130 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

reign226
post Nov 3 2008, 02:48 PM

804 posts

Anybody can confirm this? Let's say if you have a friend in Malaysia holding a Singtel SIM card and you sms him from Singapore, you get charged local rates and he will receive the sms for free. Is this true?

Before you ask me to go google it myself, I want to say that I have checked the website and it says sms is received for free, but it doesn't mention whether the local telco in Malaysia (eg Digi or Maxis) will charge money for delivering the sms.

So I want to c if anybody have tried something like this b4. Becos Digi say receive SMS while roaming in Sg is free, but my friend still get charged RM1 for every sms he receive.
Annie
post Nov 3 2008, 04:38 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 3 2008, 02:48 PM)
Anybody can confirm this? Let's say if you have a friend in Malaysia holding a Singtel SIM card and you sms him from Singapore, you get charged local rates and he will receive the sms for free. Is this true?

Before you ask me to go google it myself, I want to say that I have checked the website and it says sms is received for free, but it doesn't mention whether the local telco in Malaysia (eg Digi or Maxis) will charge money for delivering the sms.

So I want to c if anybody have tried something like this b4. Becos Digi say receive SMS while roaming in Sg is free, but my friend still get charged RM1 for every sms he receive.
i know maxis receiving SMS while roaming is free.

seantang
post Nov 3 2008, 04:58 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 3 2008, 02:48 PM)

Sending messages in Sg using a Sg number to another Sg number, or in Mys using a Mys number to another Mys number will always be a local SMS charge to the sender. Even if the receiver is in a foreign country. That's because the sender has no control over the whereabouts of the receiver.

Whether the receiver is charged anything when he receives a SMS while he is roaming is another matter.

Most postpaid numbers are not charged anything ie. free. I don't get charged to receive any SMS from anywhere on my Starhub number when I'm roaming.

Prepaid... I only have Maxis prepaid and it is also free when I receive a SMS while roaming.

reign226
post Nov 3 2008, 05:26 PM

804 posts

OK thanks seantang for clearing that up. I suppose either Digi charges or that something screwed up the system.

I hope that they open up the network soon...the gov suggest to lower rates for calls and sms between Malaysia and Singapore, but now no more news.
cktwai
post Nov 3 2008, 07:38 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 3 2008, 08:25 AM)
Very wide question. Anything from $1500 to $150,000 or more, depending on experience and responsibilities.
hahaah very good answer rclxms.gif
ppppp
post Nov 4 2008, 01:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM)
I think, I might be wrong, but some opinions about employing Malaysian PR.  some compaines - no need NS for male employee, no need to excuse them unlike Singaporeans.  advantages as can be seen.  but again not all like that.  PR can have better bargaining terms like locals, at least, 13month bonus is must in SG law on top of bonus if any should company do well. 

If you look for SG Gov job, I don't think any difference because they employ based on qualification and requirement set.  Scholarship is not an issue, only think is, should you take up any busary or so, you are requried to work for a few years. 

However, PR nowadays only enjoy some form of subsidy at Gov medical clinics, not sure about hospital.  Unlike  in the past, PR enjoy better benefits than locals because there is no NS and whatever Singaproeans gain from Gov, they do.  Of course, when it comes to Gov's assistance package to help Singaporeans to get on with  living conditions, Inflation, recession, etc...  PR don't get anything.  SG Gov is giving out aids package again in Oct 08 to ease inflation and hardship, etc... only Singaporeans get it.
now aday PR in sin nt much benefit ..
PR too easy apply aldy ..no value at all
Hmmm...i also M'sian PR

J(o)y
post Nov 4 2008, 01:41 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM)
I think, I might be wrong, but some opinions about employing Malaysian PR.  some compaines - no need NS for male employee, no need to excuse them unlike Singaporeans.  advantages as can be seen.  but again not all like that.  PR can have better bargaining terms like locals, at least, 13month bonus is must in SG law on top of bonus if any should company do well. 

Is 13-mth bonus compulsory for SG PR?? (Btw, i know it means 1 month bonus, not 13 months)
seantang
post Nov 4 2008, 01:53 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ppppp @ Nov 4 2008, 01:29 PM)
now aday PR in sin nt much benefit ..
PR too easy apply aldy ..no value at all
Hmmm...i also M'sian PR
As compared to what? A citizen? Or a EP holder?

It's essentially a long term visa. Not a qualification or certification. You don't pay anything for it, and you can't sell it. What 'value' are you looking for, and how does the 'value' drop if it's easy to get?

reign226
post Nov 4 2008, 04:14 PM

804 posts

sorry guys, gotta post up an ad for awhile. I'm still looking for a roommate in Sg come Dec 1st...if anybody is interested let me know.

End.
seantang
post Nov 4 2008, 04:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 4 2008, 04:14 PM)
sorry guys, gotta post up an ad for awhile. I'm still looking for a roommate in Sg come Dec 1st...if anybody is interested let me know.
If you really look like your avatar, you should have no trouble finding a roomie.

nicvoo
post Nov 4 2008, 05:22 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

lol no prob at all

well u should at least tell where u will b staying or working at least ppl can offer sg big not big small not small u dun wan sumone wasting their time n effort offering u to stay at pasir ris while u work at jurong right
ppppp
post Nov 4 2008, 06:30 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 4 2008, 01:53 PM)
As compared to what? A citizen? Or a EP holder?

