Travel Bandung
senyii
Mar 24 2011, 10:53 AM
No I mean whole package from bandung like the place I mention in previous post to borrobudur (and few other temples nearby)
Added on March 24, 2011, 10:55 amBtw I only need to pay for early entrance to borrobudur to see sunrise!normal entrance included in my hotel package!
This post has been edited by senyii: Mar 24 2011, 10:55 AM
stimix
Mar 24 2011, 11:00 AM
Dunno
Oh package deal..should be OK if inclusive of entrance fee..
senyii
Mar 24 2011, 11:07 AM
Only inclusive of entrance to borrobudur other entrance fee is excluded!I'll be staying in hotel like perdana wisata,mutiara n manohara!
stimix
Mar 24 2011, 11:09 AM
Dunno
Manohara is part of Borobudor temple complex. it's after the ticket counter.& yeah I heard those staying there for sure getting the best deal ..can visit borobudor whole day haha..My lovely borobudor I visited last week now my siggy liao  & BTW, shopping at the borobudor canopy walk after the ship museum much better than Bandung...Can get key chain & some soiuvenir as low as Rp100k (RM0.35) and tee-shirst from Rp15K (RM4.35)  ..those lava stone sculpture there also dirt cheap if you know how to bargain hard!! I got 2 for Rp50K (RM18)..when someone offered a slightly small one for only Rp20K (RM7) for 2..darmm... QUOTE(senyii @ Mar 24 2011, 11:07 AM) Only inclusive of entrance to borrobudur other entrance fee is excluded!I'll be staying in hotel like perdana wisata,mutiara n manohara! This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 24 2011, 11:13 AM
senyii
Mar 24 2011, 11:27 AM
Oh ok my shopping will be on the last day..so maybe canbuy sm stuff when I'm in borrobudur but that shitty airasia change my flight time to earlier n I can't shop more!darn..
nevland
Mar 24 2011, 03:00 PM
suggest me the hotel that's around RM130.... walking distance to popular factory outlets /shopping area in Bandung..... tqvm
ryl
Mar 29 2011, 09:38 PM

hey could anyone update the price of the garments there in Bandung as i heard that the average prices have increased substantially? Is that true? Any hotel recommendation nearby FO or Rumah Mode? Kindly appreciate the feedback for this. Thanks
This post has been edited by ryl: Mar 29 2011, 10:51 PM
forbiddensubject
Mar 30 2011, 02:59 PM
Tip:
1. Never drink unbottled water in indonesia. You might be really sensitive and get diarrhea.
2. Never go on cabs other then Blue Bird or youll prolly get ripped off.
3. Angkot is cheap only if you speak bahasa indonesia, and you need to know the route too, or youll be incredibly lost.
4. If you have an Indonesian speaking friend, everything will be cheaper.
Listiani
Apr 3 2011, 04:05 PM
Bandung is not cheap as before. The 1st time AA open KL/Bandung route, things were more cheaper. You can get nice embroidery telekung in pasar baru as low as RM18 per set. Most factory outlet sells good quality t-shirt, shoes, bags at the very good price. But now everything is over price and low quality.
I know one hotel that I frequented around Jln Martadinata area. The hotel is close to FO such as Heritage, Terminal Tas, For Men, Cascade and several more. Let me know if you want the owner phone number.
rushrush
Apr 5 2011, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 3 2011, 04:05 PM) Bandung is not cheap as before. The 1st time AA open KL/Bandung route, things were more cheaper. You can get nice embroidery telekung in pasar baru as low as RM18 per set. Most factory outlet sells good quality t-shirt, shoes, bags at the very good price. But now everything is over price and low quality. I know one hotel that I frequented around Jln Martadinata area. The hotel is close to FO such as Heritage, Terminal Tas, For Men, Cascade and several more. Let me know if you want the owner phone number. Nevland, The kind of budget that you have will get you a room at Hotel Progo, located just 250m away (or it is less?) from the Jalan Banda/Martadinata aka Riau road junction where some 5-6 FOs clustered (Heritage, Cascade, Summit, Stamp, Formen). You can't go wrong...it's the nearest hotel to the FOs!
