didnt see you mentioned using it for pc..sorry..
i am using a 32" and only 1366x768...works fine for me so far.hehehe
Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
Jan 25 2009, 06:21 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
didnt see you mentioned using it for pc..sorry..
i am using a 32" and only 1366x768...works fine for me so far.hehehe |
Jan 26 2009, 07:06 AM
18,504 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: P.Jaya |
Just bought my Panasonic 42PV80HM in Legend(SS2).Price is very close to garage sales here.But,the best thing is Made in Singapore!
Jan 26 2009, 07:29 AM
150 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(stasio @ Jan 26 2009, 07:06 AM) Just bought my Panasonic 42PV80HM in Legend(SS2).Price is very close to garage sales here.But,the best thing is Made in Singapore! U doesnt seem to know abt QC. Eventhough it's made from Singapore, Japan etc. They have their own QC (Quality Control). Let say i bought my TV (Panasonic) it state made in China, it doesnt mean is not good. Only the different thing is the features.This post has been edited by allspark: Jan 26 2009, 07:30 AM |
Jan 26 2009, 07:37 AM
He,he even YOU say that QC is same,I still prefer from SINGAPORE.
No pollution!! CODE Only the different thing is the features. I thinking YOU talking about QC. Different features=>Different price! This post has been edited by stasio: Jan 26 2009, 07:55 AM |
Jan 26 2009, 08:53 AM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(allspark @ Jan 26 2009, 07:29 AM) U doesnt seem to know abt QC. Eventhough it's made from Singapore, Japan etc. They have their own QC (Quality Control). Let say i bought my TV (Panasonic) it state made in China, it doesnt mean is not good. Only the different thing is the features. How much you bought? |
Jan 26 2009, 09:03 AM
Jan 26 2009, 09:30 AM
819 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(stasio @ Jan 26 2009, 07:06 AM) Just bought my Panasonic 42PV80HM in Legend(SS2).Price is very close to garage sales here.But,the best thing is Made in Singapore! Err, all PV80HM's are made in Singapore !!!Added on January 26, 2009, 9:46 amAll those with DV410 and 42PV80HM combination please check if you have this problem, When the DV410 output is set to RGB or Component via HDMI, there is interference like 'light snowy" image on blacks. You can test this with switching on the DV410, it will show the PIONEER logo with black background. Snowy white dots fill the screen over the black back ground. When the DV410 output is set to FULL RGB via HDMI, this does not occur. There is a smooth black back ground. You may have to set your brightness a little bit more to see this issue. Please test on your sets and let me know if this is the same. If not i may have a problem. (same Q is posted in "Best HDMI DVD Player Ver2.0) This post has been edited by gsdev: Jan 26 2009, 09:47 AM |
Jan 26 2009, 01:09 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(allspark @ Jan 26 2009, 07:29 AM) U doesnt seem to know abt QC. Eventhough it's made from Singapore, Japan etc. They have their own QC (Quality Control). Let say i bought my TV (Panasonic) it state made in China, it doesnt mean is not good. Only the different thing is the features. from my experience of buying so many items ranging from JDM Car to electronic equipment, got difference wor! between Japan Made and malaysia/china/etc made.. |
Jan 26 2009, 01:44 PM
659 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Russia with Love |
sorry if this question has been asked. Does S-Video really give better quality when watching ASTRO compared to Composite cable ?
