126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

Makakeke
post Sep 16 2008, 10:04 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Sep 16 2008, 07:25 PM)
Although STPM is way harder than A-level, the entry requirements for engineering using STPM will be higher than A-level.
For higher ranked uni in Aus, an aggregate point of 3.33 or around B+B+B+ should be sufficient to enter.
Actually you will find out that first year maths in engineering course will be pretty easy as you learnt most of them in STPM. Year 12 in Australia only cover basic stuff.
Honestly 3.33 in STPM isn't easy. But that average will place you among the top half in an engineering course and yes 1st & 2nd year Maths will be too easy for any STPM students.
Cheesenium
post Sep 16 2008, 10:17 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Sep 16 2008, 07:25 PM)
Although STPM is way harder than A-level, the entry requirements for engineering using STPM will be higher than A-level.
For higher ranked uni in Aus, an aggregate point of 3.33 or around B+B+B+ should be sufficient to enter.
Actually you will find out that first year maths in engineering course will be pretty easy as you learnt most of them in STPM. Year 12 in Australia only cover basic stuff.
Yeah,even with my failing A-levels Further Maths,the maths they teach now is still A-levels material.

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Sep 16 2008, 08:03 PM)
Oh I wasn't waiting to be spoonfed. I googled about it already. Just that, just now I was replying while I was still searching halfway.
Some of my college friends say MUET is accepted. Some say cant.....will call to inquire more tmr.
Anyways one question.
I would be taking the:
Listening
Academic Reading
Academic Writing
Speaking
Right?
And my minimum score would be?
I google. Open lots of tabs. Reply while waiting for the pages to load. Then only view the pages. Sorry if I offended you by posting before googling.
But the JPA list of accepted universities in australia for scholarship my friend sms-ed me was:
ANU
Uni Of Melbourne
Uni Of Sydney
Uni Of Queensland
Hmmm.....must call jpa to inquire also....
What? STPM needs higher requirements......why........
I know some Malaysian who are under JPA scholarship are currently studying in UNSW.UNSW should be in JPA's list.It's also a Go8 uni.

UNSW is often overlook by Malaysian when they are considering to study in Aus.All just go Melbourne U to pay more. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Sep 16 2008, 10:17 PM
limeuu
post Sep 16 2008, 10:35 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 16 2008, 10:17 PM)
Yeah,even with my failing A-levels Further Maths,the maths they teach now is still A-levels material.
I know some Malaysian who are under JPA scholarship are currently studying in UNSW.UNSW should be in JPA's list.It's also a Go8 uni.

UNSW is often overlook by Malaysian when they are considering to study in Aus.All just go Melbourne U to pay more. doh.gif
they are jpa scholars given after spm.......different category....

those after stpm are specifically for those who manage to get into ivy league unis........the likes of oxbridge, imperial, harvard, yale, stanford, etc.......i don't think any of oz unis will qualify to be called ivy league...........but then, jpa aren't run by the brightest sparks, so they may have their own unique ideas......
chris_c28
post Sep 17 2008, 12:29 AM

882 posts

JPA has this weird and misleading concept that the best unis must have sandstone and Goth-styled buildings. The others will be overlooked as the lack of a sandstone building will apparently significantly affect elite students' performance.
kehler
post Sep 17 2008, 05:50 AM

76 posts

If I were JPA, I wouldn't give out post-STPM scholarships to Aust unis.. Well not unless the student applying for it is really excellent.
Getting into Aust unis, even the Go8 ones is so easy.

This post has been edited by kehler: Sep 17 2008, 05:51 AM
GongFuChau
post Sep 17 2008, 06:05 AM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

Ugh, the weather is chilly in the mornings and nights, but it can get kinda hot in the afternoons. Hope the wind doesn't get too strong today, my first flight training might be today biggrin.gif
Lim Ling Yang
post Sep 17 2008, 11:04 AM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

There is another avenue, but it is a longer road. From this year, any Malaysian who gets into an Ivy League university (in the United States) or Oxford and Cambridge (in Britain) or the Group of Eight in Australia, will be sponsored by the government, but again, in specified fields of study.

