auhckw
post Nov 25 2012, 04:41 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 07:46 PM)
Modified the Brake Levers to this SRAM BL700 Brake Lever
After using this for a few rides, I've noticed there is a disadvantage about this lever.

The coating on it is pretty smooth. Can be quite slippery and fingers may not grip properly when hands are sweaty

H2D
post Nov 25 2012, 01:13 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 25 2012, 04:41 AM)
After using this for a few rides, I've noticed there is a disadvantage about this lever.

The coating on it is pretty smooth. Can be quite slippery and fingers may not grip properly when hands are sweaty
normally one squeeze n hook the fingers at the end of the lever,
that is y they made the end like this ( pic) so ur fingers can hook on to it...

etigge
post Nov 25 2012, 01:22 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Nov 23 2012, 01:39 AM)
Guys, any recommendation for folding bike below rm500?
You can try GW Cycle Boutique in Kota Kemuning. They import old bicycles by the containers and refurbish them. They do have some nice ones but the boss also knows the quality and demand. laugh.gif You can find them in Mudah.my

http://www.mudah.my/20+Imported+New+GTA+Al...ke-19102510.htm

Then again, if you are serious, these bikes will not satisfy you later when you join rides. It will become a waste of money as no one wants it want you want to resell it again. The cheapest Dahons I can find is RM1080 for the Eco C7 and RM1180 for the Boardwalk. I also checked out XDS, Chevrolet and a few local brands. Really not worth it! Imagine paying RM850 for a XDS 260 and another RM300 will get you a really good Dahon. Furthermore those Taman bicycle shops, you cannot test ride. KHS is also nice thumbup.gif

Added on November 25, 2012, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 25 2012, 04:41 AM)

You can buy a pair of gloves!

This post has been edited by etigge: Nov 25 2012, 01:24 PM
H2D
post Nov 25 2012, 01:38 PM

598 posts

new dahon bikes are like getting 'cheaper' ( price wise not sure yet ) .....

for eg the 2013 dahon dash p18.....

no more tiagra, biologic, rims, brake lever etc different,
tyre - kenda not schwalbe anymore...
no seat post pump, etc etc,

parts are like totally different liao.... compare to the 2010-2011 dash p18 model.

2013 spec
http://dahonbikes.com/nc/mainnav/folding-b...dash_p18-1.html

old spec
http://www.dahon.com/bikes/2011/dash-p18

price leh?? over here still duno...

in thai land... 31200 Baht..... which is slightly more than 3k RM.. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 25 2012, 01:50 PM
H2D
post Nov 25 2012, 01:55 PM

598 posts

visc p18

29900 Baht,

not sure msia will get this?
spec are all downgraded compare to the JDM model..
even the colour is .... shakehead.gif

jdm visc p18

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 25 2012, 02:01 PM
hsienhsien
post Nov 25 2012, 08:38 PM

Safe Trader
1,490 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 25 2012, 01:22 PM)
You can try GW Cycle Boutique in Kota Kemuning. They import old bicycles by the containers and refurbish them. They do have some nice ones but the boss also knows the quality and demand. laugh.gif  You can find them in Mudah.my

Then again, if you are serious, these bikes will not satisfy you later when you join rides. It will become a waste of money as no one wants it want you want to resell it again. The cheapest Dahons I can find is RM1080 for the Eco C7 and RM1180 for the Boardwalk. I also checked out XDS, Chevrolet and a few local brands. Really not worth it! Imagine paying RM850 for a XDS 260 and another RM300 will get you a really good Dahon. Furthermore those Taman bicycle shops, you cannot test ride. KHS is also nice  thumbup.gif

thanks for the suggestion guys, dahon is good brand but kinda out of budget sad.gif
what about these 2 guys , http://www.manygoodstuff.com/index.php?rou...t&product_id=71 &
http://bolujie.cl/
kalaq and bolujie, they look really stylish and cool, but the performance not sure >< really addicted by their outlook.

Added on November 25, 2012, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 25 2012, 01:22 PM)
You can try GW Cycle Boutique in Kota Kemuning. They import old bicycles by the containers and refurbish them. They do have some nice ones but the boss also knows the quality and demand. laugh.gif  You can find them in Mudah.my

Then again, if you are serious, these bikes will not satisfy you later when you join rides. It will become a waste of money as no one wants it want you want to resell it again. The cheapest Dahons I can find is RM1080 for the Eco C7 and RM1180 for the Boardwalk. I also checked out XDS, Chevrolet and a few local brands. Really not worth it! Imagine paying RM850 for a XDS 260 and another RM300 will get you a really good Dahon. Furthermore those Taman bicycle shops, you cannot test ride. KHS is also nice  thumbup.gif

thanks for the suggestion guys, dahon is good brand but kinda out of budget sad.gif
what about these 2 guys , http://www.manygoodstuff.com/index.php?rou...t&product_id=71 &
http://bolujie.cl/
kalaq and bolujie, they look really stylish and cool, but the performance not sure >< really addicted by their outlook.

