sunauto
post Sep 1 2008, 12:37 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Sep 1 2008, 11:32 AM)
That's a sony style shop....at jusco JB,
try to nego... but they instead haha.. :(
No wonder la ....... if you buy it outside, sure got discount one or unless if you have the Sony Style member card. For the price you pay, you can apply their member card. Got discounts and points given. wink.gif
WIlds
post Sep 1 2008, 03:57 PM

107 posts

Okay i just got it for RM328 @ D'Legend SS2 very near Murni.... i ask why so cheap the boss specky chinese guy say they were trade in by customer who buy Sony LCD TV buy do not want dvd i guess they must have PS3 or some other blue ray playa ... Cheers
sunauto
post Sep 1 2008, 06:23 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(WIlds @ Sep 1 2008, 03:57 PM)
Okay i just got it for RM328  @ D'Legend SS2 very near Murni.... i ask why so cheap the boss specky chinese guy say they were trade in by customer who buy Sony LCD TV  buy do not want dvd i guess they must have PS3 or some other blue ray playa ... Cheers
So that means, they're selling the free gifts to the customers. At least the boss was honest about this. rclxms.gif
WIlds
post Sep 1 2008, 06:51 PM

107 posts

Yup so i don't how many they have left so whoever was to get the cheap Sony 708 better go look for the boss as the worker there dont know jack at all.

Cheers
sunauto
post Sep 1 2008, 06:55 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(WIlds @ Sep 1 2008, 06:51 PM)
Yup so i don't how many they have left  so whoever was to get the cheap Sony 708  better go look for the boss as the worker there dont know jack  at all. 

Cheers
Glad that you have got the player at a great price. Good for you. thumbup.gif
junchoon
post Sep 2 2008, 11:06 AM

411 posts

wish to know how DV-610 CD sound playback compared with a Marantz CD-63MKII KI. deciding whether to get a DVD player with good CD sound or normal DVD plus a dedicated CD player. the player will be in a dedicated stereo room.

currently using a pioneer dv-696, in the living room.

thanks.
wps
arremie
post Sep 2 2008, 03:07 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

If you got dedicated room for music then you should get dedicated player for playing music CD also la. Later add dedicated SACD. Then phono hehe wink.gif
junchoon
post Sep 2 2008, 04:34 PM

411 posts

well, i am fine with the current sound of DV-696, even though it is a DVD player. but have not compared with a dedicated CD player yet. it will be paired with a Stranwood Artemis and Epos M16.

cheers,
wps
pillage2001
post Sep 2 2008, 05:40 PM

1,991 posts

Are both the Sony 708 and Phillips region free players??

Also, I see that Sony 708 is losing out in the sound dept as compared to the phillips but does the phillips upscale video better than the Sony??
mikapoh
post Sep 2 2008, 09:14 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 2 2008, 05:40 PM)

Also, I see that Sony 708 is losing out in the sound dept as compared to the phillips but does the phillips upscale video better than the Sony??
How do you know its sound is losing out ?? Music sound or theatre sound ?

pillage2001
post Sep 2 2008, 09:16 PM

1,991 posts

Well, by looking at the specs. Haven't really seen both players but would like a review before buying. Assuming that USB is not really an important feature to have........which would you guys opt for?? Which player has the better upscaling capability?? Do they upscale Divx files too?? is this done automatically??

Also, I assume they're region free right? smile.gif
mikapoh
post Sep 2 2008, 09:31 PM

1,263 posts

I got some pretty good reviews on Sony 708 from some of sifus here.

I think the most important thing it has is ability to ready all kinds of disc without much hassle rite?
sunauto
post Sep 2 2008, 09:42 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 2 2008, 09:31 PM)
I got some pretty good reviews on Sony 708 from some of sifus here.

I think the most important thing it has is ability to ready all kinds of disc without much hassle rite?
That's true and secondly, it must be long lasting and finally, the spare parts are easily available plus cheap. smile.gif
pillage2001
post Sep 2 2008, 09:50 PM

1,991 posts

Okie then.......is 708 region free??? biggrin.gif
sunauto
post Sep 3 2008, 12:01 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 2 2008, 05:40 PM)

The 708 is a region free dvd player straight from the box and for the sound department, if you have an AV receiver, all the DD and DTS tracks will be decoded by the amp so it's hardware dependent unless you're talking about using the dvd player directly to your tv, lcd or plasma, then that's a different story.
pillage2001
post Sep 3 2008, 12:06 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 3 2008, 12:01 AM)
The 708 is a region free dvd player straight from the box and for the sound department, if you have an AV receiver, all the DD and DTS tracks will be decoded by the amp so it's hardware dependent unless you're talking about using the dvd player directly to your tv, lcd or plasma, then that's a different story.
I don't have any amp to decode it now so it'll just be the TV and the player. smile.gif I guess I'll buy the 708 then though it lacks the USB.

Also, how do I directly display my movie through S video ( on my pc to the TV? ) it seems like i can only display windows but when I try to play a movie. It blanks out and the max resolution is only 1024x768?? :S
sunauto
post Sep 3 2008, 01:47 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 3 2008, 12:06 AM)
I don't have any amp to decode it now so it'll just be the TV and the player. smile.gif I guess I'll buy the 708 then though it lacks the USB.

Also, how do I directly display my movie through S video ( on my pc to the TV? ) it seems like i can only display windows but when I try to play a movie. It blanks out and the max resolution is only 1024x768?? :S
Try dropping the resolution to 640 X 480 if you're using a normal CRT tv.
pillage2001
post Sep 3 2008, 01:56 AM

1,991 posts

my TV being the LCD tv used. smile.gif Sorry for being vague......

Anyway, back to the topic. Don't wanna stray away.....
csiongp
post Sep 3 2008, 09:36 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Sep 2 2008, 11:06 AM)
wish to know how DV-610 CD sound playback compared with a Marantz CD-63MKII KI.  deciding whether to get a DVD player with good CD sound or normal DVD plus a dedicated CD player.  the player will be in a dedicated stereo room.
Me too looking for a dvd player that can play good cd sound. How about Denon 1740 or Marantz dv4100? Anybody had any comment on these 2 players?

sunauto
post Sep 3 2008, 10:25 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(csiongp @ Sep 3 2008, 09:36 AM)
Me too looking for a dvd player that can play good cd sound. How about Denon 1740 or Marantz dv4100? Anybody had any comment on these 2 players?
I believe Marantz DV4100 will be a better choice for playing cds. You can give it a try. I prefer this one to Denon 1740.

40 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:57 PM