Jan 26 2009, 02:02 PM
Jan 26 2009, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 26 2009, 01:09 PM) from my experience of buying so many items ranging from JDM Car to electronic equipment, got difference wor! between Japan Made and malaysia/china/etc made.. I agree with you, but nowadays, everything also made in malaysia or china. Somemore with 5 years warranty, who cares if it is made in Singapore? By 5 years time, plasma prices would be so cheap and you'd probably throw your current plasma. A 42 inch would probably be RM999 in 5 years time.My 42 inch, only Standard Definition, not even 720p, cost RM10,000 when I bought 3 years ago. Today, a HD ready 42 inch Panasonic less than RM3400 only. This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jan 26 2009, 03:18 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 26 2009, 03:16 PM) I agree with you, but nowadays, everything also made in malaysia or china. Somemore with 5 years warranty, who cares if it is made in Singapore? By 5 years time, plasma prices would be so cheap and you'd probably throw your current plasma. A 42 inch would probably be RM999 in 5 years time. true also .. My 42 inch, only Standard Definition, not even 720p, cost RM10,000 when I bought 3 years ago. Today, a HD ready 42 inch Panasonic less than RM3400 only. AV amp also like that.. 2-3 years ago 4-5k amp can buang into longkang since dun even have the features of a 2-3k AV amp now (video upscaling, HDMI 1.3, TrueHD/DTS MA etc).. This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 26 2009, 03:24 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 03:22 PM
295 posts Joined: May 2008 |
This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Jan 26 2009, 03:25 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 26 2009, 03:22 PM) true also .. everything technology also like that. Last time, notebooks were 10k. My friend even bought RM18,000. Now even RM1799 can get much more powerful one.AV amp also like that.. 2-3 years ago 4-5k amp can buang into longkang since dun even have the features of a 2-3k AV amp now (video upscaling, HDMI 1.3, TrueHD/DTS MA etc).. Same with handphones. I am sure in 5 years time, even the 50 inch plasma will be RM999. |
Jan 26 2009, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:53 PM) coming from a manufacturing background, I'm not sure on this.. haha!..there is raw material/transportation/storage/profit cost limitation.. (raw material is like the raw costs of plastics/glass/metal/electronics..) cannot be after 10years from now, 50inch TV is RM300-RM500 rite? or RM10 handphone (unless subsidized plan by Network operator) I still dun see a 29inch CRT TV being RM100 after so many years.. it probably get phased out. hehe! |
Jan 26 2009, 06:46 PM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:53 PM) everything technology also like that. Last time, notebooks were 10k. My friend even bought RM18,000. Now even RM1799 can get much more powerful one. come on la. I know you sell egg (michael tan = mai kai tan = sell egg). But RM999 for 50"?Same with handphones. I am sure in 5 years time, even the 50 inch plasma will be RM999. |
Jan 26 2009, 11:48 PM
48 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Hi guys, I'm going to buy a LCD TV soon. I'm eyeing on Samsung LA40A330. Main purpose of this TV would probably to play PS3 / Xbox 360 games.
I would like to know whether there's a way to not make the video image from a non-widescreen source (astro / old PS2 games) stretched to fill the screen and just display them in letterbox mode? |
Jan 26 2009, 11:49 PM
4,840 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Universal |
QUOTE(m3red1th @ Jan 26 2009, 11:48 PM) Hi guys, I'm going to buy a LCD TV soon. I'm eyeing on Samsung LA40A330. Main purpose of this TV would probably to play PS3 / Xbox 360 games. LA40A330 has been discontinued.. Take the series 4 at low enough price (RRP RM3799)I would like to know whether there's a way to not make the video image from a non-widescreen source (astro / old PS2 games) stretched to fill the screen and just display them in letterbox mode? u can adjust the picture to 4:3.. This post has been edited by accs_centre: Jan 26 2009, 11:51 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 11:56 PM
Jan 27 2009, 01:54 AM
48 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 26 2009, 11:49 PM) LA40A330 has been discontinued.. Take the series 4 at low enough price (RRP RM3799) RRP RM 3799 u can adjust the picture to 4:3.. Actually my mom's the one who's going to buy the TV, but she's going to spend her money on a generic-no-brand 40"LCD TV she saw at Tesco which costs about RM 2400. So I asked her to not buy that stupid TV, and told her I'm willing to top up and get a better 40" TV. I'm willing to top up RM 1k, which means the budget is now around RM 3400. Any good 40" LCD TV that you can recommend at that price? One more question, I noticed that some of the TV claim that they support 1080p video signal despite of having the native resolution of 1366x768. Does this mean that the TV will accept 1080p signal and then downscale it to 1366x768? |
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:10 PM |