There’s another package. If you get into a local foreign university (a foreign university that has a Malaysian campus) — Nottingham, Monash, Curtin and Swinburne — you are also eligible for a PSD scholarship.
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sun...icle/index_html

Hmmm.....dunno what jpa is thinking.
raymones89
post Sep 17 2008, 02:51 PM

281 posts

can i ask how the australian university charge on the tuition fees? i saw in some of the university websites they will charge based on the number of subjects you take. Is it per semester? 1 sem in australia is how long?

and can everyone just share with us how much the usually spend a day and the total in a month? is the living cost in australia high? will be much appreciated, thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 2:58 pmi failed in my JPA application in 2006. Went for the interview but the result is dissapointing. i got 10 1A's (straight 1A's) in my SPM and my parents don't earn much.

i even applied for matriculation and I also failed LOL. I do not know for what reason. I remembered I just need to fill in my SPM results and not co-curriculum. My co-co result is still not bad, I played basketball in the national level. With my results i don't know why i even failed to apply maticulation. grumble.gif

This post has been edited by raymones89: Sep 17 2008, 02:58 PM
limeuu
post Sep 17 2008, 03:15 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 17 2008, 02:51 PM)
can i ask how the australian university charge on the tuition fees? i saw in some of the university websites they will charge based on the number of subjects you take. Is it per semester? 1 sem in australia is how long?

and can everyone just share with us how much the usually spend a day and the total in a month? is the living cost in australia high? will be much appreciated, thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 2:58 pmi failed in my JPA application in 2006. Went for the interview but the result is dissapointing. i got 10 1A's (straight 1A's) in my SPM and my parents don't earn much.

i even applied for matriculation and I also failed LOL. I do not know for what reason. I remembered I just need to fill in my SPM results and not co-curriculum. My co-co result is still not bad, I played basketball in the national level. With my results i don't know why i even failed to apply maticulation.  grumble.gif
you failed to get into matrik because:

1. only max 10% places for non-malay......

2. they usually take in 2nd liners, not the top students......that would be TOO much competition......

oz fees are by subjects or units.......so depends on how many subjects/units you need to graduate....and how many you take per sem......it varies, eg. some will take 3 one sem, and then 5 the next, ut on average, one is expected to take 4 subjects per sem........

sems are usually about 14 weeks, but actual contact period may be only 12 weeks, taking away mid sem break and public holidays......

cost of living depends on where you are, expect to pay a$120-200/week for accommodation, and 100-150/week for food/transportation/communication etc.......if you cook, you can save quite a lot.......eating out is expensive.....
mrRighthand
post Sep 17 2008, 03:32 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 17 2008, 02:51 PM)

and can everyone just share with us how much the usually spend a day and the total in a month? is the living cost in australia high? will be much appreciated, thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif

i even applied for matriculation and I also failed LOL. I do not know for what reason. I remembered I just need to fill in my SPM results and not co-curriculum. My co-co result is still not bad, I played basketball in the national level. With my results i don't know why i even failed to apply maticulation.  grumble.gif
No one know how they pick their chooses really smile.gif
there's alot of students out there with better results and achievement outside classroom than you but still got rejected, so dont be angry...
basically aussie universities charged their students per semester(you can also choose to pay all in one go for a year or bi-semesterly)... they count by how many subjects you're taking and what is the subject..normally its 8 subject per year... 1 sem is around 4 months...
raymones89
post Sep 17 2008, 04:17 PM

281 posts

thanks guys.

Can i pay the international fees for the first 2 years and for the 3rd and 4th year, after i get my PR, i pay the fees as local student there?

There is so much difference between international student tuition fees and local student student fees ohmy.gif

Please please australian universities, send me some offer LOL
mrRighthand
post Sep 17 2008, 04:39 PM

437 posts

its not hard to get an offer from aussie unis...so no worries there since your spm also can get good results already...
but i dun think so easy can get PR...i'm not very sure with the requirements actually...is there any sifu can explain plz?
december88
post Sep 17 2008, 05:01 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 17 2008, 04:17 PM)
thanks guys.

