Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2009, Liverpool vs Pompey Sunday 0100

TSsolstice818
post Jan 15 2009, 06:34 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Jan 15 2009, 06:20 PM)
Didn't know i flood that much of posts over here. Still nowhere near TS tongue.gif

Anyway i like the idea as this will keep people posting more quality stuff. I am wondering how you accumulate the posts from each of us?

Back to the topic on Agger's concern. To be honest he is one of my favourite player in the team but since Skrtel's rising during his absence, it's already selection dilemma for Rafa where he has only 2 starting for 4 great defenders. I hate if he is off to any team, but seeing him rotting on the bench is indeed a torture for me.
Hand count...

brows.gif tongue.gif
Jonno
post Jan 15 2009, 06:45 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

To me, it's one thing to have lots of posts, it's another to post quality posts. Quality over quantity anytime for me.
livingmonolith
post Jan 15 2009, 06:47 PM

821 posts

for me agger is a better player attacking while skrtel is much more comfortable playing defence only. having said that, i think both have great abilities as CB, only slightly different in styles.

while i prefer skrtel to be in the team when we need to defend solidly against flair teams, i think agger is more of the type who likes to have the ball at his feet and create some opporturnities to score (for himself or teammates). agger is far more composed than skrtel and in games where we tend to control the match, and he can contribute more to attacking moves but tends to have lapses in concentration. skrtel is pretty much like carra, no nonsense defending and usually doing the dirty works at the backline.

like popsoul said, perhaps skrtel rose steadily during agger's long absence and cemented his place in the team. RB is, after all, a manager who prefers to play things safe. with skrtel in the team our line of defence is less likelier to be breached.

i personally enjoy seeing agger in the team more than skrtel because we'd have more flair and better passings from back to front. smile.gif
Jonno
post Jan 15 2009, 06:51 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jan 15 2009, 06:32 PM)
a direct swap with pato could be nice deal...
Never going to happen, while a good player, he would struggle in the English game, if you look at him closely, while him having the pace, skills and eye for goal, but I doubt he has the build for the English game, defenders like Upson, Terry, Vidic, and even Titus Bramble eat him alive...

Not to mention he wouldn't like the weather much and I doubt he'd be able to settle.
harvster
post Jan 15 2009, 07:26 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Jan 15 2009, 06:47 PM)
for me agger is a better player attacking while skrtel is much more comfortable playing defence only. having said that, i think both have great abilities as CB, only slightly different in styles.

while i prefer skrtel to be in the team when we need to defend solidly against flair teams, i think agger is more of the type who likes to have the ball at his feet and create some opporturnities to score (for himself or teammates). agger is far more composed than skrtel and in games where we tend to control the match, and he can contribute more to attacking moves but tends to have lapses in concentration. skrtel is pretty much like carra, no nonsense defending and usually doing the dirty works at the backline.

like popsoul said, perhaps skrtel rose steadily during agger's long absence and cemented his place in the team. RB is, after all, a manager who prefers to play things safe. with skrtel in the team our line of defence is less likelier to be breached.

i personally enjoy seeing agger in the team more than skrtel because we'd have more flair and better passings from back to front. smile.gif
true true.. and like i said earlier, agger will be a v.good replacement for when sami retires.. good on the ball, likes to get forward, good aerial ability and can also pun a few good and lond diagonal passes like sami.
normeck
post Jan 15 2009, 07:26 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(GulaV @ Jan 15 2009, 06:27 PM)
Milan are only take advantage on Agger news on stalled contract talk. And this is bad for the contract talk. His agent will set a higher basic weekly wage because his profile has been upped a notch by Milan interest. Now it's up to Agger-Liv negotiation to decide his future. I bet Rafa still want to keep him especially on Hyypia retirement is around the corner.

So I guess we better be the champion and no one will/want to leave the club, and many great players want to play with us.
i agreed on that...feel so sad about the rumors....come on Liverpool...make us proud again like in 70's - 80's era...
harvster
post Jan 15 2009, 07:29 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Jan 15 2009, 07:26 PM)
i agreed on that...feel so sad about the rumors....come on Liverpool...make us proud again like in 70's - 80's era...
lol.. younger ones like me never felt what it was like to be league champs.. hope we can finally end the wait this season
blinky
post Jan 15 2009, 07:30 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 15 2009, 06:51 PM)
Never going to happen, while a good player, he would struggle in the English game, if you look at him closely, while him having the pace, skills and eye for goal, but I doubt he has the build for the English game, defenders like Upson, Terry, Vidic, and even Titus Bramble eat him alive...

