Dear All,
I've been noticing lately that if someone posts some silly questions or which could be found in FAQ/pinned topics. There would be a group of users that would simply post "thread reported". Now there is nothing wrong of reporting a thread if you believe that its wrong. I just don't want these one-liners post to be here
Suppose if you want to report a thread , just hit the report button and simply post the correct link on where Thread Starter should ask his/her question. This is because not everyone is familiar with iPhones section general conduct and how things are done here.
I would appreciate if you (the elites) would direct newcomers or those who've failed to check the pinned thread by simply pointing out the right location where they should post instead of just saying "thread reported". This would help davidgary73 and the rest of the moderators of this section to focus on other things such as keeping it tidy and updating pinned thread with useful information
P.S - I've discussed with david before coming up with david on this matter and he has agreed to this after a lengthy discussion with him
Thank you for your understanding.
--
[color=green]Take Note:
Super short words, few emoticons, pointless/unproductive post spamming on any threads will be deleted.
Example:-
1)
2) ZZZZZZZ
3) Hahahaha
4) LOL
5) Yup
6) Damnit....
7) I think so..
8) Why?
9) Yahoo..iPhone 3GS..
Mods will delete any post when is deem fit to do so. To avoid getting your post deleted, post wisely.
---------
Check Point:
If your post is missing, its probably one of the following reasons:
1) No sharing/asking/promoting/weblinks of warez/cracks/repo or substituting it with words like "ahem" in this forum as it will be delete immediately by mods.
Action: Discussion, distribution or posting links to pirated software, pornography or any kind of copyrighted materials.
Result: Offending post will be deleted and user will be warned. Repeat offenders will get a temporary suspension to their account.
Differences between Hacking and Cracking for those who have no clue: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=845767&hl=
2) New thread open without reading the pinned threads or search for related threads will result in immediate closure or merge into related topics. And, do not open multiple new threads. Warning will be serve if you go overboard.
3) New thread with solutions provided by forumers solved TS queries will be given a grace period of 1hr - 12hrs for closure of thread by TS.
a) Without any response from TS after the grace period, mod will proceed to close the thread.
b) If the thread has no answers in 24hrs, it will be close or merge in iPhone Club thread.
*Mods will also close threads immediately in some cases to avoid spams etc.
4) No trading/sales of items on iPhone subforum. Post them up in the Trade Zone instead. Any trading threads here will be deleted without notice!
5) Do not post any links to external/personal blogs in the forum. Post will be deleted.
6) NO RANTING THREADS or UNPRODUCTIVE THREADS. Thread will be deleted.
7) Do not post your sales in the forum. Post/thread will be deleted.
8) Do not use harsh words or foul words: fag, bullshit, etc. Mods careless who you are. We will delete your post. Think before you post. Warning will be served.
9) Do not post any speculation on new generation iPhones when it's not from Apple. Thread wil be closed or deleted or merge to iPhone club thread.
10) iPhone speculation (design/hardware) threads, you can forget about putting up such threads. If the info is not from Apple, your thread will be closed.
11) Posting unconstructive post and spamming oneliners etc. Your post will be DELETED.
12) No DOUBLE posting allowed. Post will be merged or deleted.
---------
Warning and Suspension
Warnings will be given to any forumers who disobey the rules or disobey moderators friendly warning via PM/post.
If forumers disregard the warning by moderators after being serve with a warning by LYN Staff, moderators will request a suspension on your account.
---------
How to Close Thread:
Scroll to the bottom left of your browser and you will see Moderation Options column. Select "Close this topic". Click Go. Done
---------
Report infringment:
To report a forum infringement, use the button located below each post.
QUOTE(RBR @ Dec 4 2008, 06:53 PM)
Some statistics: There's been a 100% rise in reported posts over the past 10 months or so. The moderators and administrators are struggling to keep up.
The result: Many reported posts are discarded, we have less time to attend to genuine reports and too much time lapses between a report and action being taken.
You can help.
Below is a guide of when to report and when not to report:
When should I report?
Personal attacks: When someone makes a post that is personally attacking another person.
Illegal / inappropriate: When someone is posting a link to or asking for help acquiring illegal, copyrighted or otherwise inappropriate material. This includes things such as warez, porn, or anything against any law of the country.
Blatant and persistent foul language: Excessive use of profanity is neither constructive nor communicative. The odd minor infraction in an otherwise helpful and on-topic post isn't such a big deal, but frequent use, or the use of 'harder' language certainly warrants a report.
Off-topic / hijacking: Blatant attempts to drag a thread offtopic, or to 'hijack' a thread, unless the thread is in the Lifestyle Sections.
When should I not?
Wrong information: Being incorrect is not grounds for the removal of a post. If you believe that someone has lead someone else astray, write a response to offer what you believe is correct.
Single use of foul language: Ignore it.
Personal issues: Live with it.
Double posts/Triple posts: Its minor and unintentional. Ignore it.
Spam in Lifestyle Sections: This is unavoidable. The sheer volume of posts there makes it impossible for us to effectively and expeditiously attend to reports, particularly in Kopitiam.
How should I report
Provide us with sufficient information to make a good judgment call. If there are multiple posts that are infringing in the same page, report just one post and let the moderator know the details.
If there is a duplicate thread, provide us with a link to the other thread.
If the thread should be moved, a suggestion as to where you think its more suitable would be appreciated!
---------The result: Many reported posts are discarded, we have less time to attend to genuine reports and too much time lapses between a report and action being taken.
You can help.
Below is a guide of when to report and when not to report:
When should I report?
Personal attacks: When someone makes a post that is personally attacking another person.
Illegal / inappropriate: When someone is posting a link to or asking for help acquiring illegal, copyrighted or otherwise inappropriate material. This includes things such as warez, porn, or anything against any law of the country.
Blatant and persistent foul language: Excessive use of profanity is neither constructive nor communicative. The odd minor infraction in an otherwise helpful and on-topic post isn't such a big deal, but frequent use, or the use of 'harder' language certainly warrants a report.
Off-topic / hijacking: Blatant attempts to drag a thread offtopic, or to 'hijack' a thread, unless the thread is in the Lifestyle Sections.
When should I not?
Wrong information: Being incorrect is not grounds for the removal of a post. If you believe that someone has lead someone else astray, write a response to offer what you believe is correct.
Single use of foul language: Ignore it.
Personal issues: Live with it.
Double posts/Triple posts: Its minor and unintentional. Ignore it.
Spam in Lifestyle Sections: This is unavoidable. The sheer volume of posts there makes it impossible for us to effectively and expeditiously attend to reports, particularly in Kopitiam.
How should I report
Provide us with sufficient information to make a good judgment call. If there are multiple posts that are infringing in the same page, report just one post and let the moderator know the details.
If there is a duplicate thread, provide us with a link to the other thread.
If the thread should be moved, a suggestion as to where you think its more suitable would be appreciated!
This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 07:42 PM