Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

auhckw
post Nov 18 2012, 09:46 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 18 2012, 09:44 PM)
try upgrade the pads first. see got any difference, need to choose the right brake pad.
The shop has some brake pads but it looks unbranded and is not cheap. So I decided to skip.

I saw there are shimano brake pads online. Wonder where to get it in PJ areas. or do you have any recommendations?
H2D
post Nov 18 2012, 09:53 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 09:46 PM)
The shop has some brake pads but it looks unbranded and is not cheap. So I decided to skip.

I saw there are shimano brake pads online. Wonder where to get it in PJ areas. or do you have any recommendations?
i neva do research on brake pads, u need to dig online n check user review,
since brake pads are small, u can order online, get those canggih ones... biggrin.gif

Added on November 18, 2012, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(dauzhsm @ Oct 29 2012, 03:43 PM)
hi,
i`m also looking for foldable mtb. as i search through internet i found model montague paratrooper but the price is high (2K++)

then i found this model Cronus Soldier (1K++) but i can't  find review about this bike.

bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=159129

anyone here exprience using cronus soldier?
how cronus...? did u check it out at bike shops??? seems more shops r selling now...

thing is, it is different from montague copies, cos got big joint on the frame...... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 18 2012, 09:57 PM
auhckw
post Nov 18 2012, 09:59 PM

1,008 posts

The shop did advice me to give the brakes more time. Both my rim and brake pads are new, so it cannot grip well yet. So no rush now. I'll just visit a few more bicycle shops to explore.

H2D
post Nov 18 2012, 10:04 PM

598 posts

moulton in malaysia.... by vans urban bicycle...

tyrell by vans.....

Added on November 18, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 09:59 PM)
The shop did advice me to give the brakes more time. Both my rim and brake pads are new, so it cannot grip well yet. So no rush now. I'll just visit a few more bicycle shops to explore.
yalo, no nid to rush... ride more first...... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 18 2012, 10:05 PM
butthead
post Nov 19 2012, 12:59 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 09:46 PM)

are your brakes running complete pads or a separated brake pad with a brake holder? if it is a one piece, you can consider changing it to those holder with slot in types...no performance difference, jus cheaper to replace the pad inserts alone in the long run...

your vbrakes can ask mtbers , they know better...but i used to use koolstop pads or even the ones made by lizzard skins as they made all weather pads that supposedly work better in the rain...

for your front dual pivot calipers, you can find road pads from jagwire, swisstop, zipp if you dun find the latter 2 expensive... shimano you can give rodalink a try...

for pads you have to balance between a pad that gives good braking performance and rim wear as it often goes opposite directions...
kenycw55
post Nov 19 2012, 01:34 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 18 2012, 09:53 PM)
since brake pads are small, u can order online, get those canggih ones... biggrin.gif

how cronus...? did u check it out at bike shops??? seems more shops r selling now...

thing is, it is different from montague copies, cos got big joint on the frame...... biggrin.gif

Nice.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif : thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

auhckw
post Nov 19 2012, 12:25 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 19 2012, 12:59 AM)
are your brakes running complete pads or a separated brake pad with a brake holder? if it is a one piece, you can consider changing it to those holder with slot in types...no performance difference, jus cheaper to replace the pad inserts alone in the long run...

your vbrakes can ask mtbers , they know better...but i used to use koolstop pads or even the ones made by lizzard skins as they made all weather pads that supposedly work better in the rain...

for your front dual pivot calipers, you can find road pads from jagwire, swisstop, zipp if you dun find the latter 2 expensive... shimano you can give rodalink a try...

for pads you have to balance between a pad that gives good braking performance and rim wear as it often goes opposite directions...
I didn't look closeup at the pads yet, will check it later.

I wonder whether can i upgrade my rear vbrake to
SRAM Apex Brakeset
http://www.sram.com/sram/road/products/sram-apex-brakeset

If can, why can't both front and back use the same brakes (i was told cannot)... unsure.gif

H2D
post Nov 19 2012, 12:39 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 19 2012, 12:25 PM)

If can, why can't both front and back use the same brakes (i was told cannot)...  unsure.gif
cos got no mounting point mar....

that bcos the design of the folding style, the front brake they kenot use V brakes....
not sure other bikes that fold like this oso same,
check out birdy's brakes.....
butthead
post Nov 19 2012, 01:35 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 19 2012, 12:25 PM)
I didn't look closeup at the pads yet, will check it later.

I wonder whether can i upgrade my rear vbrake to
SRAM Apex Brakeset
http://www.sram.com/sram/road/products/sram-apex-brakeset

If can, why can't both front and back use the same brakes (i was told cannot)...  unsure.gif
go and check first...

this is the brake pad, single piece type

this are the holder - insert type

v brakes use brake post on both sides of your fork or seat stays while standard single or dual pivot calipers uses the 1 single mounting hole at the center...

maybe due to the length of the fork and the position of the brake posts.. they could not fit it to the short fork of a foldie...just speculating...

don't see the reason to change to a apex dual pivot caliper... it reduces braking power even if it can be installed... v-brakes are best used with v-brake lever... i know that v-brake levers does not work that well with cantilevers, but have never tried it with dual pivot calipers...

looking at your current different brakes on both ends.. it's better to just stick with what you have...

