All Things about BLU-RAY | V8, BLU Raya

neoardi
post Oct 28 2008, 12:26 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 28 2008, 12:18 PM)
They can actually. All PS3s can play DVDs, as long as they're the same region or the disc is region free.
Bro arj. UGPM thumbup.gif
laowai
post Oct 28 2008, 02:36 PM

490 posts

Better to pop the disc into a dvd-rom drive. If can read, then it's not bluray.

Anyway, BD has not been pirated yet. If homemade BD-RW, the packaging will not be like real also.

QUOTE(abasan @ Oct 27 2008, 11:53 PM)
Taikos... need to ask your advice. Just bought Superman Returns from a forumer. Everything looks ok, but when put in ps3... no Mini thumbnail/icon in the Movies section. Only BR-ROM icon.

When play that icon straight away play the movie... not even a title screen (where you have the options to change language, subs and extras...)

Of course pic quality is good la. And sound only 1 english 5.1 true hd available. But its kinda weird right? The pop up menu allows all the options and extras to be changed la.

But I'm wondering... is this blue ray for real? Now with BR-rw available... kinda scared got pirate copy already.
rthj
post Oct 28 2008, 02:38 PM

1,048 posts

blank BD not that cheap too.....are they?
htkaki
post Oct 28 2008, 03:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yeah, even the Blank BD is expensive.

Mega, pls update of got anything nice there. Kamchia
ebentan
post Oct 28 2008, 06:22 PM

Sifus, I'm a newbie and have browsed through v1-v8 of this thread. Still cannot find an answer to my question. Please advise:

Thinking of getting a ps3 to play games and watch blu-ray films.
Is it true that for films, ps3 matches the quality of most standalone blu-ray players?
Is it true that ps3 sold at sony centre can only play asia-region games and films? Any way to unlock?
How to make sure that the BD film I am buying is region-free? Does it say so on the box / website?

Thanks sifus!!

toratora
post Oct 28 2008, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(ebentan @ Oct 28 2008, 06:22 PM)
Sifus, I'm a newbie and have browsed through v1-v8 of this thread. Still cannot find an answer to my question. Please advise:

Thinking of getting a ps3 to play games and watch blu-ray films.
Is it true that for films, ps3 matches the quality of most standalone blu-ray players?
Is it true that ps3 sold at sony centre can only play asia-region games and films? Any way to unlock?
How to make sure that the BD film I am buying is region-free? Does it say so on the box / website?

Thanks sifus!!
if you are getting asian ps3 then we can play asian and US region blu ray because we are all same region A

can see at the back of ur blu ray got the letter A in a small box one

other region release such as UK depends on title whether region free or not. Link to check is at the 1st post

game wise - ps3 is region free so no issue there

callmevil
post Oct 28 2008, 06:42 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

first day of the conference..
tonight got dinner again.. haihhh i want to go look for gadgets pun susah sad.gif
rthj
post Oct 28 2008, 06:59 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(toratora @ Oct 28 2008, 01:37 PM)

a bit of addition.....although BD has this codes on their packaging, this doesnt always mean its region locked. best to check online for region info.

i've heard there's some service to unlock region codings on standalone BD players but it is gonna cost ya.

as for unlocking PS3....dont think you want to do that.....you wont be able to play your games online.....not that I have seen pirated PS3 games.

oh....if this is of any interest....Region A (at least for PS3) doesnt mean it will play both Region 1 and 3 DVDs.

This post has been edited by rthj: Oct 28 2008, 07:02 PM
apisgogo
post Oct 28 2008, 07:06 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

another successful tumpang... thank god for the smooth shipping & transactions... smile.gif

my fellow tumpang friends, u know what to do rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
ebentan
post Oct 28 2008, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(toratora @ Oct 28 2008, 06:37 PM)
if you are getting asian ps3 then we can play asian and US region blu ray because we are all same region A

other region release such as UK depends on title whether region free or not. Link to check is at the 1st post

game wise - ps3 is region free so no issue there
Thanks, Toratora. Sony Centre people say games also region-coded, so clearly wrong info.
Any comments on ps3 PQ, anyone?
panda-man
post Oct 28 2008, 07:16 PM

2,691 posts

hey guys. im going to singapore tomorrow. any good BD places i should visit?
callmevil
post Oct 28 2008, 07:21 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 28 2008, 07:16 PM)
hey guys. im going to singapore tomorrow. any good BD places i should visit?
sonystyle@airport.. i think its at terminal2.
toratora
post Oct 28 2008, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(ebentan @ Oct 28 2008, 07:07 PM)
Thanks, Toratora. Sony Centre people say games also region-coded, so clearly wrong info.
Any comments on ps3 PQ, anyone?
some games if play online must follow region

smae as DLC

single player all also can

correct me if i'm worng - dont think the PQ depend on the player
arj
post Oct 28 2008, 08:41 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(toratora @ Oct 28 2008, 08:15 PM)
some games if play online must follow region

smae as DLC

single player all also can

correct me if i'm worng - dont think the PQ depend on the player
The player definitely affects the PQ bro. It's a matter of weather your eyes is good enough to detect it or not laugh.gif

Mine isn't doh.gif laugh.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 28 2008, 09:53 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

yippee my dr. no baru sampai today! kudos to amazon. rclxms.gif

now to watch some old school bond~ wink.gif

btw, ppl swear by ps3 cause it's simply the cheapest blu-ray player on the market, plus you get to play games!

if u do not have desire to play games and have extra cash, then you should invest on a good stand alone blu-ray player. smile.gif
arj
post Oct 28 2008, 10:05 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Oct 28 2008, 09:53 PM)
yippee my dr. no baru sampai today! kudos to amazon.  rclxms.gif

now to watch some old school bond~  wink.gif

btw, ppl swear by ps3 cause it's simply the cheapest blu-ray player on the market, plus you get to play games!

if u do not have desire to play games and have extra cash, then you should invest on a good stand alone blu-ray player.  smile.gif
huhu... abang klasik. Godfather trilogy la, Dr No la... I bet you're getting Casablanca too when it's out in December laugh.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Oct 28 2008, 10:25 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 28 2008, 10:05 PM)
huhu... abang klasik. Godfather trilogy la, Dr No la... I bet you're getting Casablanca too when it's out in December laugh.gif
haha..i don't plan to, but since you just informed me..hell yeah!

no la..it's good to buy classics...got value mah..anyway, godfather i bought cos i never watched part 2 and 3 before.

same goes for dr. no, and now casablanca. all must have movies man!! drool.gif
TSedvpc
post Oct 28 2008, 10:51 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

Classic? hmm.gif
try Dog Day Afternoon... cool2.gif
engineered_miri
post Oct 28 2008, 10:55 PM

26 posts

classic?

raging bull biggrin.gif

abasan
post Oct 28 2008, 11:04 PM

43 posts

ok got serial no... BVDL 004670 whatever that means.

aiseyman i remember now, ps3 can play dvd. I just don't do it in case rosak my ps3 for nothing... /i confuse cause ps2 games also dvd but cannot play in 40gb ps3.

Confirm my one is Blueray. cannot play in DVD player. Its just they don't have the start menu that's all...

Thanks for all your help.

124 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0293sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:17 AM