Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

jovyn
post Sep 29 2008, 01:09 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 01:05 AM)
By the way, I am looking for a hamster excersise ball.

All I find are small ones for dwarfs, looking for a big ball that can fit syrians in future.

however, is it alright for a dwarf to use a syrian size ball?
If not good for dwarf I go buy the small one, nobody is selling the big ones.
i place got sell big excercise ball... laugh.gif
Sophiera
post Sep 29 2008, 01:21 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

No way I live near Ikano. Chow kit la. Nearest is the mall
iluv2zzz
post Sep 29 2008, 01:23 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Sep 29 2008, 12:11 AM)
you can use damp cloth, make sure you squeeze all the water out, and wipe the body.
then use dry cloth to wipe off the water on the body or use hair dryer to blow them dry. but the hair dryer must put at least 2ft away from the hamster, if not can burn the fur
Use hairdryer, if do wrongly later BBQ hammy no good no good, and if wind too strong, later become superman-hammy flying doh.gif
Try under hot sun, tongue.gif keep blow with your mouth, the "air" also quite hot XD

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Sep 29 2008, 01:31 AM
Sophiera
post Sep 29 2008, 01:29 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

NO SUN! hamsters get heat stroke very quickly.

If you need to dry your hamster put your hairdrier at the lowest setting and blow at a considerable distance. If too cold maybe a bit warmer but NEVER near your hamster.

Dry with cloth first of course.
iluv2zzz
post Sep 29 2008, 01:30 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

yaka? whahah.. ok.. then also cannot.. actually best is don't bath with water then =.= but some hammy really dirty fella.. like mine XD
jovyn
post Sep 29 2008, 01:52 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 29 2008, 01:30 AM)
yaka? whahah.. ok.. then also cannot.. actually best is don't bath with water then =.= but some hammy really dirty fella.. like mine XD
my hamster still very gatal....doh.gif
iluv2zzz
post Sep 29 2008, 02:18 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

haha.. itchy ka.. I fedup waiting her to bath herself, so I pick her up and put into sand bath container, and make her roll.. manually put the sand onto her body so she shake off.. if I put the sand in the cage, end up she dig all out only XD
IcedNyior
post Sep 29 2008, 02:45 AM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(brianshong @ Sep 29 2008, 12:51 AM)

This is my Winter Gold hamster call Rammy. Just shoot him during makan. This is the only way can make him still.
omg so cutee!! did u take it in a light box?
transit
post Sep 29 2008, 07:51 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(brianshong @ Sep 29 2008, 12:51 AM)

This is my Winter Gold hamster call Rammy. Just shoot him during makan. This is the only way can make him still.
Rammy, very clear photo...Hardly to able snap clear photo from my Jia2 and Leh2.
CheeseBeT
post Sep 29 2008, 08:41 AM

119 posts

my syrian seems like get use to the bath sand recently..
she don't use it when the 1st time i put in...
the 1st thing that she will do after wake up is go to the sand there to pee poo & cleaning herself.. icon_rolleyes.gif

eventhough now i move the sand to the other side..she did the same.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CheeseBeT: Sep 29 2008, 08:43 AM
blurjoey
post Sep 29 2008, 08:43 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mecool @ Sep 29 2008, 01:04 AM)
some ques to ask..can i stack up 2ft tank together...like one is on another one..

do they get enough air if do like that???
Yes you can stack them on each other. There is a little space between the lid and the bottom of the tank for ventilation when stacked. The lid actually have side guard to keep the stacked tank in place.

But not sure how effective the space is for the ventilation.

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:47 am
QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 29 2008, 01:23 AM)
Use hairdryer, if do wrongly later BBQ hammy no good no good, and if wind too strong, later become superman-hammy flying  doh.gif
Try under hot sun, tongue.gif keep blow with your mouth, the "air" also quite hot XD
If your hair dryer have the option to blow only cool air would be good. Also try not to put the hair dryer too close as the noise from the hair dryer could stress the poor fella.

If the above option is not available then use low heat and blow dry the hammy from about 1.5-2 feet away.

Hot sun will give your hammy heat stroke. Best to avoid it.

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:56 am
Only bathe your hamster as your last resort.

Me and sangels were forced to bathe our syrian, SamSam, due to his long fur covered in his poo and pee and he stank really bad. We tried the damp cloth with Oxyfresh, even sand bath and he still stinks.

We quickly bathe him in pet safe shampoo and warm water. Dried him quickly with a towel and blow dry with hair dryer with the low heat. The whole process took less than 5 minutes.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Sep 29 2008, 08:58 AM
Andy0625
post Sep 29 2008, 09:14 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(athirah88 @ Sep 29 2008, 12:59 AM)
I think you'd be better off getting a 2-feet tank. Although OVOs are gorgeous, they are hard to clean and its very hard to see the hamsters in there..  Speaking from experience here.  tongue.gif
Since Ovo Suite has bend parts alot I guess it'll hard to clean then.
But Ovo loft is just a normal 2ft case , I guess it'll be better right ?

