SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

taqies
post Sep 29 2009, 11:44 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
Also for certain frequencies the drop even at 700ms is low. These frequencies tend to stay in the room and muddle up the sound of other frequencies.

taqies, I was under the impression that Audyssey corrected in the time domain. Not sure if these readings are post Audyssey.

The best would be a quick drop and if possible drop by more than significant amount within 300ms, this way they disappear fast enuf before the next scene comes up and not muddling up anything else. Low frequencies will stay in the room longer, there is nothing u can do abt that, all u can hope for is that it drops fast enuf not to mess up other frequencies.

REW is a very good tool to examine and understand your problems. Subs can be made better or worse by moving even by 1ft, they are critical to get right. If u cannot, a tool like Audyssey can do it well.

I see a lot of comments that says the results after Audyssey were not good, did not sound right. I'll tell u why, without room correction, you were probably "feeling, hearing" bass that was not meant to be heard, reverberations caused by slow decay, and some "peaks" that made u feel the oomph. Room corrections tries to fix this and its not all bad.

However, its ur equipment, if u r not interested in accuracy, then by all means do what is best for u!
Audyssey does correct the time domain, not quite sure if the normal version in the receiver is as effective as a standalone unit/High end receiver(Multeq XT vs multeq)

I'm not using Audyssey meself, stuck with YPAO,manual calibration software & tools.

Added on September 29, 2009, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 11:23 PM)
Now, I am keen to learn more abt the FR graph drool.gif

A lot of users tend to set their system wrongly. Either over powering bass (high channel level or gain at sub) or excessive surround level (cranked up the surr level to get 'more enveloping' sound).

As they are get used to wrong setting, it isn't easy to convince them about the 'true' sound that the studio has intended. Pardon me for my limited and confused jargons. Most ppl after getting a flat graph will comment lack of oomph esp in LFE. Peaks are the culprit.

While there are peaks, the valleys did no justice to our already 'not-so-good' room's acoustic. Missing details and 'heart-attack' bass (peaks). I am glad that more people are actually into room acoustic and appreciating the calibration  thumbup.gif

Bro, when you are here again, pls do let me know. I really would like you to visit my peasant pad
Most people interested in the oomph of the bass rather than the texture of the bass. As long as it's thumping loud, it's good enuff for most of the people.

This post has been edited by taqies: Sep 29 2009, 11:47 PM
lightning69
post Sep 30 2009, 12:49 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 29 2009, 10:17 PM)
Bro lightning, if you can get the PC13Ultra to KL at RM5.6k, I'll tumpang 2 units from you....the price must be CIF to my house and all tax included.
And I believe if you can sell at that price here, you can tapau htkaki's dealership and all LYN member who are interested in SVS will buy from you....
I am the 1st and I will cancel my order with htkaki.....PC13ultra cheaper than PB12+ wor...who don't want?
Please please...get me 2 at RM5.6k...I can even let you make some money by paying you RM6k! notworthy.gif
I didn't say I can get it at that price. I just see the review says it 1000 Pound Sterling and when converted to Ringgit is only RM5.6K. That is all.

BTW, I do pay only RM3800 for my PC12+. So PC13+ at Rm5.6K is not surprising to me.
ronnt88
post Sep 30 2009, 12:53 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 30 2009, 12:49 AM)
I didn't say I can get it at that price.  I just see the review says it 1000 Pound Sterling and when converted to Ringgit is only RM5.6K.  That is all.

BTW, I do pay only RM3800 for my PC12+.  So PC13+ at Rm5.6K is not surprising to me.
then go buy from england and stay away from here la doh.gif

prick!
lightning69
post Sep 30 2009, 01:04 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 30 2009, 12:53 AM)
then go buy from england and stay away from here la doh.gif

prick!
Did your father own this place?

diick!

You so piss because you end up paying so much more but that ain't my fault. Our silly gov't took your money. I am simply doing a conversion to see how much it cost over there.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Sep 30 2009, 01:22 AM
taqies
post Sep 30 2009, 01:39 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 30 2009, 01:04 AM)

diick!

