126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

grammar
post Sep 23 2008, 11:47 AM

97 posts

i have a few questions here

just got my ps3 at the official launching. i tried setting up the connection via wifi but only managed to get 7%(about 12-15 meters straight distance from my router). i tried a wifi boosting solution(windsurfer) and got it boosted to 25-35%. my question is, is there anything more i can do to increase the signal. my laptop could get 100% from the same area and i am aware that the ps3's wifi receiver isn't the best thing out there.

furthermore, how will the low signal affect my online gaming? though it's only 35%, i can surf the net with relative speed to my laptop though i'm not sure about how gaming goes. streaming music and videos from my pc is painfully slow and not even worth it. connecting the ps3 using a cable would require a 30 meter one at least and it's going to make my house look messy. any suggestions?

oh, is the position of the ps3 relevant? as in if it is horizontal or vertical, will i get more signal?

one more thing, i tried connecting my psp to the ps3 but it says my psp firmware is outdated(i'm using custom firmware 3.71) is upgrading my custom firmware going to solve this or will the ps3 not recognize any custom firmware?
ysyeo
post Sep 23 2008, 11:50 AM

241 posts

Well thx for your suggestion.. Anyway i have encounter a prob if we create a PSN US Account we need to use US credit card to purchase the stuff right? we can't use Malaysian Credit Card?

This post has been edited by ysyeo: Sep 23 2008, 11:51 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2008, 01:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Sep 23 2008, 09:33 AM)
Yupe so sad, thanks for the help. Anyway i check yesterday night my amp doesn't have any optical in. Thus, I think i have to purchase a new amp loh  hmm.gif .  Just need to know if I want to get the 8Channel LPCM does yamaha 663 able to do the job or I have to get more high end amp? Low on cash lah blush.gif . Or any amp with HMDI in will do the job. Please advice.
Should be able to get the job done.
But I really do suggest that you test it it out first before purchasing. Demand that you want to test it out, it isn't cheap after all.
kerollowyat
post Sep 23 2008, 01:53 PM

274 posts

Is there any difference between optical output and HDMI.
I'm planning to buy an AV receiver, but only manage to find a deal of the item, but no HDMI connection. Only optical.
Will I be able to experience true surround while watching Bluray movies, if I connect the audio using optical connection.

Anyone know where I can check local price for AV receiver. Any websites?

This post has been edited by kerollowyat: Sep 23 2008, 01:55 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2008, 01:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(grammar @ Sep 23 2008, 11:47 AM)
i have a few questions here

just got my ps3 at the official launching. i tried setting up the connection via wifi but only managed to get 7%(about 12-15 meters straight distance from my router). i tried a wifi boosting solution(windsurfer) and got it boosted to 25-35%. my question is, is there anything more i can do to increase the signal. my laptop could get 100% from the same area and i am aware that the ps3's wifi receiver isn't the best thing out there.

furthermore, how will the low signal affect my online gaming? though it's only 35%, i can surf the net with relative speed to my laptop though i'm not sure about how gaming goes. streaming music and videos from my pc is painfully slow and not even worth it. connecting the ps3 using a cable would require a 30 meter one at least and it's going to make my house look messy. any suggestions?

oh, is the position of the ps3 relevant? as in if it is horizontal or vertical, will i get more signal?

one more thing, i tried connecting my psp to the ps3 but it says my psp firmware is outdated(i'm using custom firmware 3.71) is upgrading my custom firmware going to solve this or will the ps3 not recognize any custom firmware?
How is your PS3 connected? Is it directly to your modem/router or through your laptop instead?

Yes low signals will affect online gaming significantly, you could face frequent disconnections, low bandwidth performance and extreme spikes in ping. 35% isn't really ideal, you'll want at the very least 60%. Standing the PS3 vertical can boost your Wi-Fi connection, tested it and it gives me a rough 4-7% increase in signal.

Its strange that you are getting only 7% though as you said your laptop gets 100%(which I think isn't true tbh, 90+% is more likely). I could set my PS3 downstairs in a 2 storey Semi-D and I still get above 70% signal.

QUOTE(ysyeo @ Sep 23 2008, 11:50 AM)
Well thx for your suggestion.. Anyway i have encounter a prob if we create a PSN US Account we need to use US credit card to purchase the stuff right? we can't use Malaysian Credit Card?
Cannot.

We used to be able to use Malaysian CC through Entropay, and then using the Entropay account to buy stuff off the US PSN. However, just recently the US PSN has banned Entropay.

Malaysian CC can only be used on SG and HK PSN IINM. I'm sharing game downloads with earthdome, another PS3 owner here through his EU PSN account. So if you want to know more, look him up and PM him.

toratora
post Sep 23 2008, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(kerollowyat @ Sep 23 2008, 01:53 PM)
Is there any difference between optical output and HDMI.
I'm planning to buy an AV receiver, but only manage to find a deal of the item, but no HDMI connection. Only optical.
Will I be able to experience true surround while watching Bluray movies, if I connect the audio using optical connection.