Anyone can answer my below question ?

quireyuyue
post Sep 29 2008, 09:35 AM

137 posts

i wander can the sand bath b eaten by hamster??? my hamster seem to be eating those sand bath instead of rolling on them doh.gif
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 29 2008, 09:51 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Sep 29 2008, 01:53 AM)
you shouldn't have rushed giving them a bath. The advise I think was to use slightly damp cloth. Someone mentioned earlier to use a brush but I dun know about that. I don't think we can use soap for hamsters...
Contrary to popular advice, you can bath hamsters. I used to bath my male RC hamster once every two weeks because he got some kind of smell. I think it's a male hormone thing, but my current female hamster has never had a bath before except when she had diarrhea a couple of months back and got poo all over herself.

Honestly, I don't advice bathing a hamster unless it's VERY tame and used to being handled.

Steps on how to bath a hamster:

1. Prepare shampoo for small animals (I use Hagen brand, pink color shampoo made in Canada), towel and a small "kong" of very warm water. It's best if you dilute the shampoo, 1 part shampoo to 6 parts water.

2. Slowly lower the hamster into the kong of water up to its front legs. Pour a little diluted shampoo on the hamster and gently lather up.

3. Gently pour water on the hamster's back (avoiding face, nose and ears) until the shampoo is all rinsed away.

4. Towel dry immediately. My RC hamster was very tame and allowed me to blow dry him. If you choose to blow dry your hamster, used the hot setting to blow off access water and then switch to the cooler setting. Never face the nozzle of the hair dryer to close to the hamster.
Aeon_Clock
post Sep 29 2008, 10:14 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

really? I don't dare give them baths...coz some forummer said before, he gave his hamster a bath. Next thing you know, it died =.= He did mention he blow-dried the little fella sweat.gif

iluv2zzz
post Sep 29 2008, 10:24 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Sep 29 2008, 09:51 AM)
Contrary to popular advice, you can bath hamsters. I used to bath my male RC hamster once every two weeks because he got some kind of smell. I think it's a male hormone thing, but my current female hamster has never had a bath before except when she had diarrhea a couple of months back and got poo all over herself.

Honestly, I don't advice bathing a hamster unless it's VERY tame and used to being handled.

Steps on how to bath a hamster:

1. Prepare shampoo for small animals (I use Hagen brand, pink color shampoo made in Canada), towel and a small "kong" of very warm water. It's best if you dilute the shampoo, 1 part shampoo to 6 parts water.

2. Slowly lower the hamster into the kong of water up to its front legs. Pour a little diluted shampoo on the hamster and gently lather up.

3. Gently pour water on the hamster's back (avoiding face, nose and ears) until the shampoo is all rinsed away.

4. Towel dry immediately. My RC hamster was very tame and allowed me to blow dry him. If you choose to blow dry your hamster, used the hot setting to blow off access water and then switch to the cooler setting. Never face the nozzle of the hair dryer to close to the hamster.
I can sense that inexperience hammy handler will drown this hammy in that "kong" sweat.gif better not trying if you can't handle your hammy properly.. putting the hamy into the "kong" sounds so dangerous, what if the hammy shake and u suddenly let go rclxub.gif
Sophiera
post Sep 29 2008, 11:13 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Which is why water bath is completely last resort and only when truly needed.

Syrians don't roll in sandbath right?
XiaoDan
post Sep 29 2008, 11:14 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 11:13 AM)

Syrians groom themselves with saliva.. Haha laugh.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Sep 29 2008, 11:20 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(quireyuyue @ Sep 29 2008, 09:35 AM)
i wander can the sand bath b eaten by hamster??? my hamster seem to be eating those sand bath instead of rolling on them doh.gif
do we have to worry about this?
blurjoey
post Sep 29 2008, 11:27 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Sep 29 2008, 09:14 AM)
Since Ovo Suite has bend parts alot I guess it'll hard to clean then.
But Ovo loft is just a normal 2ft case , I guess it'll be better right ?

Anyone can answer my below question ?

Ovo Loft is about RM200+. You sure you want to get that? You can get a zoozone2 (3 feet) for RM140 if you can still find it as it is no longer in production. Waiting for new zoozone models now. Get a 2 feet guppy tank for RM30-50. Easier to take care of.

You can get Harry Hamster or Prestige Hamster for their food. Bedding you can try corncob, breeder celect, back 2 nature, or chipsi (can't remember which suitable for small animals). All on the 1st page.

Sand bath is for hamster to bathe in to get rid of the extra oil and smell. Depends on which breed of hamsters will need sand bath.

You don't feed can dog food to hamster. It's the kibbles. Search for those without garlic in the ingredients. Pedigree are low quality brands. I think crazymouse got mentions some brands to get in the last reply. Please read.

The price of syrians? It depends on pet shops. From RM10-30. Yes only these few breeds in petshops. Syrians, WW, robos and RC.

It's seer-ee-uhn from dictionary.com. Can listen there on how to pronounce.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/syrian

Added on September 29, 2008, 11:30 am
QUOTE(quireyuyue @ Sep 29 2008, 09:35 AM)
Some hamsters will eat the sand to replenish minerals in their body. So it is safe.

But remember not get those clumping kind as it the chemicals for clumping is bad for them in the long run.

Added on September 29, 2008, 11:32 am
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 29 2008, 11:13 AM)

Syrians don't roll in the sand bath. That is why we pour some sand bath on their backs and they will shake it off.

I think those that roll in the sand bath is robos. Not sure about RC and WW though.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Sep 29 2008, 11:32 AM

120 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:51 PM