126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

Aeon_Clock
post Dec 2 2008, 04:33 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 1 2008, 09:56 AM)
If it is Citi card, forget about it.
Assuming they waive. Then next month, they will charge you late payment charge on the 1st late payment charge and it will go on forever.
Been there. Done that. Many times.
we should start practice paying the statement the moment the bill arrives, or on the usual date of the statement.

btw, anyone heard about that Ambank True Visa card? 12% p.a. Sounds tempting...
skygreen
post Dec 2 2008, 05:15 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Norns @ Dec 1 2008, 05:12 PM)
anyone got the 'right' email for me to complain my cc maybank application ?

up to now, i call the call centre 15 min back n guess wat ... SAME ANSWER AGAIn

i think i update them my office address for 100 times also they wont update it mad.gif mad.gif
I remembered last time they took 3 months to update my cc statement address.
what a efficient works they done? tongue.gif
skygreen
post Dec 2 2008, 05:17 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(MTEnthusiast @ Dec 2 2008, 02:19 PM)
Is it safe to accept services offered by 3rd party company? Last week someone called me and offered me insurance services. They got my info through my CC company. Autodebit Rm39/month.
I never sign this kind of insurance, because I hardly get their information sometimes,
and the information they give is not details at all, many term n conditions inside which we may not know. tongue.gif
boonsin23
post Dec 2 2008, 05:51 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 2 2008, 03:53 PM)
boonsin23,

This is a Credit Card thread. There is a separate thread for Amex Charge Card.

Your questions are answered there on the "no preset CL"
roger! tq
vin_ann
post Dec 2 2008, 08:29 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 2 2008, 04:33 PM)
we should start practice paying the statement the moment the bill arrives, or on the usual date of the statement.

why wan to get CC tht give 12% p.a or 18% when u planning to let them charge u interest?

u shd not get it at the 1st place!
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 2 2008, 08:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 2 2008, 04:33 PM)

How about this example for punctuality?

Statement date: 1-Nov
Statement received: 4-Nov
Payment made and check cleared from my account: 7-Nov

And still got hit by late payment mad.gif

As I said, been there, done that with citi

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 2 2008, 08:37 PM
boonsin23
post Dec 2 2008, 09:22 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:36 PM)

And still got hit by late  payment mad.gif

my goodness?!?! were they using lunar year practice? tongue.gif

vin_ann
post Dec 2 2008, 10:30 PM

10,912 posts

i thinks some bad apple do happened. importantly u communicate with the Customer Service. demand explanation.

else, complain to bank negara.

since u face this kind of problems, did u know what's the reason why it's happened? how u solve it?
mind to share?

dun just complain, share with us, else keep it to yourself.
skygreen
post Dec 2 2008, 11:14 PM

51 posts

Normally I will call up to the customer explain my situation to them,
They will waive the interest charges and also RM5 late payment fee as well.
Of course I have to waste maybe I think 90cents if I don't go to the bank to make the call.
tongue.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 3 2008, 07:08 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 2 2008, 10:30 PM)
i thinks some bad apple do happened. importantly u communicate with the Customer Service. demand explanation.

else, complain to bank negara.

since u face this kind of problems, did u know what's the reason why it's happened? how u solve it?
mind to share?

dun just complain, share with us, else keep it to yourself.
This what happens next.

1. Called up. CC agree to refund late payment charge.
2. Subsequent month's bill will see new late payment charge of the late payment charge.
3. Repeat #1 again and #2 will also happen again.
4. Repeat #3
5. Repeat #4

I got so fed up that I send a check with a covering letter. In the letter, I mentioned they have no right to the money and if they have any ethic at all, they do not need to return the money but give it to charity. They cashed the check so what can I say? No ethic? Lousy computer system?

BTW, the same thing happening to my friends so mine wasn't an isolated case.

So there you have it. I will not want to touch another of their card with a ten foot pole.

