[GUIDE] New to iPhone? Where to begin? , Starter Kit (For all iPhone Users)

TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 7 2008, 07:11 PM, updated 15y ago

303 posts

Credits to 'davidgary73' for his original 'iPhone for Dummies' thread on which this guide is based on.

Welcome! cool2.gif

This guide has been made to provide you with all the commonly sought after information you need to know about operating your iPhone. Solutions are constantly updated to reflect the ongoing developments of the iPhone and topics cover mostly the total beginner to intermediary/advance level of users.

Read the RULES before you continue:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1080223

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1654779

Click on the post links in red below to jump to specific post:

Section 'A' : An Introduction To Your Phone:
Section 'B' : Customise & Localising Your iPhone:
Section 'C' : Intermediary To Advanced Tweaks:
Section 'D' : Troubleshooting Common Problems:
Section 'E' : Accesories and Useful Links:
Section F: Common Asked Questions:
Section G: iPhone 3GS & iPhone 4:
Section H: iPhone Software
Section I: iPhone 3GS Common Asked Questions:
Section 'J' : MMS:
Section 'K' : Tethering and Hotspot:
Section 'I' : IOS 4 & iPhone 4:

For Tips n Tricks (TNT) on iPhone, please refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000739

Whenever possible, we also advise that you perform a Google or a forum search user posted image on the topic of interest that you are looking for should this guide not be sufficient to tackle your problems. This is to avoid creating a messy clutter of new individual threads which can ruin other forumer's user experience. You should also be aware that most of the solutions below include a link to relevant threads where you can engage in further discussion on the particular topic.

If all fails and you truly think you have an unique problem, feel free to post up a new thread (with a clear title to help improve search results) or give a shout out to the regulars in the iPhone Club pinned thread following the recommended question template. In line with keeping the discussions where it is supposed to be, this thread will be locked to avoid spam and irrelevant chatter.

--
iPhone Firmwares

iPhone firmwares: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750

Q: Are these links safe to use to download the firmwares?
A: All firmwares are from Apple webserver and iTunes are using the same links to download the firmwares.

Q: How to update firmware after downloading from the Apple webserver links?

Windows: Launch iTunes, plug in your iPhone. Hold shift and click Restore for Windows users and select the firmware.

Mac: Launch iTunes, plug in your iPhone. Hold Alt/Option and click Restore for Mac users and select the firmware.

(Do a full backup before you proceed)

--

For General questions like what's firmware, EDGE,..please refer to this post.

Your co-operation in making the iPhone forums a better place is highly appreciated. biggrin.gif

Cheers! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 20 2011, 07:20 PM
TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 7 2008, 07:12 PM

303 posts

Section 'A' : An Introduction To Your Phone:

You finally bought yourself the iPhone and now have it in your hands. What do you do now? This introduction section is for the complete newbie. As you should have realised by now, your iPhone is a very technical phone. In order to maximise its full potential, you will need to find out specifically what phone it is that you have purchased as well as to set up a few basic things first.

[attachmentid=1029344] Attached Image

What To Do After Purchasing The iPhone?

1. Read The Manual!
Download iPhone 4 User Guide Manual: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/iPhone..._User_Guide.pdf

Get to Know Your Phone's Basic Functions & Features. As technical as it is, your iPhone does not come with a physical manual. Instead, Apple has opted to provide you with a host of information online. Not many owners are aware of this and therefore common questions like the following are always being asked:
"Why is my right speaker not working?" (Answer: The phone only has 1 left speaker) iPhone 3G/3GS
"Why is my left speaker not working?" (Answer: The phone only has 1 right speaker) iPhone 4
"How to uninstall applications" (Answer: Select the application and hold for 2-3 secs, the applications on screen will wriggle with a 'x'. Press 'x' to delete).
"Why is there no sound when my phone receives a call/sms?" (Answer: There is a silent button on the side you might have activated)

The detailed answers to these questions and on other basic functions/features/specifications of your phone are available at Apple site:

iPhone 3GS and 4 Comparison
iTunes Apple Keynotes PodCast

2. Set Up An iTunes Account. How?
A: Regardless of whether you are on the Mac or PC, you should have the latest version of iTunes installed ( http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/ ). You will need this program to activate your iPhone and to set up your iTunes Account so that you can buy/download more games/applications/songs/videos/etc which you can add to your phone.

Although it is possible to set up a Malaysian iTunes Account, it is highly recommended that you open a US iTunes Account instead. The US iTunes Store has no limits to what content you can access compared to other localised versions of the store.

Q: How to sign up?
A: Download the PDF guide from one of the following links to find out how to open a US iTunes Account for free: (credit: friends)
( Download Link 1 )
( Download Link 2 )
( Download Link 3 [ English and Chinese ] )

Video Tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un4frEddL1E by yezhacolic.

Q: Can i have a few iTunes account and sign up for free?
A: Yes you can create as many as you like. We recommend that you setup a M'sia and a US iTunes account. You can switch/login different iTunes account via Settings > Store in your iPhone or sign in with your desktop/laptop computer but only one account at a time.

Q: Can i make purchase in US iTunes account with M'sia Credit Card?
A: You will not be able to make purchases from the US iTunes Store with a Malaysian credit card. The solution to this is to get the iTunes Gift Cards which you can use to redeem for store credit. You can buy these gift cards locally by looking for sellers in the Garage Sales section. (To redeem: iTunes Program>iTunes Store>Quick Links>Redeem)

Q: Can i use M'sia Credit Card to purchase Applications?
A: Yes you can and only valid for M'sia AppStore.

Q: M'sia AppStore sells in Ringgit or US currency? Any handling fee for international transactions using M'sia CC?
A: All transaction will be done in US currency and your respective CC provider/bank will impose a 1% charge on top of that amount paid.

Application price: $0.99 = around RM3.70
Total amount paid with 1% transaction fee using M'sia CC = RM3.74

Q: Buying games/apps via iTunes. How?
A: Kindly read: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/998251

3. Activate & Register Your iPhone
Q: Why do you need to activate your iPhone? (credit: frozzbyte)
A: Activating your iPhone is the process of enabling the phone from an unactivated state. When unactivated, you can only access emergency call functions. This state is not the same as a SIM-lock state.

Activation is needed for the phone to verify that a valid SIM card is being used. You will need to do this activation irregardless of whether you bought a locked/unlocked version of the phone. You might ask "Why do we still need to verify the SIM if the iPhone is already unlocked and can accept any SIM?". There is no simple answer, just that the iPhone needs to go through this process, locked or unlocked.

The process of activation is different for locked/unlocked units. If you haven't already determined whether you have a locked/unlocked iPhone, you are urged to visit the "iPhone Buying Guide" as it is very important to personally confirm and double confirm the type of phone you have before proceeding to the software aspects. Do not simply rely on what the seller of the phone told you.

Now if you've done that, insert your SIM card into your iPhone and lets activate your baby.

iPhone 4 requires Micro Sim card.

Sim Cutting Sim cutting tutorial: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1466267/+2360

Unlocked iPhone (Maxis, Australia, Singtel etc) :
1) Connect the iPhone to your Mac/PC using the cable provided and have your internet connected.
2) iTunes should automatically launch once your iPhone has been detected/recognised. To be safe, have it open beforehand.
3) Activation should then proceed automatically. Just follow the on screen instructions.
4) iTunes will verify once again that your iPhone is indeed unlocked.
5) Register your iPhone by linking it to an iTunes account. Again, follow the on screen instructions.
6) Jailbreaking after this is optional in order to use certain 3rd party applications. Read more about it here.

Locked iPhones (US, UK etc)
1) You have no option but to "unlock + jailbreak" your phone first. Find out how to do all this here.
2) Steps 1,2,4,5 of the Unlocked iPhone activation method is applied.

4. Upgrading Firmware(FW)
Q: What is firmware?
A:The firmware is the operating system installed on the iPhone. Apple releases firmware upgrades for your iPhone to reflect new software improvements from time to time. To date, released firmware versions include 1.0.2, 1.1.1, 1.1.2, 1.1.3, 1.1.4, 2.0.0, 2.0.1, 2.0.2, 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.1, 3.0, 3.0.1, 3.1, 3.1.2, 3.1.3, 4.0.0 , 4.0.1, 4.0.2 and 4.1.

