Movies The ALIEN Movies Thread, Prometheus 2: PARADISE LOST (2017)

domcobb
post Dec 30 2011, 08:26 PM

199 posts

Mentah mental Scott's explaination on the space jockey is its fighting incoming predators aerial battleship! doh.gif sambung balik AVP punya story! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by domcobb: Dec 30 2011, 08:26 PM
domcobb
post Dec 30 2011, 09:49 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Dec 30 2011, 08:54 PM)
Ai yoh... you think Ridley will really sambung itu trash meh...  shakehead.gif
Haha. Kidding, dude but the 2 AVP movie are just, in your word, trash!
domcobb
post Jun 10 2012, 09:10 PM

199 posts

To those who have watched the movie in cinema, any bad editing by our local censorship board? In other words, any scenes got sliced off?

This post has been edited by domcobb: Jun 10 2012, 09:10 PM
domcobb
post Jun 10 2012, 09:42 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jun 10 2012, 09:26 PM)
nope
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 09:27 PM)
It's 100% intact buddy. There are a few pretty gross body shock horror scenes.
Awesome! rclxms.gif

domcobb
post Jun 10 2012, 11:51 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 10 2012, 11:10 PM)
Sorry I mean they might not remove the 3D lens when projecting 2D movies.
Haha, for the current generation of kids who have never seen Alien or heard of the chestburster scene, I guess this is the closest one could get to a modern equivalent. Not quite as shocking as that classic scene (that had the element of shock surprise) but still great.
I remember watching [Alien] with dad when I was 8 or 9 or 10 and that 1st chestbuster scene was so indescribable then, that my jaw dropped and I was literally frozen for seconds. I was still in that state even after the little Xenomorph ran away! Dad chuckled and I’m guessing it’s because of my reaction and he asked if I’m alright.

I miss those moments.

This post has been edited by domcobb: Jun 10 2012, 11:51 PM
domcobb
post Jun 11 2012, 07:00 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 10 2012, 11:57 PM)
when i bought the quadrilogy boxed set, i found out that the blond girl in that scene didnt even know it's gonna burst out. she totally freaked out and the reaction we saw was real. that's ridley lol.

anyways, i'm wondering if the version released in malaysia is the full version with the international ones? did they cut anything out? i noticed the F word only once. i know there's no nudity, but what about the gore/horror thingy? it's rated PG13 here, but R-rated everywhere else...
Yea, I remember reading about that too, some time ago.

Trivia: remember the scene where Ripley did the reverse basketball shot in [Alien Resurrection] movie? She actually DID it.

domcobb
post Jun 24 2012, 10:02 PM

199 posts

There is nothing spectacular about Prometheus.

In case it ever crossed your mind, let me straighten things out. I am not one who needs their CO2 statement rectified in order to enjoy this movie but the lack of good script, believable feeling as delivered in Alien (1979) and that “In-Space-No-One-Can-Hear-You-Scream” trapped like mood makes this movie, Prometheus, to be just another episode on Discovery Channel.

Nevertheless, considering that it might the 1st chapter of a possible sequel or a trilogy, I thought it was alright, in terms of introduction to what may follow but on its own, it was neither good nor bad.

What caught my attention in this movie is the level of anonymity and ambiguity presented. I thought it was adequately well done. Even in the opening scene, visuals of terrains, lakes, mountains, waterfalls and etc were shown but it was not mentioned that it is what you think it is. With exposure to similar sceneries, either through personal experience or National Geographic Channel, it is almost undeniable that it has to be it but is it really it?

The entire movie dwells on this level of anonymity and ambiguity, hence, the many sharing of interpretation to another, with another in many forums and discussion sites.

Nice work on that part.

However I looked at it, Prometheus is better than The Avengers and I hope their sequel, if it ever gets the green light, gets better.

domcobb
post Jun 28 2012, 11:04 PM

199 posts

You know the ship is loaded with idiots when ONE idiot, who never bothered to turn around to check on the incoming impact and navigate the running course to increase the possibilities of survival, says “For those of you whom I hired PERSONALLY, it is nice to see you” in her opening speech before the mission briefing.

Birds of the same feather flock together?

0.0190sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:52 PM