Travel Work and Travel To USA

zs3889
post Oct 11 2009, 09:34 PM

1,592 posts

QUOTE(rockasd @ Oct 10 2009, 01:08 PM)
yes it have. it depends which employer you encounter. i don't think there will hire 1 month and is not worth go there for 1 month. why don't join the next summer.
No, because I'll be studying in the states next year. And I might be back during the summer break.
FCUK89
post Oct 12 2009, 07:03 AM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

Awesome, I just came back from the programme 2 weeks back.

Went to yellowstone, awesomeness.
rockasd
post Oct 12 2009, 12:28 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Oct 12 2009, 07:03 AM)

mention more of your journey pls..

Added on October 12, 2009, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(zs3889 @ Oct 11 2009, 09:34 PM)
No, because I'll be studying in the states next year. And I might be back during the summer break.
why don't you fly there early, and find the job yourself instead of paying the resources fees.

This post has been edited by rockasd: Oct 14 2009, 09:34 PM
creap
post Oct 25 2009, 01:09 PM

I would like a piece of punch line
3,306 posts

Just signed up for summer 2010 biggrin.gif

Hope to meet some of you there...hehe
~PussyDevil~
post Nov 5 2009, 11:10 PM

204 posts

Other than starbucks, what job got high pay?
deed
post Nov 6 2009, 01:05 AM

833 posts

Hi im not sure this is the right thread to post this. But anyway a family member of mine will be going to SF in the coming week. I am just wondering what are the things that is recommended to buy there (meaning will be much cheaper in US compare to Msia: etc levis, etc2)? Any suggestion or link to website will be much appreciated. nod.gif nod.gif
wireshark
post Nov 6 2009, 02:13 PM

84 posts

Good day to all,

Let say you're required to travel to US for business trip. The big problem is you never been there before and you're not kind of person who travel a lot. Your last business trip was about two years ago in middle east and now you're required to travel again.

The situation is.

1. From my understanding we've to apply for VISA. I heard it quite hard to get it. Sometime it will take till 1 month before your application is approved. You need to apply it somewhere online and there's interview session for it.

2. How to bring your wife to the trip since the trip is just for you only. The flight ticket is quite expensive. Is it possible to change flight ticket (business to normal one so I can have two normal ticket instead of one business ticket). There's no problem for accomodation since it was provided by the company and we can share it.

3. Where to get halal food there

4. Any other advice?
fusionnetx
post Nov 8 2009, 02:38 AM

255 posts

Hi guys,

I wanna work in US.. planned to work 3-5 years?
is it possible?
Hasegawa
post Dec 14 2009, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(creap @ Oct 25 2009, 01:09 PM)
Just signed up for summer 2010 biggrin.gif

Hope to meet some of you there...hehe
hi, u sign up through speedwing?
interested 2 know more biggrin.gif

Added on December 14, 2009, 10:51 am
QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Oct 12 2009, 07:03 AM)

wow, mind 2 share more bout ur journey? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Hasegawa: Dec 14 2009, 10:51 AM
nlgoh
post Dec 14 2009, 11:52 AM

14 posts

i already registered myself for this programme. Plan to during Fall next year for 4 months and may be extend 1 more to travel. Many of my friends went for this programme. It is really nice.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 17 2009, 08:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i think selrahc got murdered by mod... i will take over selrahc and help answer d questions from u guys k? ^^
patryn33
post Dec 21 2009, 02:08 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(fusionnetx @ Nov 8 2009, 02:38 AM)
Hi guys,

I wanna work in US.. planned to work 3-5 years?
is it possible?
WAT not possible.
find a job there and get employer to to apply for your E1 or H1B VISA.
today's Econ I am pretty sure very few to none of the Co would do that.
H1B or E VISA would cost a company US$3K to 10K, what can U offer which they cannot find a local to do.. need to spend that extra money.

SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 21 2009, 02:32 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

true true... can use h2b/j1internship also...if got $$ study 2< then ur f1 visa allows internship too
patryn33
post Dec 23 2009, 12:50 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 21 2009, 02:32 AM)
true true... can use h2b/j1internship also...if got $$ study 2< then ur f1 visa allows internship too
well, F1 VISA only get U.. 1 yr of OPT. Company can choose not to apply for one's H1B.

