Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player Ver2.0, I've found mine. Have you

mikapoh
post Aug 25 2008, 11:55 PM

1,263 posts

Another questions on Pioneer DV410-vk.

1) Is this player sensitive in reading any disc or not?

2) Is this player comes with optical output?

3) Which one is better in PQ compare to Sony DVP-708?

mikapoh
post Aug 26 2008, 01:56 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(confused-freaker @ Aug 26 2008, 12:40 AM)
hi there, new with all these... my panny plasma came today and i used my old dvd player (component out) to play....and i must say it looked really ugly, like jagged edges etc so i would like to get a new hdmi dvd player tongue.gif ...the thing here is are there any dvd players that would play xvid 720p or h264 720p ? or i'm just bound to get something like xvids standard def videos on current dvd players?

as for philips dvp5996k, can i play movies of xvid dvd etc directly from usb ? thanks
I am also using components cable to route my Panny Plasma and I play the movie "The Ghost Rider" then u immediately notice the strength of plasma, producing deep black background when it matters while the fire in the movie presents a well contrast color.

My suggestion is get a movie copied from bluray or dvd 9 disc tongue.gif . Dont play cheap-scale disc.

However, my problem is my AVR is freezing during some playbacks. I need to get some easy readable DVDP while I can enjoy hdmi connection. Right now, sony DVP-708HP is my choice with its optical output. Any ideas any other as my avr only has optical input.

mikapoh
post Aug 27 2008, 09:19 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Aug 26 2008, 10:20 PM)
New sony 708 user here haha....
So, is the Sony 708 a good buy in terms of its PQ & upscaling thingy.......?

Compare to the popluar model of Philips 5986, which one is better?
mikapoh
post Aug 27 2008, 01:59 PM

1,263 posts

Hi all panny plasma fans,

TOday I have discovered LATTEST Panny DVDP, DVD-S54. It has all the features you ever wanted.

How u sifus rate this product compare to SONY 708 player ???

Features
Picture/Display
Progressive Scan
Digital Noise Reduction
Colour Detail Enhancer
Manufacturers Technology Features
HD Ready
VIERA LINK
Playback
DVD (Digital Versatile Disc)
DVD -RW (Re-Recordable)
DVD-R (Recordable)
DVD RAM (Re-Recordable)
MP3 (MPEG-3)
VCD (Video CD)
CD-R (Recordable)
CD-RW (Re-Recordable)
SVCD (Super Video CD)
CD (Compact Disc)
MP4 (MPEG-4)
WMA (Windows Media Audio)
DivX® Video Compatible
Connections
1 x HDMI Connection
1 x S-Video Connection
1 x Component Video Connection
1 x Co-axial Digital Connection
1 x RGB Scart Connection
Power,Weight & Dimensions
2 Kg Unit Weight (Approx)
430 x 43 x 231 mm mm (W/H/D) Dimensions
AC 230 to 240V, 50 Hz Mains Power
9 W Power Consumption
1 W Standby Power Consumption

Attached image(s)
mikapoh
post Aug 27 2008, 04:04 PM

1,263 posts

[Both perform well, so if you're a panny fan and want to make full use of vieralink, you won't regret the S54. Likewise, if you enjoy playing USB video files on your widescreen, the 5996 won't disappoint either. Both are fine machines.

[/quote]

Wow, you are pretty good at picture audition. Even know which sector a player performs better.
It's a pity u can do comparison for Sony 708. But if u have a chance, be sure to drop comments here as I will be eagerly hearing from you, 99below0.

I owned the lovely Panny plasma & thinking this panny dvd player will form an excellent partner. And now, hearing your good comment on panny DVD-S54, I am kind of "desperate" to own it. However, upon checking its feature, no optical output has mentioned which cannot hook-up my stupid LG av receiver that only cater for optical in.

So, right now feels a little disappointment. I guess I have to put Sony 708 as my ultimate choice.

Hope to get more feedback from sifus here before I regret it later....

Added on August 27, 2008, 4:11 pmCan all the sifus here do a detail review or comment on the Sony DVP-NS708HP on its upscaling PQ and its sensitivity in reading con disc ??

DVDP dilemma.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Aug 27 2008, 04:11 PM
mikapoh
post Aug 27 2008, 05:39 PM

1,263 posts

Still I wanna know the reviews on Sony DVP-NS708HP reading sensitivity & PQ ?

Added on August 27, 2008, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Aug 27 2008, 05:39 PM)
Still I wanna know the reviews on Sony DVP-NS708HP reading sensitivity & PQ ?
?

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Aug 27 2008, 09:07 PM
mikapoh
post Aug 27 2008, 11:42 PM

1,263 posts

Thanks. I think if I can get a sifu's comment here is more sufficient than a pro's view.

Seems like it is a decent player to get in the market right now.

BTW, what do u mean it supports 1080p rather than 1080i ? Is 1080p a more realistic 1080 resolution ?
mikapoh
post Aug 28 2008, 04:20 PM

1,263 posts

I think I am going to get the Sony 708 after favourable review by some of the sifus here.

It is also one of the few upscaling players featuring HDMI & Optical output as my receiver can only take optic signal. I dont intend to throw away my old receiver and hopefully getting a new dvd player is the best yet cheapest solution. Hopefully I can still enjoy the DTS Surround sound. Do u guys think this set-up will sound better than the dvd play from the receiver ??
mikapoh
post Aug 29 2008, 11:21 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 29 2008, 07:22 AM)
Is your TV use a full HD panel? If not, try not to upscale to 1080i, jerk/blur/judders during moving scenes are more common for interlaced picture. Try to use 720p instead and see if the problem still there or not.
I am using Panny 42' Plasma and I am planning to buy the sony 708 to upscale to 1080i.

