DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 12:06 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thank you Y.C.,
In fact moments ago,I have just finished installing a power switch and a white LED at the volume knob to indicate power on. wink.gif

You're taking a 2 months break? Giving time for the blister to heal? laugh.gif Just joking!! tongue.gif

Anyway, congrats! Your 1st.T-Amp is finally completed! Pretty good looking on the inside. Too bad you're gonna cover it up... Will this be used at your office or at home?

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Nov 10 2008, 10:54 PM)
Nice pre-amp, Jazzy.

And welcome to the TA2024 T-amp Club, March

One last picture (internal) of my 1st T-amp duly completed. I am putting away my tools now; my Rosewood jewellery box (casing), 3rd T-amp board which I already replaced some of the SMDs with discrete capacitors and resistors could wait. No more T-amp modding for at least the next 2 months.

[attachmentid=666258]
jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 12:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bsl,
thanks for the input but I'll find out if it is really 'very simple'! laugh.gif
just 'gatal tangan' want to do a PS. There are other so called simple circuits using some opamps like the infamous 5532s.. pix below. See lah if I have the 'mood' after this.
The T-Amp setup seems very well suited with CD based music. Am wondering how a TT would sounds like.

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 10 2008, 11:07 PM)
Not really THAT VSPS (very simple PS)!..unless you buy all the ready made main components and fit it all up together...thats the simple part of the project.  biggrin.gif
Actually some so called hi-end PS don't even come near it and moreover command a rediculously high price tag.
Split the PSU and phono stage to a 2 box design and it'll command even higher price tag.

TSxtorm
post Nov 11 2008, 02:11 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wow nice, really nice work on the casing Y.C. love those wbt style speaker terminal. how much are those? cant find any decent speaker terminal at JP.

jazzy, the buffer amp is tht nice huh!! wana try 1 soon, if i got the time tongue.gif nowadays come home lazy and most of the time watching drama or series only just to relax, even fall asleep doing some work on the pc...kakaka

hmm new board with thubbing sound? mayb due to larger inductor? i got no new boards to try tho, will keep 1 or 2 pieces if there is left over since it is using better inductor i think.
ongbs
post Nov 11 2008, 02:21 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Nov 11 2008, 02:11 AM)
wow nice, really nice work on the casing Y.C. love those wbt style speaker terminal. how much are those? cant find any decent speaker terminal at JP.

jazzy, the buffer amp is tht nice huh!! wana try 1 soon, if i got the time tongue.gif nowadays come home lazy and most of the time watching drama or series only just to relax, even fall asleep doing some work on the pc...kakaka

you are my "saver" bro....
I am almost typing the same sentence as yours tongue.gif

Especially this part:
"nowadays come home lazy and most of the time watching drama or series only just to relax, even fall asleep doing some work on the pc...kakaka"

You guys burning a few hundred of hours of your T-amp while mine were left in power off state since a few hundred of hours ago cry.gif
Reason? family...works....bla..bla...bla...don't even have enough time for sleep lately, don't think about burning amp sweat.gif yawn.gif

That's why I hardly post in this thread now sad.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Nov 11 2008, 02:22 AM
jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 04:25 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bro ongbs,
not to worry.. we will at times be in the similar position too.
thanks for dropping in! wink.gif
TSxtorm
post Nov 11 2008, 09:20 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hmm today seems to be free tho...haha

the buffer preamp is tht small huh!! can it be use with 12v? i guess no, any other buffer pre-amp using 12v? i think it will be easier tht way
jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 11:54 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
infact the board can be made even smaller! BTW, the working voltage of the JFET can be higher! So I don't see any problem with 12V... want to use in the car, huh? tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Nov 11 2008, 09:20 AM)
hmm today seems to be free tho...haha

the buffer preamp is tht small huh!! can it be use with 12v? i guess no, any other buffer pre-amp using 12v? i think it will be easier tht way
Y.C.
post Nov 11 2008, 12:37 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Jazzy, Xtorm and Ongbs,
Thanks. We are the 4 guys active in this thread at its start, now I am also feeling the 'burnt-out' effect and diy-ing plus going to JP are stealing away my already limited time with family after long hours at work, hence no more modding them other than to replace the RM2.50 JP Alpha vol pot in my 2nd T-amp with an Alps RK097 unit after its arrival. Now only Jazzy appears to be going strong and venturing into the next level(s)... Bravo. rclxms.gif

