DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
toda6866
Feb 24 2010, 02:58 PM
Happy CNY everyone!
after listening for more than 30+ hrs, i find my ta2020 is brighter than my old commercial 1k+ amp, but it has also extended the bass alot, definitely slamming doors, bombing sounds from movies or games sound much realistic now! n i'm using only bookshelves (in small room)
good thing the brightness is not annoying, actually welcoming, coz think it matches my speakers better, since it was all the while oh so dull previously
ta2020 makes string instruments n vocals more alive! yes, layman term u will have the impression of crispy clear sound, not muffled from good recordings
bad ones, sadly, it will show the ugly backside....shit in SHIT out; amplifies shit neutrally...
power, seriously it has more than enough juice, i never need to crank vol more than 9'o clock coz thats the SPL zone edi, neighbours will hate me
even at 12o'clock vol, my naked ears don't hear any hiss, maybe there is, only my ears cant detect it.... but i can hear my previous amp hissing once pass -18dB (i dunno how many clocks is that) test is done without playing any signal, jz vol up
This post has been edited by toda6866: Feb 24 2010, 02:59 PM
jazzy939
Feb 24 2010, 03:29 PM
Guys, I think the 'brightness' part of the 2020 is because we are used to milder, tame and 'less bright' sound of the 2024. The treble level of the 2020 is comparable to my other 2 DIY amps and a Technics... However is not to a level of annoying or fatiguing in nature.. Overall sound wise, I'd say it's a 2024 on steroids!
kww
Feb 24 2010, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Feb 24 2010, 02:09 PM) Happy CNY, folks. I listened to the 2 T-amps briefly ( but not in my system though). I thought the TA-2024 has an overall leaner balance. Its high frequencies are slightly more extended than TA-2020mk3 and has more micro details plus an expressive forward midrange. The TA-2020mk3 has more power which translates to better bass weight, slam and a bigger and deeper soundstage that speakers totally disappear leaving a solid but rather laidback image. Its midrange is smoother but a little reticent to my liking. I thought it has a rather bright top-end but not extended enough that violins sound kinda funny! I hope my comments would offend no-one. Cheers! Hi YC, I have been switch 2020 and 2024 many times, what you say is true. Maybe after more time of burn it will smoothern up the top end or the vishay cap or the original cap need to change. I kind of like the slamming bass of 2020.
jazzy939
Feb 24 2010, 05:10 PM
Me too!  QUOTE(kww @ Feb 24 2010, 03:44 PM) Hi YC, I have been switch 2020 and 2024 many times, what you say is true. Maybe after more time of burn it will smoothern up the top end or the vishay cap or the original cap need to change. I kind of like the slamming bass of 2020.
jazzy939
Feb 24 2010, 11:12 PM
Nice casing karichio!
TSxtorm
Feb 25 2010, 11:27 AM
i did notice ta2020 sounded brighther, MKIII is not as bright due to the different output coil use QUOTE(karichio @ Feb 24 2010, 10:17 PM) Hi guys, newbie here, bought T2020 from xstorm months ago and only recently i finally got my hands to complete this small diy project heres the picture for sharing.  nice...i got a moon cake box which have been laying for abt 2 years now  this coming bulk i gona leave 1 amp for my self
jazzy939
Feb 25 2010, 02:38 PM
It's a tad brighter.. but not that bad for sure.. but in 'bright' system.. ada sikit 'susah' lah.. hehe
karichio
Feb 26 2010, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 24 2010, 11:12 PM) Nice casing karichio!  QUOTE(xtorm @ Feb 25 2010, 11:27 AM) i did notice ta2020 sounded brighther, MKIII is not as bright due to the different output coil use nice...i got a moon cake box which have been laying for abt 2 years now  this coming bulk i gona leave 1 amp for my self  haha yea thts the mooncake box i stole from my mom collection, at least i found a way to utilize it than having it lying around.. btw, just out of curious wats the differ between 2020 and MKIII in terms of the sound output?
jazzy939
Feb 26 2010, 11:16 AM
Same power 'different' sound..
kww
Mar 4 2010, 07:11 PM
Because of the edgy high and mid, I buy a pair Wima 2.2uf to replace the input cap. First impression is much better and smoother. Jheena Lodwick is really singing. I think you can consider this if you found the vocal is very edgy not to your liking. Who got Mundorf to change and let us know the result.
This post has been edited by kww: Mar 4 2010, 07:12 PM
gabanyayaya
Mar 4 2010, 08:03 PM
just bypass the big cap with some small value PIO and you'll tame the brightness....
kww
Mar 4 2010, 08:22 PM
Gaban, I did try to by pass it with vishay mpk but still very edgy.
gabanyayaya
Mar 4 2010, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(kww @ Mar 4 2010, 09:22 PM) Gaban, I did try to by pass it with vishay mpk but still very edgy. with what value ? give it a spin first...few hundred hours baru ok itu bunyi.....!!! This post has been edited by gabanyayaya: Mar 4 2010, 09:03 PM
jazzy939
Mar 4 2010, 09:07 PM
Caps need a few 'good hours' to break in.. I go agree about the midband being 'edgy'... maybe its not the input caps?
TSxtorm
Mar 4 2010, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(kww @ Mar 4 2010, 07:11 PM) Because of the edgy high and mid, I buy a pair Wima 2.2uf to replace the input cap. First impression is much better and smoother. Jheena Lodwick is really singing. I think you can consider this if you found the vocal is very edgy not to your liking. Who got Mundorf to change and let us know the result. i got 1 pair ngam ngam using it on my ta2024  but mayb due to my speaker, it felt kinda laid back QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Mar 4 2010, 09:07 PM) Caps need a few 'good hours' to break in.. I go agree about the midband being 'edgy'... maybe its not the input caps?  how long till the ta2024 really sing?
kww
Mar 5 2010, 11:02 AM
gaban, I by-pass it with Vishay MPK 1837 0.033uf, it tame down the bright a little bit but still very edgy and rough vocal. I gave it about 70hr run-in but still the same from day one. Maybe I should give it few hundreds hour, but I am very inpatient. After swap cap in 2020 with Wima, it is much smoother but when I compare it with 2024, 2024 still has my vote as better in vocal. It sound fuller and smoother. I will give the Wima more time. By the way the Vishay 0.0033uf is by-pass the Wima too. Also there is a pair in my 2024 input cap by-pass. Shouldn't be the small cap different.
jazzy939
Mar 5 2010, 11:12 AM
Personally I don't think the 2020 will beat 2024 in the vocal department.
kww
Mar 5 2010, 11:29 AM
Jazzy, maybe a full mod 2020 will unleash it's full potential. I saw some good review of vocal of this chip. Xtorm, you have equipment list of 2020 board?
jazzy939
Mar 5 2010, 11:45 AM
I have been to a few forums and picked up a few pointers.. There may be hope.. QUOTE(kww @ Mar 5 2010, 11:29 AM) Jazzy, maybe a full mod 2020 will unleash it's full potential. I saw some good review of vocal of this chip. Xtorm, you have equipment list of 2020 board?