So, do you mean that I will face the problem of jerk or blur during moving scenes since my plasma tv is not full HD. blink.gif

Please advice. TQ.
mikapoh
post Aug 29 2008, 03:20 PM

1,263 posts

So u guys suggesting that by getting another HDMI upscaling DVD player will not make much improvement in PQ as compare to my old player with only component connection since my panny plasma can do the better job rite??

Sifu, are u recommending Pioneer DV-600 which has optical out ?? Any reiveew here? Thanks.
mikapoh
post Aug 31 2008, 10:31 PM

1,263 posts

At RM328 is pretty a rock bottom price. Today we have a BIG DAY Sony sales and the most attractive price is RM369.

mikapoh
post Sep 2 2008, 09:14 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 2 2008, 05:40 PM)
Are both the Sony 708 and Phillips region free players??

Also, I see that Sony 708 is losing out in the sound dept as compared to the phillips but does the phillips upscale video better than the Sony??
How do you know its sound is losing out ?? Music sound or theatre sound ?

mikapoh
post Sep 2 2008, 09:31 PM

1,263 posts

I got some pretty good reviews on Sony 708 from some of sifus here.

I think the most important thing it has is ability to ready all kinds of disc without much hassle rite?
mikapoh
post Sep 6 2008, 11:16 PM

1,263 posts

Hey guys,

I went shopping and came across this LG dvd player but cant remember the model. I am very keen to buy since it has USB input, HDMI output, Optical & upscaling capability. Then, I asked the salesman the player did not have DTS output printed.

He said it was some cost saving method as using the DTS incurred license fee. But he claimed that nowadays almost all players can still play DTS surround format eventhough it did not have DTS logo printed. Ok guys, is this statement true or false ?? Can we safely conclude that this LG player without DTS logo has dts decode feature ?? How to prove ?

mikapoh
post Sep 7 2008, 01:17 PM

1,263 posts

Thanks for the input.

So u guys mean I can still enjoy the DTS format in this player via a receiver with an internal DTS decoder right ??

In conclusion, it is not important for any particular dvd player to have DTS logo on it because our AVR can still decode & play DTS format internally right ??

Need your confirmation before I regret buying the LG player & not having to enjoy DTS later....
mikapoh
post Sep 8 2008, 11:08 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Sep 7 2008, 11:32 PM)
the best way is to get some sort of warranty from the shop that if u cant get DTS from the LG, u could return it back for another unit...or try to test it first at the shop with a DTS receiver and your reliable DTS encoded software / film...hope the shop knows how to set up the digital connection lah tongue.gif

i had a few cap ayam players...earlier ones can output DTS...newer ones only can output DD...no signal when select DTS to the amp
I do have one cap ayam called Akira..............The probelm is when I select Audio format to DTS, the language is automatically diverted to French or Spanish. Only Dobly 5.1 can play English version. Thats why I want to search for a player with proper DTS out since it is clearer than the DD 5.1, I do not know how to change the audio language to english when select DTS from the crap Akira player.
mikapoh
post Sep 14 2008, 12:12 PM

1,263 posts

I just bought the Sony 708 HP and seems a very satisfactory buy for me.

Guys & for those who use this player, do u set the picture mode to theatre 1 or 2 when watching movie which is recommended by Sony?? I found standard more more natural as the black colors look brighter in theatre mode. There are other 2 dynamic modes that I dont think is an ideal too. Please advise, thanks.

One more good thing is this sony player can learn any other tv's signal. I can now control the on/off, sound level and input switch of my panny plasma by pressing on the sony player's dvdp remote. Maybe this is called bravia-Viera link...Hmm *_*
mikapoh
post Sep 16 2008, 01:32 PM

1,263 posts

For me I will still buy dvd and not thinking of venture into Bluray world. I think the premium paid for bluray disc & player is exceptionally high. Sony will be the one to have a last laugh as the licence fees alone will bring them a junk of wealth.

But I will not buy dvd other than the BD copied or dvd9. Using a upscaling player can still play superb pic quality with digital surround. In addition there are plenty available in reasonable price.
mikapoh
post Sep 22 2008, 03:46 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 19 2008, 04:20 PM)
RM15 per disc but I found myself buy less and less these days. Instead, my original DVDs keep growing. Soon BD will join the collection tongue.gif
I can get RM12 per ahem dvd in Kuching.

Hey folks, do u think original dvd is better than ahem BD copied ones?? What about the sound too??
Can somebody do a comparison as the former cost almost 3 times than the latter.

I think ahem BD copies dvd is still an excellent buy if play through upscaling dvd player.

Added on September 22, 2008, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 19 2008, 04:20 PM)
RM15 per disc but I found myself buy less and less these days. Instead, my original DVDs keep growing. Soon BD will join the collection tongue.gif
I can get RM12 per ahem dvd in Kuching.

Hey folks, do u think original dvd is better than ahem BD copied ones?? What about the sound too??
Can somebody do a comparison as the former cost almost 3 times than the latter.

I think ahem BD copies dvd is still an excellent buy if play through upscaling dvd player.

Added on September 22, 2008, 3:55 pmI can still buy RM12 per ahem BD copied disc in Kuching.

Do u guys think original dvd PQ is better than ahem BD copied ones? What about the sound? Anyone do a comparison before as the former cost almost 3 times than the latter's ones.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Sep 22 2008, 03:55 PM
mikapoh
post Sep 22 2008, 11:37 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 22 2008, 04:02 PM)
Original way better la bro...both PQ and SQ. Original Region 1 DVDs are the best. If you want any better...get BD.
What do u mean by Region 1 ?

0.0194sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:27 AM