post Feb 19 2010, 04:42 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I think only xtorm is using one in the car... hmm.gif
CV6149
post Feb 19 2010, 04:44 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

oh ok..hope no problem....looks frm the datasheet also no problem lol..
kww
post Feb 19 2010, 05:03 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Feb 19 2010, 04:44 PM)
oh ok..hope no problem....looks frm the datasheet also no problem lol..
I have listen to a 2024 in car, doesn't like it, it sound thin and a bit clinical to my linking (I don't know what setting or equipments used beside 2024). I also have doubt in sound pressure and headroom. Usually car amp is high power and current.
xtorm is the best person to give comment. He done some projects in car for both 2020 and 2024.
jazzy939
post Feb 19 2010, 05:17 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Personally I'd say the 2024 is not suitable for auto use.. the 2020 maybe but.. there are better chips like the TDA series.. you need the power(watts) to drown the noise!... laugh.gif
CV6149
post Feb 19 2010, 05:23 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:17 PM)
Personally I'd say the 2024 is not suitable for auto use.. the 2020 maybe but.. there are better chips like the TDA series.. you need the power(watts) to drown the noise!... laugh.gif
bro...
can advice me on the chip selection?

which TDA? heheh tda 2050?

just now hunting in JP...but cant find chip that run at 12v-14.4v
my lack of knowledge actually.. blush.gif
jazzy939
post Feb 19 2010, 05:25 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

CV,
In JP there're already few kits with TDA chips.. just get the right one(ie the power required)

Here's a link:

http://electroschematics.com/1192/tda-amplifier-circuits/
CV6149
post Feb 19 2010, 05:29 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:25 PM)
CV,
In JP there're already few kits with TDA chips.. just get the right one(ie the power required)

Here's a link:

http://electroschematics.com/1192/tda-amplifier-circuits/
thanks a million bro..
maplin or nixie? biggrin.gif

jazzy939
post Feb 19 2010, 05:31 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Can't be sure about Maplin but try KE Electronics..
CV6149
post Feb 19 2010, 05:34 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 19 2010, 05:31 PM)
Can't be sure about Maplin but try KE Electronics..
thanks again.. rclxms.gif really JP sifu..... biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Feb 20 2010, 12:04 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

CV,
Did you managed to get it or planning to get it soon? hmm.gif
CV6149
post Feb 20 2010, 12:32 AM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

might go JP tomorrow biggrin.gif
look2 see hehhe

This post has been edited by CV6149: Feb 20 2010, 12:34 AM
TSxtorm
post Feb 20 2010, 04:03 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

for ta2024 background music and all is great in the car, abt being thin, yes its all in the tuning.

ta2024 might not be loud enough for some, ta2020 is pretty loud, but aeroplane noise is an issue.

ofcos if you aspect head banging loud then look else where...biggrin.gif
gabanyayaya
post Feb 20 2010, 01:41 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

So how many of you guys have finished building the second ver. of this T-amp....? Would it be appropriate to have the second official TT like we have soooo looooong time ago...??? !!!! smile.gif
TSxtorm
post Feb 22 2010, 01:59 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

i think most of them have mkIII ready by now smile.gif

yes a tt would be nice, goto arrange my time.

abt alternator noise using ta2020 in the car, my friend wira got a pretty noisy alternator, even the cd player was suffering aeroplane noise, found an old noise suppressor for the supply of ta2020 and cd player, noise all gone! the circuit is pretty simple, a transformer and 1 capacitor, not sure abt the trans value, cap is rated 2200uf 16v.

i suppose the trans is rated 1:1 high resistance?
kww
post Feb 24 2010, 12:16 PM

320 posts

After around 50hr, I can say the sound suit my ear. I can only compare it to my 2024 side by side.

The speed is about the same.
2020 pro: more transparent, more airy, higher sound pressure, better mid and low end extension.
2024 pro: just little bit better high end extension and details (maybe my ear is playing trick on me, just very little, if do blind test sure I can't differentiate)

My equipment is Sony 338ESD player, Castle Eden speaker, Kimber 8VC speaker cable, VDH MCD 102 MKIII RCA and an ALPS 100kohm volume control.

The mod I do for it is just replace 470uF power cap to Rubicon and add a parallel Vishay MKP1837 to the input cap.

This amp is bang for the bucks.

jazzy939
post Feb 24 2010, 12:56 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

kww,
Thank for the update.
Agreed. I hit 50 hours a while back and the sound is 'sweet'..
Definitely more powerful than the 2024, bass is terribly solid and 3 dimensional. I had the whole house(well the doors and window panes) shaking.. biggrin.gif

No mods at this point of time.. so far I'm ok with it.

Best bang per buck? You bet! thumbup.gif Can put some commercial amps to shame.. tongue.gif
kww
post Feb 24 2010, 01:13 PM

320 posts

Jazzy, my 2A SMPS can wake up my next door neighbor liow, 4A should wake your opposite neighbor also.

I even use a 12V battery to try it out, it give even better result, listen to believe.

Can not compare to commercial amp because there is none at such price, if compare to higher price you are inviting war here.
jazzy939
post Feb 24 2010, 01:54 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I am using a 4.2A MeanWell SMPS which was used on the 2024. biggrin.gif
At night I dare not passed 9 o'clock position of my preamp! Its LOUD! Thank God the neighbour is not around..!
But I did try to check out the OVERLOAD LED and I'm hitting at 12 o'clock position and it's unbelievable LOUD and I don't think I will even play at that deafening levels.. The doors and windows are already vibrating...

I have a spare lead acid.. will definitely check it out this weekend! wink.gif

Seriously any sub 2K amp can 'ta pau' for good! laugh.gif

QUOTE(kww @ Feb 24 2010, 01:13 PM)
Jazzy, my 2A SMPS can wake up my next door neighbor liow, 4A should wake your opposite neighbor also.

I even use a 12V battery to try it out, it give even better result, listen to believe.

Can not compare to commercial amp because there is none at such price, if compare to higher price you are inviting war here.
Y.C.
post Feb 24 2010, 02:09 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Feb 24 2010, 12:16 PM)
...The speed is about the same.
2020 pro: more transparent, more airy, higher sound pressure, better mid and low end extension.
2024 pro: just little bit better high end extension and details (maybe my ear is playing trick on me, just very little, if do blind test sure I can't differentiate)....

Happy CNY, folks.

I listened to the 2 T-amps briefly (but not in my system though). I thought the TA-2024 has an overall leaner balance. Its high frequencies are slightly more extended than TA-2020mk3 and has more micro details plus an expressive forward midrange. The TA-2020mk3 has more power which translates to better bass weight, slam and a bigger and deeper soundstage that speakers totally disappear leaving a solid but rather laidback image. Its midrange is smoother but a little reticent to my liking. I thought it has a rather bright top-end but not extended enough that violins sound kinda funny!

I hope my comments would offend no-one. Cheers!

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Feb 24 2010, 02:29 PM
jazzy939
post Feb 24 2010, 02:37 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Hey YC! Happy CNY biggrin.gif

Yup.. I do agree on your remarks.
Definitely 'brighter' than the 2024 for sure.
Have not checked out the violins.. will do it tonite.. wink.gif
I did actually thinking about going back to 2024.. but have not play with the 2020 long enough...
You have a good one!

P/S I have not forgotten about the Ortofon tongue.gif

59 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:37 AM