Q: How to upgrade firmware?
A: Firmware updates are done via iTunes. Every time you connect your iPhone to iTunes, a check for updates is done automatically as a default setting. You will be prompted to install if there is new firmware available. You are recommended to ignore this and to turn off automatic updates (in the prompt pop-up). It is recommended instead that you do your research first on the new firmware and when you are certain you want to update the firmware, you can do so manually in iTunes by clicking on the "Check for Updates" button.

Q: What happens if i upgrade from previous firmware?
A: Note that every time you do a firmware upgrade, any settings or preferences on your iPhone will be wiped out and can be restored to the state you want so long as you do a backup before the upgrade. iTunes will automatically prompt you to do the backup. Syncing your iPhone after the firmware upgrade. Backup will restore all your applications/saved game data that are wiped out during the upgrade process.

Q: Do i have pay for my applications again after i upgrade or restore my iPhone?
A: Do not worry about having to pay again for applications already purchased from the iTunes Store as purchases made are a one off process (lifetime). If your application does not show under the iTunes Library (or does not appear after a sync) for any reason after firmware upgrades, simply reselect your application from the AppStore, click buy, type in your password and it will re-download for free.

5. 3G/3GS iPhone Warranty
A: Claim warranty from the country that you bought the 3G/3GS iPhone from if there's defect or hardware related issues. Online Service Assistance Warranty Check: https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do

6. Encrypt your iPhone Backup (credit: nokia2003)
A: Select “Encrypt iPhone backup” if you want to encrypt the information stored on your computer when iTunes makes a backup. Encrypted backups are indicated by a padlock icon, and a password is required to restore the information to iPhone.

In the iTunes Summary screen, select "Encrypt iPhone backup" if you want to encrypt the information stored on your computer when iTunes makes a backup. Encrypted backups are indicated by a padlock icon (as visible below in the Deleting a Backup section), and a password is required to restore the information to iPhone. You may want to write down the password for your backup and store it in a safe place. If you use a Mac, when you set a password you can select to store the password in the keychain.

Warning: If you encrypt an iPhone backup in iTunes and then forget your password, you will not be able to restore from backup and your data will be unrecoverable. If you forget the password you can continue to do backups and use the device, however you will not be able to restore the encrypted backup to any device without the password. You do not need to enter the password for your backup each time you back up or sync.

If you cannot remember the password and want to start again, you will have to do a full software restore and when prompted by iTunes to select the backup to restore from, choose "Set up as a new device".

7. Find My iPhone with MobileMe [Need to subscribe]
A: MobileMe helps you find your lost iPhone.
Sometimes it’s your keys. Other times it’s your glasses. Misplacing things happens all the time. Now, if you misplace your iPhone, Find My iPhone can help you find it.

Link: http://www.apple.com/mobileme/whats-new/

8. Ring and Silent Mode
A: Select via the left top corner of your iPhone. You would know this if you read the iPhone User Guide Manual.

---

Congratulations! party.gif Now you have covered the basics of your iPhone, you can read on below to learn more about how to optimise your phone settings to suit your needs, overcome certain limitations of the iPhone and some more advanced stuff.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 27 2010, 02:01 PM
TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 7 2008, 07:13 PM

303 posts

Section 'B' : Customise & Localising Your iPhone:

This section will share with you the most common general tweaks that Malaysian iPhone users will usually want to apply. These include tweaks to localise your iPhone to suit the local networks and environment. Your Malaysian iPhone experience will be greatly enhanced after going through this.

1. Name your iPhone.
A: In iTunes, under Devices, double click your iPhone and enter your custom name.

2. How to import Existing SIM Contacts and add contact picture?
Q: Have a lot of existing contacts stored in your SIM?
A: No worries. Copy all your contacts in your previous phone to your simcard. You can easily import them into your iPhone. In your iPhone, go to (Settings> Mail,Contacts,Calender> Import SIM Contacts)

Q: Can i save my contacts to Sim?
A: No you can't. There's no available function to export contacts to the simcard.

Q: Can sync contacts with OutLook?
A: Refer to this thread.

Q:How to Backup Contacts with iTunes?
A: Here is how to back up your iPhone contacts on a Pc/Mac.
- Open i-tunes on your computer that you sync it to
- Plug in your phone to the computer
- open "Address book" window's address book program. Kinda lame, but it works. Its under start-programs-accessories
- Back to iTunes, click on the phone icon on the left
- Click on the Info, and under "Contacts" (the first one) check "sync contacts from" and then pick "Windows address book" and "AddressBook" for Mac from the drop down menu
- Click all contacts
- Then at the bottom right of iTunes, click "Sync" It will ask you if you want to merge or replace. Make sure you select "MERGE" or it will delete your contacts on the phone.

Thats it, check your Windows Address Book or Mac AddressBook and everything should be there. All the numbers and emails that you have put so much time into adding to your phone. Pretty nice. So, from now on, if you add contacts to the phone it will back up to the Computer and the Computer's Address book (if changed) adds new contacts. Hope this helps.

Q: in coming call "Unknown"? How to fix?
A: Call your telco.

Q: How to place contact pictures to Caller ID (small caller id picture as per Apple site)?
A: To have the small top right corner caller id as per the Apple site, use Addressbook for Mac ( http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2486 ) and Outlook for Windows ( http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook/...0137791033.aspx ) to place the contact pictures. Sync your iPhone with iTunes.

3. Add Your Carrier's Voicemail
To add your carrier's voicemail via a single dial tap to the "Voicemail" button on your iPhone: (credits: stringfellow)
1) First get your carrier's voicemail number. (DiGi=121, Maxis=121, Celcom=1313 or call up your carrier's customer service to find out)
2) Tap on the 'Phone' button in your iPhone.
3) Tap on the 'Keypad' tab.
4) You need to then add the following code: ( *5005*86*xxx# ). Here xxx would be your voicemail number.
5) After entering the code, tap 'Call'.
6) This results in the code being set.
7) Thats all, tap on the voicemail button and it should automatically call your usual voicemail service.

4. Maxis 3G Settings, Celcom 3G Settings, Celcom GPRS, DIGI GPRS and EDGE
Q: What is the settings for 3G and how to enable Cellular Data Network which is not available in my iPhone?
A: Go to Settings - General - Network - 3G and toggle your 3G ON. Place the settings in Cellular Data Network.
If you can't see the Cellular Data Network column, refer to this thread to enable the Cellular Data Network.

6. Forward SMS and Email
Q: Can iPhone forward SMS and email?
A: iPhone 3.0 has the ablility to copy/paste/forward text features.

Q: Is there a SMS Report Confirmation?
A: By default, there none. You can use the proposed SMS Report Confirmation Tip below.
If you're using Maxis enter: *N#<space>your message
If you're using Celcom enter: *n#<space>your message
Not available for DIGI and UMoblie users.
**Start at the beginning of your sms. Recipients won't see the *N#

7. Adding MMS Functionality
Q: How To add MMS fuction?
A: For 3G/3GS iPhones, iPhone 3.0 has MMS capability. Carrier settings needed to enable MMS. More info here.

8. Turn OFF Keyboard 'Auto Correction'
Q:The Keyboard 'Auto Correction' can get pretty annoying at times. Can i turn it off?
A: In your iPhone, go to Settings> General> Keyboard> Auto-Correction. Toggle it OFF.

9. International Keyboard
Q: How to enable different languages in the iPhone?
A: Your iPhone provides keyboards in multiple languages such as Chinese Handwriting, Japanese etc. You can change the language for your keyboard or make two or more keyboards available at the same time:

1) On your iPhone, go to (Settings> General> International> Keyboards) and turn on the keyboards you want.
2) If more than one keyboard is turned on, simply tap on the globe icon on your keyboard to switch between the keyboards when you're typing. When you tap the symbol, the names of the newly active keyboard appears briefly.

10. Custom Ringtones & SMS Tones
Q: How to create my custom ringtones?
A: Creating your own custom ringtones is fairly straightforward with the availability of automated programs. The max seconds per ringtone is only 40 secs. More that 40 secs, iTunes will not allow you to use it as a ringtone.

