58 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

podrunner
post Jan 17 2012, 10:25 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:16 PM)
yeah lots of illegal immigrants and problems with them there. These three places are rather small though, will they get enough clinical exposure? Nice sceneries though =P
maybe skimming the surface of tropical medicine. every student will also be PADI certified wink.gif

Gangster
post Jan 18 2012, 07:04 PM

25 posts

Hey, I need to know one thing. For an International Student, is it possible for them to do internship there and if yes is it compulsory? When can a graduate from the recognize university obtain MMC license? Thanks.
limeuu
post Jan 18 2012, 10:39 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Gangster @ Jan 18 2012, 07:04 PM)
Hey, I need to know one thing. For an International Student, is it possible for them to do internship there and if yes is it compulsory? When can a graduate from the recognize university obtain MMC license? Thanks.
they could hardly find enough housemanship places for msians, it is unlikely going forward, that foreign students will get offers of housejobs in msia.....

housemanship is compulsory, and needed for full registration with mmc............
Gangster
post Jan 18 2012, 10:58 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 18 2012, 07:39 PM)
they could hardly find enough housemanship places for msians, it is unlikely going forward, that foreign students will get offers of housejobs in msia.....

housemanship is compulsory, and needed for full registration with mmc............
Still possible isn't it ? Another 5 years and things might be a little different? Do you also get paid as a housemanship and how much time do you have to spent till u get the full registration and is there any other way to get full registration?
onelove89
post Jan 18 2012, 11:55 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Gangster @ Jan 18 2012, 10:58 PM)
Still possible isn't it ? Another 5 years and things might be a little different? Do you also get paid as a housemanship and how much time do you have to spent till u get the full registration and is there any other way to get full registration?
Housemanship for 2 years to get registered. Yes you do get paid. I think it's 2 years of housemanship and 3 years of govn service if I'm not mistaken.
Gangster
post Jan 19 2012, 01:02 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 18 2012, 08:55 PM)
Housemanship for 2 years to get registered. Yes you do get paid. I think it's 2 years of housemanship and 3 years of govn service if I'm not mistaken.
Thank you for the reply mate. Do you have any idea how much do you get paid? Taylors and IMU both say's they help the foreign students to do the housemanship/internship so shouldn't be a problem. Is there any other way as well to get fully registered? Do you also know if we need to do housemanship before applying for Uk or US med license test as well? Last but not the least, after 2 years of housemanship do we need to give any exam or they automatically give us the license? Thanks in advance.
C-Note
post Jan 19 2012, 01:43 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys, just curious, is the RM200 book voucher eligible for usage in IMU?
limeuu
post Jan 19 2012, 07:46 AM

12,291 posts

the universities CANNOT help foreigners get housemanship jobs....individuals will need to apply directly to the jpa and ministry of health for the job.....

it is amazing what they will promise to get people's money........
Huskies
post Jan 19 2012, 08:23 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 19 2012, 07:46 AM)
the universities CANNOT help foreigners get housemanship jobs....individuals will need to apply directly to the jpa and ministry of health for the job.....

I think there are two things people should know about PUGSOM - 1. MCAT is only taken after one has ACCEPTED the offer and about to ENROL (what's the point of taking the MCAT then?) 2. PUGSOM students need to take Step 1 of the USMLE, but does not have to pass it to progress to the clinical years.

Oh and the inaugural class of Malaysians at Perdana is sponsored entirely by JPA smile.gif
limeuu
post Jan 19 2012, 08:51 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Huskies @ Jan 19 2012, 08:23 AM)
I think there are two things people should know about PUGSOM - 1. MCAT is only taken after one has ACCEPTED the offer and about to ENROL (what's the point of taking the MCAT then?) 2. PUGSOM students need to take Step 1 of the USMLE, but does not have to pass it to progress to the clinical years.

Oh and the inaugural class of Malaysians at Perdana is sponsored entirely by JPA smile.gif
of course lah.....you think any sane person will pay that kind of money for that degree?..... smile.gif

the purpose of that med school is to tap into taxpayers money....aka jpa/mara scholarships......
cckkpr
post Jan 19 2012, 09:23 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 19 2012, 07:46 AM)

I dont think IMU will do that, they are not that desperate YET! Still many students put on the waiting list.

