SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

aiman04
post Jul 20 2009, 09:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

That's really overkill. Your head could explode when Ironhide fire his cannons. sweat.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2009, 06:54 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Congrats to Htkaki! rclxms.gif
aiman04
post Jul 29 2009, 07:21 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 28 2009, 11:29 PM)
Thank you, boss  smile.gif

Still have some limitation to actually set up a shop in Amcorp Mall. It's ok. Slowly but surely with the support of fellow lyn members  notworthy.gif
You have my respect bro. I've seen your trade value from RM100k and grow and grow, now more than RM600k already. Slowly but certainly surely indeed. You're an inspiration to us all. notworthy.gif
aiman04
post Jul 29 2009, 08:02 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 29 2009, 07:54 AM)
also our best HT source of poison biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Penguin @ Madagascar 2)
That too, sir!
aiman04
post Jul 30 2009, 10:39 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jul 30 2009, 09:55 AM)
looks like will have to drop by amcorp very soon smile.gif
Yes, but soon you'll see that you don't even need to leave your house. wink.gif
aiman04
post Aug 6 2009, 08:18 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

You guys still single? hmm.gif
aiman04
post Aug 7 2009, 07:03 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Aug 7 2009, 02:06 AM)
I believe that's one of the fun parts eh, if everything is plug-and-play without the need of tuning...then there will be no fun liao. biggrin.gif  Anyone in KK using that SVS thing?
Agreed, but when you spend everyday for weeks to tune, the fun part is getting thin. But I do respect all the uncles' dedication. notworthy.gif

Maybe my setup isn't high-end enough to have such dedication. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 7 2009, 07:04 AM
aiman04
post Aug 7 2009, 04:47 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 7 2009, 10:43 AM)
I believe tuning is necessary for any sub (not just SVS) in order to get the best integration with the room. Even if don't want to explore room acoustic treatment, at the least should play around with sub positioning.
I agree 100%. But I just never had the time to do it everyday. When I got my sub, I spent 2-3 days finding sweet spots, tuning, Audysseying, but in the end I just had to compromise because my setup is in the living room. I'm the kind of guy that's more busy at home than at work. sweat.gif
aiman04
post Aug 7 2009, 05:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 7 2009, 04:53 PM)
laugh.gif  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Not like I have to do all the chores, but I always plan activities with my family especially during weekends. I have a few hours for myself, but those usually spent listening music and watching BDs.
aiman04
post Aug 10 2009, 03:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

If you have full-band speakers I recommend to use Pure Audio/Direct mode, this way the subwoofer won't be used because any crossover settings will be bypassed.

This is the best you can get for music if you're not using dedicated stereo DAC & amp.
aiman04
post Aug 11 2009, 07:20 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Dropped by Desa HT yesterday. I know they don't have SVS, but just to test their knowledge I asked them about it. They honestly never heard of the name SVS at all. This only mean one thing, they have no real interest in home theater, it's all strictly business. Walking out I saw their sign again, "Desa Home Theater", yeah right! laugh.gif
aiman04
post Aug 11 2009, 07:46 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Aug 11 2009, 07:41 AM)
I don't think that is fair to judge them this way.  There are many good subs out there and SVS is just one of them.  Not carrying SVS doesn't mean that they are not serious in HT.  Afterall, SVS only do direct online order and its not easy to buy an SVS sub for those living outside USA as the shipping cost is very costly.
Bro, it's not about they're not selling SVS, I already knew that. That's why I almost bought direct online last year but budget cut made me cancel it. Please read my post again, it's their knowledge about HT stuffs that is the problem, they never even heard SVS, not because they're not selling it. icon_rolleyes.gif
aiman04
post Aug 11 2009, 08:40 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 11 2009, 08:24 AM)
Desa only do "RETAIL" lar....
they are not they to educate consumer unlike the likes of A&L/CMY etc.
You miss my point. I'm not asking them to educate customers. If you're into HT you will know stuffs, not only what you're selling, and make efforts to cater customer's demands. Knowing more can expand yur business. My point here, they're not really interested into HT themselves, they're strictly doing business. If their answer was "That subwoofer really keng, but sorry, we don't sell that" then I'm OK, at least they know what I'm talking about. But their answer was "SBS? Apa tu?", would that give you confidence as a customer? If you guys fine doing business like that, I don't have any objections. Just stating my experience and opinions.
aiman04
post Aug 11 2009, 02:44 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

As a customer I was disappointed, that's all. I always want the best service, maybe I felt like a VVIP customer. Peace to everyone and thanks for your comments! tongue.gif

Added on August 11, 2009, 2:56 pmAnd I'm not worried at all, very soon we'll have our bro as an SVS dealer, I'm actually glad those Desa people don't know anything about it. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 11 2009, 02:56 PM
aiman04
post Aug 12 2009, 12:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 12 2009, 12:23 PM)
What's the price for SB13-Plus?
Arremie upgrading his sub. rclxms.gif
aiman04
post Aug 12 2009, 06:06 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Aug 12 2009, 05:47 PM)
any kind soul out there who will help me? keke...
Pure Audio/Direct will turn-off most of not all processing circuitry and produce the sound untouched. The only thing working is the amplifier (and DAC if you use digital connection).

To set crossover you need to go to the speaker setup of your receiver. Usually just put about 10Hz over your speaker's low frequency capability.
aiman04
post Aug 12 2009, 07:40 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 12 2009, 07:32 PM)
If you want to use Pure Direct and still utilizing sub, run your speaker out from amp to your sub first, set the sub to cut at freq you intended such as 80hz, then connect speaker out from sub to your main speaker.

Some of the settings can be consider is to run your L,R at full range, set subwoofer to none, then run the L,R speaker out to your sub, use your sub 80hz cut-off, then run speaker out from your sub to main speaker. This method would be useful if you don't want to shift your connection everytime you want to watch movie or listen to music in Pure Audio mode.
QFT. smile.gif
aiman04
post Aug 15 2009, 09:32 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Aug 15 2009, 12:45 AM)
Tq very much for the offer. It is on my mind. Most tempting. But then I might have to save kaw kaw & probably eat porridge for some time. blush.gif  Just got a call from my boss. No bonus for this year.............in fact I should be happy that I still got a job! cry.gif  cry.gif

Added on August 15, 2009, 12:48 am

He! He! Just test out Bass Mackanic song.............my peasant Paradigm fail the Boom Boooom test! sad.gif
Where can I get this Bass Mackanic song bro? Failed your Paradigm? Now that's something. hmm.gif
aiman04
post Aug 16 2009, 08:36 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Aug 15 2009, 01:04 PM)
Use Google for it. Bass music..........I use the same music to test it out on a car sub woofer ( in a car assory shop ). Sub use is Candence 12".........Fuyoh! Even my ball can feel it! drool.gif
But I can't have it for HT use as the issue of powering the mono block amp is a big no no. Having a car bat in living room is out.
Thanks bro. Appreciates it (except for that gross remarks about your balls laugh.gif ).
aiman04
post Aug 18 2009, 07:09 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

So hard to start business here in Bolehland. sweat.gif

0.0427sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:06 PM