The whole T-amp episode has also made me some RM800 poorer (incl acquisition of new soldering iron, tools and extra unused parts) and not to mention I burned a JVC speaker in my office during testing of my 1st T-amp, part and parcel of newbie diy-ing electronics. However, I must say I have had some great time assembling and tweaking the TA2024 T-amps and most important of all, the sheer pleasure of listening to them sing. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Nov 11 2008, 12:40 PM
Dybre
post Nov 11 2008, 12:57 PM

393 posts

sorry to ask, i'm newbie with this amp. is this some kind of DAC?
jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 01:24 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Dybre,
This is NOT a DAC (Digital Analogue Converter). The TA2024 is a digital hybrid amplifier, a class T as Tripath, the manufacturer calls it. A Class D for the others. If you were to read (I know its too darn long), the board came pre-assembled just requiring few external parts and connections to make it work.

Added on November 11, 2008, 1:29 pmY.C.,
Thanks for the 'update' and I can understand the situation. Take a break bro.. guess you need it! laugh.gif

On my side I just will continue on with what I already had and planned, and will drop in and update the thread as and when is necessary. Honestly I have never put in so much effort in an amp! Also I am not bothered to count how much I have spent in the project.. What matter most is the enjoyment and excitement that I had while building the amp, meeting and getting to know you guys.. and sharing the pleasures of the T-Amp sonics together.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Nov 11 2008, 01:29 PM
bsl555
post Nov 11 2008, 02:59 PM

8,046 posts

Caught you saying: tongue.gif
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Nov 11 2008, 01:24 PM)
Dybre,
This is NOT a DAC (Digital Analogue Converter). The TA2024 is a digital hybrid amplifier, a class T blah, blah blah
Just say upmarket brand of chip amplifier meant for car stereo's lah, and its really cheap to build up, have some fun with it, and result with our fellow forumer here Y.C., RM800 poorer learning the ropes of it all. (the fun as bonus of course!) tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 11 2008, 02:59 PM
March05
post Nov 11 2008, 06:18 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Nov 11 2008, 02:59 PM)
..the fun as bonus of course!
Oh my, I've already pumped in nearly RM1K for my TA2022s and the recently acquired TA2024s. And I haven't even started an modding yet! Wonder how much more I'll be putting in for the cases and the peripherals like RCA sockets, volume pots, switches, etc. Exciting, ain't it? laugh.gif
Y.C.
post Nov 11 2008, 07:23 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

We finally got to know what bsl thought of our T-amp. tongue.gif

I still think a world of the T-amps especially our TA2024 board with my own configuration. I have been listening extensively to my 1st T-amp at home without its casing proper all these while and to my 2nd unit in the office of late. I'm just getting a little jaded with forever having to go JP to buy parts and spend the little time I have besides work fitting them instead of sitting back to enjoy the 'fruits'. The RM800 I spent are for 3 units of T-amp plus tools plus extra parts. laugh.gif

WP reviewed the Sonic Impact T-amp in Stereophile; he found magic with it driving a USD5,200 pair of Dynaudio Special 25. Read the review here.

jazzy939
post Nov 11 2008, 11:59 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Thanks for the link! Nothing new to us anyway.. wink.gif
If it is, then the T-Amp is one heck of a 'car stereo amplifier',right? brows.gif
Certainly put to shame many hifi amps many times the price laugh.gif

For what it is worth, what ever amount of $$$ that I put in, there were no regrets. It is worth every sen, effort and lost sleep that I invested in return for the fun, pleasure, experience and the sound that I finally have. I certainly went overboard with the casing! tongue.gif It deserved to be properly housed to reflect the SQ that it is producing. So good that I have retired my two Technics amps in favour of the T-Amps thumbup.gif
No, the Technics are not for sale wink.gif

bro March,
You can take a minimalist approach if you want to keep the cost down. Simple/plastic casings are available from JP. I did use that temporarily for my buffer pre-amp although I did plan to use the same casing for the pre-amp biggrin.gif It all depends on my final configuration as I earlier stated on my pre-amp plans..
Come to think of it, I have a discrete amp mounted on a plank! Is that bare or what! laugh.gif

I hate to see this thread coming to an end but its inevitable, right? Like they used to say, "All good things will come to an end.." Sooner or later...