Listiani
Apr 5 2011, 01:28 PM
Yeah, I always stay at Progo Hotel. The owner is Pak Henry. If anybody wants his hp number can pm me. QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 01:23 PM) Nevland, The kind of budget that you have will get you a room at Hotel Progo, located just 250m away (or it is less?) from the Jalan Banda/Martadinata aka Riau road junction where some 5-6 FOs clustered (Heritage, Cascade, Summit, Stamp, Formen). You can't go wrong...it's the nearest hotel to the FOs!
rushrush
Apr 5 2011, 02:10 PM
BTW, do not expect 5 star treatment at Progo! It's a basic 50-room 3-storey hotel converted from a hostel some 15 years ago. Some of the newer rooms are on the upper floors. Hot water a bit slow due to low water pressure; and for breakfast it's better you bring your own instant noodle! But in terms of location its unbeatable! I wanted to stay there last Nov (I had stayed there once before) but was shocked when told it's fully booked for the whole of Nov, Dec 2010 and first half of Jan 2011; testimony of its popularity! Yep! Since Bandung became popular with M'sian and S'pore tourists, not to mention those from Jakarta, prices of just about everything have gone up all the way without signs of abetting! However, for ladies looking for high quality fabrics, do visit Pasar Baru, there are many, many shops but there is one that is owned by a Japanese-Indian (Japanese Citizen of Indian ethnicity) ... yep.....a "Japind".....hard to believe but its true - I didn't believe it when my friend told me about it until when I met this guy in person. This Japind proudly boasted that nobody else in Pasar Baru can match his prices for Japanese and Korean fabrics. This guy showed me his clientele list + namecards + samples of Purchase Orders from the big Fabrics stores in KL - Gulati's, Jakel, Maya, etc.....you name it he has it.... even UMNO bought from him for their Wanita uniform! No wonder when my other half went to Jalan TAR later she confirmed prices in this guys shop is between 30-40% of those sold in KL. I won't name his shop cos I don't get paid to promote him! For those going to FOs, beware only 30-40% of the goods are original rejects/seconds/overruns/old stocks etc. The rest are cheap imitations from China or Indonesia....but then again for me that's the fun part - trying to find the original items! For branded leather goods, 100% fakes! You are better off in Petaling Street!
Listiani
Apr 5 2011, 02:24 PM
OH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I went to his shop too because of the fabric selection. A friend getting married and we went there to buy the material  Since we, the ladies are soooo good in selecting material, we can tell the quality by looking at the fabrics. However, all hope are not lost yet. As you said, the fun part looking for good items with good price. Hubby and me went to BABE (Barang Bekas) and found new HUGO Boss jacket (out of season of course) for RM60 (can't remember the exact figure but is within that figure). ORIGINAL HUGO Boss jacket & my husband grinning from ear to ear everytime people compliment his jacket QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 02:10 PM) BTW, do not expect 5 star treatment at Progo! It's a basic 50-room 3-storey hotel converted from a hostel some 15 years ago. Some of the newer rooms are on the upper floors. Hot water a bit slow due to low water pressure; and for breakfast it's better you bring your own instant noodle! But in terms of location its unbeatable! I wanted to stay there last Nov (I had stayed there once before) but was shocked when told it's fully booked for the whole of Nov, Dec 2010 and first half of Jan 2011; testimony of its popularity! Yep! Since Bandung became popular with M'sian and S'pore tourists, not to mention those from Jakarta, prices of just about everything have gone up all the way without signs of abetting! However, for ladies looking for high quality fabrics, do visit Pasar Baru, there are many, many shops but there is one that is owned by a Japanese-Indian (Japanese Citizen of Indian ethnicity) ... yep.....a "Japind".....hard to believe but its true - I didn't believe it when my friend told me about it until when I met this guy in person. This Japind proudly boasted that nobody else in Pasar Baru can match his prices for Japanese and Korean fabrics. This guy showed me his clientele list + namecards + samples of Purchase Orders from the big Fabrics stores in KL - Gulati's, Jakel, Maya, etc.....you name it he has it.... even UMNO bought from him for their Wanita uniform! No wonder when my other half went to Jalan TAR later she confirmed prices in this guys shop is between 30-40% of those sold in KL. I won't name his shop cos I don't get paid to promote him! For those going to FOs, beware only 30-40% of the goods are original rejects/seconds/overruns/old stocks etc. The rest are cheap imitations from China or Indonesia....but then again for me that's the fun part - trying to find the original items! For branded leather goods, 100% fakes! You are better off in Petaling Street! This post has been edited by Listiani: Apr 5 2011, 03:21 PM
rushrush
Apr 5 2011, 03:07 PM
Listiani, Looks like you and me have been to the same places! Hehehe..... I've been to BDG five times (heck, maybe more!) since 2008 and my wife have made it a compulsory annual shopping trip! Like you said, all hope are not lost yet...... recently I saw on internet ..in Spore someone selling Armani Exchange T-Shirts (Made in Peru) for SGD49 ...approx RM115; he claimed these were retailing at SGD100. I bought four of those at Rumah Mode at about RM35/pce; I had bought exactly the same one before at AX store at Pavillion for RM220! And yes...all of them are "Hencho en Peru"! I almost cried.......mixed up between exasperation and happiness! Worth being the first guy at Rumah Mode that morning.....I was there at 9.30 sharp and just barged in - turned out there was a staff briefing and store only open at 9.45am. BTW, D'Cost Seafood as Setabudi is very2 highly recommended ...... "Mutu Bintang Lima; Harga Kaki Lima" ...........its cheap and great service (They use PDA or IPOD to take orders, hows that!)
