151 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...

loon1031
post Aug 28 2008, 08:06 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

For Makro len, Tamron SB90 & Nikon 105mm VR which one more better?

My kit Len shot

This post has been edited by loon1031: Aug 28 2008, 08:08 AM
4lt4ir
post Aug 28 2008, 08:07 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Zio, I really2 like those pics. It's like they tell a story, which is so important.
zio
post Aug 28 2008, 09:17 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 04:37 AM)
Hello guys, what do you think regarding this combination -

D60 + Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD ?

Will the lens last me for a while before upgrading ?

The search is still on for DSLR and frankly I find that my target will be Nikon.

Added on August 28, 2008, 4:40 amAnyway zio, nice captures there you have.
D60 with the kit lens I suppose. Is that the Tamron 70-300mm with the Macro capability?

And thanks!

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Aug 28 2008, 08:06 AM)
For Makro len, Tamron SB90 & Nikon 105mm VR which one more better?
My kit Len shot
Well, you will get about the same IQ. I have used both. But the 105mm barrel doesn't move when you focus, so thats the advantage of the 105mm over the Tamron. Of course, the VR helps when you are using it for none macro shots.

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Aug 28 2008, 08:07 AM)
Zio, I really2 like those pics. It's like they tell a story, which is so important.
Thanks! smile.gif Thought I'll give toys shooting a different style this time around. Usually I just play with lighting tongue.gif
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 10:56 AM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 28 2008, 09:17 AM)
D60 with the kit lens I suppose. Is that the Tamron 70-300mm with the Macro capability?

And thanks!

Is there any D60 body only sold ? And yeah that Tamron is with the Macro capability.

This post has been edited by mizivincible: Aug 28 2008, 11:00 AM
zio
post Aug 28 2008, 11:24 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 10:56 AM)
Is there any D60 body only sold ? And yeah that Tamron is with the Macro capability.
I believe you can ask for it. They usually deduct like RM300 I believe. Hrmm but wouldn't you want the 18-55mm range?
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 01:36 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 28 2008, 11:24 AM)
I believe you can ask for it. They usually deduct like RM300 I believe. Hrmm but wouldn't you want the 18-55mm range?
Owh, thanks. Anyway, if I were to get the Tammy lens (Tamron 70-300mm with the Macro capability), do you think I still need the kit lens 18-55mm ? I actually think I can save up few hundred bux blush.gif Sorry limited budget poor student here. Sold most of my pc hardwares to get DSLR to play with sweat.gif
ianho
post Aug 28 2008, 01:38 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 01:36 PM)
Owh, thanks. Anyway, if I were to get the Tammy lens (Tamron 70-300mm with the Macro capability), do you think I still need the kit lens 18-55mm ? I actually think I can save up few hundred bux  blush.gif Sorry limited budget poor student here. Sold most of my pc hardwares to get DSLR to play with  sweat.gif
Wah! U sold all ur PC stuff? Change hobby kar? Hehe
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 01:59 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Aug 28 2008, 01:38 PM)
Wah! U sold all ur PC stuff? Change hobby kar? Hehe
I cant be like you, can invest most of high end stuff hahaha. Not all la uncle, most only, leaving the basic hardwares (no worries, I still love the LianLi you modified,not for sale blush.gif ). To fund on new toy.

Because Im kinda familiar with Nikon after few months my friend's D40 in my hands, so I narrow down my choices to Nikon, still lotsa research and study to be done blush.gif

zio
post Aug 28 2008, 02:01 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 01:36 PM)
Owh, thanks. Anyway, if I were to get the Tammy lens (Tamron 70-300mm with the Macro capability), do you think I still need the kit lens 18-55mm ? I actually think I can save up few hundred bux  blush.gif Sorry limited budget poor student here. Sold most of my pc hardwares to get DSLR to play with  sweat.gif
well, the 70-300mm is tele lens so you will have to compose things differently. Dont expect to take group shots or wide shots with the lens. I am sure you know.

It is quite a fine lens biggrin.gif I am also considering one tongue.gif
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 02:22 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 28 2008, 02:01 PM)
well, the 70-300mm is tele lens so you will have to compose things differently. Dont expect to take group shots or wide shots with the lens. I am sure you know.

