SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

ycs
post Sep 28 2009, 09:41 PM

4,234 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 28 2009, 09:39 PM)
NO, super cheap is when you tell yourself, my systems sounds good enuf.. end of story..   thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
i like your thinking... notworthy.gif

i'm more into DIY...built my own bass traps and QRD diffusors brows.gif

This post has been edited by ycs: Sep 28 2009, 09:48 PM
ar188
post Sep 28 2009, 09:47 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 28 2009, 09:41 PM)
i like your thinking... notworthy.gif
biggrin.gif that what I tell my self when I play my DVDs (DD 448kpbs 6 channel sound) with my future imaginary SVS... biggrin.gif
taqies
post Sep 28 2009, 09:50 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 28 2009, 09:39 PM)
NO, super cheap is when you tell yourself, my systems sounds good enuf.. end of story..  thumbup.gif  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif
I'm happy for you. That's all that matters, your ears. rclxms.gif
jchong
post Sep 28 2009, 10:33 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 28 2009, 09:29 PM)
my waterfall chart and its not pretty... rclxub.gif
[attachmentid=1220895]
I'm still new at reading waterfall charts. So when you say its not pretty, what do you see?

I assume you used REW to generate the chart?
ar188
post Sep 28 2009, 10:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 28 2009, 10:33 PM)
I'm still new at reading waterfall charts. So when you say its not pretty, what do you see?
mountain range.. instead of gentle hills.. biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Sep 28 2009, 10:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Me too, newbie on this. So, we should be looking at uniform gentle hills?
taqies
post Sep 28 2009, 10:48 PM

72 posts

Have a read at this page, easier to explain

http://www.xtz.se/produkt.php?info=true&produkt=41&eng=true

They are using spectrogram to plot the time domain, it is applicable to waterfall too.

I'm using this software myself to tune my system.
ar188
post Sep 28 2009, 10:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 28 2009, 10:43 PM)
Me too, newbie on this. So, we should be looking at uniform gentle hills?
without looking at the time domain axis, you can see the X/Y from 20-50hz curve is quite violent (which you would use the EQ-1 to flatten) so it would be gentle hills after you EQ1ed n flatten it.. biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Sep 28 2009, 11:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, the kamikaze dip is at abt 40Hz right after the 'zero' take-off. Take a look back at my graph, aint that about similar? Room nodes unless yours is acoustically treated and correctly done.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 28 2009, 11:21 PM
asherteoh
post Sep 29 2009, 03:17 PM

Validating
159 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 28 2009, 12:31 PM)
Everyone faces budget constrain.  I can afford a few PB13+ and even EQ but i just don't want to spend those kind of money.  (Don't get me wrong. I am not trying to show of that I am rich or something....Rm30k is nowhere near rich hahaha)

However, I think we can always get better sound if we keep spending.  But the the law of diminishing returns kind of falls flat pretty fast.  The other thing for me is do I really need those reference quality sound(off course I do!) but the real issue is can I really tell the difference?  What is more important is not to do a side by side comparison to highlight and difference but rather sit back and really enjoy the movies.  The biggest mistake a  lot of people make is they pay to much attention to the hardware and forget to enjoy the entertainment that those hardware are suppose to bring.

Added on September 28, 2009, 12:41 pm

I do agree that sub position do affect the sound.  I have my HT in my living room and there is only one place I can put my sub that is at the corner.  I could put it somewhere else but that would looks odd for my living room.  So at the end of the day i have to decide whether I want to reposition my sub to get better sound with better looking curves(which I can't even see) and end up with a sub that ends up in a odd position in the living room?

In the end, i won't really care about how flat my sub curves would look like(maybe I am just not that hardcore) because I won't really know if my sub is missing a few db at 50hz or so.  What i do know is that i am getting the low frequency that puts a smile on my face.  Its just me. smile.gif
you're down to earth... and ditto.. you hit the right spot! thumbup.gif
mys_terious
post Sep 29 2009, 03:49 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 28 2009, 11:20 PM)
Yes, the kamikaze dip is at abt 40Hz right after the 'zero' take-off. Take a look back at my graph, aint that about similar? Room nodes unless yours is acoustically treated and correctly done.
svs thread must use svs links http://www.svsound.com/questions-faqs-waterfall.cfm .... i didnt finish reading though coz half through nia it reminds me that i am a lowtech chinaman with a not so high iq .. tak faham apa dia cakap
htkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 03:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Sep 29 2009, 03:49 PM)
svs thread must use svs links http://www.svsound.com/questions-faqs-waterfall.cfm .... i didnt finish reading though coz half through nia it reminds me that i am a lowtech chinaman with a not so high iq .. tak faham apa dia cakap
Same here. Still learning hard sweat.gif

One fine day, I have to seek Ed M for some guidance or tutorial.
ronnt88
post Sep 29 2009, 04:03 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Sep 29 2009, 03:17 PM)
you're down to earth... and ditto.. you hit the right spot!  thumbup.gif
he hit u on ur g-spot? brows.gif

he's not down 2 earth... he just can't afford it... same like u tongue.gif
htkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 05:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

While we try to make a mini earthquake at Crystal Crown Hotel on this Sat, there will be a mini earthquake in Ipoh too. Abt the same time, I guess cool2.gif .

A poison for you guys; PC-13Ultra

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/node/7150

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 29 2009, 08:00 PM
lightning69
post Sep 29 2009, 09:01 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 05:02 PM)
While we try to make a mini earthquake at Crystal Crown Hotel on this Sat, there will be a mini earthquake in Ipoh too. Abt the same time, I guess cool2.gif .

