D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...
Oct 6 2008, 08:44 PM
3,114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
see i told you they were exceptionally fairer than the rest
Oct 6 2008, 11:50 PM
188 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
I have some questions and I hope I'm in the right thread. I'm considering getting either a D40 or a D60 but I'm not sure if either of them will work with the one and only AF lens that i have- an old Tamron 28-200 3.8-5.6 LD (IF). I know if I'm getting one of those cameras I'll get it with the kit lens, but if it works with my old lens, it will be an added bonus.
Do you guys have any idea? I believe the lens is more than 10 years old. It's given to me by my uncle. I don't care if it will autofocus or not. I just need to know whether or not it will meter with it. Thanks. Here are some pics of the lens: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by avantgardeo: Oct 6 2008, 11:54 PM |
Oct 6 2008, 11:57 PM
12,505 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Triumph in the Skies Status:In LoV3 Again |
I believe it will have meter on D40/x/D60 just that it won't AF
Oct 7 2008, 12:01 AM
2,063 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Tatooine |
QUOTE(avantgardeo @ Oct 6 2008, 11:50 PM) I have some questions and I hope I'm in the right thread. I'm considering getting either a D40 or a D60 but I'm not sure if either of them will work with the one and only AF lens that i have- an old Tamron 28-200 3.8-5.6 LD (IF). I know if I'm getting one of those cameras I'll get it with the kit lens, but if it works with my old lens, it will be an added bonus. Well you can find all over the internet articles on which Nikon lenses will meter on which particular models, but they don't mention anything about the third party lenses. Your best bet would be to head to a large store that has the D60 and test them out.Do you guys have any idea? I believe the lens is more than 10 years old. It's given to me by my uncle. I don't care if it will autofocus or not. I just need to know whether or not it will meter with it. Thanks. I do not know of any store that holds the D40 in stock except prolly YL in Pudu Plaza. The beauty about Nikon is that old lenses still work on the newer cameras cause the mounting is the same now as before. |
Oct 7 2008, 12:07 AM
I've been googling it and the only result that comes close is a forum thread from years ago about someone asking if the lens works on the D70. I think this lens is just too old for the internet generation to have seen it. From the thread I found out that these lenses may work on these DX format cameras but the zoom length will be increased by some distance. They will work fine with full-framed cameras though.
I guess I just have to test it out with a live unit. Thanks for the replies. |
Oct 7 2008, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(avantgardeo @ Oct 7 2008, 12:07 AM) I've been googling it and the only result that comes close is a forum thread from years ago about someone asking if the lens works on the D70. I think this lens is just too old for the internet generation to have seen it. From the thread I found out that these lenses may work on these DX format cameras but the zoom length will be increased by some distance. They will work fine with full-framed cameras though. For DX format cameras (Cropped sensor like the D60 example), you need to multiply it by 1.5x. Meaning you'll get 42mm - 300mm actual. It still works fine.I guess I just have to test it out with a live unit. Thanks for the replies. |
Oct 7 2008, 12:26 AM
Have any of you tried using your D40/x/60 with film-era AF lenses(Nikkor or Third-party)?
Oct 7 2008, 02:36 AM
1,443 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bandar Baru Bangi |
af lenses won't autofocus on d40-60. but they do meter with them tho
Oct 7 2008, 01:21 PM
1,546 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 30 2008, 10:07 AM) I was standing on the sidelines. Only managed a couple of good shots that day because I was using the 18-55mm lens. I took pictures at another game over the weekend. Take a look here:http://purskill.blogspot.com/2008/10/photo...ll-vs-rice.html Don't know if the full view through Flickr is working. Might have to fix that later. |
Oct 7 2008, 03:55 PM
388 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
just got my first DSLR camera - D60. pls add my name to the list. thx
Oct 7 2008, 04:33 PM
Oct 7 2008, 05:08 PM
1,633 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Cheras, Selangor |
QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 6 2008, 07:13 PM) QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 6 2008, 07:27 PM) Thanks for the compliment sifus sekalian. This raya no raya photo at all, turned out to be scenery shots only.And Darthbaboon oledy got your D90 today ? Your SD seems tempting tho, as I oso looking to upgrade my 2gb sd. |
Oct 7 2008, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Oct 7 2008, 05:08 PM) Thanks for the compliment sifus sekalian. This raya no raya photo at all, turned out to be scenery shots only. Ya!! Brand new... Box is so new and the camera feels so good! And Darthbaboon oledy got your D90 today ? Your SD seems tempting tho, as I oso looking to upgrade my 2gb sd. Need to sabar while I charge the battery for 8 hours today though. Ya... lemme know if you're interested. It's a good price in KL for a brand new unopened unit. |
Oct 7 2008, 06:02 PM
1. ![]() 2. ![]() |
Oct 7 2008, 08:28 PM
3,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Planet Earth |
guys...
d40, under P mode... how to know i'm at which combination? |
Oct 7 2008, 08:59 PM
12,505 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Triumph in the Skies Status:In LoV3 Again |
Oct 7 2008, 10:28 PM
2,684 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Central Region |
Oct 8 2008, 06:15 AM
grats baboon on your new d90
This post has been edited by orenzai: Oct 8 2008, 06:18 AM |
Oct 8 2008, 06:33 AM
1,362 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
wow... u fly from kuching to kl for tat event??
Oct 8 2008, 10:04 AM
1,443 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bandar Baru Bangi |
hey i'm going orenzai!! i'll see you there!
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:31 PM |