You so piss because you end up paying so much more but that ain't my fault.  Our silly gov't took your money.  I am simply doing a conversion to see how much it cost over there.
Come on lorrr, don't be like a spoiled child, always blames gov, cannot afford just say it loudly lorrr. chill dude. smile.gif

This post has been edited by taqies: Sep 30 2009, 01:45 AM
htkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 07:13 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I didn't say I can get it at that price.  I just see the review says it 1000 Pound Sterling and when converted to Ringgit is only RM5.6K.  That is all.

BTW, I do pay only RM3800 for my PC12+.  So PC13+ at Rm5.6K is not surprising to me.
Bro, yours are being brought in from Brunei after meticulous calculation and preparation to evade hefty taxes in Malaysia and Miri is only 2 hours drive. You are lucky smile.gif . Not many people can SMUGGLE in and escape from Custom. I would not want to go into a debate about this again as it will see no ends to it.

For ronnt88 case and most ppl who bring in big items into Malaysia, especially so via forwarding agencies / courier companies, there isn't a way to evade taxes. Not that I condone such an act since we are Malaysians and we have to live with the laws wink.gif .

Why not start blasting other elites who own luxury cars by paying such a hefty premium while it can be bought at a very much lower price tags at overseas especially so in Brunei? Chill out smile.gif .

geforce1999
post Sep 30 2009, 07:26 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Lighting just stated the truth, else where do you think the extra money goes? He just want us to know how much it cost on other countries, nothing wrong, right? You can ignore him but don't attack him, please.

Htkaki's point is valid too, not many of us can escape of hefty taxes that imposed so we have deal with it...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Sep 30 2009, 07:35 AM
jchong
post Sep 30 2009, 07:40 AM

5,989 posts

BTW, I do pay only RM3800 for my PC12+.
Your PC12+ is a special case. Got discount from SVS for the inconvenience, plus didn't have to pay tax because you shipped to Brunei. Consider yourself lucky.

If you didn't get any discount and had to pay 26.5% tax what would the final price have been? Probably around 5k+ I think.

Added on September 30, 2009, 7:49 am
QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Sep 30 2009, 07:26 AM)
Lighting just stated the truth, else where do you think the extra money goes? He just want us to know how much it cost on other countries, nothing wrong, right? You can ignore him but don't attack him, please.

Htkaki's point is valid too, not many of us can escape of hefty taxes that imposed so we have deal with it...
Mentioning how much something costs overseas is ok. But to expect to be able to get it locally at that price is something else. I get the impression that lightning69 likes to compare local SVS price to overseas price (or his own special price for his PC12+) and then will complain how expensive it is here. This is where the comparison becomes unfair since he conveniently ignores the shipping, profit margin and tax issue.

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 30 2009, 07:49 AM
mpyw
post Sep 30 2009, 08:05 AM

3,603 posts

he just wanted to remind & remind & remind everyone how much a good deal he get......and tell everyone over here we are fools paying for so much money for a sub woofer. This annoy me!
ronnt88
post Sep 30 2009, 08:10 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 30 2009, 01:04 AM)

diick!

You so piss because you end up paying so much more but that ain't my fault.  Our silly gov't took your money.  I am simply doing a conversion to see how much it cost over there.
i can afford the tax & shipment tongue.gif unlike someone... maybe we should intro u to logitech Z5500 subbie.. suits ur budget. All 30 of them... laugh.gif
aiman04
post Sep 30 2009, 08:13 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 30 2009, 07:13 AM)
Bro, yours are being brought in from Brunei after meticulous calculation and preparation to evade hefty taxes in Malaysia and Miri is only 2 hours drive. You are lucky smile.gif . Not many people can SMUGGLE in and escape from Custom. I would not want to go into a debate about this again as it will see no ends to it.

For ronnt88 case and most ppl who bring in big items into Malaysia, especially so via forwarding agencies / courier companies, there isn't a way to evade taxes. Not that I condone such an act since we are Malaysians and we have to live with the laws wink.gif .

