126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V12, Chubbie-chubb Furball

akiraceo
post Mar 14 2009, 01:08 AM

Miao&WafuPafu
929 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Mar 13 2009, 08:32 AM)
to make she recognize my smell is to ????
i think the fatter 1 is the female while the skinny 1 is the male. she's not taking the male food, she is pregnant. 1 way to notice that the skinny is the male is the male got longer body than the female. hope this helps
but... but they're both from the same sex sweat.gif
blurjoey
post Mar 14 2009, 08:06 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(akiraceo @ Mar 14 2009, 01:08 AM)
but... but they're both from the same sex  sweat.gif
The fat robos is the alpha male or female. Usually the alpha male or female will get to eat first all the good stuffs and to mate with the females if alpha male first. The smaller robos is like the subordinate. This is common for animals staying in a group.

Usually they will fight to determine who is the alpha male or female in the group. That's why you see them in all kinds of positions, chasing each other and stuffs.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 14 2009, 08:07 AM
akiraceo
post Mar 14 2009, 09:06 AM

Miao&WafuPafu
929 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Mar 14 2009, 08:06 AM)
The fat robos is the alpha male or female. Usually the alpha male or female will get to eat first all the good stuffs and to mate with the females if alpha male first. The smaller robos is like the subordinate. This is common for animals staying in a group.

Usually they will fight to determine who is the alpha male or female in the group. That's why you see them in all kinds of positions, chasing each other and stuffs.
I see I see..
Its there a possibility that the alpha kept on taking the sub's food away and the sub's didn't get enough nutrients and die?

because my friend's gerbils did that.. the alpha take every single piece of food the sub hv in hands.

blurjoey
post Mar 14 2009, 09:30 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(akiraceo @ Mar 14 2009, 09:06 AM)
I see I see..
Its there a possibility that the alpha kept on taking the sub's food away and the sub's didn't get enough nutrients and die?

because my friend's gerbils did that.. the alpha take every single piece of food the sub hv in hands.
That won't happened. I used to have robos and they lived to almost their old age.

speedhunter
post Mar 14 2009, 09:55 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

how to know if the bedding is enough? is it ok if just covering the floor? or should put as much as the floor can support coz i read that hamsters love to dig and bury them self.
blurjoey
post Mar 14 2009, 10:35 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Mar 14 2009, 09:55 AM)
how to know if the bedding is enough? is it ok if just covering the floor? or should put as much as the floor can support coz i read that hamsters love to dig and bury them self.
Actually that depends on you whether you want to put till only cover the floor only or a few inches deep. In the end you have to decide how much you want to spend on beddings.

For me, I put till it covers the whole floor and its about 2cm in height. If your hamster is toilet train then the bedding can last 2-3 weeks with minor removal of soiled beddings.
akiraceo
post Mar 14 2009, 10:49 AM

Miao&WafuPafu
929 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Mar 14 2009, 09:30 AM)
That won't happened. I used to have robos and they lived to almost their old age.
biggrin.gif I see I see
thanks for clarifies things out for me ^^
speedhunter
post Mar 14 2009, 02:27 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

is there's a british hamster? a pet store here sell them, looks like syrian, but can place together, the smallest 1 = big dwarf, the bigger 1 is bigger la. they dont fight and dont bite but really light weight and will run away if try to catch. also will jump off from hand. i bought 1, looks like a sable banded syrian. but how come the can be house together if they are syrian?

the picture is here

This post has been edited by speedhunter: Mar 14 2009, 03:34 PM
throttle_jockey
post Mar 14 2009, 09:41 PM

hie there guys..i'm new in this forum, i have 2 robos and i heard that pine or cedar beddings are bad for hamsters..still newbie in raring hamsters..well i need to know where can i get beddings such as breeder celect or even carefresh? i'm from Penang..i tried finding in pet stores such as CTY and KW acuatic but i cant seem to find those brands available..the popular ones are like chipsi apple scented and living world..
if i need to go all the way down to KL or anywhere to get it i will do so..thanks alot guys..
mecool
post Mar 14 2009, 11:34 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Mar 14 2009, 02:27 PM)
is there's a british hamster? a pet store here sell them, looks like syrian, but can place together, the smallest 1 = big dwarf, the bigger 1 is bigger la. they dont fight and dont bite but really light weight and will run away if try to catch. also will jump off from hand. i bought 1, looks like a sable banded syrian. but how come the can be house together if they are syrian?

the picture is here
that is syrian sable banded...got cheated only la by the pet store owner--make it hear like so hebat..british hamster--no such thing...marketing strategy laa...

light weight---from ur pic--it is still baby,prob jz like 3 @ 4 weeks like that...they put it in group---dun expect petstore keep each in one cage and petstore owner dun noe anything--noe about money only..they dun fight coz they stil young,dunno anything<ever see baby under 1 yr old fight when meet other baby??like that laa..>

u should feed ur hammy with good food n fresh vege---the age of ur hammy,i think he/she can still grow a bit large n chubby,spend more time with him/her to make it more tame...good luck. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
sangels
post Mar 14 2009, 11:44 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Mar 14 2009, 02:27 PM)

