Movies The ALIEN Movies Thread, Prometheus 2: PARADISE LOST (2017)
QuickFire
Jun 10 2012, 05:12 PM
Watched it a second time, this time in IMAX 3D.
Enjoyed it very much. Free of any pre-conceptions of what the movie does have and does not have, and letting the philosophical agendas slide, this is a good movie. The intellectual scope of it is extremely limited, but the narrative scope is epic. The only problem is that while the scope is impressive, the inability of the script to satisfyingly answer some of the basic questions is frustrating. I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt though; the sequel damn well better provide more concrete stuff. In fact, if this is the first of a two- or three-parter, and if the sequels deliver, I think the series has the potential to go down as a great. Not as a great intellectual sci-fi, but as an epic space adventure/horror franchise... I must admit, there is potential.
Plus I can see the sequel being better in terms of the characters. This one has way too many characters, 17 is just too many unless you plan to kill lost of them at the beginning and focus on the remaining few. Captain Janek is a really cool character, and is really the real hero in this, but he's just too underwritten. Same goes for Vickers. I actually liked her a lot, because she's hot and she emanates quite a bit of Ripley. By the end of the movie with most of the characters dead, the sequel should be able to focus more on just a few.
Btw, the 3D is useless. Given a choice of IMAX 3D or IMAX 2D, I'll go for the latter every time.
Claire Farron
Jun 10 2012, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 05:12 PM) Watched it a second time, this time in IMAX 3D. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Enjoyed it very much. Free of any pre-conceptions of what the movie does have and does not have, and letting the philosophical agendas slide, this is a good movie. The intellectual scope of it is extremely limited, but the narrative scope is epic. The only problem is that while the scope is impressive, the inability of the script to satisfyingly answer some of the basic questions is frustrating. I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt though; the sequel damn well better provide more concrete stuff. In fact, if this is the first of a two- or three-parter, and if the sequels deliver, I think the series has the potential to go down as a great. Not as a great intellectual sci-fi, but as an epic space adventure/horror franchise... I must admit, there is potential.
Plus I can see the sequel being better in terms of the characters. This one has way too many characters, 17 is just too many unless you plan to kill lost of them at the beginning and focus on the remaining few. Captain Janek is a really cool character, and is really the real hero in this, but he's just too underwritten. Same goes for Vickers. I actually liked her a lot, because she's hot and she emanates quite a bit of Ripley. By the end of the movie with most of the characters dead, the sequel should be able to focus more on just a few.
Btw, the 3D is useless. Given a choice of IMAX 3D or IMAX 2D, I'll go for the latter every time. I wonder if they'll be showing The Dark Knight Rises in IMAX 2D or not there
Bleacher
Jun 10 2012, 06:29 PM
They most certainly have to.  There are no 3D options and the film is going to steamroll the box office this season.
peinsama
Jun 10 2012, 07:06 PM
i was wondering if that's face hugger...a big ass version.
Claire Farron
Jun 10 2012, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(Bleacher @ Jun 10 2012, 06:29 PM) They most certainly have to.  There are no 3D options and the film is going to steamroll the box office this season. Had they shown 2D film at the TGV IMAX? If I recall correctly all the movies that they've shown there is 3d right?
Bleacher
Jun 10 2012, 07:52 PM
Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol has been in 2D. Given the option between 2D and 3D, TGV will almost certainly show the 3D option but for The Dark Knight Rises, there isn't much of a choice.
Claire Farron
Jun 10 2012, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(Bleacher @ Jun 10 2012, 07:52 PM) Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol has been in 2D. Given the option between 2D and 3D, TGV will almost certainly show the 3D option but for The Dark Knight Rises, there isn't much of a choice. Ok, thanks for the info
QuickFire
Jun 10 2012, 08:33 PM
I remember watching MI:IV 2D at TGV IMAX though, and the picture clarity wasn't up to par. Prometheus 3D was crystal though. Perhaps they don't properly align the two projectors for 2D movies.
domcobb
Jun 10 2012, 09:10 PM

To those who have watched the movie in cinema, any bad editing by our local censorship board? In other words, any scenes got sliced off?