This post has been edited by hsienhsien: Nov 25 2012, 08:38 PM
H2D
post Nov 25 2012, 09:07 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Nov 25 2012, 08:38 PM)
what about these 2 guys
bro, if budget right n u like , just buy it...
but those from sg u can't view the bike? or u wana go sg buy......
hsienhsien
post Nov 25 2012, 09:21 PM

Safe Trader
1,490 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 25 2012, 09:07 PM)
bro, if budget right n u like , just buy it...
but those from sg u can't view the bike? or u wana go sg buy......
maybe i will go there to have a look first, since i will be having a short trip at sg soon smile.gif
siewsphone
post Nov 26 2012, 11:22 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 21 2012, 03:07 PM)
almost every bike shop got folding bike now.
Hmm....but I think not all shop carrying good one right? tongue.gif

Is it hard to find Dahon in JB?

This post has been edited by siewsphone: Nov 26 2012, 11:23 AM
hanjo55
post Nov 26 2012, 11:32 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Nov 25 2012, 09:21 PM)
maybe i will go there to have a look first, since i will be having a short trip at sg soon smile.gif
Will that do any good? As the note says:

Note: Folding bicycle is not ex-stock & shipment takes 4 weeks to arrive. Please send your queries to order@manygoodstuff.com or contact +65 9729 2344 if you are interested.

H2D
post Nov 26 2012, 02:50 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(siewsphone @ Nov 26 2012, 11:22 AM)
Hmm....but I think not all shop carrying good one right?  tongue.gif

Is it hard to find Dahon in JB?
where got hard, any bike shop tht deals with lerun can order dahon for u, cos
lerun is distributor mar....
here are the list of lerun dealers in Johor.

http://www.lerun.com.my/dealer_johor.html

lerun oso got budget folding bike... black colour, RM 799 rodalink bangsar got one....
2kia
post Nov 26 2012, 05:13 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

hey guys, can folding bike go off road? i mean, can they take it without much damages?

thought of getting one but still deciding between a folding or a full-sized
H2D
post Nov 26 2012, 05:30 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Nov 26 2012, 05:13 PM)
hey guys, can folding bike go off road? i mean, can they take it without much damages?

thought of getting one but still deciding between a folding or a full-sized
of cos can... hehehe..... biggrin.gif
if u r not heavy n don't use it for jumping.....
a good folding joint will last.

u wan full size mtb like montague or wan small wheels.
smaller wheels abit tougher for off road....

2kia
post Nov 26 2012, 05:35 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 26 2012, 05:30 PM)
of cos can... hehehe.....  biggrin.gif
if u r not heavy n don't use it for jumping.....
a good folding joint will last.

u wan full size mtb like montague or wan small wheels.
smaller wheels abit tougher for off road....
i'm bout 75kg i believe n by jumping do u mean like those jumping off rocks at trails?

i'm talking more bout the occasional "jump" from roadside pavement etc tongue.gif
H2D
post Nov 26 2012, 05:42 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Nov 26 2012, 05:35 PM)
i'm bout 75kg i believe n by jumping do u mean like those jumping off rocks at trails?

i'm talking more bout the occasional "jump" from roadside pavement etc tongue.gif
aiya, i tot u wana use it like a mtb mar... jumping logs and all that....
jumping off pavement occasionally shud be fine..
if u wan an all round comfy tyre get the big apple...

haven't u watch this before, its posted earlier in this thread.....
heheh.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 26 2012, 05:46 PM
2kia
post Nov 26 2012, 05:48 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

haha i do enjoy jumping off things occasionally ma

n what's big apple?

havent riden for years since my super old montana got stolen back then
H2D
post Nov 26 2012, 05:52 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Nov 26 2012, 05:48 PM)
haha i do enjoy jumping off things occasionally ma

n what's big apple?

havent riden for years since my super old montana got stolen back then
schwalbe big apple is a tyre....
small thin tyre prone to pancit if u jump around too often i think...

2kia
post Nov 26 2012, 05:56 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 26 2012, 05:52 PM)
schwalbe big apple is a tyre....
small thin tyre prone to pancit  if u jump around too often i think...
okok thanks for the input thus far bro

gonna check around at few shops first b4 coming up with a budget

n i swear bicycles were meant to transport back then, not to be transported like these days tongue.gif
H2D
post Nov 26 2012, 05:59 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Nov 26 2012, 05:56 PM)
okok thanks for the input thus far bro

gonna check around at few shops first b4 coming up with a budget

n i swear bicycles were meant to transport back then, not to be transported like these days  tongue.gif
what to do, even hanoi vietnam oso now full of motorbikes n cars, very few ppl cycling..

but cities like Amsterdam are facing problems cos too many bicycles....

Dutch cycling utopia threatened by own success

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 26 2012, 06:01 PM
2kia
post Nov 26 2012, 06:18 PM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 26 2012, 05:59 PM)
what to do, even hanoi vietnam oso now full of motorbikes n cars, very few ppl cycling..

but cities like Amsterdam are facing problems cos too many bicycles....

Dutch cycling utopia threatened by own success
uh huh.. btw omg folding bike r as exp as full-sized mtb! i thought it'd be cheaper given the size! haha

130 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

1.1357sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:02 PM