Can i pay the international fees for the first 2 years and for the 3rd and 4th year, after i get my PR, i pay the fees as local student there?

There is so much difference between international student tuition fees and local student student fees  ohmy.gif

very unlikely to be honest.
Please check the point system. trust me the first 60 points(half of the passing mark) itself you must at least have a degree (occupation nominated to be in short supplies). Unless your parents can get PR during your studies here then i guess you're eligible for local rate tertiary education, but not for all degrees, i know medicine is seriously hard to get subsided even if you get your PR one way or another, but it's not impossible.

If my memory serve me right: Passing Mark 120
Occupation on short supplies: 60points
IELTS: Minimum Band 7 for each 4 components 25 points, otherwise 15 points
Minimum 2 years study in Aussie- 5 points, 15 points if you grad with a 2nd upper class honour for undergrad studies(minimum 3 years study in Aussie)
So don't play play with your IELTS get 7 each component then you get 25 points for free.

So you do the maths then

http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/books6.htm -download booklet6

btw the law will change according to australian needs. So if your occupation is not in the list now, then don't be sad, check back

Cheesenium
post Sep 17 2008, 05:14 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kehler @ Sep 17 2008, 05:50 AM)
If I were JPA, I wouldn't give out post-STPM scholarships to Aust unis.. Well not unless the student applying for it is really excellent.
Getting into Aust unis, even the Go8 ones is so easy.
It's easy to get in but coming out is not easy.I have been studying for just one semester.I have seen a lot of people dropping out of uni,even after first few weeks.The class size just keep on shrinking.

Low requirement doesnt mean that a uni is mediocre,IMO.Thats a usual perception of Ivy League or Oxbridge graduates towards Go8 university.In the end,it still depends on yourself.The university is just a stepping stone to your career.

They let you go in easily because they want your money.

It's just my 2 cents.
limeuu
post Sep 17 2008, 05:35 PM

12,290 posts

thanks guys.

There is so much difference between international student tuition fees and local student student fees  ohmy.gif

how do you propose to become a pr? you will not be eligible to apply as a student, you will not get enough points......if your family (ie parents) is applying, then when you get the pr, you can then inform them and you will only need to pay 'commonwealth supported places' prices........

however note that for some very restricted courses, like medicine, you cannot convert to local student status......as you may deemed not entitled.......ie, if they judge you not eligible for a medical seat if you are local, as it is generally easier (ie with lower ter scores) for international students to enter medicine than locals.......

Added on September 17, 2008, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(december88 @ Sep 17 2008, 05:01 PM)
very unlikely to be honest.
Please check the point system. trust me the first 60 points(half of the passing mark) itself you must at least have a degree (occupation nominated to be in short supplies). Unless your parents can get PR during your studies here then i guess you're eligible for local rate tertiary education, but not for all degrees, i know medicine is seriously hard to get subsided even if you get your PR one way or another, but it's not impossible.

If my memory serve me right: Passing Mark 120
Occupation on short supplies: 60points
IELTS: Minimum Band 7 for each 4 components 25 points, otherwise 15 points
Minimum 2 years study in Aussie-  5 points, 15 points if you grad with a 2nd upper class honour for undergrad studies(minimum 3 years study in Aussie)
So don't play play with your IELTS get 7 each component then you get 25 points for free.

So you do the maths then

http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/books6.htm  -download booklet6

btw the law will change according to australian needs. So if your occupation is not in the list now, then don't be sad, check back
note that honours in oz is an extra year of study, NOT a measure of standard of achievement, as in the case of uk......ie, NOBODY gets an honours upon graduating from the basic course of study, no matter how well you do.......you then need to do an honours year, to get the honours attachment to you bachelor's degree.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 17 2008, 05:55 PM
zltan
post Sep 17 2008, 06:30 PM

695 posts

thanks guys.