With the no. of places in oz getting so competitive, reckon that places will get even tougher in IMU for pms.

Moreover, chances of direct entry into UK med is also getting tougher with about 150 to 200 students called for interview in KL for each uni for the limited 10 to 15 places available to foreign students. This does not take into consideration those that choose UK for the interview and those that did not make the cut.
podrunner
post Jan 19 2012, 10:23 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Huskies @ Jan 19 2012, 08:23 AM)

Yes, they offered that to my son, who happened to be at the education fair in KLCC. They said ATAR 95 will suffice, and JPA will sponsor.

Added on January 19, 2012, 10:29 am
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 19 2012, 09:23 AM)
I dont think IMU will do that, they are not that desperate YET! Still many students put on the waiting list.

With the no. of places in oz getting so competitive, reckon that places will get even tougher in IMU for pms.

Moreover, chances of direct entry into UK med is also getting tougher with about 150 to 200 students called for interview  in KL for each uni for the limited 10 to 15 places available to foreign students. This does not take into consideration those that choose UK for the interview and those that did not make the cut.
Wow that's A LOT of students per UK uni that was called for interviews! I guess this includes the Singaporeans who had to fly into kl for unis that were held/holding their interviews in KL.

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jan 19 2012, 10:29 AM
cckkpr
post Jan 19 2012, 10:55 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 19 2012, 10:23 AM)
Yes, they offered that to my son, who happened to be at the education fair in KLCC. They said ATAR 95 will suffice, and JPA will sponsor.

Added on January 19, 2012, 10:29 am

Wow that's A LOT of students per UK uni that was called for interviews! I guess this includes the Singaporeans who had to fly into kl for unis that were held/holding their interviews in KL.
And you wont be surprised to see some familiar faces at EACH of these interviews!

Added on January 19, 2012, 11:00 am[quote=podrunner,Jan 19 2012, 10:23 AM]

How long can JPA does this kind of "national service"? Maybe for as long as TDM is still around! Thereafter, the gravy train will come to an abrupt stop and a pitiful sight for all the unfortunate victims.

Shelfield university was the first and will not be the last.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jan 19 2012, 11:00 AM
Syd G
post Jan 19 2012, 05:28 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Very quick question.

MBBS(IMU) or MBBS(Monash)? Assuming AMC accreditation is not on the table.
cckkpr
post Jan 19 2012, 05:35 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 19 2012, 05:28 PM)
Very quick question.

Used to be two way movement of students between the two unis but it seems more are moving to Monash than the other way round.

But if you intend to work here, does it really matters?
zstan
post Jan 19 2012, 05:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 19 2012, 05:28 PM)
Very quick question.

MBBS (Monash) for the better networking opportunities and better student ratio and the chance to go to Australia but paying Malaysian fees.
podrunner
post Jan 19 2012, 06:04 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 19 2012, 05:53 PM)
MBBS (Monash) for the better networking opportunities and better student ratio and the chance to go to Australia but paying Malaysian fees.
You should perhaps clarify "chance to go to Australia....". tongue.gif
Syd G
post Jan 19 2012, 06:10 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

If you're doing IMU local, there are also chances to go to partner schools for 3 months. So... that point is moot biggrin.gif
zstan
post Jan 19 2012, 06:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 19 2012, 06:04 PM)
You should perhaps clarify "chance to go to Australia....".  tongue.gif
During your 5th year 1st semester it is compulsory for all students to go to Australia...

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 19 2012, 06:10 PM)
If you're doing IMU local, there are also chances to go to partner schools for 3 months. So... that point is moot biggrin.gif
For Monash is guaranteed 6 months... for IMU you are talking about 'chances'... which point is moot...?
cckkpr
post Jan 19 2012, 09:01 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 19 2012, 06:23 PM)
During your 5th year 1st semester it is compulsory for all students to go to Australia...
For Monash is guaranteed 6 months... for IMU you are talking about 'chances'... which point is moot...?
I thought its 3 months, no?

58 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:40 PM