Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)
muscaa
Dec 5 2008, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2008, 02:25 PM) Since you already got your card then maybe you want to try it out first. Some folks here speak well about one bank but another may have a bad experience. If you ask me, UOB not much priviledges and the current preferred platinum product has this no-preset limit thing. (Plus now some of the forummers reported that they charge RM50 for cancelling the card. I don't support this fee/bank since no other banks does.) If you realise this is more or less to offset their CL upgrade inflexibility problem. It is entirely up to you actually whether you want to use it. Except for the bad experience related to my CL incident, they are quite OK. It is just that I travel quite a bit and I need flexibility on my credit limit. Oh yes, I always practice carrying 2 cards from different banks where ever I go. I think you should be well experienced yourself to decide which card suits you and which one don't. I found this old reply by vin_ann saying that you can terminate the UOB cc without any charges but must return the cc to the bank QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 22 2008, 03:02 PM) anyways, for procedures terminate UOB card, u can request them to e mail u cancellation form. filled in and fax back to them. while the physical card need to send to them by mail or pass to customer service at branch. failure to return the card will be charge RM25.
GHz
Dec 5 2008, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 5 2008, 06:53 PM) I found this old reply by vin_ann saying that you can terminate the UOB cc without any charges but must return the cc to the bank I told them that I never received the card as they only post by normal mail & I still not activate it.  So I do not need to return the card or pay the fee. Very bad bank. To cancel also very difficult.
findmelah
Dec 6 2008, 05:00 AM
wanna ask how to apply for cimb da gold card??? wher can i apply it???? is it worth to apply it????
thanx for ur answer ^^
vin_ann
Dec 6 2008, 06:15 AM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 5 2008, 06:53 PM) I found this old reply by vin_ann saying that you can terminate the UOB cc without any charges but must return the cc to the bank haha. that's was my experience. the cancellation form states will charge RM25. the result is i never return the ugly blue UOB Master CC to UOB. 1st i was faxed the cancellation in and going to send back the card, whose know after tht i got call from UOB and they offered me VOX master card. after tht i din bother to send back. Anyways, im going to cancel my UOB again. let's see this time how the reaction.
muscaa
Dec 6 2008, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 6 2008, 06:15 AM) haha. that's was my experience. the cancellation form states will charge RM25. the result is i never return the ugly blue UOB Master CC to UOB. 1st i was faxed the cancellation in and going to send back the card, whose know after tht i got call from UOB and they offered me VOX master card. after tht i din bother to send back. Anyways, im going to cancel my UOB again. let's see this time how the reaction. Yeah... i'm going to cancel UOB cc too. I find that their cards are not attractive anymore. (Even though they allow rebate on the spot at BHP petrol station now)
Shinichi
Dec 6 2008, 10:09 AM
So only UOB charge for cancellation? How about others?
hye
Dec 6 2008, 10:17 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 6 2008, 10:09 AM) So only UOB charge for cancellation? How about others? No other bank will charge you for cancellation. I've even cancelled a cc right after I got it via mail with no charges applied!
vin_ann
Dec 6 2008, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 6 2008, 09:38 AM) Yeah... i'm going to cancel UOB cc too. I find that their cards are not attractive anymore. (Even though they allow rebate on the spot at BHP petrol station now) QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 6 2008, 10:09 AM) So only UOB charge for cancellation? How about others? the RM25 charge mention is charging for not returning the Card. so the cancellation is FREE provided u return the card back to them in 2 pieces...
SUSDavid83
Dec 6 2008, 01:35 PM
A new list of CIMB latest promotion for CIMB and DA Mastercard cardholders: 10% rebate + 10% to 20% of discounts at participating merchants: The list is available at: http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/CIMB%20...bate_041208.pdfPromotion period: 1 December 2008 to 30 April 2009.
yiivei
Dec 6 2008, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:35 PM) A new list of CIMB latest promotion for CIMB and DA Mastercard cardholders: 10% rebate + 10% to 20% of discounts at participating merchants: The list is available at: http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/CIMB%20...bate_041208.pdfPromotion period: 1 December 2008 to 30 April 2009. yep. i received their member priviledges and rewards mag couple of days ago..
ruztynail
Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM
its hard ler .. need to time yr purchase properly.. like 1st fri 2nd fri.. one monday.. etc.. its supposed to be more convenient.. ending up need to pre-plan yr expenses.. want to buy also need to wait till tat particular fri or so.. thn whn it reaches thn.. forgot di..