Why not start blasting other elites who own luxury cars by paying such a hefty premium while it can be bought at a very much lower price tags at overseas especially so in Brunei? Chill out smile.gif .
That's the word I was looking for! laugh.gif

htkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 08:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Sep 29 2009, 09:09 PM)
I dunt think the price is 1000gbp rite now. currently the prices are £1200 for normal user and £1100 for avforum forumers.
Bro, the hike in price could be due to the 220V certification issue. I was told that the fees incurred is quite hefty for them to absorb. So, there will be a price difference for the 220V. This might be put up in their website for 220V order. That might explains the 10-20% hike. I am not sure when it was revised in UK. Let me gather more info on that smile.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 30 2009, 08:17 AM
ar188
post Sep 30 2009, 10:49 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Sep 30 2009, 07:26 AM)
You can ignore him but don't attack him, please.
I think you got it backwards bro, I think the buyers here who pay SG and malaysia prices (which include proper taxes and costly airfreight) kena attack for paying more than him... biggrin.gif
lightning69
post Sep 30 2009, 11:20 AM

2,298 posts

I am not going to argue over the price sold in Malaysia VS UK. Like I mentioned, I was reading the wonderful review and it so happen it state the price over there. By converting it gives me an idea of the price. I know its going to be more expensive here definitely due to the taxes.

Regarding the 220V certification, I would say that is just plain bullshit from SVS. IF you read the AVS forum, SVS have got their 220V certification long ago when they started to ship to Europe and nothing was mentioned about the steep fees they pay for that. Again why hefty fee on 220V certification when 220V is like a norm in half of the globe? Its just an excuse for SVS to charge more. When the first group of Malaysian including me order the SVS, we all were not charge any extra for 220V certification so why now? Not to mention the Singaporeans neighbour have been order SVS sub long before us and never were there any mention or 220v certification fee. In fact they got bulk order discount. Like I said SVS have got the 220V certification to export it long ago. icon_rolleyes.gif

And I think its absolutely unnecessary for some to call me names and send me a PM with absolutely nasty words.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Sep 30 2009, 11:25 AM
geforce1999
post Sep 30 2009, 11:23 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 30 2009, 10:49 AM)
I think you got it backwards bro, I think the buyers here who pay SG and malaysia prices (which include proper taxes and costly airfreight) kena attack for paying more than him...  biggrin.gif
Peace, bro. biggrin.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Sep 30 2009, 12:06 PM
lightning69
post Sep 30 2009, 11:30 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 30 2009, 10:49 AM)
I think you got it backwards bro, I think the buyers here who pay SG and malaysia prices (which include proper taxes and costly airfreight) kena attack for paying more than him...  biggrin.gif
Let me know which post did I did that? I love my SVS sub and I would like to see as many of you here own this wonderful sub. But we must also take consideration on the price we gonna pay for it and that means digging further and comparing prices. Some of you might be loaded and would pay anything regardless but not all are rich like them. AS a consumer I always look for cheaper and fair price.
htkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 11:55 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

and here we go again......

I am getting tired
maja_5365
post Sep 30 2009, 12:02 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 30 2009, 11:20 AM)

Regarding the 220V certification, I would say that is just plain bullshit from SVS.  IF you read the AVS forum, SVS have got their 220V certification long ago when they started to ship to Europe and nothing was mentioned about the steep fees they pay for that.  Again why hefty fee on 220V certification when 220V is like a norm in half of the globe?  Its just an excuse for SVS to charge more.  When the first group of Malaysian including me order the SVS, we all were not charge any extra for 220V certification so why now?  Not to mention the Singaporeans neighbour have been order SVS sub long before us and never were there any mention or 220v certification fee.  In fact they got bulk order discount.  Like I said SVS have got the 220V certification to export it long ago.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Now that part I agree with u bro. They never charged me when I ordered the pb10 back in 2007 and also with the current one. Its either something to do with UK regulation or else ???Then again I might be wrong. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Cheers.
htkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 12:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You guys are fast in jumping guns. I am using 'could be', 'will' and 'might'. For the records, I did say that I will gather more info. Probably my written Engrund s**ks.

Must enlist sifu arremie's help.
asherteoh
post Sep 30 2009, 01:12 PM

Validating
159 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 30 2009, 12:34 PM)
You guys are fast in jumping guns.  I am using 'could be', 'will' and 'might'. For the records, I did say that I will gather more info. Probably my written Engrund s**ks.

Must enlist sifu arremie's help.
maybe when Ron is here doing the opening speech, you might want to ask him? smile.gif

123 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:18 PM