Not to mention he wouldn't like the weather much and I doubt he'd be able to settle.
There is always an exception my friend. Look at Robinho or even Defoe.
Jonno
post Jan 15 2009, 07:38 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Jan 15 2009, 07:30 PM)
There is always an exception my friend. Look at Robinho or even Defoe.
Of course there'll always be exceptions, Defoe was brought in the English game, while Robinho did well, if you really look closely, he didn't exactly set the world on fire. Struggling in some matches, but that is due to the team not up to par rather than him not coping.
The same could be said about people like Alonso and Torres who've taken to the league like fish to water while others, such as Morientes, or even Ballack, struggle to have an impact. Remember Juan Sebastian Veron anyone?
harvster
post Jan 15 2009, 07:41 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 15 2009, 07:38 PM)
Of course there'll always be exceptions, Defoe was brought in the English game, while Robinho did well, if you really look closely, he didn't exactly set the world on fire. Struggling in some matches, but that is due to the team not up to par rather than him not coping.
The same could be said about people like Alonso and Torres who've taken to the league like fish to water while others, such as Morientes, or even Ballack, struggle to have an impact. Remember Juan Sebastian Veron anyone?
juan sebastian who? lol
yea, big flop at man utd and then an even bigger one at chelski.. what happened to him after he moved to inter?
ham_revilo
post Jan 15 2009, 07:46 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jan 15 2009, 06:32 PM)
a direct swap with pato could be nice deal...
i prefer kaka tongue.gif (god, i have to stop dreaming laugh.gif )

lolz_5167
post Jan 15 2009, 07:46 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

QUOTE(harvster @ Jan 15 2009, 07:41 PM)
juan sebastian who? lol
yea, big flop at man utd and then an even bigger one at chelski.. what happened to him after he moved to inter?
U mean Crespo or Sheva?

as I know Sheva heading back to AC Milan
MADReaLJL
post Jan 15 2009, 07:47 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 15 2009, 06:51 PM)

robinho proved it otherwise
GulaV
post Jan 15 2009, 07:48 PM

451 posts

Taking foreign players into a certain league is a major risk. But these has to be taken to ensure victory. Risks are always there. Sheva, a failure. Crespo, not good enough. Owen, taken from us (money matters), also a failure. Not to mention a lot of players bought by Real Madrid are failures, only a few works like magic. Torres at first, I'm not put a lot hope on him when he signed for us, thinking that he need at least six months to a year to adapt to brutal English games (Sheva failure haunt me). But he brilliantly showed us his adaptation and will power. So the risk is worth taken. Pato is a good player, but his young age will make him only an ego brat, just like showboating Robinho. This is only my opinion though, without taking many aspects into consideration..
fzul07
post Jan 15 2009, 07:55 PM

226 posts

ya i prefer owen playing with us again... rclxms.gif
SUSsylar111
post Jan 15 2009, 08:06 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(harvster @ Jan 15 2009, 07:29 PM)
lol.. younger ones like me never felt what it was like to be league champs.. hope we can finally end the wait this season
I know you are top of the table but it seems really unlikely that you will win. As sad as it is, it looks like Man U is coming for you. As much as i really hate Man U, I rather they win then you win. sorry about this
ham_revilo
post Jan 15 2009, 08:08 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 15 2009, 08:06 PM)
I know you are top of the table but it seems really unlikely that you will win. As sad as it is, it looks like Man U is coming for you. As much as i really hate Man U, I rather they win then you win. sorry about this
doh.gif sweat.gif shakehead.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

hfi
post Jan 15 2009, 08:10 PM

598 posts

Im puzzled to why Agger wants to do this ? IMO moving to Milan is a little taking a step backwards seeing as we are a team on the rise here and Milan is an aging team. When Beckham plays with the first eleven, their average age is pushed to 30 years. Milan, while still strong as we know them are, are mere shadow of what they once were.

He understood why we had to acquire Skrtel, and he knows we strife to have at least 2 competitive players for each positions on the field. What's weird is that he gave no hint or whatsover about this apparent refusal to extend his contract with us. Starting to feel a little familiar ala Owen, which is an insult to Agger as i rate him highly and thought he's a classy character from all the stuff i read about him.

I really hope its just Parry and Co stuffing up the contract nego rather Agger himself trying to move away. Cmon Agger lad, fecking think things through before you regret it for the rest of your life!
GulaV
post Jan 15 2009, 08:11 PM

451 posts

lol.. maybe is the right word for it. But needless to say, at the moment, only Liverpool and Manu is cruising at the top. And again, anyone can win at this stage, with half season still to go.
TSsolstice818
post Jan 15 2009, 08:19 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

I know your team are in the 5th place but it seems really unlikely that your team gonna finish 4th.As sad as it is, it looks like Villa is coming for you.As much as I hate Villa, Martin O neil especially, I rather they get 4th spot than your team. I dun feel sorry about this cos u came over and started it 1st. laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Jan 15 2009, 08:21 PM

123 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:58 PM