Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

bluepuppygirl
post Sep 25 2008, 03:11 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jovyn @ Sep 24 2008, 12:25 AM)
dear all, need ur advice again...icon_question.gif
got any other recommend brand of bedding beside "chipsi"...
I used to use Living World pine bedding because that's what most petshops use for their hamsters *shrugs*. But since many hammie owners advocate pine-free bedding, I switched to Breeder Celect. But I hated it because the color is horrid (dark gray) and it's not exactly dust-free as mentioned in the website. And my Bella had trouble running around on hard pellets.

Now I switch to using disposable paper towels that you can buy in a huge roll (exactly the same as those you find in hotel toilets, you pull pull pull the dispenser handle and tear as much off as you like haha). I just line the base of the cage with two layers of paper towers every week. I don't have to worry about pine, Bella moves easier on the smooth surface and she enjoys shredding the paper, so it's all good. smile.gif
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 25 2008, 03:47 PM

21 posts

Added on September 25, 2008, 3:17 pm
can i know where you buy those paper towels?? and how much it cost??
Not too sure how much it cost because my mother bought the paper towels for kitchen use even before I had my hamster (which shows how long one huge roll can last!).

I can't advise you where to buy in KL, because I am in Kuching. But I know my mother bought it from a shop that sells Kimberly-Clark, Kleenex and Scott paper and toilet items.

You go to http://www.thefind.com/office/info-roll-towel and look at the picture for Kleenex® Non-Perforated Hard-Roll Paper Towel. It looks exactly like that.

This post has been edited by bluepuppygirl: Sep 25 2008, 03:49 PM
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 09:59 AM

21 posts

Hi Nezumitaro and jtl!

Guess what, my syrian hamster LOVES your organic veggie powder! I received the parcel yesterday together with my new Wodent Wheel and I let Bella try a small ball of veggie powder for breakfast this morning, and she grabbed it right out of hand and started chomping away. She even wanted to lick the tiny grain crumbs off my fingers when she was done!

Oh, I know this is not a new thing, but hammie owners should really invest in the Wodent Wheel. My Bella was using a 3-month old 8" Habitrail Safari All-Terrain wheel when the whole thing just popped out of its spindle last week and fell on her. Luckily she wasn't hurt. I tried attaching the wheel back onto the spindle, but it fell off again. I was sick and fed up, so I bought her a Wodent from Pet Shack. Bella adores it. This morning I found her sleeping... not in her usual hamster house, but under the wheel! I bet she was up running all night and was too tired to walk back to her house haha.

bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 10:54 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jovyn @ Sep 26 2008, 11:46 AM)
wow, she is bery cute loo... wub.gif
erm....u mean the "grey colour" sand i bought is for toilet purpose eh?  unsure.gif
bath sand is different thing ah?
so bath sand is white colour and got different flavour eh... rclxub.gif
Yes, the grey sand is only for toilet purpose. I use clumping cat litter for my hamster's toilet.

The bath sand is white and comes in fruity/flowery flavors such as lavender, apple, lemon, orange etc. Don't confuse hamster bath sand with chinchilla bath dust (which is a lot finer and resembles powder). The most common brand of hamster bath sand is Alex which you can get in almost any pet shops. smile.gif

bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 11:08 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jovyn @ Sep 26 2008, 11:58 AM)
thanks for nezu sharing~~~
oic....2molo i go pet shop search n see....thx...

erm, do u guys put the toilet sand in side the cage?
Put the toilet sand in the hamster toilet/potty which you can find in pet shops too! The toilet usually comes with a little spade to scoop out the soiled litter, but I prefer to use a plastic spoon.

Also don't confuse hamster toilet with hamster bathroom. Hamster toilet is usually triangle shape because you'll put it at the corner of the cage. My hamster toilet is Alex brand. Got two openings on the right and left for my hamster to walk in and out.

Toilet training a hamster is quite easy. If your hamster pees on the sawdust bedding, just put some of the soiled bedding in the toilet and clean the cage thoroughly, so only the toilet got the pee smell. Do it a few times and your hamster will eventually know how to pee in the toilet.

Personally, I find hamsters alot easier to toilet train compared to puppies.
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 11:32 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(bluepuppygirl @ Sep 26 2008, 12:08 PM)
Put the toilet sand in the hamster toilet/potty which you can find in pet shops too! The toilet usually comes with a little spade to scoop out the soiled litter, but I prefer to use a plastic spoon.

Also don't confuse hamster toilet with hamster bathroom. Hamster toilet is usually triangle shape because you'll put it at the corner of the cage. My hamster toilet is Alex brand. Got two openings on the right and left for my hamster to walk in and out.