For Windows:
- iRinger: ( http://www.iringer.net/ ) < Highly Recommended
- Audiko: ( http://www.audiko.net/ )
- Nakko: ( http://www.nakko.com/ )
- iPhone Ringtone Converter: ( http://www.dvdtoiphone.net/iphone-ringtone-converter.html )

For Mac:
- iToner: http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/itoner/ $15.00 (Highly Recommended)
- Garageband: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1358

2. Create ringtone via iTunes, the video is [ Here ] [by friends]

3. Via iPhone application: Ringtone Converter

SMS

Q: How to create custom SMS Tones? [This can only be available for jailbreak iPhones] | JB
A: Creating Custom SMS Tones on the other hand is fairly more technical and can only be done on jailbroken phones. It involves the following steps:
1) Create a tone you want in QuickTime or with any audio software. It has to be an aif file.
2) Rename the file to 'sms-received1.caf' (which is the file you might want to back up by the way as it is the original ringtone)
3) You can create multiple tones. Just rename correspondingly as sms-received2.caf, sms-received3.caf and so on.
4) Using a directory browser such as DiskAid, browse to ( System/Library/Audio/UISounds )
5) Place your new files in this directory.
6) Reboot your phone and you will have your new sms tones.

11. Transferring Video Files To The iPhone
Q: How and what software to use?
A: Please refer to this thread: Your One Stop iTunes Troubleshooting Centre

12. Transferring Songs To iPhone and Transfering Pictures
Q: How to transfer mp3's and pictures to my iPhone?
A: Please refer to this thread: Your One Stop iTunes Troubleshooting Centre

13. Instant Messenger (iTunes AppStore)
Q: Any applications like MSN or Yahoo Messenger for iPhone?
A: You can get this applications from iTunes AppStore for free or purchase.
1) Beejive (Purchase) (highly recommended)
2) Fring (Free)
3) Xumii (Free)
4) IM+ (Purchase)
5) Nimbuzz (Free)
6) Skype (Free)
7) Agile Messenger (Purchase)
8) Yahoo Messenger (Free)
9) eBuddy (Free)

14. Video Capture
Q: Is there any video recorder software for iPhone?
A: iPhone 4 comes with front and back camera.

15. Enable Push Notification Service
Q: I don't have Push Notification column in my iPhone? Why and how to enable it?
A: Please refer to these links @ http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3576

16. Auto Correction
Q: How to enable auto Correction or disable it?
A: Please read the iPhone User Guide pdf Manual. Settings->General->Keyboard->Auto-correction ON.

17. Syncing Notes
Q: How to sync notes?
A: You can set up iTunes to automatically sync your notes with email applications such as Mac OS X Mail and Microsoft Outlook (requires Mac OS X version 10.5.7 on a Mac).

18. View/Edit Microsoft Office Words, Excel
Q: It's there any application from iTunes Appstore to view/edit Words or Excel?
A: Please refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/943002

19. Emoji - Emoticons
Please refer to this post.

Step 1 : Download [ Spell Number (Free) ] from App Store

Step 2 : Run the app, then key in 91929394.59

Step 3 : Press HOME button to exit the app

Step 4 : Go to Settings > General > Keyboard > International Keyboards > Japanese

Step 5 : Turn ON [ Emoji ] and viola ! [by friends]

20. How to Set a Custom SMS Alert Tone for Incoming iPhone Text Messages [JB]

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=6676

21. How to capture Homescreen or Lockscreen screenshot?
Taking screenshot of Springboard and Lockscreen: Press Home and Power button simultaneously. A shot bust of flash, screenshot pictures are save in Photos.

----

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 28 2010, 01:29 PM
TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 7 2008, 07:23 PM

303 posts

Section 'C' : Intermediary To Advanced Tweaks:

These are slightly higher level tweaks compared to those found in Section B. You can really choose to live with or without these tweaks but even if you just skim through this part, at least you know what is possible for your iPhone.

Before getting into the following, note that certain tweaks will require you to access and modify the internal files of your iPhone. To do this, you will need an iPhone directory browser which you can download a trail version of DiskAid ( get it here ) will be used to illustrate most of the points here as it is supported on both Mac and PC but you may opt to look for other directory browsers such as iFunBox (Windows Only).

Any of the following topics which are explicitly marked "JB" are tweaks which can only be done on jailbroken units.

Jailbreak thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1223378

1. Transfering Audio and Pictures from iPhone to PC
Any software?

Audio: http://www.digidna.net/products/tuneaid
Pictures: http://www.digidna.net/products/picsaid

2. Sharing 3G Connection With Your Laptop via Wi-Fi
Q: Can i share my 3G connection with my Laptop?
A: Indeed you can. iPhone 3.0 allows you to tether(share 3G connection) to your laptop. More info here
Read this thread too for more info: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/831923

3. Organize Your iPhone Apps Using Movement (Mac)
Link: How to Organize Your iPhone Apps Using Movement

4. How to Use Your iPhone as a USB Drive(Mac)
Link: How to Use Your iPhone as a USB Drive
or use this: Free utility turns iPhone, iPod into a flash drive(Mac and Windows

---

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 27 2010, 02:10 PM
TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 10 2008, 07:47 AM

303 posts

Section 'D' : Troubleshooting Common Problems:

Information in this section is provided to equip you with solutions to common questions and other extra knowledge in order for you to self troubleshoot your iPhone problems. If you find yourself stuck here, feel free to post up a new thread (with a clear title to help improve search results) or better yet give your question a shout out in the iPhone Club pinned thread following the recommended question template: (credit: potion & friends)

iPhone Generation :
Locked/Unlocked (or Part Number) :
Current Firmware :
iTunes Version :
Computer Platform :
Jailbreaking software :
Problem Encountered :
Steps Had Taken (list down) :
Problem Screenshot (if any) :
Other Info / Remark :

You can also contact the service providers on item #1 & #2 below for either iPhone software or hardware related problems.

1. iPhone SOFTWARE Service Provider
Q: Any jailbreak service avaialble by forumers?
A1: For issues related to software and jailbreak, contact '=Hanxz=' who runs the 'iPhone Community Service Centre' thread here in LYN which you can also visit for more information.
A2: iPhone Unlock & jailbreak service provider: yezhacolic

2. iPhone HARDWARE Service Provider
Q: I have hardware problems with my iPhone. Who to contact?
A: For issues related to hardware like iPhone USB cable, Screen replacement, Batteries, iPhone earphones, Sim holder replacement, iPhone repairing, TurboSim or GeveySim etc, refer to the hardware service providers below. They are selling a variety of iPhone hardware accessories such as iPhone case opening tool, etc.

a) Contact 'crxr' via PM or contact him at his number: +6 012-2020264.
b) Contact 'chinamobile' via PM or contact him at his number: +60178798006
- chinamobile will be providing a hardware mod unlock service for Locked 3G iPhone units. For those who are interested, please check his thread @ https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1002759

Take note: *You're responsible towards your own decisions using any iPhone Service Provider and hence LYN will not take responsibility towards any damages, fail functions etc occurs in the future. Your iPhone, your call.

3. Phone Credit Flying Out The Window? Turn 'OFF' EDGE

For IOS4, to switch off the data, there's a 'cellular data' switch in Settings, under Cellular Data.

I just did a test on the Cellular Data Settings. When it's turned OFF, U won't be able to receive any data; TweetDeck & Safari didn't load + I wasn't able to send or receive any MMS.

Hence for those of you who's worried about data streaming in, just turn Cellular Data to OFF and voila; no more bills to worry about! [ by tinkerbel]

Q: How to enable Cellular Data Network when my iPhone does not show?
You can use the link below to disable EDGE..
A3: http://iphonenodata.com/
A4: http://unlockit.co.nz/

** Final solution is to call up your telco and request to disable EDGE and 3G connections.

4. How to restore iPhone as New?
Q: How to do it?
A: Download the firmware to your desktop/laptop. Firmware download link.
Launch iTunes. Hold Shift and click restore for Windows users and select the firmware. Hold Alt/Option button and click Restore for Mac users and select the firmware. iTunes will prompt you to either set the iPhone as new or use your backup. Select iPhone as New.
Note: All data like sms, emails etc will be erased.

