98 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

TSchicaman
post Nov 16 2008, 10:53 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

KL is in the middle, so which one is better?
stimix
post Nov 16 2008, 11:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Whoaaa..din read my earlier posting-kah biggrin.gif KL, Prk, NPM, Seremban & EPM..for sure it's malfreemaps...but for Melaka, Johor & Singapore, at this point of time MSM still ahead but Malfreemaps is catching up pretty fast...as what Ajay mentioned, if u wanted to keep both maps, just change one of the maps as gmapsup2.img instead of gmapsupp.img

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 16 2008, 10:53 PM)
KL is in the middle, so which one is better?
TSchicaman
post Nov 16 2008, 11:13 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2008, 11:06 PM)
Whoaaa..din read my earlier posting-kah biggrin.gif KL, Prk, NPM, Seremban & EPM..for sure it's malfreemaps...but for Melaka, Johor & Singapore, at this point of time MSM still ahead but Malfreemaps is catching up pretty fast...as what Ajay mentioned, if u wanted to keep both maps, just change one of the maps as gmapsup2.img instead of gmapsupp.img
Oh yea, missed that out tongue.gif

I am using Malfree in MapSource, never go out these few days, so no chance to try out in my phone tongue.gif

The real logo is really useful though, no need to check which shop/petrol station, look at the logo and we know the POI already laugh.gif
hanieyf
post Nov 17 2008, 01:36 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

anyone here save their poi a lot ? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
TSchicaman
post Nov 17 2008, 02:03 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Nov 17 2008, 01:36 AM)
anyone here save their poi a lot ?  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
Most of them already included in the MAP... at least those famous famous one...

I only save POI for my home~
donny
post Nov 17 2008, 10:11 AM

38 posts

halo...does se w760 compatible with any software for the gps??
stimix
post Nov 17 2008, 11:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not sure whether SE W760 is symbian bcos current Garmin or even mapking is based on Nokia Symbian models. U can try & check the 1st page link to Garmin to check compartability or else I think the only naviagtion that suite this phone is only Garmin Maps which dun offer any route navigation for M'sia
hanieyf
post Nov 17 2008, 03:01 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 17 2008, 02:03 AM)
Most of them already included in the MAP... at least those famous famous one...

I only save POI for my home~
same with me, also save when found some place interesting and unknown in garmin tongue.gif tongue.gif
caaron
post Nov 17 2008, 03:37 PM

Always to Assist
515 posts

i started using the garmin mobile xt. but haiyo. still quite confusing. i wanna go KL lidat still how to set. dunno i got the latest malaysia map or not. or else where to download??

stimix
post Nov 17 2008, 08:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The lonk in my siggy to both websites latest maps no good meh hmm.gif
TSchicaman
post Nov 17 2008, 08:38 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 17 2008, 08:21 PM)
The lonk in my siggy to both websites latest maps no good meh  hmm.gif
Both of them are the only choice of MAP we have lol~
hanieyf
post Nov 17 2008, 09:59 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(caaron @ Nov 17 2008, 03:37 PM)
i started using the garmin mobile xt. but haiyo. still quite confusing. i wanna go KL lidat still how to set. dunno i got the latest malaysia map or not. or else where to download??
use garmin not mean u r perfect, hehe..i still remember when try to go leisure mall at johor, road there quite confusing, until my garmin keep pusing pusing..doesnt know where to go..haha.. really funny

ps; im from kb..to jb.. its too far sweat.gif sweat.gif
ajay67
post Nov 18 2008, 08:10 AM

2,960 posts

normally if i am going to a place new to me, i'll look at the map at mapsource on the PC first & plan my route properly, get to know the area visually taking into account the important landmarks. then on the day i'll use gps when i approach the place. it would be easier that way
aspire2oo6
post Nov 18 2008, 08:14 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Nov 17 2008, 09:59 PM)
use garmin not mean u r perfect, hehe..i still remember when try to go leisure mall at johor, road there quite confusing, until my garmin keep pusing pusing..doesnt know where to go..haha.. really funny

ps; im from kb..to jb.. its too far  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
learn to listen to the direction it will tell you when to turn when to keep left and look at the 400m -500m when to turn. Its not confusing for me when u get use to it.

Added on November 18, 2008, 8:18 amGPS SIGNAL UNAVAILABLE HAHA

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 18 2008, 08:18 AM
TSchicaman
post Nov 18 2008, 09:41 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 18 2008, 08:14 AM)
learn to listen to the direction it will tell you when to turn when to keep left and look at the 400m -500m when to turn. Its not confusing for me when u get use to it.

LOL, its Lost Satelite Reception tongue.gif
hanieyf
post Nov 18 2008, 04:06 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 18 2008, 08:14 AM)

ya...always listen to it, but sometime, voice recognition itself going blur.. i need to turn left, but no road..should right actually..haha..damn funny that time.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Nov 18 2008, 05:41 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

it it possible to

1 - change the voice nav to different voices in a standalone garmin say nuvi 205W's ? are there free voice files ? i know where to get tomtom's voices but not garmins. (btw i'm talking bout da freebies of teh intehnets not the pay punya)

2 - change the voice nav to different voices in GMXT softwares. ada free punya ka and got step by step guides or not ?

all i know is the voices that they provided off my-garmin really is sad case. not sexy japanese girl type voice , no knight rider punya. i found 3rd party but haf to pay. can get tom cruise voice and yoda voices.

thanks in advance.
aspire2oo6
post Nov 18 2008, 08:18 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 18 2008, 09:41 AM)
LOL, its Lost Satelite Reception tongue.gif
thats for garmin. I dont using garmin it says GPS signal unavailable.
runemastertan
post Nov 19 2008, 03:40 PM

1,221 posts

Hi all. I am going to KL and I must say that I am an alien there. So, I am going from North Malaysia to KL, and I plan to purchase a GPS, be it a Nokia 6210 or a standalone GPD device. The catch is:

1. I do not know which is better for KL roads. I need to go to Subang Jaya. DO i need the map for that place? or there is map that covers the whole KL area
2. Which Device is better, and recommended?
3. Say I load the map of Penang, then when I reach, say Rawang, the map will auto change to Rawang map?

Thanks for the help
ahmadpi
post Nov 19 2008, 03:47 PM

157 posts

Hi ..

You sound so entry level in GPS arena .. so I would recommend you to buy the most easiest and convenient to use which is Nuvi 200 series (RM700-800). It is also the cheapest. If you got money, of course you can get the more expensive one.

Regarding the map, I'm using Garmin GPS, so I know that map around Malaysia especially Penang & KL is pretty much complete. Thanks to a community in Malsingmaps.com. You can upload the map all together inside your GPS unit and you don't have to think to change it anymore.

Also, there is a software that Garmin provided with GPS device that allows you to view the map on your PC. So you can find places and check the routes on your PC and transfer to your GPS unit.

You can find the Garmin MapSource installation guide in my website: Installation Guide.

Updated 23-Dec-2008: I just write a blog to compare Google Map vs Garmin MapSource. Click Here!

Hope this will help. All the best!

This post has been edited by ahmadpi: Dec 23 2008, 09:47 AM

98 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:24 AM