126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

law1777
post Sep 22 2008, 05:02 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

i know u still can online of course.

but i have many friends and cousins and i myself had experienced the speed of usb or 3g broadband and all of us got very frustrated with it.

just to share..
Zeliard
post Sep 22 2008, 07:32 PM

286 posts

Anyone know where can I get a HDMI DVI adapter?? Maybe somewhere in Ipoh as it is my nearest city? I sent hunting today, and none of the retailers from where I came from knew what HDMI was. Ther furthest I went was to Tesco Kampar, where the "electronic sales specialist" in charge of Sony Bravia LCD TV never even heard of a HDMI.

GamersFamilia
post Sep 22 2008, 08:48 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,781 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Sep 22 2008, 07:32 PM)
Anyone know where can I get a HDMI DVI adapter?? Maybe somewhere in Ipoh as it is my nearest city? I sent hunting today, and none of the retailers from where I came from knew what HDMI was. Ther furthest I went was to Tesco Kampar, where the "electronic sales specialist" in charge of Sony Bravia LCD TV never even heard of a HDMI.
here in KL the HDMI to DVI cable kindda easy to get , like kacang putih....they dont know what HDMI ? sad cry.gif
stevenchee
post Sep 22 2008, 08:51 PM

104 posts

how to know if the HDMI cable is 1.0 or 1.3??
wats the diff?? ty
mistraldmx
post Sep 22 2008, 09:08 PM

20 posts

hi old timer... just bought my ps3 malaysia yesterday (21/09) biggrin.gif
just a few question here...

1- i wonder why my ps3 cant detact my ext hdd but can detact my thumbdrive no problem at all

2- is it a soul calibre software preinstall inside the hdd? coz mine nothing inside...

thanks all..
rayz85
post Sep 22 2008, 09:16 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 22 2008, 09:08 PM)

1- i wonder why my ps3 cant detact my ext hdd but can detact my thumbdrive no problem at all

2- is it a soul calibre software preinstall inside the hdd? coz mine nothing inside...

thanks all..
1 - your hdd need to be in formatted in FAT32.

SSJBen
post Sep 22 2008, 09:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 22 2008, 04:09 PM)
what i mean is.. all my movies/games support 1080p. and i still need an avr to 'force' upscale? im not talking bout those titles that doesnt support 1080p =.=
Then no you do not need an AVR.

QUOTE(fongwan @ Sep 22 2008, 04:12 PM)
Yes HDMI is not there but not sure about the optical will check it out tonight.

If no optical meaning does that means if I buy a BD then I can't use the PS3 to decode and use my amp to do the job?
You'll need to use your amp to decode audio then. Though you can rightfully forget about 8 channel LPCM.

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Sep 22 2008, 04:17 PM)
hey i got a prob i can't seem to solve sad.gif

my audio is channeled out using HDMI to my lcd monitor, and i've connected 3.5mm audio cable from lcd monitor audio output to my 2.1 speakers.

i get good sound, but the only problem is it has this fading in effect whenever anything with audio starts. and the fading in usually starts a few seconds late. so if let's say i load a game which has an opening movie, the movie will play with no sound at all first, and then after a few seconds, the sound comes fading in from soft, right up to normal volume. so usually i'll miss the first few seconds of audio. it's nothing big but it's getting abit annoying, especially when there's in-game cutscenes and you want to catch the dialogue in the beginning.

same effect happens in the XMB front panel. when i move around my cursor to the different icons slowly, no sound. but when i start moving fast enough, making it generating more sound back to back, then the fading in starts.

any idea how to solve this?

much appreciated smile.gif
Not much of a way to solve this.

That audio output from your monitor is actually intended for headphones. I am using a BenQ FP94VW which also have audio out, I do get the same audio fade-in as well when connecting it directly to my speakers.

Just get a Y-splitter and connect your PS3 directly to your speakers.

Added on September 22, 2008, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(stevenchee @ Sep 22 2008, 08:51 PM)
how to know if the HDMI cable is 1.0 or 1.3??
wats the diff?? ty
Usually it'll be stated on the package box itself.

HDMI cables all look the same though, so its hard to tell from one another just by looking at them.

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 22 2008, 09:08 PM)

thanks all..
1. Your external HDD MUST be formated in FAT32.

2. Have you formatted your PS3's HDD yet? I'm thinking that you have not that is why you don't see any data on your HDD.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 22 2008, 09:27 PM
psyhun
post Sep 22 2008, 10:23 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 23 2008, 12:08 AM)

thanks all..
The Soul Calibur game is not preinstalled into the system, you will have to do it by yourself in the Soul Calibur options menu........
mistraldmx
post Sep 22 2008, 10:27 PM

20 posts

thanks bro! anyway, i cant find soul calibre in my ps3 hdd... sad.gif
TSacougan
post Sep 22 2008, 10:35 PM

590 posts

haha, SC4 is a normal game u need to buy. not every MY PS3 comes with "free" SC4. those are special launch promotion bundles.

but u can d/load the SC4 demo fr PSN before deciding on purchase
mistraldmx
post Sep 22 2008, 11:04 PM

20 posts

i thought its preinstall inside the ps3 hdd.. demit! heheh.. anyway, thanks!!!
ysyeo
post Sep 22 2008, 11:46 PM

241 posts

I just get my ps3 from the offical launch in 20 sep 2008.. my set is a malaysia set.. well in the PSN there is no Malaysia in the country column.. which country is recommended to choose? or i should wait for Malaysia PSN?
abulabu
post Sep 23 2008, 12:02 AM

