108 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Air Cooling Discussion Thread V3, Database, FAQ, Guides and Discussion!

ntw
post Jun 18 2013, 11:56 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(Naraw @ Jun 17 2013, 04:58 PM)
Guys.. What's the best cooling fan available? High cfm and low noise.
i guess the other sifus would recommend this: Scythe Gentle Typhoon
Edifier
post Jun 19 2013, 01:44 PM

Store Representative
9,134 posts

QUOTE(Naraw @ Jun 17 2013, 04:58 PM)
Guys.. What's the best cooling fan available? High cfm and low noise.
Give Noctua fan a try.
工藤新一
post Jun 19 2013, 08:18 PM

472 posts

wondering why no one using Phanteks- PH-TC14PE?
how if compare with Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro?

Beside, I have a stupid question, is it usually 1 thermal paste (Ocz Freeze, Tuniq TX-2 and Arctic Cooling MX-2) is more than enuf for one time apply?
ntw
post Jun 20 2013, 02:21 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Jun 19 2013, 08:18 PM)
wondering why no one using Phanteks- PH-TC14PE?
how if compare with Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro?

Beside, I have a stupid question, is it usually 1 thermal paste (Ocz Freeze, Tuniq TX-2 and Arctic Cooling MX-2) is more than enuf for one time apply?
hardwaresecret link for Phanteks TC14PE review: link

those u bought from shops normally can last around 2 to 5 applications, depending on your application style
工藤新一
post Jun 20 2013, 08:56 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 20 2013, 02:21 AM)
hardwaresecret link for Phanteks TC14PE review: link

those u bought from shops normally can last around 2 to 5 applications, depending on your application style
ok, thanks for the info ^^
ff7yta
post Jul 18 2013, 03:13 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

The time has come for me to conduct another round of cleaning on my 3 years old AMD gaming rig. It has been more then 6 months since my CPU heatsink (Thermaltake FRIO) was cleaned.

This is my rig.

Need to unscrew four nuts on the back plate to remove the HSF.

More then 6 months of usage

Oxidation after 3 years

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Aug 4 2013, 02:38 PM
ff7yta
post Jul 18 2013, 03:14 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

The most important part comes down to using a cleaning agent that does the job. I will be using an industrial grade Alkaline Coil Cleaner made for air conditioners; compressor, cooling coil, condenser and evaporator cleaning. Mixed in a ratio of 1:4 it is extremely potent, not to mention causing rashes on my skin upon contact.

Yes, that is me. Picture taken by my fiancee

I find the solution bubbles extremely amusing and looks like a whirlpool. Though I would share this as well laugh.gif
I repeated a wash (3 minutes), soak (5 minutes) and rinse of the HSF a total of 3 times.

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Aug 4 2013, 02:37 PM
ff7yta
post Jul 18 2013, 03:14 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

I will not be using rubber gromets anymore. They are hard to remove and become weaker over time, afraid that one day the fan just drops off while I am fragging my opponents. I will also be swapping the fan with a brand new Scythe Gentle Typhoon.

Does anyone know how to open thermaltake fans? I thought I wanted to add some lubrication before storing but it seems that they permanently sealed the access point.

Trashcan needs no introduction. Take that box!

Using my old MX4. I have no idea how many times I've used it and there is still a lot more.

Load temp is 60C before cleaning and 48C after cleaning.

cheers.gif

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Aug 10 2013, 03:13 PM
Mavik
post Aug 6 2013, 11:52 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Good stuf, a drop in 12C just by cleaning it!
Fawkes
post Aug 7 2013, 01:47 PM

584 posts

Is Artic Cooling MX-4 good enough? Or is there a better thermal paste for similar price?
TStkh_1001
post Aug 8 2013, 11:00 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 18 2013, 03:13 PM)
The time has come for me to conduct another round of cleaning on my 3 years old AMD gaming rig. It has been more then 6 months since my CPU heatsink (Thermaltake FRIO) was cleaned.

This is my rig.

Need to unscrew four nuts on the back plate to remove the HSF.