5. iPhone Stuck At Boot Logo (credit: nokia2003)
Q: I'm stuck at Boot Logo. How to solve?
A: For those of you who have who accidentally click or did a "Reset All Settings" or "Erase All Content and Settings" or stuck at boot logo for a long peroid of time, please refer to the steps below to restore your iPhone: *Please download the firmware to your desktop before you proceed.

1. Make sure the iPhone is not connected to the computer.
2. Close the iTunes application and re-open it again.
3. Plug the usb bit to the computer
4. Hold the "home" button of the iphone
5. Now plug the dock connector bit to your iphone (without letting go the home button)
6. Await for further instructions on the screen and then release the "home" button.
7. Hold shift and click restore for Windows users and select the firmware. Hold Alt/Option button and click Restore for Mac users and select the firmware.
*For 2G iPhone, after restoring your firmware, you need to jailbreak and unlock using Pwnagetool or Quickpwn to have a full function phone.
*For unlock 3G iPhone, you can jailbreak your iPhone if you choose to.

6. DFU & Recovery Mode
Q: What is DFU?
A: (Device Firmware Upgrade) mode is a special mode that bypasses the operating system and lets you upgrade the device. When in DFU mode, the phone will have no display on the screen.

Q: How to get iPhone to DFU mode?
A: Get the iPhone into DFU mode by following the guide below. When in this mode the iPhone screen is black.
1. Connect the iPhone and your Mac/PC
2. Shut down iTunes
3. Hold Power/Sleep until the red slider shows up, slide to shut the iPhone down. If this aint work hold Power/Sleep and Home until the iPhone shuts down.
3. Hold Start/Sleep and Home for 10 seconds
4. Let go of Start/Sleep but keep holding Home until...
5. ... iTunes starts up and finds an iPhone in restore/recovery mode. The iPhone screen is black.
*Three other ways to DFU: http://sleepers.net/blank/dfu-mode/

Q: How to come out of DFU mode?
A: Kick the iPhone out of DFU mode and make it reboot by following the guide below:
1. Hold Start/Sleep and Home until the Apple logo shows up on the iPhone screen. This may take up to 30-60 seconds.
2. Let go of both buttons, the iPhone will reboot.

Q: How to restore and get into recovery mode?
A: Get the iPhone into simple restore/recovery mode by following the guide below. When in this mode on the iPhone the iTunes logo and the USB cable is shown (Apple default), or "Steve" (Standard Pwnage) or your custom recovery logo.
1. Disconnect iPhone from your PC/Mac if not done already.
2. Hold Power/Sleep until the red slider shows up, slide to shut the iPhone down. If this aint work hold Power/Sleep and Home until the iPhone shuts down. Put it aside.
3. Start iTunes on your PC/Mac and make sure to have the latest version.
4. On the iPhone press Home button and keep holding it while connecting the iPhone to your PC/Mac.
5. iTunes will detect an iPhone in recovery mode, the iPhone shown the recovery logo.
6. Select your firmware and restore.

Q: How to come out of restore/recovery mode?
A: Kick the iPhone out of simple restore/recovery mode and make it reboot.
1. Connect iPhone and your PC/Mac, quit iTunes.
2. Hold Start/Sleep and Home for 10 seconds
3. Let go of Home button but keep holding Start/Sleep until the Apple logo on the iPhone screen shows up.
4. Let go of Start/Sleep, the iPhone will boot

7. Force-Quit Program & Hard Reset
Q: How to Force Quit and Hard Reset?
A1: Force-Quit Program - press and hold the Home Button for 6-10 seconds to force quite a frozen application to quit.
A2: Hard Reset - When the phone is not rsponsive and halt. Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button and the home button simultaneously. When you see the Apple Logo, release both buttons.
For iPhone 3.0, refer to this https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+9. [5. Force Quit Program]

8. Sim Lock?
Q: iPhone display "sim lock" or "locked sim". How to solve?
A: The simcard is lock with a sim pincode. Use another phone to disable the sim pincode and insert back to the iPhone. Also, disable Auto Sim Lock:
1) Go to Settings
2) Select General
3) Click PassCode Lock
4) Select Off.

9. Battery Drain Fast with iPhone 3.0 and above? How to have longer battery usage?
Q: Battery iPhone drain like crazy?
A1: Unusual battery depletion is almost always caused by people choosing to “Restore from backup” instead of “Setup as new iPhone” when iTunes asks you. The fix is to just re-run the official firmware restore and choose “Setup as new” this time. Your music and apps and all that will still be synced, but you’ll get rid of any conflicting wifi, bluetooth, or carrier settings.
A2: Disable/off these functions and use it whenever you need.

1) Push Notification
2) Location Services
3) EDGE (OFF Cellular Data)
4) 3G
5) Wifi
6) Brightness set to half or less and off auto brightness
7) Mail - fetch new data set to off and Push Off
8) Kill all background apps by using Processes via SBSettings for jailbreak iPhones. For non jailbreak iPhones on 3.0.x, use 4. Force Quit Program
9) Disable Background apps in Multitask in IOS 4 > (To end / exit apps, double-press the HOME button to bring up the running apps menu. Tap and hold on one of the apps to bring up the "-" balloon on each apps icon. Tap on the "-" balloon to end the respective apps).

Take note: Charge your iPhone for atleast 4 hrs + (USB cable or 3 pin plug). Then shutdown and boot your iPhone. This will give you longer lasting batt as in the spoiler. Do drain your battery once a month whenever possible.

Discussion thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1085501

10. iPhone charging
Q: How to charge?
A: Plug in the USB cable that comes with the iPhone. You can charge thru your PC or wall plug.

Q: How long does it take to fully charged and does the iPhone get hot?
A: 4 hrs and yes, it get slight hot and that's normal.

Q: What charging method is better? Thru PC or Wallplug?
A: Read: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1012232

Q: Will the iPhone battery spoil when you keep pluging in the USB to transfer songs, video etc?
A: No it does not. You're just transfering files.

More infomation on iPhone battery: http://www.apple.com/batteries/

11. How to transfer iPod tunes from iPhone to desktop?
Q: How to transfer my songs from iPod to my comp?
A: In the event of your comp crashed on you, formatted your harddrive, please use the following applications to import your iPod's content back to your desktop.

Windows
http://www.getsharepod.com/
http://www.ephpod.com/

Mac
http://www.fadingred.com/senuti/
http://www.digidna.net/tuneaid/

12. iPhone Application Launch Problem?
Q: My application keep crashing back to the springboard (homescreen). What's wrong?
A: Always reboot your iPhone after every application/games installed to your iPhone. If the application/game launch and return back to springboard, delete and reinstall the application/games via iTunes.
Refer to this thread for more info: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/977929

13. Wireless Connection detected but can't surf?
Q: Error: ''Could not activate cellular data network: you are not subscribed to a cellular data service'' from Safari? iPhone is having troubles connecting to the Internet using Wi-Fi with full or partial signal strength. How to overcome?
A: Please refer to this link for solution: Wireless Connection Fix

14. No simcard Inserted Error? [credit: setoyo]
Q: I get "no simcard inserted" error when i insert my simcard? What should i do?
A: Take out ur sim card, find some rubber. Rub on your sim card gently.Then put ur sim back and make sure u don't push hard the sim card slot. (proven to work by forumers)

15. iPhone password Locked
Q: My iPhone has password locked and i have forgotten the password. What should i do?
A: The only solution is to do a Restore following the steps here:
1. Disconnect iPhone from your PC/Mac if not done already.
2. Hold Power/Sleep until the red slider shows up, slide to shut the iPhone down. If this aint work hold Power/Sleep and Home until the iPhone shuts down. Put it aside.
3. Start iTunes on your PC/Mac and make sure to have the latest version.
4. On the iPhone press Home button and keep holding it while connecting the iPhone to your PC/Mac.
5. iTunes will detect an iPhone in recovery mode, the iPhone shown the recovery logo.
6. Select your firmware and restore.

16. Call Fails?
A: Check if your SIM card is compatible. A couple of people have reported this issue and had their SIM cards replaced and their problem was fixed. [credit: tinkerbel]

17. MMS Fails?
Q: Why can't send MMS?
A: Call your telco and they will send you the settings. Restart your iPhone after. Done.
A2: You could have a faulty simcard. Change a new simcard and you'll do fine.

