123 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

kiam
post Oct 27 2009, 12:13 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 27 2009, 12:05 AM)
Thats why its so low. Load the cal curves for the SPL Meter u r using. Its in the Calibrate SPL Meter Settings page, u need to download the cal curves from the same place u downloaded REW. They have a set of curves for the RS Meters, CM140, and Behringers mics.
anfieldude, any idea which cal curve i should be using for this SPL meter?
taken from gsmserver.com

http://gsmserver.com/shop/equipment/measur...ter_mt_4008.php
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 12:18 AM

9,206 posts

pro's kit taiwan? hmm..
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 12:18 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

LOL.... taukeh ar188, not easy to explain this to newbie (not referring to ronnt since he is half the sifu by now). But, it is good that if we are able to 'educate' them. What is real bass... Why need a flat FR curve... Why a sealed sub needs a whole lot more amplification than a ported sub... What is 'feel' and how to achieve that, etc....

ar188, if not beacuse of its flimsy amp, MFW-15 would have be a great product.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 27 2009, 12:19 AM
mys_terious
post Oct 27 2009, 02:26 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 26 2009, 10:04 PM)
Agree with you.
Now SVS is not affordable item like last time anymore.
And now with this EQ,i also notice SVS buyer need to spend another extra 3k+ for the EQ.

Now it meant for the ELITE only.
bro just to let u know svs door to door price now is still similar to the price last time.. its just that last time u have the choice to send door to airport.. depends on where u stay in malaysia.. some places u save some money for door to airport... but u have to go thru all the trouble.. n need to drive your sub on your own.. maybe take 1 day leave for that.. if u r lucky u might have the chance to pay less tax by paying some coffee money but u wont save too much on tax coz the buayas all quite hungry at the airport.. i have bought two svs using door to airport and i can tell u honestly the door to door price is similar to the door to door price last time.. it will only have a big diff in price IF

1) u have some1 working at the airport who can help u
2) special cases where svs gave u a wrong quote and offer u a special discount for delaying your purchase
3) u have some way to bring your sub in illegaly

and yes jl is a very good sub and if u can afford it why not.. but if size is not an issue and u dont listen much to music then svs is a better choice.. svs has a 3 year warranty but i am not sure how many years jl offers in malaysia.. try not too look at the amplifier spec too much.. i did not go to the svs event but my guess is if u place the same number of jl sub at the launch venue it will be worse in terms of spl.. but according to all the review it should give u more accurate bass... so yeah it depends on what u r looking for... happy sub hunting

ronaldjoe
post Oct 27 2009, 07:01 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Oct 27 2009, 02:26 AM)
bro just to let u know svs door to door price now is still similar to the price last time..  its just that last time u have the choice to send door to airport.. depends on where u stay in malaysia.. some places u save some money for door to airport... but u have to go thru all the trouble.. n need to drive your sub on your own.. maybe take 1 day leave for that.. if u r lucky u might have the chance to pay less tax by paying some coffee money but u wont save too much on tax coz the buayas all quite hungry at the airport.. i have bought two svs using door to airport and i can tell u honestly the door to door price is similar to the door to door price last time.. it will only have a big diff in price IF

1) u have some1 working at the airport who can help u
2) special cases where svs gave u a wrong quote and offer u a special discount for delaying your purchase
3) u have some way to bring your sub in illegaly
and yes jl is a very good sub and if u can afford it why not.. but if size is not an issue and u dont listen much to music then svs is a better choice.. svs has a 3 year warranty  but i am not sure how many years jl offers in malaysia.. try not too look at the amplifier spec too much.. i did not go to the svs event but my guess is if u place the same number of jl sub at the launch venue it will be worse in terms of spl.. but  according to all the review it should give u more accurate bass... so yeah it depends on what u r looking for... happy sub hunting
SVS still ship to Malaysia? They rejected my orders earlier sometimes in September.
ronnt88
post Oct 27 2009, 07:44 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 12:12 AM)
your submersive also kalah.. he got 3.6KW.. yours got how many?  tongue.gif
i got bigger box? laugh.gif
jchong
post Oct 27 2009, 07:48 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 26 2009, 10:49 PM)
A couple of weeks ago,
I have tested the JL Audio Fathom F113 and been very well explained and serve by Mr Kwan(owner of AV Synergy which JL Audio distributor)

The sound is very powerful even at low volume.
The bass is very very powerfull,tight,solid and punchy.
Mr Kwan told me that this JL Audio Fathom F113 amplification is 3600watt where else SVS PC-13 ultra is only 750 watt.
No wonder during the recent demo we could not feel any bass at all because the sound amplification is not powerful enough.

And about the pricing which is SVS PC-13 Ultra around rm7k plus + the EQ is already 3k plus and in the end I might as well fork out another few k for the award winning JL Audio Fathom F113 and more high end subwoofer.

No wonder Lightning 69 had problem with the price issues before.
Glad you were able to test the JL F113. However, some of the conclusions you have reached are erroneous. The amp wattage alone does not tell the full story about how loud the sub can go. If Mr Kwan is giving you that impression then his info is misleading. The difference in bass perception is due to the different room. If you really want to do a shootout between 2 subs, test them in the same room then you will get the true picture.