GHz
post Dec 3 2008, 08:22 AM

1,139 posts

Look at the star newspaper today. HSBC Amanah promote their new Platinum card-i. 5% cash rebate for 5th transaction & 0.5% for other transaction. Looks good, the first 4 transaction we buy only small transaction but on the 5th buy BIG items. haha.
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 08:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 3 2008, 08:22 AM)
Look at the star newspaper today. HSBC Amanah promote their new Platinum card-i. 5% cash rebate for 5th transaction & 0.5% for other transaction. Looks good, the first 4 transaction we buy only small transaction but on the 5th buy BIG items. haha.
I saw this too. Bear in mind that you don't get any points for your spendings. Comparatively,SCB has the same with their Platinum Business card (Unlimited 0.5% rebate for all transactions except petrol purchases, you get to accumulate points & 3X points for overseas purchases) The 5% cash rebate is interesting but I want to check it out whether this is a short time promo. (See the * in the advert ? It says Terms and Conditions apply) The website has no info on this 5% cash rebate yet.

Similarly Alliance Bank has a up to 1.5% tiered rebate for purchases but capped @ RM5K.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 3 2008, 08:35 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 3 2008, 08:42 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 2 2008, 08:29 PM)
why wan to get CC tht give 12% p.a or 18% when u planning to let them charge u interest?

u shd not get it at the 1st place!
no la, I do have a small balance in my credit cards. Plus, one of the card's feature is 0% interest for the first 3 months after purchase wor...

wow...the things they'll do for a buck or two whistling.gif
I'll just cancel the card after the 2nd/3rd time repeat same problem...
SkyBlue(R)
post Dec 3 2008, 08:53 AM

470 posts

Good morning to all the forumer here,

I would like to know which credit card (CC) offer the highest cash back so far?

I planning to apply a new credit card but i not sure which CC offer the best previlege or cash rebate. From what i see, HSBC and Citibank sound the best. Pls correct me if my understanding is incorrect.
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 3 2008, 09:11 AM

12,696 posts

The truth of the matter is, you will need several cards because no one card fits all.

I have:
1. RHB Travel Money because it gives me fuel rebate. 5% on 1st weekend and 2% other time. I fill up all my cars on 1st weekend.
2. SCB because it gives me 30 days purchase protection. I buy big ticket item with them for the protection. The last being a laptop.
3. EON. Because it's easiest to qualify for free. A deliberately low RM3000 limit card for use in restaurant and online purchases.
4. DA. My main free for life card with higher limit.
SkyBlue(R)
post Dec 3 2008, 09:20 AM

470 posts

mmmm... how bout cash back? which CC offer the best cash back so far?
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 09:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Dec 3 2008, 09:20 AM)
Read it up my friend. If you go back a few post then you'll find the answer. We do our homework to give this forum the info but at least we expect the readers to make some effort to read.
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 3 2008, 09:39 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 3 2008, 09:11 AM)
The truth of the matter is, you will need several cards because no one card fits all.

I have:
1. RHB Travel Money because it gives me fuel rebate. 5% on 1st weekend and 2% other time. I fill up all my cars on 1st weekend.
2. SCB because it gives me 30 days purchase protection. I buy big ticket item with them for the protection. The last being a laptop.
3. EON. Because it's easiest to qualify for free. A deliberately low RM3000 limit card for use in restaurant and online purchases.
4. DA. My main free for life card with higher limit.
SCB is? Standard Charted Bank? What kind of protection they provide?

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Dec 3 2008, 09:20 AM)
jeez, Optiplex just gave you good answers and you repeat your question???
do you even know what kind of cash back you want? Groceries? Petrol? Bills?
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 3 2008, 09:48 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 3 2008, 09:39 AM)
SCB is? Standard Charted Bank? What kind of protection they provide?

Purchase Protection

Your purchases are automatically insured when you use your Standard Chartered Visa Infinite
Credit Card. Purchase Protection assures you of a worry-free experience every time you make purchases with your Credit Card within 30 days from the date of purchase, with coverage of up to RM100,000.

Purchase Protection insurance is underwritten by MSIG Insurance (Malaysia) Bhd. For more details and Terms and Conditions, please click here.

http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...l/en/index.html

I always use it for big ticket item. You never knows when you needed it. And since my SCB card is free, why not?

I think HSBC may have similar offering. Not sure.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 3 2008, 09:49 AM
SkyBlue(R)
post Dec 3 2008, 09:50 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Dec 3 2008, 09:33 AM)
Read it up my friend. If you go back a few post then you'll find the answer. We do our homework to give this forum the info but at least we expect the readers to make some effort to read.
I did. Just that i couldn't find it. I would be pleased if you can direct the page for me. thanks ya.

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:18 AM