Your chances on getting a PR are close to 0, unless:

1. You already have an undergraduate degree and get over 120 points (refer to December88's post)
2. You have no more immediate family members back in your home country (ie. your family has migrated to Australia)
3. You are a refugee

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 17 2008, 05:35 PM)
how do you propose to become a pr? you will not be eligible to apply as a student, you will not get enough points......if your family (ie parents) is applying, then when you get the pr, you can then inform them and you will only need to pay 'commonwealth supported places' prices........

however note that for some very restricted courses, like medicine, you cannot convert to local student status......as you may deemed not entitled.......ie, if they judge you not eligible for a medical seat if you are local, as it is generally easier (ie with lower ter scores) for international students to enter medicine than locals.......

Added on September 17, 2008, 5:55 pm
note that honours in oz is an extra year of study, NOT a measure of standard of achievement, as in the case of uk......ie, NOBODY gets an honours upon graduating from the basic course of study, no matter how well you do.......you then need to do an honours year, to get the honours attachment to you bachelor's degree.........
For all undergraduate courses in UniMelb, once you obtain a PR, you will be converted to Australian Full Fee place.
Then, if you are able to demonstrate high academic standards, you will be offered CSP.
Same goes for medicine (not sure about other unis), if you obtain a high average score.

Transfer to a Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP)

The University of Melbourne allows transfers from Australian full fee to Commonwealth Supported Places after a student has successfully completed at least one year of study with exceptional results. In 2007, this level was set at H2A (75%) average.

taken from http://www.medicine.unimelb.edu.au/future/requirements.html

For degrees such as law or med, there is no opportunity to do an extra honours year, so if you do well, you will be awarded a degree with honours.

Eg: http://www.medicine.unimelb.edu.au/docs/MB...alculations.pdf

This post has been edited by zltan: Sep 17 2008, 06:32 PM
raymones89
post Sep 17 2008, 06:46 PM

281 posts

my cousin is in adelaide doing biotech. i heard he said the tax is very high, that when you work as fresh grad, you have to sacrifice quite alot for the tax.

maybe he was just joking, not really sure about this. hmm.gif
TShaya
post Sep 17 2008, 07:57 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

thanks guys.

NO. If you do get (and the others have shown that it is near impossible as a student) a PR halfway through your course as a international student, you will loose your place as an international student, and will have to reapply, and even then I doubt you will be eligible for CSP. Full fees maybe.

For high level courses like Business, you should have little problem re-enrolling. But if you are doing something funky (say Bio-science) where the cut offs are vastly different between international and domestic students................................lets just say, if you had the money, you wouldn't be here.

Added on September 17, 2008, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(raymones89 @ Sep 17 2008, 06:46 PM)
my cousin is in adelaide doing biotech. i heard he said the tax is very high, that when you work as fresh grad, you have to sacrifice quite alot for the tax.

maybe he was just joking, not really sure about this.  hmm.gif
Yes, tax is high. Again, it depends on how much you earn, but paying 40% to the taxman is not unheard off.

As least the money does go back into society in the form of parks, well stocked libraries, roads etc.

This post has been edited by haya: Sep 17 2008, 07:59 PM
TShaya
post Sep 17 2008, 08:01 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Sep 17 2008, 05:14 PM)
It's easy to get in but coming out is not easy.I have been studying for just one semester.I have seen a lot of people dropping out of uni,even after first few weeks.The class size just keep on shrinking.

Low requirement doesnt mean that a uni is mediocre,IMO.Thats a usual perception of Ivy League or Oxbridge graduates towards Go8 university.In the end,it still depends on yourself.The university is just a stepping stone to your career.

They let you go in easily because they want your money.

It's just my 2 cents.
First year programming had a 40% failure rate in my uni. Go figure.

It's pretty much the same across the ditch.

Mantra: easy to get in, easy to fall out. Very different from the Asian systems.
SUSturbonetics86
post Sep 17 2008, 08:22 PM

144 posts

seriously IELTS is like nothing , once u can speak,write,listen and reading should be no ploblem

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:51 PM