It is quite a fine lens biggrin.gif I am also considering one tongue.gif
Thanks for enlighten me bro zio. I actually more into Macro and consider the lens is kinda best bang for buck. But as you said, group or wide shots, there will be time when the kit lens is needed too. Besides, Im still in learning process/progress, I guess I'll go with kit lens first, after getting understand with the camera, then only save more money to invest on better lens. What do you think ? Perhaps if go for SB600 first would be wise hmm.gif
xandman
post Aug 28 2008, 02:26 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

not really bro.
70-300 although its named MACRO...
it doesnt do actual macro...
but the focus distance is a bit shorter than the rest of the 70-300...
if u want to do macro...get a macro lense...
or use ur kit lense with raynox...
ask zio...i m sure he can tell u more...
zio
post Aug 28 2008, 02:34 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 02:22 PM)
Thanks for enlighten me bro zio. I actually more into Macro and consider the lens is kinda best bang for buck. But as you said, group or wide shots, there will be time when the kit lens is needed too. Besides, Im still in learning process/progress, I guess I'll go with kit lens first, after getting understand with the camera, then only save more money to invest on better lens. What do you think ? Perhaps if go for SB600 first would be wise  hmm.gif
Ahh if you are into macro, stick to the kit lens. Play around with it. Then look at a dedicated macro lens. smile.gif Yes, the 70-300mm Macro does take some good macro shots but nothing beats a dedicated macro lens if you are into that biggrin.gif

But for the D60, your only choice is probably the Nikkor 105mm or the Nikkor 60mm. You can use the Tamron SP90mm but you will have to manual focus for everything. At least with the Nikkor, you can still AF for portraits or other random stuff.
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 02:53 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 28 2008, 02:26 PM)
not really bro.
70-300 although its named MACRO...
it doesnt do actual macro...
but the focus distance is a bit shorter than the rest of the 70-300...
if u want to do macro...get a macro lense...
or use ur kit lense with raynox...
ask zio...i m sure he can tell u more...
With raynox ? Guess that'll save me few hundred bux before traveling into real Macro lens. Great. Thanks abang xandman.

QUOTE(zio @ Aug 28 2008, 02:34 PM)
Ahh if you are into macro, stick to the kit lens. Play around with it. Then look at a dedicated macro lens. smile.gif Yes, the 70-300mm Macro does take some good macro shots but nothing beats a dedicated macro lens if you are into that biggrin.gif

But for the D60, your only choice is probably the Nikkor 105mm or the Nikkor 60mm. You can use the Tamron SP90mm but you will have to manual focus for everything. At least with the Nikkor, you can still AF for portraits or other random stuff.
Aite noted. Will take the lens info into account. Its so hard to talk technically regarding the cam when you dont have one. Perhaps this weekend I'll go hunting, hope to get a good price. vladimir did offer a good price for d60 kit but the thing is hard to trust postage nowadays, afraid that camera will be lost during shipping. He's in Penang while Im in KL.

Thanks bro zio. Im sure there's lotsa stuffs I will ask in the future, gotta learn, effective way - learn with a camera in hand laugh.gif
xandman
post Aug 28 2008, 03:11 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

abang xandman??!!!
wat the...??!!
hahahaha...
raynox is indeed cheap...
i dunno la the quality...again ask zio...
bcoz i went straight to macro lense...tongue.gif
mizivincible
post Aug 28 2008, 03:45 PM

1,633 posts

The more I look the more I fell in love with Fisheye, I better stop window shopping, the poison here very strong =P

Owh yeah, anyone here has experience with raynox ? Bro zio ?
zio
post Aug 28 2008, 03:56 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Aug 28 2008, 03:45 PM)
The more I look the more I fell in love with Fisheye, I better stop window shopping, the poison here very strong =P

Owh yeah, anyone here has experience with raynox ? Bro zio ?
yes? raynox! biggrin.gif

Never use on DSLR before but on the G9 ada.

Sample shots (Me no sifu in Raynox):

Raynox MSN-202

Raynox DCR-250

For starters, I suggest going with DCR-250. Its easier to control smile.gif
TSorenzai
post Aug 28 2008, 06:18 PM

3,114 posts

that raynox filter is really poisoning man... what lens was it used on? seems to have no distortion at all..
ebernie
post Aug 28 2008, 06:21 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(szyap @ Aug 27 2008, 11:44 PM)
D300 hands down
Money money money...

On second thought, maybe I'll just stick to a D40 hahaha. It's not too bad as well.

KTCY
post Aug 28 2008, 06:27 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

I'm thinking to grab Sigma 30mm f1.4 to pair with my D40 as well. Ebernie, anything to stop me from doing so ? tongue.gif
zio
post Aug 28 2008, 06:27 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 28 2008, 06:18 PM)
that raynox filter is really poisoning man... what lens was it used on? seems to have no distortion at all..
lol it was used on the G9 tongue.gif

QUOTE(ebernie @ Aug 28 2008, 06:21 PM)
Money money money...

On second thought, maybe I'll just stick to a D40 hahaha. It's not too bad as well.

yep yep biggrin.gif its not too bad. But the D90 viral ad is getting to me tongue.gif Nice shots biggrin.gif Hows the 30mm? smile.gif

151 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:33 PM