18. Trading Stock with iPhone?
Q: Can iPhone do Trading Stock?
A: NO. iPhones dont support Flash and most of the trading sites requires flash.

---

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Nov 28 2010, 01:31 PM
TSMaverick Wil
post Dec 10 2008, 11:53 AM

303 posts

Section 'E' : Accesories and Useful Links

1. iPhone Case Discussion Thread
Q: Where to get good casings for iPhone?
A: A reviews of 2G/3G/3GS/4 iPhone casings, pouches, 3rd Party Battery Pack, body shield etc to help you find the best and affordable casings via this thread.

2. Best iPhone Compatible Earpiece
Q: Any recommendation for iPhone IEM (In Ear Monitors)?
A: There are numerous type/range of IEM and price ranges from Rm 50-2k above.

Price range of IEM: (credit to chingwooi)
RM50-RM100: Creative EP630(50), SoundMagic, Koss KC 75(clip-type), Yuin PK3,2
RM100-RM200 : Music valley SP1, CrossRoads Mylarone X3i , CrossRoads Bijou(180++) , Sennheiser CX300, Creative EP-830, Vsonic R02Pro , Shure SCl2(SE102) , UE Metro Fi , LEAR Le01
RM200-RM400: Klipsch Custom-1,CrossRoads Quattro(269), Monster Turbines(below 400), Sennheiser CX500, Altec Lansing IM716
Above RM400-Rm800: Atrio M5, Phonak audeo PFE, Westone UM1, Klipsch Custom-2, Etymotic Research ER4, Head-Direct’s RE1
Rm800-1k: Westone UM2, Klipsch Custom-3, Klipsch Image X10, Sleek Audio SA6
Rm1k above: Westone 3, Sennheiser IE8, AT CK100, UE triple Fi 10, Shure SE530
above Rm2k: Custom-made IEM

Discussion: Best iPhone Compatible Earpiece
Audiophile Headphones and IE: Link

3. Bluetooth Headsets: Stereo & Telephony for iPhone
Q: Q: Any recommendation for Bluetooth Headset and troubleshooting Bluetooth connections?
Refer to this link.

--
Links:

1. iPhone Applications/Games Discussion/Review
Q: Where to find good reviews of Appstore Application and Games?
A: Read the links below.
AppStore Applications thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1727465
AppStore Games thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1841049
Reviews: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/803666?hl=games

2. Malaysia iPhone Developers Thread
Refer to this thread.

3. Streaming Music Wirelessly From iPhone to your PC, For iPhone 3G|3GS and iPodTouch 2G (Windows Only)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1077043

4. Firmware Downloads
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Aug 12 2011, 05:57 PM
davidgary73
post Mar 25 2009, 02:13 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section F: Common Asked Questions:

Firmware, Baseband, Unlock, Activate

1. What is Firmware and ipsw?
A: The firmware is the operating system installed on your iPhone. The firmware versions include 1.0.2, 1.1.1, 1.1.2, 1.1.3, 1.1.4, 2.0.0, 2.0.1, 2.0.2, 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.1, 3.0. 3.0.1, 3.1, 3.1.2 & 3.1.3, 4.0, 4.0.1, 4.0.2, 4.1All iPhone firmware ends with ipsw extension. All firmware are upgradable for all iPhones.

2. What is Baseband?
A: The ‘baseband’ is the generic name given to the internal components of the iPhone that handle the phone calls and Internet access. This ‘baseband’ is a tiny and unique independent computer system that runs inside your iPhone, it is separate to the main system that handles the applications (such as email and google maps) and it talks to the main part of the phone over an internal communications network. Think of it like a cable modem or other peripheral that is attached to your home PC that needs occasional updates. When a software update is released and presented to you within iTunes the baseband is sometimes updated (to fix bugs or add new features).

3. What is Unlock and Lock iPhones?
Lock iPhones: Lock to a specific telco. Example: AT&T
Unlock iPhones: Doesn’t have an Service Provider lock (aka factory unlocked) and you are able to put any SIM card into the phone and get service. Meaning, you can use the services of various GSM based carriers around the world.

4. What is Activate? (credit to frozzbyte)
A: To check whether we are using an authorize simcard with the phone or not. If we are not using an authorize sim (lock iPhones), then we can't get to the springboard and can't use the phone. We can only get to the emergency call part only.

Activation is needed to enable the phone from a 'locked' state i.e emergency call only to the springboard (where all the icons are). Only after you activate that you can go to springboard.

Q: Why we need to activate?
A: OTB (Out of The Box) unlock iPhone still need to be activated so it can check the sim card if its valid. You might ask "Why it still need to check the sim if its already unlock and can accept any sim?". Well this is just a process that all iphone need to go thru, locked or unlocked.

This goes the same with locked (2G) iPhones. We need to jailbreak the phone first so that we can access the filesystem. Then we 'hacktivate' or activate the phone by tricking it with a spoof activation. This bypass the iTunes checking and let us gain access to the springboard. Only after that we can unlock the phone (if a software unlock is available). So to a locked phone, the most important process to do is jailbreaking. With it we can do the activating and unlocking.

Unlock phone need to:
1. Activate thru iTunes only
2. Jailbreaking is optional if user want to use 3rd party apps
*Unlock phone can update/upgrade to any firmware without worry because it will remain unlock whereas locked phones have to wait for it to be able to jailbreak and if there is a baseband update, an unlock sollution must be present.

Locked phone need to:
1. Jailbreak so we can gain access to the phone (mandatory)
2. Activate the phone thru 'hacktivation' or activation spoof (also mandatory)
3. Unlock the phone with a software unlocking solution to use with other sim (also mandatory)

-----

Restore, DFU

1. What is the meaning of Restore and Update in iTunes? (credit to frozzbyte)
A: iTunes provides two options to change the firmware on your phone. Restore and Upgrade.
A1: Restore is a full erase and reprogramming of your device. This will result in a factory fresh device. All songs and contacts are wiped out.
A2: Update will only wipe out the smaller disk partition leaving all your songs and settings intact. Update is only useful if you are trying to go from one version to the next version of firmware. It will not solve any problems on your phone unless they are naturally solved by the new firmware. I generally recommend using restore in all cases.

2. What is DFU Mode and Restore Mode?
A1: DFU (device firmware upgrade) mode is a special mode that bypasses the operating system and lets you upgrade the device. When in DFU mode, the phone will have no display on the screen.
A2: Restore mode is more common. In this mode (iTunes Logo) you can also restore or upgrade your device, but it is not as drastic as DFU mode. Many restore problems can be solved by using DFU mode.

----

Data - EDGE, 3G, GPRS

1. What is Data?
A1: 3G, EDGE, and GPRS allow Internet connectivity over the cellular network available through your iPhone carrier’s wireless service. Check the carrier’s network coverage in your area for availability.
A2: Data = 3G/EDGE/GPRS for users who needs 24/7 online connection for business, on the go etc.
Link: EDGE and GPRS Definition

Q:How to subscribe and the cost?
A: Different telco provides numerous rates for users to choose. Check via your telco website for more infomation.

2. What is 'E' or 'o' next to my carrier?
Q: I dont have any of this connection ON. Why the icon is there?
A: The EDGE (E), GPRS (o) icons in the top-left corner of your iPhone screen will always be there whether or not is On/Off. The icons will change according to carrier’s network coverage in your area.
A: If you have 3G ON, the 3G icon will be visible. If you disable your 3G, it will change the icon to EDGE (E).

3. How to check minutes and Data Usage?
A: Go to Settings/General/Usage.

4. Will i be charge using GPS?
A: The Global Positioning System (GPS) is a satellite-based navigation system made up of a network of 24 satellites placed into orbit by the U.S. Department of Defense. GPS was originally intended for military applications, but in the 1980s, the government made the system available for civilian use. GPS works in any weather conditions, anywhere in the world, 24 hours a day.

There are no subscription fees or setup charges to use GPS.

In short, using Maps only triangulate your current position and you won't get you charged for any data usage. However, the routing function will require your phone to download the maps thus connecting to 3G/EDGE/GPRS services is needed and you'll be charged according to the kb's data you use to download the maps.

5. Does 2G iPhones has GPS like 3G iPhones?
A: 2G iPhone does not have a GPS chip inside it. It uses the wireless network capability to estimate its location.