87 posts

icon_question.gif last night i lost the sound while playing the cod4 online but carried on playing as this was not an issue ...then when the game was won ....i lost the picture ....so i turned the system off then back on ...but there was no cod4 disc listed i..... then ejected the disc gave it a clean .....and then put it back in but the disc is still not listed .......so i then tried another disc and the same thing not listed by then...i turned off the system...unplug the plug and switch on back the system everything is fine(able to play the game)...a couple minutes later though...the same thing happened to me again.. vmad.gif

is there anything that i can do to cure this problem that i seem to be having

cheers..

ill give a try later morning... rclxub.gif

Added on September 23, 2008, 3:40 am
QUOTE(ysyeo @ Sep 22 2008, 11:46 PM)
I just get my ps3 from the offical launch in 20 sep 2008.. my set is a malaysia set.. well  in the PSN there is no Malaysia in the country column.. which country is recommended to choose? or i should wait for Malaysia PSN?
if u cant wait...n if u want download loads of demo games or add ons...go for US......anyway...i tried again....with cod4 n still same thing happened...with pes2008 too...hmmm looks like my lens dah mati leh...but the weird thing is.....still can read the disc..but after a while playing....it turned 'blank screen' cry.gif ...oh yea mine is 60gb SG set...the warranty still got a month left sweat.gif ...is it possible...to send to our local sony stores..under warranty?

This post has been edited by abulabu: Sep 23 2008, 03:40 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2008, 08:11 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ysyeo @ Sep 22 2008, 11:46 PM)
I just get my ps3 from the offical launch in 20 sep 2008.. my set is a malaysia set.. well  in the PSN there is no Malaysia in the country column.. which country is recommended to choose? or i should wait for Malaysia PSN?
Theres no Malaysian PSN yet thats why you can't choose Malaysia as a country.

The latest updates usually comes the fastest for the US PSN... in english that is. Japan PSN comes even faster(timezone difference) and most of the time they have content that other PSN stores doesn't have.

My suggestion, make a US PSN account as your main.

QUOTE(abulabu @ Sep 23 2008, 12:02 AM)
icon_question.gif last night i lost the sound while playing the cod4 online but carried on playing as this was not an issue ...then when the game was won ....i lost the picture ....so i turned the system off then back on ...but there was no cod4 disc listed i..... then ejected the disc gave it a clean .....and then put it back in but the disc is still not listed .......so i then tried another disc and the same thing not listed by then...i turned off the system...unplug the plug and switch on back the system everything is fine(able to play the game)...a couple minutes later though...the same thing happened to me again.. vmad.gif

is there anything that i can do to cure this problem that i seem to be having

cheers..
ill give a try later morning...  rclxub.gif

Added on September 23, 2008, 3:40 am

if u cant wait...n if u want download loads of demo games or add ons...go for US......anyway...i tried again....with cod4  n still same thing happened...with pes2008 too...hmmm looks like my lens dah mati leh...but the weird thing is.....still can read the disc..but after a while playing....it turned 'blank screen' cry.gif ...oh yea mine is 60gb SG set...the warranty still got a month left sweat.gif ...is it possible...to send to our local sony stores..under warranty?
Sounds like a dying lens indeed.

Do a factory settings restore and HDD reformat then see how it goes. Sometimes it can be a problem with the HDD having a bad cluster(how it got there, I don't know... we're not on Windows sweat.gif ) causing the game to freeze everytime it reads data off the HDD. If the problem is still there, then that means you better hurry up and send it for warranty.

fongwan
post Sep 23 2008, 09:33 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 22 2008, 09:25 PM)
You'll need to use your amp to decode audio then. Though you can rightfully forget about 8 channel LPCM.
Yupe so sad, thanks for the help. Anyway i check yesterday night my amp doesn't have any optical in. Thus, I think i have to purchase a new amp loh hmm.gif . Just need to know if I want to get the 8Channel LPCM does yamaha 663 able to do the job or I have to get more high end amp? Low on cash lah blush.gif . Or any amp with HMDI in will do the job. Please advice.
Aquanox28
post Sep 23 2008, 10:33 AM

1,168 posts

Hi bros, just want to ask about the warranty terms and condition. Can we ask for warranty claim in SonyStyle Malaysia if we buy the Malaysia set from local sellers? Thanks. smile.gif
law1777
post Sep 23 2008, 10:45 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

u dun understand this?

sg set- only can get warranty in sg
us set- only can get warranty in us
msia set- ?????????

soooooo simple nehhhhhh doh.gif
Aquanox28
post Sep 23 2008, 10:55 AM

1,168 posts

Hi bro, thanks for your kind and quick reply. I do understand that for Malaysia set, we can claim from SonyStyle. It's just that I want to confirm that if we bought the Malaysia set from local sellers (i.e. those in LYN forum), can we still claim from Sonystyle Malaysia? I'm just trying to make sure that, cause it'll be a hassle if SonyStyle only entertains those units that were sold through their stores, and not those through local sellers. Thank you for your time.
TSacougan
post Sep 23 2008, 11:18 AM

590 posts

their service center will entertain all those sets with MY offical stickers. do keep your receipt for documentation purposes.

i'm sure SonyMY have a database of the valid S/N of the MY sets. they are the distributors after all.
colt_508
post Sep 23 2008, 11:34 AM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

sweat.gif hmm to the senior owner of PS3:
kinda bz lately ya...
answering so many question from a Noob owner PS3... rclxub.gif

well Ganbatte rclxm9.gif

126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top