30 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Pentium Dual Core E5200, new processor has arrived!

Shah_15
post Nov 22 2008, 03:54 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

Don't know. Haven't test it yet with game. But i certainly need better cooler if want to use 3.5ghz 24/7. Right now stick with 3.0ghz..
spideysam
post Nov 22 2008, 03:56 AM

937 posts

so tis dual core is value for money rather than going for quad core...... coz vista dont need quad core for it 2 run also.. but i feel vista eat a lot memory easily.. 2gb ddr2 not tat good..
Shah_15
post Nov 22 2008, 04:09 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

If you got the money, why not go straight for quad core. This processor is only worth to people that want to get performance for budget price tag.
Shah_15
post Nov 22 2008, 04:21 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

Yea...E5200 is already sufficient for gaming...
seanlimys
post Nov 22 2008, 10:04 AM

2,751 posts

sufficient is one thg...but...keep in mind...e5200 is a high speed proc after oc but has low cache and low fsb...i do believe these two factors held them back by E6XXX series..e5200 perhaps cud be a e4XXX series successor with 45nm...and higher multiplier...
Volt
post Nov 22 2008, 10:09 AM

Battery Low
671 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 22 2008, 04:21 AM)
Yea...E5200 is already sufficient for gaming...
yup, if u overclock ur processor to 3.2 - 3.4 ghz i think it enough for todays game
seanlimys
post Nov 22 2008, 10:54 AM

2,751 posts

gaming still focus on gc...
Volt
post Nov 22 2008, 01:58 PM

Battery Low
671 posts

true but gc will be under utilizes if the processor is slow

This post has been edited by Volt: Nov 22 2008, 02:02 PM
spideysam
post Nov 22 2008, 06:20 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Volt @ Nov 22 2008, 01:58 PM)
true but gc will be under utilizes if the processor is slow
ya tat i was thinking.. but i read still sli or dual card the performance not much difference...
even if good oc still not much difference wit sli or dual card??
rather get a good single gc...

Shah_15
post Nov 22 2008, 08:53 PM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

SLI doesn't mean you will get 2x performance of single card. SLI just give you 20% more performance than single card. Might aswell take that money buy better single graphic card.
Najmods
post Nov 22 2008, 09:23 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 22 2008, 08:53 PM)
SLI doesn't mean you will get 2x performance of single card. SLI just give you 20% more performance than single card. Might aswell take that money buy better single graphic card.
Its not THAT bad, it requires driver support for any particular game to get the most out of it. Its not like only 20%, if that so why do they bother with Quad SLi and such? What I mean is, driver plays big role for multi GPU to shines
OC4/3
post Nov 22 2008, 09:27 PM

4,746 posts

GC is the big part about performance but well tweak system do play a part as well wink.gif
To get the best out of mid end gc,you need something like 500x8.5,6MB cache 1:1 divider and PL9,or any setting that can yield 9000-11k bandwidth as you got to remember,texture is store on ram before being send out to gc to process so the best gaming processor is E8xxx as you could tweak it nicely thumbup.gif
Shah_15
post Nov 22 2008, 11:26 PM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Nov 22 2008, 09:23 PM)
Its not THAT bad, it requires driver support for any particular game to get the most out of it. Its not like only 20%, if that so why do they bother with Quad SLi and such? What I mean is, driver plays big role for multi GPU to shines
I know but plus heat factor, power consumption, its not worth it. At least for me.