More then 6 months of usage

Oxidation after 3 years

lol

i have just cleaned my own thermalright today. using back tuniq tx2 which already kept for years tongue.gif

i think my thermalright ( cant even remember the model name) corroded already due to too much dust trapped for too long lol
ff7yta
post Aug 10 2013, 03:08 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Aug 7 2013, 01:47 PM)
Is Artic Cooling MX-4 good enough? Or is there a better thermal paste for similar price?
The are minimal to zero difference in most of today's thermal paste. It really comes down to which brand you prefer.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 6 2013, 11:52 AM)
Good stuf, a drop in 12C just by cleaning it!
The temperature had always been around 50C when it was new. Cleaning renewed its performance

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Aug 10 2013, 03:14 PM
Zzorro
post Aug 13 2013, 04:23 AM

*retirement™
1,023 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 18 2013, 04:14 PM)

I will not be using rubber gromets anymore. They are hard to remove and become weaker over time, afraid that one day the fan just drops off while I am fragging my opponents. I will also be swapping the fan with a brand new Scythe Gentle Typhoon.

Load temp is 60C before cleaning and 48C after cleaning.

cheers.gif

look good thumbup.gif
BTW...Load temp is 60C before cleaning and 48C after cleaning. FOR NORMAL LOAD,50% or 100% LOAD... STOCK SPEED or OC??? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Zzorro: Aug 13 2013, 04:26 AM
ff7yta
post Aug 13 2013, 09:20 AM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Aug 13 2013, 04:23 AM)
look good thumbup.gif
BTW...Load temp is 60C before cleaning and 48C after cleaning. FOR NORMAL LOAD,50% or 100% LOAD... STOCK SPEED or OC??? hmm.gif
During bench marking, it is understood as a standard to always load the object to 100% for at least 20 minutes.

OC-ed to from 2.8 GHz to 3.5 GHz at 1.45v.

Ask yourself, why do we spend money on cooling if we dont plan to overclock the processor? smile.gif Stock heatsink for stock speeds, save money.

This post has been edited by ff7yta: Aug 13 2013, 09:25 AM
Zzorro
post Aug 13 2013, 11:10 AM

*retirement™
1,023 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Aug 13 2013, 10:20 AM)
During bench marking, it is understood as a standard to always load the object to 100% for at least 20 minutes.

OC-ed to from 2.8 GHz to 3.5 GHz at 1.45v.

Ask yourself, why do we spend money on cooling if we dont plan to overclock the processor?  smile.gif Stock heatsink for stock speeds, save money.
good temperature and satisfactory ... brovoooo rclxms.gif
gxthelord
post Oct 1 2013, 03:17 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

hi sifu sifu here. biggrin.gif I'm looking for a good cooler with a budget within RM150. Are there any good cooler in this price range? I will OC a little bit, but most importantly it must look good from front as I have windowed side panel.
The only one I can think of is V6GT if I stretech my budget to Rm200
And also CM Seidon 120V but I'm not sure about the performance of this(can't find review so far)
ahlek93
post Jan 21 2014, 10:52 PM

Any Intro For Radeon HD 4870 Heatsink and Fan!! Thank!!
ahlek93
post Jan 21 2014, 10:52 PM

Any Intro For Radeon HD 4870 Heatsink and Fan!! Thank!!
anuar_mlk001
post Feb 9 2014, 04:20 PM

33 posts

Hello sifu, im going to buy gaming rig, the processor is amd FX6300... This rig will use for gaming only.. no plan to overclock.. The question is, Do I need to buy a CPU Cooler or the stock cooler is enough for gaming.. Thanks.. ur reply is highly appreciate. smile.gif

This post has been edited by anuar_mlk001: Feb 9 2014, 04:21 PM
gengstapo
post Feb 9 2014, 05:28 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(anuar_mlk001 @ Feb 9 2014, 04:20 PM)
Hello sifu, im going to buy gaming rig, the processor is amd FX6300... This rig will use for gaming only.. no plan to overclock.. The question is, Do I need to buy a CPU Cooler or the stock cooler is enough for gaming.. Thanks.. ur reply is highly appreciate. smile.gif
Stock cooler shall be gud enough plus, i dont think AMD that hot CPU since Athlon64

108 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:17 AM