8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Charging iPhone - PC USB vs. Charger etc, Over charge battery will spoil?

TSstutzedward
post Apr 27 2009, 03:18 PM, updated 17y ago

700 posts

I know charger has tickle-charge to fully charge it. Will charging using PC USB port shorten the lifespan of the battery? I am charging my fone daily as I am at work thru my notebook, worry this will have impact to the lifespan of the bettery.

Apple webpage says the internal battery can still retain 80% efficiency after 1000 cycle of charges.

This post has been edited by stutzedward: May 7 2009, 09:41 PM
rx330
post Apr 27 2009, 03:23 PM

11,811 posts

i think everybody has a different experience

for me, usb charging thru my notebook last longer as compare to power outlet
SurFerZ
post Apr 27 2009, 06:11 PM

438 posts

Been charging my iphone with the usb cable since i bought it till now...had no issues with it...
5w33
post Apr 27 2009, 07:13 PM

638 posts

Should be the same right? Since both are using usb connector.
PeeEl
post Apr 27 2009, 07:28 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Apr 27 2009, 07:13 PM)
Should be the same right? Since both are using usb connector.
As reported, I believe by chinamobile, charging using the usb cable to your PC/laptop or by DC, the ultimate result of the battery performance is the same. It is only the rate/speed of charge that is different ie. using the latter way will be faster. And it makes sense.

However, our human mind is enigmatic and we perceive things differently under different circumstances.
5w33
post Apr 27 2009, 07:34 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Apr 27 2009, 07:28 PM)
As reported, I believe by chinamobile, charging using the usb cable to your PC/laptop or by DC, the ultimate result of the battery performance is the same. It is only the rate/speed of charge that is different ie. using the latter way will be faster. And it makes sense.

However, our human mind is enigmatic and we perceive things differently under different circumstances.
Source? You could only draw 5V from the usb port, so I think it should be the same. Thanks a lot. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 5w33: Apr 27 2009, 07:37 PM
TSstutzedward
post Apr 27 2009, 09:04 PM

700 posts

Tnx a lot for d feedbck. I asked this cos I had experience with laptop/PC charging do not last as long as charger charging on my old Motorola SLVR.

I'll continue to use PC USB charge then, tnx.
nokia2003
post Apr 27 2009, 09:11 PM

5,786 posts

i don't mean to scare you guy, but i personally know someone who used the usb port to charge his iPhone.

the computer wasn't his to begin with and the connection wasn't perfect as well and hence it kept "disconnecting"

in the end, his iPhone suffered from hardware problems.

using the electrical plug (with the provided usb charger) provides a more constant current to the iPhone.
gadiylim
post Apr 27 2009, 09:46 PM

38 posts

Cannot compare iphones with the Motorola SLVR. You have to understand that iphones use up more batt compared to regular phones.

You're having the dream phone of a life time and it definitely sucks up more juice than regular mobiles....
gyver
post Apr 27 2009, 10:31 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 27 2009, 09:11 PM)
i don't mean to scare you guy, but i personally know someone who used the usb port to charge his iPhone.

the computer wasn't his to begin with and the connection wasn't perfect as well and hence it kept "disconnecting"

in the end, his iPhone suffered from hardware problems.

using the electrical plug (with the provided usb charger) provides a more constant current to the iPhone.
Yes, I have personally experience this problem when I was charging my Dopod last time. So now I would prefer to charge my Iphone using the supplied charger, and use my griffin car charger only on emergency cases.
nokia2003
post Apr 27 2009, 11:28 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Apr 27 2009, 10:31 PM)
Yes, I have personally experience this problem when I was charging my Dopod last time. So now I would prefer to charge my Iphone using the supplied charger, and use my griffin car charger only on emergency cases.
thank you for substantiating my point.

even better, when i was working in an IT store, part time. my supervisor told me about this bloke who went to dock his 1st gen iPhone into those so-called certified speaker docks made for iPods. no prize for guessing what happened next... it got fried so badly, it won't even start up. however don't get overly alarmed alright? these things only happen once in a blue moon! flex.gif

Added on April 27, 2009, 11:33 pmlesson of the day: jangan suka-suka cucuk your stuff inside some unknown lubang (no pun intended)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 27 2009, 11:34 PM
PeeEl
post Apr 27 2009, 11:34 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 27 2009, 11:28 PM)
thank you for substantiating my point.

even better, when i was working in an IT store, part time. my supervisor told me about this bloke who went to dock his 1st gen iPhone into those so-called certified speaker docks made for iPods. no prize for guessing what happened next... it got fried so badly, it won't even start up. however don't get overly alarmed alright? these things only happen once in a blue moon!  flex.gif
Can I ask you a pertinent question?