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 19 2012, 01:35 PM
etigge
post Nov 19 2012, 04:49 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(vincentho @ Nov 18 2012, 08:02 AM)
Any group from cheras area? I stay near cheras perdana area, but seldom see others around here...
I just started and I stay in CP1. Seems the cycling community here are mainly the myanmarese. laugh.gif The bike shop in Bdr. Mahkota Cheras seems to have vanished. Do you know anything about it and where do you get your bike parts near your place?

Added on November 19, 2012, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 15 2012, 09:29 AM)
Went and did my first spin today at DPC. Been quite awhile since I last cycle so goyang goyang.

Bike wise was nice but some times when changing gear, it will have the klak klak sound like cannot enter into that gear. The seller did tell me it is normal when it is brand new. After few rides and 1 month later, I have to bring back for service and tuning.
I noticed that you have a MTB gear shifter and a roadie rear derailleur. Did you have any shifting problems or they are actually compatible? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Nov 19 2012, 05:00 PM
butthead
post Nov 19 2012, 05:31 PM

593 posts

should not be a problem on shimano as their cable pull is the same
auhckw
post Nov 19 2012, 08:01 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 19 2012, 04:49 PM)
I noticed that you have a MTB gear shifter and a roadie rear derailleur. Did you have any shifting problems or they are actually compatible? hmm.gif
It comes just like that, so I assumed the bike designers should have done some research on em.

For me, at the moment no issues with shifting gears. Now getting less noisier. Only the lightest gear have sound, others are fine.

Today I found another issue. Whenever I ride on bumpy road, I can hear knock knock sound. I think there is sound of loose screw knocking at the front part. Can't seem to find the exact spot. Only happen on bumpy road. Kind of noisy. Will inform the shop the next monthly checkup visit wink.gif
auhckw
post Nov 19 2012, 08:03 PM

1,008 posts

Here are how my Promax brakes look like:

Brake pad is single piece type.

Somehow I feel stopping is more responsive after upgrading the brake lever. Pressing is more smooth now, cause I was told it has spring thingi inside

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 19 2012, 08:05 PM
butthead
post Nov 19 2012, 10:46 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 19 2012, 08:03 PM)
Here are how my Promax brakes look like:

Brake pad is single piece type.

Somehow I feel stopping is more responsive after upgrading the brake lever. Pressing is more smooth now, cause I was told it has spring thingi inside
did you change the cables as well? could have been why it is smoother... the ilink is actually a rubber boot to protect your frame in case your cable housing rubs against the frame and wears off paint

you can get the jagwire housings at gh speedbike, jagwire ones and the pad inserts elsewhere... but you can wait a bit and see if the braking improves progressively after wearing the pad out a bit...
vincentho
post Nov 20 2012, 12:07 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 19 2012, 04:49 PM)
I just started and I stay in CP1. Seems the cycling community here are mainly the myanmarese. laugh.gif The bike shop in Bdr. Mahkota Cheras seems to have vanished. Do you know anything about it and where do you get your bike parts near your place.
I stay at tmn minang ria, tmn cheras Delima got 1 bike shop quite complete v parts, I saw some cyclist do their shopping there.

I planning to do some routine weekly cycling around tmn tmn here, if interested, can meet up sometime... smile.gif
auhckw
post Nov 20 2012, 07:00 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 19 2012, 10:46 PM)
did you change the cables as well? could have been why it is smoother... the ilink is actually a rubber boot to protect your frame in case your cable housing rubs against the frame and wears off paint

you can get the jagwire housings at gh speedbike, jagwire ones and the pad inserts elsewhere... but you can wait a bit and see if the braking improves progressively after wearing the pad out a bit...
I didn't change anything except the brake levers. Yeah, I'll wait a bit since the braking has improved.
butthead
post Nov 20 2012, 09:02 AM

593 posts

no rush... rush is where you get into rash decisions
ahsam1212
post Nov 20 2012, 09:24 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 08:26 PM)
No join. Tak layak. Today the lady boss did say they have rides at night that I can join them. I'll try to go and someday...

Added on November 18, 2012, 8:53 pmBought this bottle cage too. A necessity...

Where did u t the bottle cage? How much?
Sphenix
post Nov 20 2012, 11:22 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 18 2012, 09:53 PM)

Hey, how much is this ???

Added on November 20, 2012, 11:23 am
QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Nov 20 2012, 09:24 AM)
I got this........ RM60 if not mistaken

This post has been edited by Sphenix: Nov 20 2012, 11:23 AM
auhckw
post Nov 20 2012, 11:30 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Nov 20 2012, 09:24 AM)
List price rm58. You can ask for discount
Bought at Folding Bike Trading

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 20 2012, 11:31 AM

130 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0351sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:04 PM