32 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Movies The ALIEN Movies Thread, Prometheus 2: PARADISE LOST (2017)

TSfiredauz
post Dec 7 2008, 12:01 PM, updated 11y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Sauce: http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2008/12/05/sigou...s-alien-sequel/

Sigourney Weaver And Ridley Scott To Team Up For Alien-Less ‘Alien’ Sequel?

There has been a neverending stream of speculation about the future of the “Alien” franchise probably since the very moment “Alien Resurrection” crashed and burned with most fans. Could James Cameron or Ridley Scott be weighing a return to the franchise or would we be cursed with more Predator crossovers? These are the questions that can try a man’s soul.

But wait, there is hope! When I chatted with Sigourney Weaver the other day (check out her take on the “Ghostbusters” sequel here), the actress definitely seemed to still have plans for her iconic alter-ego. “There’s definitely uncharted territory for Ripley,” she promised.

However Weaver wondered if the alien itself can and should factor into another film after the exposure its gotten in two “AVP” films. She asked aloud “whether there’s unchartered territory for a creature who’s become somewhat debased by this computer generated thing. I haven’t seen ["Alien Vs. Predator"] but I just think if you overexpose the creature, that’s a mistake.”

Weaver confirmed that she and Scott have discussed re-teaming for a fifth film, “Both of us feel a kind of commitment to that woman. He’s as much responsible for who she is as I am.” Then as she opined on the way the alien creature had been ruined in the recent films, Weaver’s comments got especially interesting.

“We’d have to go back to the drawing board on [the alien],” she said. “Ridley said that right away when we first talked about [a fifth film].”

And finally, the quote that’s gotten me mighty curious, “What we’re interested in is taking the character of Ripley and seeing what other science fiction story we can tell about someone who has lived several lives.”

I didn’t really process what Weaver was saying at the time I suppose but it sounds to me like we might be less looking at “Alien 5″ and more of “Chronicles of Ripley.” Are Scott and Weaver thinking about an altogether different type of sci-fi adventure for the character? Color me intrigued.

Are you?

This post has been edited by firedauz: Sep 26 2015, 09:15 PM
ericpires
post Dec 7 2008, 12:08 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

I tot i saw wrongly Alien 5: Chronicles of Narnia... lolz
maxizanc
post Dec 7 2008, 12:13 PM

5,909 posts

The ugly s.o.b alien pawn predators shakehead.gif
gajah91
post Dec 7 2008, 12:36 PM

416 posts

might watch
azbro
post Dec 7 2008, 01:29 PM

4,403 posts

Will watch..but as usual...i will bear in mind it sucks first instead of hoping a 5 star movie. That way, it wont be disappointing so much...
funnyTONE
post Dec 7 2008, 01:43 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Yea, I'm not holding my breath on this one too. I mean Sigourney Weaver is wayy old, and even if the story resumes her as a clone, the clone would still be old. The aliens is still ok and for me, I never get enough of them even if its a plethora of them on screen at one time. Alien Vs Predator was decent, but I do agree that its should be back to just Aliens. Personally, I hope they would go make Aliens 5 to be like Marines Vs Aliens in Aliens 2. And I don't wanna see another new version of Aliens...its just so uglly and fake! The original Aliens was pure freaky and awesomeness!
chyu89
post Dec 7 2008, 04:58 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Rather watch Predators. More cool gadgets and skills. Alien is like rawr rawr bite.
Calvin871989
post Jan 13 2009, 09:00 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Sigourney-W...pley-11522.html

Sigourney Weaver Not Interested In Reviving Ripley

Sigourney Weaver was only present at the Golden Globes last night as a presenter, but that didn't keep her from being hounded in the press room with questions about all her upcoming projects-- and even projects she apparently has no interest in being part of. She talked up her role in Avatar as being a good way to return to space, but when it came to reprising Ripley from Alien, she was more hesitant.

"I think it's more satisfying to create something new. I love the Alien films, but I think enough already," reported ReelzChannel from backstage. That's in contrast to some rumors that have suggested Weaver might be back for another Alien movie-- presumably one that was any good. I'd be fine with Sigourney leaving well enough alone-- she's established herself well enough at this point that I think the woman's earned the right to do whatever she damn well pleases.

greyshadow
post Jan 13 2009, 09:43 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

what they should do with the franchise is a new reboot
like what they did with Batman and 007 franchise

we need something totally new and yet familiar

it's time they let Ripley RIP, and return the sneaky, bad ass aliens, and not those recent AVP zerkling like losers

They should start all over again like how Alien started, start from 1 alien, trapped in a spaceship/fortress, while preying on unsuspecting victims.