the picture is here
Another person who didn't do research and get conned here. What shown in your picture is definitely a sable banded syrian and its under age, estimated less than 1 month old, max is 3 weeks old only. It run away when catch and jump from hand cos its not tame at all and it is so scared of human touch. They can be place together cos the pet shop do so, it doesn't mean they can. You didn't see they fight and bite each other doesn't mean that they won't, how many hours you have been staying there and look at them? Do you ever know how many have died due to fighting especially between the bigger ones and the smaller ones. They haven't start to fight because they are still very small and do you think they can fight the bigger ones? They will start fighting when they reach 3 months old. FYI, there's no such thing as British hamsters in this world! Only people who do not know anything will be fooled by the petshop. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif The pet shop can be black listed as they did the wrong thing yet give wrong infos just to make profit. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
mecool
post Mar 14 2009, 11:51 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Mar 14 2009, 11:44 PM)
Another person who didn't do research and get conned here. What shown in your picture is definitely a sable banded syrian and its under age, estimated less than 1 month old, max is 3 weeks old only. It run away when catch and jump from hand cos its not tame at all and it is so scared of human touch. They can be place together cos the pet shop do so, it doesn't mean they can. You didn't see they fight and bite each other doesn't mean that they won't, how many hours you have been staying there and look at them? Do you ever know how many have died due to fighting especially between the bigger ones and the smaller ones. They haven't start to fight because they are still very small and do you think they can fight the bigger ones? They will start fighting when they reach 3 months old. FYI, there's no such thing as British hamsters in this world! Only people who do not know anything will be fooled by the petshop.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif The pet shop can be black listed as they did the wrong thing yet give wrong infos just to make profit. vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
what sangels says is true...ME SUPPORT!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

speedhunter---do more reading in here...
speedhunter
post Mar 15 2009, 10:58 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(mecool @ Mar 14 2009, 11:34 PM)
that is syrian sable banded...got cheated only la by the pet store owner--make it hear like so hebat..british hamster--no such thing...marketing strategy laa...

light weight---from ur pic--it is still baby,prob jz like 3 @ 4 weeks like that...they put it in group---dun expect petstore keep each in one cage and petstore owner dun noe anything--noe about money only..they dun fight coz they stil young,dunno anything<ever see baby under 1 yr old fight when meet other baby??like that laa..>
u should feed ur hammy with good food n fresh vege---the age of ur hammy,i think he/she can still grow a bit large n chubby,spend more time with him/her to make it more tame...good luck. icon_rolleyes.gif
haha, thats what i thought, its a syrian, thats y i only bought 1 as the pet shop suggest to buy in pairs, never heard of british hamster, even googling in the internet will never found it.

cant wait to pump him rclxms.gif but need more guide from all seniors here notworthy.gif
QUOTE(sangels @ Mar 14 2009, 11:44 PM)
Another person who didn't do research and get conned here. What shown in your picture is definitely a sable banded syrian and its under age, estimated less than 1 month old, max is 3 weeks old only. It run away when catch and jump from hand cos its not tame at all and it is so scared of human touch. They can be place together cos the pet shop do so, it doesn't mean they can. You didn't see they fight and bite each other doesn't mean that they won't, how many hours you have been staying there and look at them? Do you ever know how many have died due to fighting especially between the bigger ones and the smaller ones. They haven't start to fight because they are still very small and do you think they can fight the bigger ones? They will start fighting when they reach 3 months old. FYI, there's no such thing as British hamsters in this world! Only people who do not know anything will be fooled by the petshop. The pet shop can be black listed as they did the wrong thing yet give wrong infos just to make profit.  vmad.gif
well, its not i'm not doing research at all. i do read a lot. thanks for the info here thumbup.gif so, what am i suppose to do with the pet shop? to black listed is not a good option here i think
Voxe
post Mar 15 2009, 01:12 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

My Winter White Hamster is pregnant, I think. Her abdomen is big and squishy and pink. She is very inactive and prefer to curl up in her house. I put her in her favorite ball and she didn't run around like she does. Should prepare for birth? I placed tissues around her cage.
speedhunter
post Mar 15 2009, 06:40 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Mar 15 2009, 01:12 PM)
My Winter White Hamster is pregnant, I think. Her abdomen is big and squishy and pink. She is very inactive and prefer to curl up in her house. I put her in her favorite ball and she didn't run around like she does. Should prepare for birth? I placed tissues around her cage.
if u got males inside the cage, chances your hamster is pregnant is high. when do bought in the hamsters?
ling07
post Mar 17 2009, 10:15 AM

39 posts

my hamster is eating her own poo.. doh.gif
what can I do about it?

This post has been edited by ling07: Mar 17 2009, 10:15 AM
speedhunter
post Mar 17 2009, 10:19 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(ling07 @ Mar 17 2009, 10:15 AM)
what can I do about it?
i dont think shes eating her own poo, she just put into her pouch and put on somewhere else, unless u dont see the poo anymore around the cage sweat.gif
blurjoey
post Mar 17 2009, 10:43 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ling07 @ Mar 17 2009, 10:15 AM)
what can I do about it?
Its normal for hamsters to eat their own poo for some of the bacteria in the poo. They will also moved their poo to another location by putting it in their cheek pouch.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Mar 17 2009, 10:44 AM
sky_haunter
post Mar 17 2009, 12:41 PM

69 posts

It's normal for them to eat their poo..
Dun know how to explain about this, but mainly because of their digestion system. The nutrient is not well absorb for the first time, so they will eat it again...

Correct me if i'm wrong
CheeseBeT
post Mar 17 2009, 03:17 PM

119 posts

hi..my syrian just died last week.. cry.gif
and i'm planning to buy 2 WWs..
is there any suggestion for me?..coz i 've never owned any WW b4..
i 'm goin to buy 1 male and female..is there possible that they fight?..
and can we tame them?..like we tame syrian..bcoz my sister said that she don't want if cannot play with like syrian... yawn.gif
can we feed them the same food as syrian?..like..vege..fruits..and especially mealworms..
thx.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by CheeseBeT: Mar 17 2009, 03:26 PM

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:02 AM