Gnite all..

March05
post Nov 12 2008, 08:56 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:59 PM)
bro March,
You can take a minimalist approach if you want to keep the cost down. ...
Come to think of it, I have a discrete amp mounted on a plank! Is that bare or what! laugh.gif
jazzy bro, my TA2022s're still mounted on a piece of ceramic tile...and I reckon I won't change a thing until I come across a nice casing I really, really like (which may never happen. BTW I have seen one strong contender - yours!). Of the 2 new TA2024s I have acquired, I don't think I will do any mods (yet). One piece will be turned into a general purpose portable amp to carry around everywhere. The other will likely go into my much abused utility 4WD vehicle (finally, an `upmarket' sound in my car on those midnight stargazing trips to the middle of nowhere). brows.gif

kww
post Nov 12 2008, 10:24 AM

320 posts

I am getting my T-amp tonight. Already order about RM70 of parts for it. Hahaha.
Y.C.
post Nov 12 2008, 01:41 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

My take on this is, it does not need to be like that.

For those of us who have been through the whole experience and are currently enjoying the 'fruits' of our labour, we would not be reaffirming how good or how bad the sound is. We would contribute from time to time if we do come across something 'new'.

Then, there are the newcomers. Ideally, they should find whatever info they are seeking from the comments already made in earlier pages but then most of time they will ask question and we could then contribute and share our experiences with them.

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:59 PM)
........I hate to see this thread coming to an end but its inevitable, right? Like they used to say, "All good things will come to an end.." Sooner or later...

IMHO, do at least replace those input capacitors and you will enjoy the TA2024s much more.
QUOTE(March05 @ Nov 12 2008, 08:56 AM)
......Of the 2 new TA2024s I have acquired, I don't think I will do any mods (yet). One piece will be turned into a general purpose portable amp to carry around everywhere. The other will likely go into my much abused utility 4WD vehicle ..........

Welcome to the club. I believe you will not regret your actions. Enjoy.
We should not be a miser and then quickly pass judgement that the T-amp is of no good in the sonics department.
QUOTE(kww @ Nov 12 2008, 10:24 AM)
I am getting my T-amp tonight. Already order about RM70 of parts for it. Hahaha.

March05
post Nov 12 2008, 06:41 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Nov 12 2008, 01:41 PM)
IMHO, do at least replace those input capacitors and you will enjoy the TA2024s much more. 
Don't worry, Y.C.. I've caught the bug. Only not so serious lah. I will, sooner or later, do some mods. But I'll only do it once - the more times I try it, the more the chance I'll screw up. sweat.gif So I've got to first decide on the exact caps I'm going for, buy or steal them, and then it's time to heat up that rather lonely soldering iron.....

BTW, I think xtorm is considering moving this to version 2 soon as it is now much too long for newbies to read and comprehend. So the LYN T-amp club will still live on.

This post has been edited by March05: Nov 12 2008, 06:41 PM
jazzy939
post Nov 12 2008, 07:05 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bro March,
Do keep us posted with your progress biggrin.gif Just a query here, will you be using a passive or active preamp with your TA2024?

xtorm,
A V2 would be timely as this is a rather long thread for the newbies, I agree! tongue.gif

BTW, would there be a 3rd. TT Session? hmm.gif

Dybre
post Nov 12 2008, 07:55 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(Dybre @ Nov 11 2008, 01:57 PM)
sorry to ask, i'm newbie with this amp. is this some kind of DAC?
So basically, could this be used as headphone amp?

134 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:04 PM