A poison for you guys; PC-13Ultra

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/node/7150
"It shook my home like no other woofer I have ever experienced; deep, tight, melodic and controlled.

If you are lucky enough to get a demo of one of these, you’ll live off potato soup for a year, or even sell your spouse, to be able to get one.
It’s the single most glorious and potent sub bass system it has ever been my privilege to play with."

That is quite a sub huh. 1000Pound Sterling = RM5594 (base on latest Maybank Exchange rate)

So what is the price in Malaysia? Please PM me Htkaki. Also includes the price of all the SVS speakers too. Thanks.
taqies
post Sep 29 2009, 09:09 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 29 2009, 09:01 PM)
"It shook my home like no other woofer I have ever experienced; deep, tight, melodic and controlled.

If you are lucky enough to get a demo of one of these, you’ll live off potato soup for a year, or even sell your spouse, to be able to get one.
It’s the single most glorious and potent sub bass system it has ever been my privilege to play with."

That is quite a sub huh.  1000Pound Sterling = RM5594 (base on latest Maybank Exchange rate)

So what is the price in Malaysia?  Please PM me Htkaki.  Also includes the price of all the SVS speakers too.  Thanks.
I dunt think the price is 1000gbp rite now. currently the prices are £1200 for normal user and £1100 for avforum forumers.
mpyw
post Sep 29 2009, 10:17 PM

3,603 posts

That is quite a sub huh.  1000Pound Sterling = RM5594 (base on latest Maybank Exchange rate)

So what is the price in Malaysia?  Please PM me Htkaki.  Also includes the price of all the SVS speakers too.  Thanks.
Bro lightning, if you can get the PC13Ultra to KL at RM5.6k, I'll tumpang 2 units from you....the price must be CIF to my house and all tax included.
And I believe if you can sell at that price here, you can tapau htkaki's dealership and all LYN member who are interested in SVS will buy from you....
I am the 1st and I will cancel my order with htkaki.....PC13ultra cheaper than PB12+ wor...who don't want?
Please please...get me 2 at RM5.6k...I can even let you make some money by paying you RM6k! notworthy.gif
ronaldjoe
post Sep 29 2009, 10:48 PM

3,569 posts

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:49 pm

I wanna order one as well. biggrin.gif
I will have PB and PC. Joke...

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:50 pmThose who are serious. Better grab one during event.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Sep 29 2009, 10:50 PM
anfieldude
post Sep 29 2009, 10:55 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 28 2009, 10:40 PM)
mountain range.. instead of gentle hills..  biggrin.gif
Also for certain frequencies the drop even at 700ms is low. These frequencies tend to stay in the room and muddle up the sound of other frequencies.

taqies, I was under the impression that Audyssey corrected in the time domain. Not sure if these readings are post Audyssey.

The best would be a quick drop and if possible drop by more than significant amount within 300ms, this way they disappear fast enuf before the next scene comes up and not muddling up anything else. Low frequencies will stay in the room longer, there is nothing u can do abt that, all u can hope for is that it drops fast enuf not to mess up other frequencies.

REW is a very good tool to examine and understand your problems. Subs can be made better or worse by moving even by 1ft, they are critical to get right. If u cannot, a tool like Audyssey can do it well.

I see a lot of comments that says the results after Audyssey were not good, did not sound right. I'll tell u why, without room correction, you were probably "feeling, hearing" bass that was not meant to be heard, reverberations caused by slow decay, and some "peaks" that made u feel the oomph. Room corrections tries to fix this and its not all bad.

However, its ur equipment, if u r not interested in accuracy, then by all means do what is best for u!
htkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 11:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
Also for certain frequencies the drop even at 700ms is low. These frequencies tend to stay in the room and muddle up the sound of other frequencies.

taqies, I was under the impression that Audyssey corrected in the time domain. Not sure if these readings are post Audyssey.

The best would be a quick drop and if possible drop by more than significant amount within 300ms, this way they disappear fast enuf before the next scene comes up and not muddling up anything else. Low frequencies will stay in the room longer, there is nothing u can do abt that, all u can hope for is that it drops fast enuf not to mess up other frequencies.

REW is a very good tool to examine and understand your problems. Subs can be made better or worse by moving even by 1ft, they are critical to get right. If u cannot, a tool like Audyssey can do it well.

I see a lot of comments that says the results after Audyssey were not good, did not sound right. I'll tell u why, without room correction, you were probably "feeling, hearing" bass that was not meant to be heard, reverberations caused by slow decay, and some "peaks" that made u feel the oomph. Room corrections tries to fix this and its not all bad.
However, its ur equipment, if u r not interested in accuracy, then by all means do what is best for u!

Now, I am keen to learn more abt the FR graph drool.gif

A lot of users tend to set their system wrongly. Either over powering bass (high channel level or gain at sub) or excessive surround level (cranked up the surr level to get 'more enveloping' sound).

As they are get used to wrong setting, it isn't easy to convince them about the 'true' sound that the studio has intended. Pardon me for my limited and confused jargons. Most ppl after getting a flat graph will comment lack of oomph esp in LFE. Peaks are the culprit.

While there are peaks, the valleys did no justice to our already 'not-so-good' room's acoustic. Missing details and 'heart-attack' bass (peaks). I am glad that more people are actually into room acoustic and appreciating the calibration thumbup.gif

Bro, when you are here again, pls do let me know. I really would like you to visit my peasant pad

123 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:23 PM