6. Does iPhone 3G/3GS/4 have a dedidcated GPS chip? [credit: frozzbyte]
A: Answer to your question is..YES, the iPhone 3G and 3Gs have a GPS chip in them, a dedicated one FYI.
GPS = only use GPS chip to lock on to the satellites
A-GPS = use GPS chip and assisted (thats what the A in A-GPS stands for) by cell tower triangulation to get the lock faster
A-GPS are not below or less than GPS infact it's superior to GPS alone. A-GPS uses cell triangulation + GPS satellite locking to get a faster location than just normal GPS.

----

Phone

1. What's the limit screen pages/applications on iPhone on Firmware 2.2.1 and possible to create folders?
A: For Fw 2.2.1, you're limited to 9 pages and 148 applications installed. For non jailbreak iPhones, you can't create folders. In order to have more applications installed, your iPhone needs to be jailbroken and use Categories(to place apps/games in proper folders) which will enable more applications/games to be installed.
*iPhone 3.0.x above can accomadate more applications. Refer to Section I below this thread.

2. iPhone BlueTooth send files/data?
A: No. iPhone bluetooth is merely for pairing up bluetooth headset use only.

3. Usage and Standby not showing phone usage time?
A: You will be able to view the usage time after a full complete charge.

4. Can iPhone 3G/3GS/4 make video calls?
A: iPhone 3G/3GS does not support video calls. iPhone 4 allows you to make video calls via Facetime (iPhone to iPhone only) More info: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+12

5. Can iPhone forward SMS and Email?
A: Yes you can with iPhone firmware 3.0 above

6. Can i change the whole cover of 2G iPhone cover to a 3G/3GS cover or cover of 3G/3GS to iPhone 4?
A: NO...you can't. (The shapes are different). Logic will tell you this.

7. Can iPhone surf Java/Flash enabled sites, game sites or watch flash movies?
A: NO..iPhone does not support Flash and Java. iPhone only supports normal html sites.

8. Why does the screen goes off when is near the ear while making calls?
A: The proximity sensor automatically turns the screen off when the phone is held to the ear.

9. Why does the iPhone get warm while using it?
Q: Is this normal with the heat issue?
A: Yes is normal..When you're playing games or using applications, on Wifi or 3G, surfing the net, this uses the processor thus your iPhone becomes warm. Same goes to your laptop or desktop.

10. 3G/3GS/4 iPhone Warranty
A: Claim warranty from the country that you bought the 3G/3GS iPhone from if there's defect or hardware related issues.
Online Service Assistance Warranty Check: https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do
*For those who have jailbreak your 3G iPhone(Maxis, Singtel etc), warranty will be void. Restore your iPhone to default setting before sending back for warranty.

11. iPhone infected by virus?
Q: Will my iPhone be infected by virus when my computer has virus.
A: NO. Your iPhone will not be infected because iPhone OS runs on Mac OSX which has been proven to be virus free.

12. iPhone support Flash?
Q: Any reason why flash is not supported?
A: http://www.apple.com/hotnews/thoughts-on-flash/
--
For more Common asked Questions, please refer here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/768477

This post has been edited by davidgary73: May 29 2011, 02:00 AM
davidgary73
post Jun 13 2009, 02:51 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section 'J' : MMS :

1. MMS Settings For Maxis, DIGI, Celcom and UMobile for iPhone
Note: for MAXIS user to use MMS your carrier version must be MAXIS 4.0 above to check this go to Setting>General>About> Carrier ? If your carrier version is Maxis 5.0 then you will need to restore your phone back to factory setting

Q: How to restore to Factory setting?
A: Warning !! BACK UP 1ST
1) Open your iTunes. Go to your iphone section. You can see the restore option on the Summary page.
2) Once u restore to factory setting everything will be gone. YES EVERYTHING.
3) Don't worry iTunes will prompt n ask u to sync back your previous back up.

*For Digi n Celcom users if you have custom carrier logo n ur mms is not working even with the working setting posted by forumers here u may want to try out the method above. Hope this will help n have fun MMS [credit: thaisxs]

Take note: MMS has no button. You can only access MMS thru the camera icon next to your text column in Messages.

Here are the setting for MMS:
1. Maxis
Settings set by Carrier (No input settings needed. Configured by default on Maxis 4.0)
*You can use ipcc file to enable Cellular Network column.

Maxis
APN: unet
Username: maxis
Password: wap
MMSC: http://172.16.74.100:10021/mmsc
MMS Proxy: 202.75.133.49:80
MMS Max Message Size: 307200
MMS UA Prof URL: <leave blank>

2. DIGI (credit: goldieboy and Snuffykl)
APN: digimms
APN name: mms
APN password: mms
MMSproxy : 203.92.128.160
MMSC: http://mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms

3. Celcom (credit: shinobi, icebrew and stringfellow)
Here's the settings for MMS that works for my iPhone 3G using Postpaid Celcom 3G Unlimited package [stringfellow]
APN: celcom3g
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy: 10.128.1.242:8080
MMS Max Message Size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

Celcom MMS GPRS Settings (credit: baretta)
APN:mms.celcom.net.my
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy: 10.128.1.242:8080
MMS Max Message Size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

4. UMobile [credit: Lord_Ashe]
APN: my3g
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://10.30.3.11/servlets/mms
MMS Proxy: 10.30.5.11:8080

*Please restart your phone after placing the settings.

2. iPhone 3.0 and 3.1 ipcc file with Carrier Logo [MMS and Tethering settings configured thru ipcc and enabling Cellular Network column]
Refer to this link: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226
*For Mac users, please use Stufit Expander to unzip the file s other unzip software does not work well.

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 27 2010, 03:23 AM
davidgary73
post Jun 18 2009, 12:51 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section 'K' : Tethering :

1. Using iPhone as a Modem [Tethering] [Carrier Settings needed] (2G Phones not applicable)

iTunes 8.2 and above is required for tethering in all desktop/laptop.
Tethering works over the cellular data network; you can’t share a Wi-Fi connection to the Internet. If you have a 3G connection, you can make and receive phone calls while tethering. Set up a tethering connection: In Settings, choose General > Network > Internet Tethering. Slide the Internet Tethering switch to On.

Connect iPhone to your computer:
USB: Connect your computer to iPhone using the Dock Connector to USB cable. In your computer’s Network services settings, choose iPhone:
On a Mac, a pop-up window appears the first time you connect, saying “A new network interface has been detected.” Click Network Preferences, configure the network settings for iPhone, then click Apply.
On a PC, use the Network Control Panel to select and configure the iPhone connection.

When you are connected, a blue band appears at the top of the screen. Tethering remains on when you connect with USB, even when you aren’t actively using the Internet connection. NOTE: Additional fees may apply. Contact your carrier for more information.

----
Celcom
Below are 2 options. You can choose either files to use.

A)For the tethering, Krux provided these files:-
Here you go for tethering on Celcom. Suprisingly easy to create. I used the settings from SG telcos on http://help.benm.at/help.php but you can use the preconfig file below. I tested this and can tether over USB and Bluetooth.

Download here: my_celcom.mobileconfig (credit to:krux)

To get this on your phone, you either need to click the link using MobileSafari or email it to yourself and open it in Mail.app on the phone.
USB Tethering is instantaneous on the Mac OS X 10.5.7. [credit: stringfellow]

B) For Celcom users to enable your tethering. Use at your own risk, I have tried it, if you do not like it or does not work you can remove it.
Install << THIS >>. Make sure you open this link on your iphone. It will ask you to install this Profile, there is a warning about the authenticity of this program, just hit Install Now, once it is done, hit the Done button. Go to settings->general->network->cellular data network and remove the celcom3g on both Cellular Data and Visual Voicemail APN settings. They should be left blank. Hit the network to go back. Now you can turn on the Internet Tethering option.