This post has been edited by Shah_15: Nov 23 2008, 12:48 AM
spideysam
post Nov 22 2008, 11:49 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 22 2008, 11:26 PM)
I know but plus heat factor, power comsuption, its not worth it. At least for me.
yup me 2... coz not worth it also...... lol.... better bling the pc casing also.. lol
seanlimys
post Nov 24 2008, 01:27 AM

2,751 posts

lol..ok...wat i tink is..if u get 2 cards to sli juz to get 20% extra performance, i tink that price u can buy a better performing card and less power consuming...so sli mayb for those who like it, but not for really gamers perhaps? mayb a high end single card will pawn 2 mid end sli cards?
Shah_15
post Nov 24 2008, 01:30 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

I want to OC-ed more my E5200....stock cooler prevent it from happening....sad.gif
hilmiangah
post Nov 24 2008, 03:12 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:30 AM)
I want to OC-ed more my E5200....stock cooler prevent it from happening....sad.gif
what are u waiting for then.

if u are on a tight budget hyper 212 is under RM130 now.
mADmAN
post Nov 24 2008, 03:24 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 24 2008, 01:27 AM)
lol..ok...wat i tink is..if u get 2 cards to sli juz to get 20% extra performance, i tink that price u can buy a better performing card and less power consuming...so sli mayb for those who like it, but not for really gamers perhaps? mayb a high end single card will pawn 2 mid end sli cards?
while most of the time this statement is true....there are those RARE occasions where SLi is better. it really depends on the game... sadly, there are very few games that fully utilizes SLi. COD4 is one of them

check out my own test below...i posted this in the SLi club.. take note of the resolutions and FPS...

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 5 2008, 03:49 PM)
COD4 really benefits from SLI man.... i tested myself with my home rig and office rig...

home rig
Q6600@3.0
4x1gb DDR2-800
BFG 8800GTS 320mn OC2 SLi
1680x1050 @ stock settings
FPS: 90-91 stable with minimum movement

Office rig
E8400 @3.0
2x2gb DDR2-800
Zotac 9800GT Amp! (Single card.. NO SLI)
1280x1024 @ stock settings
FPS: 70-80...lowest went to 50+ n moves around alot
even with a lower resolution the "better" single card cant take the SLi for COD4
anyway, at the moment, yes, single higher end card is better compared to SLi of the same combined value.
Punish
post Nov 24 2008, 08:49 AM

2,023 posts

ya this was indeed a good budget overclocker chip.....OC to 3.2-3.6Ghz should be enuff ATM for your gaming needs...this is a better choice compare to e2 series.....bang for buck.....the only drawback is....after u play with it for awhile, u will start to feel boring and want more out of it.....sadly, i just cannot give u anymore and u'll start to think, why dun i go straight for the OEM e0e8 series....its hard to explain but the word is anticlimax doh.gif

GTG

This post has been edited by Punish: Nov 24 2008, 08:52 AM
seanlimys
post Nov 24 2008, 10:27 AM

2,751 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 24 2008, 03:24 AM)
while most of the time this statement is true....there are those RARE occasions where SLi is better. it really depends on the game... sadly, there are very few games that fully utilizes SLi. COD4 is one of them

check out my own test below...i posted this in the SLi club.. take note of the resolutions and FPS...
anyway, at the moment, yes, single higher end card is better compared to SLi of the same combined value.
well..based on ur rig..8800gts shud be on par or slightly better or lower den 9800gt..is it g80 or g92? mayb 8800gts sli can be compared to 9800gtx+ perhaps? i love sli setup but..i dun find additional juice for the card is a necessity..

QUOTE(Punish @ Nov 24 2008, 08:49 AM)
ya this was indeed a good budget overclocker chip.....OC  to 3.2-3.6Ghz should be enuff ATM for your gaming needs...this is a better choice compare to e2 series.....bang for buck.....the only drawback is....after u play with it for awhile, u will start to feel boring and want more out of it.....sadly, i just cannot give u anymore and u'll start to think, why dun i go straight for the OEM e0e8 series....its hard to explain but the word is anticlimax doh.gif

GTG
wel...e8 is alwiz the best performer for dual core..but keep in mind..wat about budget gamers? shudnt they be considering e5200 over other amd model instead? or oem e6 series which the price is on par wif retail e5200 wif larger cache, and higher fsb, perhaps a more ocable core den e5200?

30 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:19 AM