Anyone know where I can check local price for AV receiver. Any websites?

using optical you still be able to experience 5.1 sound
colt_508
post Sep 23 2008, 02:48 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 23 2008, 01:59 PM)
How is your PS3 connected? Is it directly to your modem/router or through your laptop instead?
Yes low signals will affect online gaming significantly, you could face frequent disconnections, low bandwidth performance and extreme spikes in ping. 35% isn't really ideal, you'll want at the very least 60%. Standing the PS3 vertical can boost your Wi-Fi connection, tested it and it gives me a rough 4-7% increase in signal.
Its strange that you are getting only 7% though as you said your laptop gets 100%(which I think isn't true tbh, 90+% is more likely). I could set my PS3 downstairs in a 2 storey Semi-D and I still get above 70% signal.
ssjben... how a to avoid DNS error... even my signal average is 80%...
damn took a long hour 2 download PSN game...

and when it is DNS error, the green light(wi-fi) were not blinking...
always make internet test 2 run PSN succeed and the green light blinking again..
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2008, 03:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Disabling UPnP under your router and PS3 could help alleviate the DNS problems(although I have mine enabled). Also the MTU setting on your PS3 and router should be the same.

Other than that, you can also try setting a dedicated IP to your PS3 instead of using DHCP if your router tends to be unstable(Aztech usually sucks when it comes to DHCP).
allen96713
post Sep 23 2008, 04:02 PM

26 posts

My ps3 is using wired LAN cable to connect to internet smile.gif....

if u really wanna boost up the signal of the router.. i found 1 DIY article that can boost up the signal.. hope can help u all..

http://www.pcworld.com/article/150951/exte..._reflector.html

Added on September 23, 2008, 4:03 pm

This post has been edited by allen96713: Sep 23 2008, 04:48 PM
grammar
post Sep 23 2008, 04:05 PM

97 posts

thank you for the response. i guess i have to succumb to using cable then. i tried playing soul calibur online. often i do get button lags which is annoying during combos.i notice that my psp gets better reception in the same area. and btw, my laptop could only get to 100% when i use the DIY signal booster. normally it'll be steady at 60%.

oh, to the above poster, i tried something similar called windsurfer. it works and boosted my signal from 7% to 35%. though that's still not enough. my router isn't exactly top notch i guess:P

i guess ultimately it boils down to my router. i just grabbed anything i could afford at the time and wifi strength wasn't an issue back then.

This post has been edited by grammar: Sep 23 2008, 04:12 PM
allen96713
post Sep 23 2008, 04:53 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(grammar @ Sep 23 2008, 04:05 PM)
thank you for the response. i guess i have to succumb to using cable then. i tried playing soul calibur online. often i do get button lags which is annoying during combos.i notice that my psp gets better reception in the same area. and btw, my laptop could only get to 100% when i use the DIY signal booster. normally it'll be steady at 60%.

oh, to the above poster, i tried something similar called windsurfer. it works and boosted my signal from 7% to 35%. though that's still not enough. my router isn't exactly top notch i guess:P

i guess ultimately it boils down to my router. i just grabbed anything i could afford at the time and wifi strength wasn't an issue back then.
maybe u can buy the router with 3 antenna.... nows day, the wifi router is extremely cheap..150 ++ u can get it already
mistraldmx
post Sep 23 2008, 08:15 PM

20 posts

anyway, anybody know how to make ps3 detact ntfs ext hdd? coz i downloaded a few movie already.. fat32 cant save 1 file that more than 4gb..
aphrael
post Sep 23 2008, 09:55 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 23 2008, 08:15 PM)
anyway, anybody know how to make ps3 detact ntfs ext hdd? coz i downloaded a few movie already.. fat32 cant save 1 file that more than 4gb..
The ps3 only recognizes FAT32 format.
law1777
post Sep 23 2008, 10:22 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

why must use ps3 to watch?? just connect your laptop or pc with hdmi to your tv la
mistraldmx
post Sep 23 2008, 10:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(aphrael @ Sep 23 2008, 09:55 PM)
The ps3 only recognizes FAT32 format.
thanks very much aphrael!

Added on September 23, 2008, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 23 2008, 10:22 PM)
why must use ps3 to watch?? just connect your laptop or pc with hdmi to your tv la
actually i want 2 fully utillized my newly bought ps3.. frustrated.. any software to make ps3 recognized ntfs?

This post has been edited by mistraldmx: Sep 23 2008, 10:39 PM
aphrael
post Sep 23 2008, 10:40 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 23 2008, 10:32 PM)
thanks very much aphrael!

Added on September 23, 2008, 10:35 pm
actually i want 2 fully utillized my newly bought ps3.. frustrated.. any software to make ps3 recognized ntfs?

Added on September 23, 2008, 10:36 pm
AFAIK it doesn't exist unfortunately. PS3 uses it's own OS and file systems and it hasn't been hacked yet.
SSJBen
post Sep 23 2008, 10:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

^

laugh.gif It has. Only it isn't in a stable stage to be publicised yet.
aphrael
post Sep 23 2008, 10:46 PM

23 posts

Yes I read about the hacked ps3 that runs BD games off the HDD aka psp style tongue.gif
kazasho
post Sep 23 2008, 10:47 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

I also use wired lan. lucky near. got security error bla bla. so just jolok wire baru diam laugh.gif

nway, I notice, at least register 2 PSN. 1 US, 1 SG. SG to play games online(maybe faster?), US to download demo coz got many demos than SG.

mistraldmx
post Sep 23 2008, 10:52 PM

20 posts

can tell me how to download demo ps3 games? sorry, newbie y'all...

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:47 AM