5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

GHz
post Nov 30 2008, 09:20 AM

1,139 posts

I am using Alliance bank CC since early this year. So far no complain except during application. They reject my first application even though I have 4 other CC from other back with good track record.

Cash back option is good.
GHz
post Nov 30 2008, 09:42 AM

1,139 posts

The cash rebate for the alliance back CC only come in on the next month statement. Usually the first item on the subsequent month statement. It is not exactly 1.3% but rather tier rate.
GHz
post Dec 3 2008, 08:22 AM

1,139 posts

Look at the star newspaper today. HSBC Amanah promote their new Platinum card-i. 5% cash rebate for 5th transaction & 0.5% for other transaction. Looks good, the first 4 transaction we buy only small transaction but on the 5th buy BIG items. haha.
GHz
post Dec 3 2008, 01:07 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Dec 3 2008, 10:18 AM)
Sorry, my bad. what i mean is which CC offer the best cash rebate for groceries. I know UOB one card offer 0.3% for general groceries other than those specific mentioend like Tesco, BP and etc. HSBC Amanah offer 0.5% for all other retail transaction. I just wonder, is there any other CC offer something higher than 0.5% for general groceries?
Alliance bank. Up to 1.5% tier rate. smile.gif
GHz
post Dec 3 2008, 01:25 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2008, 01:07 PM)
The card was UOB. Not necessarily foreign bank will give good service after all.
Really, UOB service is not good? I just received my preferred platinum CC but still not activated yet. Since the service is really bad then I should I cancel them?
GHz
post Dec 3 2008, 02:40 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2008, 02:25 PM)
Since you already got your card then maybe you want to try it out first. Some folks here speak well about one bank but another may have a bad experience.

If you ask me, UOB not much priviledges and the current preferred platinum product has this no-preset limit thing. (Plus now some of the forummers reported that they charge RM50 for cancelling the card. I don't support this fee/bank since no other banks does.) If you realise this is more or less to offset their CL upgrade inflexibility problem. 

It is entirely up to you actually whether you want to use it. Except for the bad experience related to my CL incident, they are quite OK. It is just that I travel quite a bit and I need flexibility on my credit limit. Oh yes, I always practice carrying 2 cards from different banks where ever I go. I think you should be well experienced yourself to decide which card suits you and which one don't.
To cancel card also need to pay. That is really bad. mad.gif

I think better I cancel it. Just pretend that I do not received the card & it lost during posting. haha
GHz
post Dec 5 2008, 05:01 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2008, 08:33 AM)
I saw this too. Bear in mind that you don't get any points for your spendings. Comparatively,SCB has the same with their Platinum Business card (Unlimited 0.5% rebate for all transactions except petrol purchases, you get to accumulate points & 3X points for overseas purchases) The 5% cash rebate is interesting but I want to check it out whether this is a short time promo. (See the * in the advert ? It says Terms and Conditions apply) The website has no info on this 5% cash rebate yet.

Similarly Alliance Bank has a up to 1.5% tiered rebate for purchases but capped @ RM5K.
Just call HSBC. The 5% cash rebate on the 5th purchase promotion is only until 31st March 2009.
GHz
post Dec 5 2008, 09:24 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 5 2008, 06:53 PM)
I found this old reply by vin_ann saying that you can terminate the UOB cc without any charges but must return the cc to the bank
I told them that I never received the card as they only post by normal mail & I still not activate it. smile.gif So I do not need to return the card or pay the fee. smile.gif

Very bad bank. To cancel also very difficult.
GHz
post Dec 6 2008, 08:38 PM

1,139 posts

If I cancel a credit card from Citibank for example, Can I apply again any credit card from that bank a few years down the road?.

I heard someone says that if you cancel then you not eligible to apply any card again from that bank. Is it true?
GHz
post Dec 6 2008, 09:19 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 6 2008, 09:03 PM)
Partially true. Some banks practice a temporary block out period for customers who cancels their card. This can varies from a few weeks to 6 months. But no, I do not know of any banks which permanently block you and if such permanent block exist means the person itself is blacklisted by all banks due to some reason. (Thanks to CCRIS, CTOS)
If <1years temporary block than it is OK as I plan to cancel a couple of my CC. I holding too many now. Getting difficult to manage & my wallet getting heavier.
GHz
post Dec 9 2008, 07:55 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 9 2008, 07:27 PM)
Aiyar... sweat.gif nobody answer one...