Say, after syncing my iPhone for some apps it is not fully charged yet, we would do well, going by what you said, by disconnecting it from the laptop/PC and continue charging using the cable plugged in to the power point?!
nokia2003
post Apr 27 2009, 11:41 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Apr 27 2009, 11:34 PM)
Can I ask you a pertinent question?

Say, after syncing my iPhone for some apps it is not fully charged yet, we would do well, going by what you said, by disconnecting it from the laptop/PC and continue charging using the cable plugged in to the power point?!
well, to be honest. what i have just mentioned above, is just the worst case scenario.

what happened to this bloke is, whilst he was trying to upgrade his firmware, the disconnection occurred pretty frequently (you know that distinctive windows' tone when you plug in a usb device?).

call me biased, but i have always preferred the charger as opposed to the computer-usb method. i advocate it so much that, i actually bring the usb adapter to uni (inside my bagpack)
tALEz
post Apr 28 2009, 12:23 AM

469 posts

So my understanding is, the iPhone is automatically charged whenever we plug it into the PC-USB port am I right?

How can we disable auto-charge if we are constantly connected to the PC.
nokia2003
post Apr 28 2009, 12:56 AM

5,786 posts

hey guys. i got a feeling that you are taking this too too too seriously.

for the record, i do charge my iPhone via the usb cable too! (if that makes anyone less uptight tongue.gif
TSstutzedward
post Apr 28 2009, 09:25 AM

700 posts

Talking about USB from PC frying stuffs, it's true. I've encountered before. There was once my colleague put his thumb drive into my PC in the office and out of the sudden, smoke came out, It melted the PCB board in the thumb drive (it's transparent).

So let's imagine, if the USB connection is to the iPhone, the fone is gone for good. It's real and it happens.

Added on April 28, 2009, 9:27 am
QUOTE(gadiylim @ Apr 27 2009, 09:46 PM)
Cannot compare iphones with the Motorola SLVR. You have to understand that iphones use up more batt compared to regular phones.

You're having the dream phone of a life time and it definitely sucks up more juice than regular mobiles....
Thanks for the feedback bro but you've misunderstood. I am NOT comparing the battery life of iPhone vs. SLVR. What I meant was, if I charge my SLVR using PC USB, it do not last as long as if I charge using the charger. Eg.

Charge thru PC USB on SLVR = 3.5 days of standby

vs.

Charge thru original charger on SLVR = 4 days of standby

So tht is why I guess PC USB charge do not have 'tickle charge' to really fully charge the battery.

This post has been edited by stutzedward: Apr 28 2009, 09:29 AM
lucas_lik
post Apr 28 2009, 09:31 AM

136 posts

You should buy a app call freeMemory. Inside has the battery indicator for the battery. Don't trust Iphone's battery indicator on the top right. You have to make sure it reach 100% then can turn off the charger. For my exp,Wall charger faster to full charger compare to usb charger from notebook,macbook,pc..
Buzza
post Apr 28 2009, 09:42 AM

200 posts

@Bro stutzedward:

Just to give opinion according to my experience.. To me, ive charged using this 2 types of charging method 1. through my macbook USB and 2. using adapter. I choose to charge using USB more than using adapter.. Why? The battery life last longer than charging using adapter.. Try it, then u will know. Your experience on Moto2 (SLVR) is to far differences to be example on iphone. Just my 2 cent.
TSstutzedward
post Apr 28 2009, 09:47 AM

700 posts

bro buzza, I will try tht comparison on my iPhone. Yeah, I do agree different fone has different type of batt.
Hackezkk
post Apr 28 2009, 12:43 PM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

juz use and charge while its still alive
warranty 1 year rite
huhuhu
neway
last time my usb thumbdrive fried/shorted and cannot use anymore

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top