Listiani
Apr 5 2011, 03:19 PM
Goodness!!! Same here. I went to Bandung at least 5 or 6 times a year!!!! Just for makan and shopping. Sometimes, if I miss Browniess Kukus, I fly there on Saturday morning and return on Sunday evening. Yes, we must be patient when looks for certain items. Setia Budi Seafood is new to me. Never been there yet. Should give it a try QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 03:07 PM) Listiani, Looks like you and me have been to the same places! Hehehe..... I've been to BDG five times (heck, maybe more!) since 2008 and my wife have made it a compulsory annual shopping trip! Like you said, all hope are not lost yet...... recently I saw on internet ..in Spore someone selling Armani Exchange T-Shirts (Made in Peru) for SGD49 ...approx RM115; he claimed these were retailing at SGD100. I bought four of those at Rumah Mode at about RM35/pce; I had bought exactly the same one before at AX store at Pavillion for RM220! And yes...all of them are "Hencho en Peru"! I almost cried.......mixed up between exasperation and happiness! Worth being the first guy at Rumah Mode that morning.....I was there at 9.30 sharp and just barged in - turned out there was a staff briefing and store only open at 9.45am. BTW, D'Cost Seafood as Setabudi is very2 highly recommended ...... "Mutu Bintang Lima; Harga Kaki Lima" ...........its cheap and great service (They use PDA or IPOD to take orders, hows that!)
stimix
Apr 5 2011, 03:21 PM
Dunno
Wah I din knwo bandung really hv lotsa fanboy..esp those crazy of branding haha..
Well, not for me as i dun buy anything >RM15 for tee-shirt haha
rushrush
Apr 5 2011, 04:18 PM
Listiani, You should try D'Cost Seafood at (typo error "as") Setiabudhi. This Resto has outlets in many places throughout Indonesia especially JKT. Been there many times and they really live up to their motto! If only someone could clone their biz model here! You can check out their website to check their menu & prices; the place is usually super crammed with people but service is surprisingly quick! Guys, Everytime I get back from BDG I start to plan for the next trip.... hehehe these days I'm wearing Armanis, Burberrys (Don't be shocked- Made in M'sia - how to get it here?) and Calvin Klein as pajamas! However, before you guys get excited to go to BDG do very detail research on branded items lest you buy those made in China. Bear in mind if you are looking for the likes of Prada, Burberry, Gucci, Christian Dior, Emporio Armani and other very high end apparels; these are not manufactured outside Europe; so its unlikely that you will find them in BDG. (M'sia produces some limited range of Gucci and Burberry - please Google for a report by Penang state Govt think tank unit on this). But for second liners like Guess, Esprit, Elle, Quicksilver, Roxy, MNG, Zara, Abercrombie sure you can find these.
shiloong7081
Apr 5 2011, 04:41 PM
and those are outlet apparel ? not china fakes ?
rushrush
Apr 5 2011, 05:11 PM
Shiloong, Sorry , can quite make out what do you mean by "outlet apparel"
shiloong7081
Apr 5 2011, 05:29 PM
i mean those are factory outlet stores ?