It's essentially a long term visa. Not a qualification or certification. You don't pay anything for it, and you can't sell it. What 'value' are you looking for, and how does the 'value' drop if it's easy to get?
you r wrong .when apply for PR u need to spent ard sin200-300 to apply it .
when you get it only valid for 5 yrs then after need yr employer letter to renew to 5-10 yrs unless u converted to citizen..all step need paying $$$...sin eveything no free .
last time children at childrecare - subsidy coming yr onwards no
Citizen upgrading house paying few thousand .PR sin10-30K ++
children study U -subsidy also withdrwal ...
Income tax paying same with citizen..
bbmars
post Nov 4 2008, 10:59 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Nov 4 2008, 01:41 PM)
Is 13-mth bonus compulsory for SG PR?? (Btw, i know it means 1 month bonus, not 13 months)
What it actually means, that bonus is the 13th month of the year. At the end of a 12 month cycle, you get an extra 1 month. That is on top of whatever extra bonuses should the company declare to be given away at the end of the year.
reign226
post Nov 5 2008, 11:28 AM

804 posts

Haha, my avatar is Leah Dizon la...

Looking around Jurong area (east and west). I found quite a few share rooms but all also need me to come up with my own people, so it's quite frustrating. Are there any other forums for people like me? LOL!
seantang
post Nov 5 2008, 02:18 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ppppp @ Nov 4 2008, 06:30 PM)
you r wrong .
I doubt it cool2.gif

QUOTE(ppppp)
when apply for PR u need to spent ard sin200-300 to apply it .
PR application fee is S$100. 5-year Malaysian driving licence is RM100. Is this what you call "paying" for the PR and you want to get "value" from this $100 payment?

QUOTE(ppppp)
when you get it only valid for 5 yrs then after need yr employer letter to renew to 5-10 yrs unless u converted to citizen..
Your PR is evergreen. Do they take away your blue IC after 5 years? No. It is your re-entry permit which needs to be renewed periodically. If you do not leave Singapore, you don't need a re-entry permit. And even if you do travel, you can get your Malaysian passport stamped just like any other tourist - if I'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(ppppp)
all step need paying $$$...sin eveything no free .
Fai wah (cantonese). Are these things (visas, PR applications etc) free in other countries?

QUOTE(ppppp)
last time children at childrecare - subsidy comingĀ  yr onwards no
Citizen upgrading house paying few thousand .PR sin10-30K ++
children study UĀ  -subsidy also withdrwal ...
Income tax paying same with citizen..
Why are you comparing PR to citizen? You only paid $100 for the PR and $10 a year for the re-entry permit. And you want the same rights and benefits as citizens for a 100 bucks?

I wonder what your feelings are (as a Malaysian) when Indonesians coming to Malaysia as adult migrants get blue ICs, land and bumiputra 'benefits' - when non-bumi Malaysians who have been in Malaysia for 5 generations cannot even get long term visas (much less PRs and work permits) for their foreign spouses.

If you are so concerned about paying the same tax and not getting the same benefits as a citizen... then become a citizen. That application is free (I think).

Otherwise, the real comparison is PR vs EP/WP.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 5 2008, 02:20 PM
reign226
post Nov 5 2008, 03:07 PM

804 posts

Well said, especially true about the Indonesian immigrants. In fact you should go to Sabah and witness first hand how people in their own state cannot get the same benefits as someone who just rowed here on a boat two weeks ago.
J(o)y
post Nov 5 2008, 08:23 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Nov 4 2008, 10:59 PM)
What it actually means, that bonus is the 13th month of the year.  At the end of a 12 month cycle, you get an extra 1 month. That is on top of whatever extra bonuses should the company declare to be given away at the end of the year.
Dude, i knew that. That's what i reiriterated in my bracket lar.

Im asking, whether isit by law PR must be offered 13 months salary? as opposed to the normaly 12 mths salary. I.e. whether PR really have such a privelage?
Find The Way
post Nov 5 2008, 09:25 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Nov 5 2008, 08:23 PM)
Dude, i knew that. That's what i reiriterated in my bracket lar.

Im asking, whether isit by law PR must be offered 13 months salary? as opposed to the normaly 12 mths salary. I.e. whether PR really have such a privelage?
I posted this question recently. Base on other forumer's input, 13th month in SG is common but not compulsory.
bbmars
post Nov 5 2008, 11:27 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Nov 5 2008, 09:25 PM)
I posted this question recently. Base on other forumer's input, 13th month in SG is common but not compulsory.
depends on your pay package. Singaporeans most will get in majority of the company... Compulsary? I am not sure, but I thought so for locals. uness on contract, so will depends on terms and condition.
deodorant
post Nov 6 2008, 08:54 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 5 2008, 02:18 PM)
... when Indonesians coming to Malaysia ... get ... bumiputra 'benefits' - when non-bumi Malaysians who have been in Malaysia for 5 generations can't get bumiputra benefits full-stop
Fixed biggrin.gif

130 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:56 PM