If you want to remove this profile, just hit General and scroll down to the Profile, click on Enable Tethering on Celcom 3g and you can see the a red remove button icon.[credit: icebrew]

C) Here's a step by step pdf guide created by forumer friends for Celcom users (Mac Only): Download Link

---
Maxis
I am using SingTel set with Maxis (not official iPhone plan).
I just did normal upgrade. Carrier settings changed to Maxis 4.0
Went to Messages, camera icon automatically there. Tested send out MMS no problem
Then went to Settings -> General -> Network -> Internet Tethering
At first ask to either call Maxis or got to Maxis website. I was perplexed. Then I went to the same screen again. Now I can either turn on or off the tethering.
[credit:bjkhan]
---
1) Download and install iTunes 8.2 above
2) Plug iPhone into USB
3) Enable Internet Tethering
Voila, connected
[credit: tinkerbel]
---
DIGI

1. With your iPhone 3G or 3GS, go to "Setting" \ "General" \ "Network"
2. Turn "Internet Tethering" ON
3. Select USB.

UMobile [credit: Lord_Ashe]
<Installation of configuration profile>
1. use your Safari on your iPhone 3G to surf to help.benm.at
2. scroll down to "Mobileconfigs create > "
3. key in "my3g" for APN under Mobile Internet
4. turn on "Enable Tethering"
5. click "install"

The profile will then be installed on to your iPhone 3G.

<To turn on internet tethering>
1. With your iPhone 3G, go to "Setting" \ "General" \ "Network"
2. Turn "Internet Tethering" ON
3. Select bluetooth or USB (recommend to use USB only so not to drain power from the phone)

<To connect to your PC/Mac>
1. Plug the iPhone 3G to your PC/Mac
2. Your PC/Mac will detect the new device
3. Start surfing!

(a) For PC, the driver will be installed together with iTunes 8.2 above
(b) For Mac user: (you only do this once) Just click "Apply" to accept the new device, ** DON'T click the "Connect" button at the Network Preference on your Mac.
[/spoiler]

2. Bluetooth Tethering
Bluetooth: On iPhone, choose Settings > General > Bluetooth and turn on Bluetooth. Then refer to the documentation that came with your computer system software to pair and connect iPhone with your computer.

Bluetooth Headsets Recommendation: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1074876 [credit; stringfellow]

Mac
Bluetooth needs updating. I had to use System Update to get the "Bluetooth Firmware Update" for the MBA, apply it in, and restart the MBA. Turn both the MBA's and iPhone's BT on to "discoverable", initiate discovery from the MBA's side. Pair them together and let the OS X discover the available services on the iPhone, which would add BT connection as a network port. Finish the process and quit.

Next, you need to enable Internet Sharing via the Preference pane. GO under "Sharing" and tick the box labelled Internet Sharing. Share the connection from Bluetooth, and tick the Bluetooth connection that has just been created when you did the pairing initially. Voila! Internet tethering via BT!
[credit: stringfellow]

Windows
Turn on iPhone bluetooth. Go to vista control panel -> bluetooth devices, then select add. After detect, pin verified, it connect to my phone. Then, go to network set up and add PAN.
[credit: CooLeRthings]
--
For pairing with your computer (Bluetooth) I went to my notebook's (VIsta) Bluetooth Devices and clicked Add. Windows will detect as a phone. Select to add. The screen will show you some pin no. Key in that no into your iphone. Once you have keyed in, your phone will appear in the list of Bluetooth devices.

Next step, go to Network and Sharing Center. Select Setup a new connection. After that a dialog box will appear, select Bluetooth Personal Area Network (PAN). After you click next, it will ask you which device. Select the device that you have added earlier. Then Click Connect. Wait for few seconds and your tethering is up and running. Well at least for me. Hope this helps.
[credit:bjkhan]
---
1) Enable BT on iPhone & Windows
2) Add device on Windows
3) Once added, create PAN network
4) Then connect to PAN network
I managed to connect via BT without iTunes 8.2 installed.
[credit:tinkerbel]

--

3. HotSpot:

Enable Hotspot:-

*Make sure you key in the APN settings under Internet Tethering in the iPhone.

Maxis 3G Settings
APN: unet or net
APN name: maxis
APN password: wap

Celcom 3G Settings
APN: mms.celcom.net.my (Postpaid Normal Sim), celcom3g (for 3G Sim), celcom (Prepaid Sim)
APN name:
APN password:
*user name and password leave it blank

Celcom GPRS Settings (credit to NoN@me)
GPRS for celcom in iphone(prepaid)
Settings>General>Network>Cellular Data Network> APN: CELCOM. Data roaming change to ON

For DIGI
APN is diginet
username and password leave it blank

Next:-

1) Go to Settings / General
2) Network and Enable 3G > ON
3)Cellelar Data > ON
4) Personal Hotspots will show up.

--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 19 2011, 08:55 PM
davidgary73
post Mar 1 2010, 06:15 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Section I: IOS 4 & iPhone 4

Apple will not be supporting 1st generation iPhone as of Firmware 4.0.

http://www.tuaw.com/2010/04/12/apple-to-dr...1st-gen-iphone/

Guide:

1) Instructions on how to set your iPhone homescreen and lockscreen wallpaper in iOS 4.0
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10191

2) Instructions on how to use the new multitasking feature of your iOS 4 iPhone or iPod touch.
http://www.iClarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10298

3) Instructions on how to use folders on your iOS 4 iPhone or iPod touch.
http://www.iClarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10299
--

Facetime Guide

Q: How to Facetime? Do i have to pay or is free?
A: Yes is free. Go to Contacts. Scroll down to the person you wanna Facetime with and tap on his/her name. On the next menu click Facetime. And you're done.
If you want to just talk without video, stop video then just tap on the power button on top. you got yourself voice call. also free. JUST MAKE SURE YOU'RE ON WIFI.

Q: How to Facetime on iPhone with iPod Touch users?
A: Dummies Guide to Facetime on iPhone 4 and iPod Touch

You have to activate FaceTime
To do so, go to Settings > FaceTime > On. Depending on your country, it might take a few minutes to actually activate the feature. I suggest you reboot your iPhone after turning FaceTime on.

iPhone 4 to iPhone 4 only
FaceTime is only iPhone 4 to iPhone 4 for the time being. That means that your FaceTime buddy must have an iPhone 4 with FaceTime activated. FaceTime is opened to developers so it is very likely that some applications like Skype will use FaceTime in their apps, thus allowing you to FaceTime from an iPhone 4 to a desktop computer.

Wifi only
FaceTime can only work on wifi for the time being.

FaceTime is free
Because it works on wifi only, there is no cost associated with using FaceTime. No matter what, when, how, and where you use FaceTime it is completely free.

Making a FaceTime call
There are 2 ways you can initiate a FaceTime call.

Call your friend like you normally do. When both of you are on the line, simply hit the FaceTime icon on your iPhone. Your friend will receive an invitation and if he accepts it, it will drop the call and start connecting you both on FaceTime. This is the best way to start a FaceTime conversation as it allows you to check that your buddy is on wifi, thus available for FaceTime. Note that although FaceTime is free, you will have to pay for the call time. Once you hit the FaceTime icon and the call ends, you will stop being charged.
If you know for sure your friend is on wifi, go to your contacts, tap your friend’s name and tap the FaceTime button. It will ring on the other end of the line and if your friend accepts the FaceTime invitation, it will start connecting you both.
Switch between the front and back camera

The front-facing camera is the one used by default when making a FaceTime call, but you can also use the back camera. Tap the camera icon at the lower right of the screen and you’ll activate the camera on the back of your iPhone. You’ll then be able to share what’s around you. To switch back to the front-facing camera, tap the button at the lower right again.

Use another app without leaving FaceTime
While on a FaceTime call, you may have to go do something in your iPhone. For example, you may need to look up a contact, or check emails, etc… Simply hit the home button during your FaceTime call and you will be taken to your home screen. From there, you can do whatever you want. The FaceTime image will be frozen on the other end of the line but the sound will still works. That means your friend won’t see you but you’ll still be able to talk to him. When you’re done and you want to go back to your FaceTime video chat, simply hit the green bar at the top of your screen.

Mute FaceTime
You can mute yourself during a FaceTime call. Simply tap the “mute” button and your friend won’t be able to hear what you’re saying although he’ll still be able to see you. You will still be able to see and hear what he says. Tap the button again to unmute yourself.

FaceTime in landscape mode
FaceTime doesn’t only work in portrait mode. You can turn your iPhone to a 90 degree angle and have your conversation in landscape mode.

Move yourself around
When on a FaceTime call, there is a little window on your screen showing you what your friend sees (usually it’s your face!). You can move this little window around by tapping it and moving it to another corner.