Can anyone assist? Any of the below banks....

EonBank, Maybank, RHB, HSBC, Hong Leong, Citibank....
If you are looking for short duration ie, <3month. Bank Islam card is the best. 0% for 3 month period. The only charge is the upfront fee of RM6.20.

GHz
post Dec 10 2008, 12:58 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(zcatz @ Dec 10 2008, 10:14 AM)
are u sure about this? can't find anywhere at their website.
Look here, Its for platinum card. I think it should be the same for other card.

http://www.bankislam.com.my/Platinum_Card.aspx
GHz
post Dec 10 2008, 01:27 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(zcatz @ Dec 10 2008, 01:14 PM)
not for gold card...  sad.gif
Have you confirm with them?

Added on December 10, 2008, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 10 2008, 12:33 PM)
Amex is 6 mths interest free instalments @ no charges ......  min 1K spending
Is this Balance Transfer or Zero Free Interest when you purchase?

Added on December 10, 2008, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 10 2008, 01:13 PM)
Ok la.. this one need expert to calculate already... Assuming I'm looking for 12 months with RM4k transfer

Eonbank
1 time interest @ 4.99%

Maybank
1% per month

Which one better? wink.gif
EON Bank is better for 1 year period. It become to only 4.99% per year but Maybank become 12% per year.

This post has been edited by GHz: Dec 10 2008, 01:31 PM
GHz
post Dec 13 2008, 07:51 PM

1,139 posts

I just received a SMS from HSBC that said that I entitle for 10% cash rebate if the payment is more than RM100. Validity until 28 Feb 2009 & max rebate of RM50 per month. Not sure true or not. Need to check with them.

Anybdy else received this message?
GHz
post Dec 14 2008, 01:52 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ejen @ Dec 14 2008, 08:38 AM)
hi. what other cards are free for life without conditions? i've petronas mbb card, cimb and rhb evo... would wanna get my rhb evo card cancel due to them charging annual fee and i would need to call up to waive it. it's troublesome and it's a waste of time to call and wait on the phone for their long long on hold customer service...

that's why asking any other credit cards that is FREE for life without conditions besides mbb n cimb? thx!
Affin Bank. FREE for life with no condition.
GHz
post Dec 15 2008, 09:30 PM

1,139 posts

Just successfully cancel my UOB Platinum Card. haha. Their card have a nice design but their policy is bad as point out by many in this forum. The best part is I do not return the card. Very good for collection.
GHz
post Dec 15 2008, 10:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 15 2008, 09:52 PM)
wat do u mean by that?

how u cancel it? by fax?

mind to share? im going to be the next 1. haha
I apply for this card only because of their nice design & not plan to keep for long. After I apply that I found out that I need to return the card or pay RM25 to cancel the card. What a bad policy, I want to keep the card. 2 weeks after that I received the card by normal mail which they say they normally used. What I do was wait 3 weeks & pretend not received the card & ask for cancellation form because of too long waiting to get the card. Just send the form last week & the card was cancel when I ask the CS today. Haha.
GHz
post Dec 15 2008, 10:32 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 15 2008, 10:17 PM)
oic.

wasted resources. sweat.gif 

as for me, i have great time with UOB. 1st cash rebate CC for petrol, 1st GSC movie cash rebate, 1st Carrefour Cash rebate n etc etc...

as time pass, other CC is catching up n offer even more attractive cash rebate!  thumbup.gif 

it's time to say bye bye to UOB.
well, If they do not have such policy I will be keeping their card at least 2 years because of no annual fee for that period.
GHz
post Dec 15 2008, 10:47 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 15 2008, 10:39 PM)
wat such policy?

btw, which UOB card u refering to?

All is free for life "provide" swipe 6 times for each card for the year.
Cancellation Policy. I like to keep the card as collection even after I cancel it.

I have their Preferred Platinum card.
GHz
post Dec 15 2008, 10:55 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2008, 10:48 PM)
actually hor... If u apply for Sadiq Standard Chartered DEBIT card....
and u put 1k in... u will get 7% cash rebates when u pump petrol....  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

that's the latest 'lubang' i got...
I have this debit card as well. They also give 5% rebate on hypermarket.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0457sec    1.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:23 PM