This post has been edited by domcobb: Jun 10 2012, 09:10 PM
hairyLGS
Jun 10 2012, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(domcobb @ Jun 10 2012, 09:10 PM) To those who have watched the movie in cinema, any bad editing by our local censorship board? In other words, any scenes got sliced off? nope
QuickFire
Jun 10 2012, 09:27 PM
It's 100% intact buddy. There are a few pretty gross body shock horror scenes.
domcobb
Jun 10 2012, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jun 10 2012, 09:26 PM) QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 09:27 PM) It's 100% intact buddy. There are a few pretty gross body shock horror scenes. Awesome!
hairyLGS
Jun 10 2012, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 10 2012, 09:46 PM) Some people in the cinema went "urgghhhh" during the "operation" scene btw  Same here Pregnant ladies should not even watch this...
azarimy
Jun 10 2012, 10:26 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 12:33 PM) I remember watching MI:IV 2D at TGV IMAX though, and the picture clarity wasn't up to par. Prometheus 3D was crystal though. Perhaps they don't properly align the two projectors for 2D movies. i'm pretty sure to show it on 2D they just switch off the other projector.
Brian O'Connor
Jun 10 2012, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 10 2012, 09:46 PM) Some people in the cinema went "urgghhhh" during the "operation" scene btw  Hahaha when I watched with my friends last night and that scene came out, most of my friends says.. "Celaka, cerita ape yang kau bagi kami tengok ni alahaaii" (while grabbed my arms) Not to mention, some of them already put their hands on their tummy  .
QuickFire
Jun 10 2012, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 10 2012, 10:26 PM) i'm pretty sure to show it on 2D they just switch off the other projector. Sorry I mean they might not remove the 3D lens when projecting 2D movies. QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jun 10 2012, 10:26 PM) Hahaha when I watched with my friends last night and that scene came out, most of my friends says.. "Celaka, cerita ape yang kau bagi kami tengok ni alahaaii" (while grabbed my arms) Not to mention, some of them already put their hands on their tummy  . Haha, for the current generation of kids who have never seen Alien or heard of the chestburster scene, I guess this is the closest one could get to a modern equivalent. Not quite as shocking as that classic scene (that had the element of shock surprise) but still great.
maxpudding
Jun 10 2012, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jun 10 2012, 10:26 PM) Hahaha when I watched with my friends last night and that scene came out, most of my friends says.. "Celaka, cerita ape yang kau bagi kami tengok ni alahaaii" (while grabbed my arms) Not to mention, some of them already put their hands on their tummy  . LOLOLOLOL
domcobb
Jun 10 2012, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 11:10 PM) Sorry I mean they might not remove the 3D lens when projecting 2D movies. Haha, for the current generation of kids who have never seen Alien or heard of the chestburster scene, I guess this is the closest one could get to a modern equivalent. Not quite as shocking as that classic scene (that had the element of shock surprise) but still great. I remember watching [Alien] with dad when I was 8 or 9 or 10 and that 1st chestbuster scene was so indescribable then, that my jaw dropped and I was literally frozen for seconds. I was still in that state even after the little Xenomorph ran away! Dad chuckled and I’m guessing it’s because of my reaction and he asked if I’m alright. I miss those moments. This post has been edited by domcobb: Jun 10 2012, 11:51 PM
azarimy
Jun 10 2012, 11:57 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
QUOTE(domcobb @ Jun 10 2012, 03:51 PM) I remember watching [Alien] with dad when I was 8 or 9 or 10 and that 1st chestbuster scene was so indescribable then, that my jaw dropped and I was literally frozen for seconds. I was still in that state even after the little Xenomorph ran away! Dad chuckled and I’m guessing it’s because of my reaction and he asked if I’m alright. I miss those moments. when i bought the quadrilogy boxed set, i found out that the blond girl in that scene didnt even know it's gonna burst out. she totally freaked out and the reaction we saw was real. that's ridley lol. anyways, i'm wondering if the version released in malaysia is the full version with the international ones? did they cut anything out? i noticed the F word only once. i know there's no nudity, but what about the gore/horror thingy? it's rated PG13 here, but R-rated everywhere else...