Hmm... maybe a WW2 era + an Alien won't be a bad idea at all, or even a medieval era will be great

Swords and Shields Vs Alien thumbup.gif

uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Jan 13 2009, 03:47 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 13 2009, 09:43 AM)

it's time they let Ripley RIP, and return the sneaky, bad ass aliens, and not those recent AVP zerkling like losers

They should start all over again like how Alien started, start from 1 alien, trapped in a spaceship/fortress, while preying on unsuspecting victims.

Hmm... maybe a WW2 era + an Alien won't be a bad idea at all, or even a medieval era will be great

probably took a few dozen warriors to actually bring one down sweat.gif
lamely_named
post Jan 13 2009, 05:50 PM

I got younger. ROLLZ.
1,931 posts

new movie: Alien VS Ironman Vs Transformer Vs batman Vs spiderman Vs sin city 2 Vs every god dam movie characters ever made.

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

evofantasy
post Jan 13 2009, 05:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 13 2009, 09:43 AM)

ww2 where got use swords n shield d?
its more like resistance 1 and resistance 2...
chimeras FTW!
greyshadow
post Jan 14 2009, 03:05 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ Jan 13 2009, 03:47 PM)
probably took a few dozen warriors to actually bring one down    sweat.gif
That will be the fun part biggrin.gif
And that's how alien are suppose to like

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 13 2009, 05:52 PM)
ww2 where got use swords n shield d?
its more like resistance 1 and resistance 2...
chimeras FTW!
you missed the word medieval eh?

any hoo.... I think a story about an alien trapped in a castle during medieval times would be great
Alien gonna love those dark corridors of a castle, and many secret passage ways and dungeons thumbup.gif
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2009, 02:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 14 2009, 03:05 AM)
That will be the fun part biggrin.gif
And that's how alien are suppose to like
you missed the word medieval eh?
any hoo.... I think a story about an alien trapped in a castle during medieval times would be great
Alien gonna love those dark corridors of a castle, and many secret passage ways and dungeons thumbup.gif
oops my bad...
medievil who knws they need to find a dragon to burn the aliens lol...
goldfries
post Jan 14 2009, 02:52 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 14 2009, 03:05 AM)
love the idea man.

so it'll be "Dungeons and Aliens"? smile.gif

no sensors and flame throwers, probably ends with Alien being flamed and catapulted away? brows.gif
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2009, 03:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2009, 02:52 PM)
love the idea man.

so it'll be "Dungeons and Aliens"? smile.gif

no sensors and flame throwers, probably ends with Alien being flamed and catapulted away? brows.gif
though i kinda imagine LoTR along the way sleep.gif
lamely_named
post Jan 14 2009, 04:16 PM

I got younger. ROLLZ.
1,931 posts

I hope the new alien will be very cute.

like 80% human 20% alien hybrid. Kinda like the catgirl in anime.

hahahahhhahahahahha.

Added on January 14, 2009, 4:27 pmuser posted image

HAHHAHAHAH ROLLZ

This post has been edited by lamely_named: Jan 14 2009, 04:27 PM
Tsj261
post Jan 14 2009, 08:19 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(lamely_named @ Jan 14 2009, 04:16 PM)
I hope the new alien will be very cute.

like 80% human 20% alien hybrid. Kinda like the catgirl in anime.

hahahahhhahahahahha.

Added on January 14, 2009, 4:27 pmuser posted image

HAHHAHAHAH ROLLZ
the last picture reminds me of Starcraf : Broodwar ..zerg's queen Catherine ?lol
chenpeng
post Jan 14 2009, 08:30 PM

37 posts

i tot ripley died in the previous episode???
that alien's head looked like somekind of skull...not like the previous alien
greyshadow
post Jan 14 2009, 10:03 PM

1,844 posts

Ripley died in Aliens 3
in Aliens 4 is a clone of her, and she didn't die at the end
the last Alien in Alien 4 is lamest, ugliest and stupidest of all Aliens doh.gif
it's a uber phailure doh.gif

I wish there's no more Ripley in Alien 5, and pls pls pls pls stick to those mean bad ass alien(s) in Alien and Aliens

Seriously, a reboot of the franchise is required. I doubt I'll go watch it in cinema if the next aliens movie is a sequel to the last one. doh.gif

32 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0256sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:15 PM