H2B is only for seasonal work, so cannot work for 3-5yrs continuously.
The H2B working visa is a nonimmigrant visa which allows foreign nationals to enter into the U.S. temporarily and engage in nonagricultural employment which is seasonal, intermittent, a peak load need, or a one-time occurrence.

most ppl on J1 VISA cannot stay for 3-5yrs. only medical residents and teachers. US no storage fof pri/sec teachers.

http://www.hooyou.com/j-1/j1_j2_visa_faq.html
The duration of J-1 status depends on the rules established by your particular Visitor Exchange Program. To determine the duration of your program, review your IAP-66 or Certificate of Eligibility. You may be eligible to extend your stay under the J-1 Visa if your total stay period does not exceed the maximum duration of stay for the program and your program sponsor agrees to your extension.

The most common J-1 categories along with its corresponding lengths of stay are listed below. For more information about J visa extensions, please click here.
Secondary school (12 months)
College and University students (duration of studies plus duration of Practical Training Program(18 months for baccalaureate/masters and 36 months for post doctoral students) following graduation)
Non-degree student in college and university (24 months)
Business trainees (18 months)
Trainees in flight aviation programs (24 months)
Primary and secondary school teachers (36 months)
College professors (36 months)
Research scholars (36 months)
Medical residents/interns receiving medical training in the U.S. (duration of residency program, 7 year maximum)
Specialists (12 months)
International visitors (12 months)
Government visitors (18 months)

SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 23 2009, 07:02 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 23 2009, 12:50 PM)
well, F1 VISA only get U.. 1 yr of OPT. Company can choose not to apply for one's H1B.

H2B is only for seasonal work, so cannot work for 3-5yrs continuously.
most ppl on J1 VISA cannot stay for 3-5yrs. only medical residents and teachers. US no storage fof pri/sec teachers.

http://www.hooyou.com/j-1/j1_j2_visa_faq.html
new ruling... after certain amount of months... 18* u can apply for extention till 29 months... only for certain profession

h2b is for non professional, 5 years i think
patryn33
post Dec 24 2009, 12:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 23 2009, 07:02 PM)
new ruling... after certain amount of months... 18* u can apply for extention till 29 months... only for certain profession

h2b is for non professional, 5 years i think
todays econ... even B visa can get rejected easily.
h2b true.. just saw it. with unemployment rate at close to 11%, even professional are taking up job as waiter/cashiers during this holiday.
on top of that is only for certain countries wonder if Malaysia is included

http://www.bracewellgiuliani.com/index.cfm...ral_Workers.cfm
Definitions

The definition of "temporary services or labor" now includes a specific one-time need of up to three years, without requiring the employer to demonstrate extraordinary circumstances.

Eligible Foreign Nationals

H-2B petitions will be approved only for nationals of certain countries important to the operation of the program and appearing on a list to be published annually in the Federal Register. Among the initial list of 28 participating countries to be published simultaneously with the Final Rule are Mexico and Jamaica. On a case-by-case basis, however, DHS may allow a worker from a country not on the list to be eligible for the H 2B program if it determines that such participation is in the U.S. interest.
aren't ppl going on WAT on H2B?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 24 2009, 12:35 AM
csam
post Dec 31 2009, 11:01 AM

14 posts

Is there anyone from local uni and joined such programme before?
i'm curious bout the period you took for this programme as local uni's longest sem break is 8 weeks only.
Please share.
Thanks in advance. ^^
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 31 2009, 04:07 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

WAT is j-1 la.. h2b is for pinoys / viet commies / latino...

i am verteran lor... went 3 times d ^^ hehehehe

local uni ppl very hard.. not many local gov uni allow so long break... unless u r talking about local private
csam
post Jan 1 2010, 03:59 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 31 2009, 05:07 PM)

local uni ppl very hard.. not many local gov uni allow so long break... unless u r talking about local private
However, there are some successful cases right?
I heard some from local uni went for WAT during final year and they skip their graduation ceremony.
in other words, they go for WAT right after they finish their exams or internship.
is that how they got enough time for WAT?
i really want to go for this program but i see there are more obstacles behind.
hmm.. rclxub.gif
xiaohei
post Jan 1 2010, 05:23 PM

Hi all.
need help here.
i plan to visit my aunt in Chicago while waiting my SPM result.

actually i apply for the visa one year before but failed
the reason they give is me and my sister are too young and my mom is not applying together.
my parent divorce but my father will sponsor me the whole trip.

so , what should i do now?do same as last year?

can any one help me ?
thx alot biggrin.gif

33 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:25 AM