i think its rather troublesome. want to buy jus buy.. get discount.. wouldnt tat be easier.. patut cimb can get so many merchants discounts.
yiivei
Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM
but the 1 u post is xtra discount..
mostly for west msia de.. sigh~
SUSDavid83
Dec 6 2008, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(yiivei @ Dec 6 2008, 01:43 PM) yep. i received their member priviledges and rewards mag couple of days ago.. CIMB or DA user? New cardholder? I didn't receive anything yet. Let's see if it comes in the upcoming statement most probably next week.
yiivei
Dec 6 2008, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM) its hard ler .. need to time yr purchase properly.. like 1st fri 2nd fri.. one monday.. etc.. its supposed to be more convenient.. ending up need to pre-plan yr expenses.. want to buy also need to wait till tat particular fri or so.. thn whn it reaches thn.. forgot di.. i think its rather troublesome. want to buy jus buy.. get discount.. wouldnt tat be easier.. patut cimb can get so many merchants discounts. depends lor. 10 - 20% is alot sometime. so need to plan perfectly in order to enjoy the benefits.. bside some are for certain boutiques only.. Added on December 6, 2008, 1:49 pmQUOTE(David83 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:48 PM) CIMB or DA user? New cardholder? I didn't receive anything yet. Let's see if it comes in the upcoming statement most probably next week. new DA user... This post has been edited by yiivei: Dec 6 2008, 01:49 PM
SUSDavid83
Dec 6 2008, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM) its hard ler .. need to time yr purchase properly.. like 1st fri 2nd fri.. one monday.. etc.. its supposed to be more convenient.. ending up need to pre-plan yr expenses.. want to buy also need to wait till tat particular fri or so.. thn whn it reaches thn.. forgot di.. i think its rather troublesome. want to buy jus buy.. get discount.. wouldnt tat be easier.. patut cimb can get so many merchants discounts. Well, I have to agree that it's a little inconvenent but this could promote smart consuming and personal budgeting.
vin_ann
Dec 6 2008, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:35 PM) A new list of CIMB latest promotion for CIMB and DA Mastercard cardholders: 10% rebate + 10% to 20% of discounts at participating merchants: The list is available at: http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/CIMB%20...bate_041208.pdfPromotion period: 1 December 2008 to 30 April 2009. it's wont interest me so much. if, im so happened, i need to buy the particular item and so happened im at particular merchants, i will just go for it. even with rebate o without rebate. QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM) its hard ler .. need to time yr purchase properly.. like 1st fri 2nd fri.. one monday.. etc.. its supposed to be more convenient.. ending up need to pre-plan yr expenses.. want to buy also need to wait till tat particular fri or so.. thn whn it reaches thn.. forgot di.. i think its rather troublesome. want to buy jus buy.. get discount.. wouldnt tat be easier.. patut cimb can get so many merchants discounts. yalo. you need to always to bring the leaflet with u all the time to remind of urself.
Shinichi
Dec 6 2008, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 6 2008, 02:15 PM) it's wont interest me so much. if, im so happened, i need to buy the particular item and so happened im at particular merchants, i will just go for it. even with rebate o without rebate. yalo. you need to always to bring the leaflet with u all the time to remind of urself. haha you can set reminder in your mobile too
GHz
Dec 6 2008, 08:38 PM
If I cancel a credit card from Citibank for example, Can I apply again any credit card from that bank a few years down the road?.
I heard someone says that if you cancel then you not eligible to apply any card again from that bank. Is it true?
hye
Dec 6 2008, 09:03 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 6 2008, 08:38 PM) If I cancel a credit card from Citibank for example, Can I apply again any credit card from that bank a few years down the road?. I heard someone says that if you cancel then you not eligible to apply any card again from that bank. Is it true? Partially true. Some banks practice a temporary block out period for customers who cancels their card. This can varies from a few weeks to 6 months. But no, I do not know of any banks which permanently block you and if such permanent block exist means the person itself is blacklisted by all banks due to some reason. (Thanks to CCRIS, CTOS)
GHz
Dec 6 2008, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(hye @ Dec 6 2008, 09:03 PM) Partially true. Some banks practice a temporary block out period for customers who cancels their card. This can varies from a few weeks to 6 months. But no, I do not know of any banks which permanently block you and if such permanent block exist means the person itself is blacklisted by all banks due to some reason. (Thanks to CCRIS, CTOS) If <1years temporary block than it is OK as I plan to cancel a couple of my CC. I holding too many now. Getting difficult to manage & my wallet getting heavier.