Toilet training a hamster is quite easy. If your hamster pees on the sawdust bedding, just put some of the soiled bedding in the toilet and clean the cage thoroughly, so only the toilet got the pee smell. Do it a few times and your hamster will eventually know how to pee in the toilet.

Personally, I find hamsters alot easier to toilet train compared to puppies.
Haha, no problem. I'm sure you can find those items. If me in Kuching can find, I'm sure Penang also can find. smile.gif

If not, you can try ordering online from http://petshack.com.my or from another forum user named SandyPiggy ->
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/609472

Good luck!
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 11:37 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Sep 26 2008, 12:33 PM)
biggrin.gif i am using sluis chincilla bathing sand for my hamsters..
I thought you're not suppose to use chin bathing sand for hamsters? Something about the sand for chins being too fine and might cause respiratory problems in hams. *shrugs*
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 12:21 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Sep 26 2008, 12:54 PM)
that's chinchilla bathing DUST. Not to be confused with bathing SAND. If I'm not mistaken, bathing DUST is too fine...too small (maybe small enough to go into their skins) thus causing problems with hamster respiratory systems. I compared the two at Pet Safari...Chinchilla DUST and two other hamster bathing SAND brands. Can see a big difference between the two. You try go compare yourself and see. smile.gif
Ohhhhhhh okay, I see. Thanks for the clarification.

I've never seen chin dust before because I don't think chins are available in Kuching. Hedgehogs I've seen, but not chins, gliders and ferrets.

My hamster doesn't like "bathe" in sand, she prefers to dig around the sand like a dog and make a huge mess. Then she'll pee in the sand.

So I just brush her down with a toothbrush. Thankfully she's a hygiene freak and doesn't stink.

Oh, to LYN hamster forummers, want to know a super easy way of keeping your hamster's cage stink-free? Get those netting bags (used to hold onions and garlic in supermarkets) and stuff a few pieces of charcoal in it. Then tie the bag to the roof of the cage. Charcoal is a powerful smell absorber, it can even absorb the stinky hamster pee smell. I've been using this method ever since I started keeping hamsters and it works wonders.
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 01:34 PM

21 posts

Aloe is so sweet!

Oh goodness, what did he do? Why is the gray stuff in the Ovo?
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 26 2008, 01:54 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Sep 26 2008, 02:44 PM)
So far, I've only seen one kind of Chinchilla dust bath available...dunno wat brand but its in squarish bottle and label is in green colour.

Can we use a toothbrush to clean hamsters? How...just brush without mixing with any water/sand?

Yups, no need to add water. Just brush lightly against the fur. You can also use put your hamster in the small container of bathing sand and use the toothbrush to brush sand on the fur.

Added on September 26, 2008, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(athirah88 @ Sep 26 2008, 02:40 PM)
Thank you! Your Bella is cute too, I love her colour, Aloe is a creamy.

That was his toilet sand... He somehow did that.. Or are you referring to his bedding? I'm using breeder celect..
Haha, how did he get the toilet sand up the tunnel? I'm assuming the smaller pod connected on the right side of the pic is the toilet, or is it?

This post has been edited by bluepuppygirl: Sep 26 2008, 01:56 PM
bluepuppygirl
post Sep 29 2008, 09:51 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Sep 29 2008, 01:53 AM)
you shouldn't have rushed giving them a bath. The advise I think was to use slightly damp cloth. Someone mentioned earlier to use a brush but I dun know about that. I don't think we can use soap for hamsters...
Contrary to popular advice, you can bath hamsters. I used to bath my male RC hamster once every two weeks because he got some kind of smell. I think it's a male hormone thing, but my current female hamster has never had a bath before except when she had diarrhea a couple of months back and got poo all over herself.

Honestly, I don't advice bathing a hamster unless it's VERY tame and used to being handled.

Steps on how to bath a hamster:

1. Prepare shampoo for small animals (I use Hagen brand, pink color shampoo made in Canada), towel and a small "kong" of very warm water. It's best if you dilute the shampoo, 1 part shampoo to 6 parts water.

2. Slowly lower the hamster into the kong of water up to its front legs. Pour a little diluted shampoo on the hamster and gently lather up.

3. Gently pour water on the hamster's back (avoiding face, nose and ears) until the shampoo is all rinsed away.

4. Towel dry immediately. My RC hamster was very tame and allowed me to blow dry him. If you choose to blow dry your hamster, used the hot setting to blow off access water and then switch to the cooler setting. Never face the nozzle of the hair dryer to close to the hamster.

0.0458sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:45 PM