Facetime usage:
iPhone 4 (using phone number)
iPod Touch 4 (using email i.e. Apple ID)
Mac (using email i.e. Apple ID)
iPad 2 (using email i.e. Apple ID)

--

iPhone 4

iPhone 4: http://www.apple.com/iphone/
iPhone 4 features: http://www.apple.com/iphone/features/
LYN iPhone 4 Q&A: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1466267

Available in 16GB or 32GB, black or white.

The new features:

FaceTime - basically videocall, but between iPhone 4 to iPhone 4/iPod touch 4 only for now. Also for now, only by using WiFi. The reason is because AT&T will struggle to support the bandwidth, but we'll see if Apple and Maxis can arrange it for us here smile.gif Also, this is an open standard, so we can expect phones from other manufacturer to support FaceTime as well. Both front and back cameras can be used.

5 MP camera, LED flash, Backside Illumination Sensor, Front Camera
- you should probably know more megapixels equals more noise, but the camera sensor in iPhone 4 has also been increased as well, and paired with backside illumination technology. BIS and LED flash should result in better low-light photos. Front camera can also be used for easier camwhoring!

HD Video & iMovie for iPhone - self-explanatory tongue.gif

Retina Display with IPS technology - our beloved 3.5" Multitouch display now has a resolution of 960x640 (4x iPhone 3GS), so that's a stunning 326 pixels per inch! 800:1 contrast ratio and oleophobic coating for both the aluminosilicate glass screen and back panel. Also, IPS technology gives better colours and viewing angles…should beat AMOLED anytime.

Gyroscope - iPhone reinvented mobile gaming with the accelerometer. This is the next invention.

Bigger battery - Hey, it's Apple.

And of course, iPhone 4 is powered by the Apple A4 processor.

Read more about the new features: Engadget has a nice review on iPhone 4.

iPhone 4 Q&A

1: iPhone 4 uses microSIM? Any news from Maxis, Digi or Celcom?
A: Maxis already have microSIM, for both voice and data. You can bring your current SIM and exchange for a micro SIM for RM25.
Digi will surely have microSIMs available if they will bring iPhone 4. No word on Celcom, but rest assured. Our local telcos aren't stupid enough to bring in a phone that can't be used on their network.

Else, you can always cut a normal SIM to the size of a microSIM, since the chip is exactly the same. At your own risk, of course.

2. What is Retina Display?
A: It is just Apple's fancy name for a high-resolution screen. The 960x640 resolution certainly isn't HD (which is at least 720i), but it's higher than any phones in the market right now. It has a pixel density of 326 pixels per inch, which Apple claims is higher than the limit of what the human eye is able to perceive at a distance of 1 feet. Wired magazine said that the technical 'human eye limit' would be closer to 477ppi, and that the name 'Retina' display is misleading.

3. Is 16GB or 32GB better? I'm confuse..
A: Use your own judgement, You're an adult and not a kid. The more space you, the more you data you can store. The less space you have, the less you can store.

A2: This is a very subjective question. All I can say is 16GB is enough for me. But 2 months later, I may say not enough. Therefore, please list down what you will do and store in the phone.

e.g. Store 5 hours movie in 720p format. Store 5 hours of music in 128k bit rate. etc. It is the same ask asking, is Seagate 7200.11 500GB SATA sufficient ? Or should I get 1TB ? [credit cute_boboi]

Q: How to cut? Any tutorial?
A: Sim cutting tutorial: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1466267/+2360

4: Is iPhone 4 white availble now?
A: NO. iPhone 4 is not availble yet. We will update you when we have any updates.

Here are some answers:

Read:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/871684/+1

The new iPhone 4 are available in:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+12

Q: Is iPhone 4 white availble now?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1548490

17. Is iPhone 4 white availble now?

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop...OW-IPHONE-INDEX

3. Death grip & antenna issues? How? I'm dying here? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
A: Death grip issue, get any iPhone casing to solves it. Proven and proven to work. Don't ask anymore.

M'sia iPhone 4 users comments on antenna issues:

i have been using it without the bumper n i "do not" encounter the antenna issue.

i dun think any smart phone with 3.5" screen can survive falling.

i dun have the "yellow spot" problem. maybe it's a random.

i dun encounter sim problem. this problem exist maybe it's due to DIY sim.

Volume button is in correct place. (beavis68)

I have no problem with signal lost as i have been using bumper from the 1st day i use the phone.

My colleague who has the iphone without bumper does not have signal lost problem.

I am not sure if this issue is widespread as most of my friends owning iphone 4 (not that many, just 3 of us including my colleague) does not experience the problem. (chizzu)

None. I've been using it with the Bumper case since. Beavis has been using it naked with no consequences as well. (stringfellow)

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 7 2010, 01:54 AM)
Look at where all these complaints are coming from. USA. Looks at the responses and the impressions from those who attended the Gathering HERE in KL. Are there any complaints on yellowing display? One complaint on the signal drops, and yet funnily, my iPhone 4, Beavis's iPhone 4, Harmeet's iPhone 4, ksc_3688's iPhone 4, Yuvanesh's iPhone 4 has yet to fail us or drop our calls. I myself have reported the opposite, I get freaking signals in places where calls were dropped before on the 3G[S].

What else do you want us to do to convince you that these complaints are sporadic at best? Out of the 1,700,000 units of iPhone 4, how many of those reported having yellowing display, dropped signals when squeezed? If all these issues are widespread, Apple would have already done a product recall on its iPhone 4, just like how Sony did on their exploding battery issue affecting more than the 500,000 units of their Vaio laptops.

For the love of God, is it so hard to trust you fellow Malaysians, your forum members here that this issue is overblown disporpotionately? Also, notice all these NONSENSE are reported in USA only? The yellowing display issue is the glue drying up, and once dried, it clears up the screen. Read the freaking whole story, and NOT just the juicy bits about the defect. Read why it is yellow in the first place. The dropping signal when held in hand issue, why arent the Germans, the French or the Brits are howling over the internet over this and only the American are b****ing about it? Once you read the big picture, and understand how spotty and problematic AT&T's coverage in the States, and how the American themselves hate AT&T for this, you'd understand why this issue is not the phone, it's the service provider. Why wouldn't I replicate the same results here with Celcom? Or Maxis? In fact, why the hell are you worried about the Americans complaining about their iPhones when you are not getting the American iPhone 4 in the first place, and none of the issues are appearing or being reported and complaint upon by the other users in other countries?

In short, trust your fellow users here. I'm not kissing Apple's butt or reporting misinformation. The reason why the Gathering was planned and held was for you yourself to discern, analyse and remove doubt, once and for all, that all these fluff of complaints are trivial, moot and nonsensical at best. My phone is fine, Beavis's phone is fine, Harmeet's, Yuvanesh and ksc_3688's units are fine. Is that so hard to believe, or are you accusing of covering up these flaws for Apple's sake?

The fact of the matter is, those who shouts and makes complaints the loudest are those who are facing all these problems, and their numbers are far outnumbered by the satisfied customers who had nothing to complain, thus keeping their mouth shut. Only those who had problematic (depending on how they expect their phone to behave) would make the loudest noise, those like us who have perfect phones have no reason to b**** and moan to the top our lungs about it.

I'm free until 11th, if you still dont believe me, come on over, meet me, testdrive the goddamned iPhone 4 and see for yourself that all these nonsense are what it is..."nonsense". Forget the internet reports, their problems their facing is unique to their network infrastructure, network performance on their telco and how it interacts with the iPhone 4 itself. BOTTOM LINE is, those majority of us using our iPhone 4s on Maxis and Celcom are facing none of these issues, and that is what it should matter to you, NOT what is happening to American users on AT&T. You are not going to buy the American iPhone 4s because it is locked anyway, isnt it?

I kept my quiet all this while, but this is the third time, the same question about these "issues" have cropped up, and frankly, it needed to be addressed. Sorry if it sounds a bit exasperated, but folks here asking these questions dont seem to be thinking the big picture, and see how all these howlings of complaints on the iPhone 4 only coming from select part of the launch country and not their own backyard.

Peace, freaking out!
--

This post has been edited by davidgary73: May 28 2011, 06:23 PM

0.0210sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:02 PM