Secondly the EQ1 doesn't only benefit SVS subs, it can benefit any sub. It is not a must to pair the SVS + EQ1 - please read up on the EQ1 and what it does before jumping to more erroneous conclusions.
mys_terious
post Oct 27 2009, 08:44 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 27 2009, 07:01 AM)
SVS still ship to Malaysia? They rejected my orders earlier sometimes in September.
no then stop sending to malaysia . u have to buy from htkaki as he our local svs agent now
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 08:47 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 27 2009, 07:01 AM)
No longer as well as in Singapore, Brunei and soon Indonesia.

IF (only if) you managed to get one (straight) at that time , I bet you will sad.gif as the final price for your PB13-Ultra (D2D) is higher than mine tongue.gif

jchong, I was suprised as all the while F113 been in my mind. So, its spec is like stuck in my mind. Suddenly, its power shot up to 3.6kW. Is there an upgrade over its initial 2,500watts RMS short-term? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 27 2009, 08:50 AM
mpyw
post Oct 27 2009, 08:57 AM

3,603 posts

The F113 have a built in Auto EQ called ARO

from UltimateAVmag:-

One unusual feature is a single band parametric equalizer, though similar subwoofer adjustments are becoming more common in other subs as well. Here it's called the Automatic Room Optimization system, or A.R.O. You plug in the included microphone, position it at the prime listening position, and push a button. From that point on it automatically generates test tones, performs the calibration to determine the room's most prominent peak, and dials-in appropriate equalization to tune it out.

so it's like a mini EQ1 built-in the sub, and maybe that make it higher cost....but surely the F113 is a beauty and very WAF friendly, I would want one if the price same as SVS PB13ultra tongue.gif , but at double the price of it.... I think Submersive looks very attractive with dual woofer tongue.gif
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 09:29 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 27 2009, 08:57 AM)
The F113 have a built in Auto EQ called ARO

from UltimateAVmag:-
so it's like a mini EQ1 built-in the sub, and maybe that make it higher cost....but surely the F113 is a beauty and very WAF friendly, I would want one if the price same as SVS PB13ultra  tongue.gif  , but at double the price of it.... I think Submersive looks very attractive with dual woofer tongue.gif
better dun use this phrase mini EQ1 inside the sub.. do the EQ 1 injustice..
I recall what ron said to htkaki andme during lunch.. parametric EQ... =/= EQ1 ... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 27 2009, 09:30 AM
mpyw
post Oct 27 2009, 09:51 AM

3,603 posts

my PC12+ also hv the manual PEQ at the back of the amp tongue.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 27 2009, 09:59 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Oct 27 2009, 08:44 AM)
no then stop sending to malaysia . u have to buy from htkaki as he our local svs agent now
Already placed order. Still waiting for arrival rolleyes.gif
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 10:01 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 27 2009, 09:59 AM)
Already placed order. Still waiting for arrival rolleyes.gif
biggrin.gif postman is htkaki ?
ronaldjoe
post Oct 27 2009, 10:15 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 10:01 AM)
biggrin.gif  postman is htkaki ?
It's taukeh la. Peace of mind... but progress seems to be delayed by local government agencies. sweat.gif
I am eagerly waiting for it wub.gif when is ETA in bolehland?
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 10:21 AM

9,206 posts

fuyoh, taukeh do hand delivery for you? wow...
ronaldjoe
post Oct 27 2009, 10:29 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 10:21 AM)
fuyoh, taukeh do hand delivery for you? wow...
Got to collect from his shop... no preferential treatment
ar188
post Oct 27 2009, 11:30 AM

9,206 posts

ok la. Better than me. Buy plasma fm him collect at roadside. Haha. Wanted it fast so intercept his lorry driver. Haha.
htkaki
post Oct 27 2009, 12:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 27 2009, 09:29 AM)
better dun use this phrase mini EQ1 inside the sub.. do the EQ 1 injustice..
I recall what ron said to htkaki  andme during lunch.. parametric EQ... =/= EQ1 ... biggrin.gif
Boss, that's why I am eager to know how well it performs against the 13-Ultra + EQ1 in a given room with little acoustic treatment if not none at all.

when is ETA in bolehland?

Probably end Nov.

ok la. Better than me. Buy plasma fm him collect at roadside. Haha. Wanted it fast so intercept his lorry driver. Haha.

That's a funny delivery that we made to date. LOL.... So, the next purchase will be the same? whistling.gif laugh.gif
jchong
post Oct 27 2009, 01:25 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 27 2009, 08:47 AM)
jchong, I was suprised as all the while F113 been in my mind. So, its spec is like stuck in my mind. Suddenly, its power shot up to 3.6kW. Is there an upgrade over its initial 2,500watts RMS short-term?  hmm.gif
Yup, the specs say 2500 watts RMS short-term, so I don't know where the shop got the figure of 3.6kW from.

123 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:38 PM