif ... mine was 750Gb mind you (Used 85%). Where am I suppose to back it up.... rclxub.gif
yeah that maxtorman,.. I think on the seagate forums and another site.. got mention that SMART won't "see" the issue.. one day you turn on the drive, poof.. it's not seen by BIOS.. no SMART to save the HDD..

as for backing up tell me about it.. 4-5TB to back up here.. just bought one WD yesterday, getting another 1-2more next weeks or the 1.5TB/ 2TB if can hang long longer until stocks arrive..
then the balance just use 4 seagates (updated firmware) with duplicate data..

good thing that the 1,5TB/2TB WD comes out now.. need one of those as well..

frostmourne
post Jan 30 2009, 10:25 AM

219 posts

now, western digital 2tb make me fall in love tongue.gif
bye bye seagate.. my 1tb seagate will be my backup hdd soon.
ericpires
post Jan 30 2009, 11:43 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

So price for 1tb hdd drop alredi since 2tb hdd come out liao?
krizalid88
post Jan 30 2009, 12:04 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 28 2009, 01:11 PM)
Updated my relative's ST3500320AS with SD1A yesterday. No problem.
can you give me the link where you down;oad the firmware...
Musafir_86
post Jan 30 2009, 12:11 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(krizalid88 @ Jan 30 2009, 12:04 PM)
can you give me the link where you down;oad the firmware...
-Here: http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=207931
BTW, if you read previous posts, you'll find it for sure.

Regards.
davidbilly87
post Jan 30 2009, 12:14 PM

513 posts

erm....so far my Seagate ST3500320AS hdd still work fine to me...been using for 5 month....just a bit slowly only @@
Musafir_86
post Jan 30 2009, 12:27 PM

541 posts

-My ST31000340AS (with the new SD1A) sometimes has clicking noises, now and then... sad.gif
cyew86
post Jan 30 2009, 12:39 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jan 30 2009, 12:14 PM)
erm....so far my Seagate ST3500320AS hdd still work fine to me...been using for 5 month....just a bit slowly only @@
that's what everybody experienced ... until the day the HDD suddenly ... brows.gif
xelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 02:44 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(frostmourne @ Jan 30 2009, 11:25 AM)
now, western digital 2tb make me fall in love tongue.gif
bye bye seagate.. my 1tb seagate will be my backup hdd soon.
haha .. the question is will you fall in love with the price ?

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jan 30 2009, 01:14 PM)
another 29days and you'll be one of us brows.gif jk jk

p/s : im not responsible for your hdd if it were to go crazy or producing "click click" sounds. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Jan 30 2009, 02:45 PM
pikacu
post Jan 30 2009, 03:37 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

humm, no one suffers stuttering/lagging 2~3 second after update firmware? sweat.gif
Irzani
post Jan 30 2009, 05:20 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Yeay, at last I manage to update it .. already 7 month without problem but because of this news I have to update it .. sweat.gif
davidbilly87
post Jan 30 2009, 05:47 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Jan 30 2009, 03:44 PM)
another 29days and you'll be one of us brows.gif jk jk

p/s : im not responsible for your hdd if it were to go crazy or producing "click click" sounds.  thumbup.gif
zzz Dont curse me .. cry.gif After Heard This News .. I Think Want To Buy The WD 640 16mb < Anyone Know this hdd Got Problem? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by davidbilly87: Jan 30 2009, 05:51 PM
ar188
post Jan 30 2009, 07:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Jan 30 2009, 02:44 PM)
haha! true.. USD299 (should be retail price) for 2TB ain't exactly cheap.. maybe malaysia will have cheaper "Installer" pricing..

Added on January 30, 2009, 7:14 pmtoday I went to buy 1more WD 1TB but, instead went for a new stock (datecode 09XXX) Seagate 1.5TB.. couldn't help it..

went to check online... it says below.. (dunno true or not, new stock end dec/early jan09 also not affected??.. I tot they only fixed the firmware on around 21-22nd JAN?? )

SNo Serial number Result Action
1 9VS0XXXX Drive is not affected. No action required.

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 30 2009, 07:14 PM

66 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:16 PM