DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

Y.C.
post Oct 14 2008, 11:17 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Jazzy,
I will do just that and assemble the 50K ohm passive pre-amp neatly into a small casing.

We have yet to finalise the time for our T/T session ya? How about we have it after lunch say from 3.00 - 6.00PM? (opened for discussion to all who are coming to the session).

Guys, apart from listening to various T-amps after different mods were carried out onto a same board (TA2024) besides March's different T-amp (TA-2022), we hope to brainstorm and share the sonic traits of the T-amp vs other commercial amps plus other aspects of music playback. And of course our Teh Tarik or Nescafe Tarik plus snacks.

Venue: Y.C.'s office

Location: 22-2 Jalan USJ 10/1, Taipan Triangle, 47620 Subang Jaya, Selangor D.E. (same row as McDonalds, Herbs&Food and Guardian; opposite Nasi Kandar Kayu Pulau Pinang and directly above Hong Leong Bank)

Time: 3.00 - 6.00PM tentatively proposed and subject to agreement by all.

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 14 2008, 08:43 PM)
Y.C.,
You go right ahead with your pre-amp ie getting the extra pair RCA plugs.

I already have a 100K one.. well I think I do.. lemme check.. wink.gif It was done awhile back.
So we're gonna have 2 passive pre-amp for the session! biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 15 2008, 12:19 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I am okay with 1500-1800hrs timing schedule.
TSxtorm
post Oct 15 2008, 11:39 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

should be ok with me too, goto check with the spoke person...hehehehe
yennshin
post Oct 15 2008, 11:48 AM

112 posts

hey bro xtorm, tested all 3 of my boards yesterday and they're fine...
thanks alot, and bling too for the hardwork ^^
gabanyayaya
post Oct 15 2008, 07:24 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 15 2008, 12:17 AM)
Jazzy,
I will do just that and assemble the 50K ohm passive pre-amp neatly into a small casing.

We have yet to finalise the time for our T/T session ya? How about we have it after lunch say from 3.00 - 6.00PM? (opened for discussion to all who are coming to the session).

Guys, apart from listening to various T-amps after different mods were carried out onto a same board (TA2024) besides March's different T-amp (TA-2022), we hope to brainstorm and share the sonic traits of the T-amp vs other commercial amps plus other aspects of music playback. And of course our Teh Tarik or Nescafe Tarik plus snacks.

Venue: Y.C.'s office

Location: 22-2 Jalan USJ 10/1, Taipan Triangle, 47620 Subang Jaya, Selangor D.E. (same row as McDonalds, Herbs&Food and Guardian; opposite Nasi Kandar Kayu Pulau Pinang and directly above Hong Leong Bank)

Time: 3.00 - 6.00PM tentatively proposed and subject to agreement by all.
bro Y.C, this place..... is it near the white town coffee and perwira affin bank????
Y.C.
post Oct 15 2008, 07:31 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Yes, bro Gabanyayaya, it is just nearby and around the corner.

You could see "Herbs & Food" from "Old Town White Coffee Shop" itself; 6 or 7 shops away from there.
QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Oct 15 2008, 07:24 PM)
bro Y.C, this place..... is it near the white town coffee and perwira affin bank????

bsl555
post Oct 15 2008, 07:43 PM

8,046 posts

A Google earth placemark or coordinate would be very helpful, unless people here still don't know about Google Earth program.
Or..just announce there's a set of Sonus Faber doorgift for free, YOU BET every dollar, everyone knows how to get there in time without any help.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 15 2008, 07:45 PM
Y.C.
post Oct 15 2008, 07:57 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

It is a humorous comment from you, bsl. tongue.gif

First, my admission: I have yet to learn how to make use of Google Earth program and secondly, there would not be any Sonus Faber door gift for free. We hope to see you there on Saturday afternoon. smile.gif

March05
post Oct 15 2008, 08:20 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 15 2008, 07:57 PM)
First, my admission: I have yet to learn how to make use of Google Earth program...
Try this: http://www.wikimapia.org/#lat=3.0479488&lo...=18&l=0&m=a&v=2

Just a bit of adjustment...I have placed the cross/cursor right in the box where Hong Leong Bank is. Mouse over it and the name will appear.

This post has been edited by March05: Oct 15 2008, 08:29 PM
Y.C.
post Oct 15 2008, 08:36 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Thank you very much, March nod.gif

jazzy939
post Oct 15 2008, 08:39 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

What? no Sonus Faber door gift? tongue.gif
Anyway, thats a good one bsl! laugh.gif
Hopefully Y.C's place can accommodate the anticipated crowd wink.gif

wui223
post Oct 15 2008, 09:55 PM

941 posts

bro jazzy, how is ur preamp going?
gabanyayaya
post Oct 15 2008, 10:44 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

No need for Googleling lah....I'm very much familiar at that spot....always go there for my 'shopping' spree....

Y.C any dessert or tidbits ???
jazzy939
post Oct 15 2008, 11:11 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

wui,
The 100k passive one is ready but but other preamp project is currently 'onhold' due to work commitments.
I have an 'active' preamp kit but like bsl was saying, that might 'color' the T-Amp and may not represent the true sound of our T-Amps on test...

How's your T-amp?

QUOTE(wui223 @ Oct 15 2008, 09:55 PM)
bro jazzy, how is ur preamp going?
bsl555
post Oct 15 2008, 11:24 PM

8,046 posts

Caught you saying:
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:11 PM)
like bsl was saying, that might 'color' the T-Amp and may not represent the true sound of our T-Amps on test...
Errr.. quoting me and believing my view again? An active pre-amp may also enhance the sound and dynamics for more enjoyment lah. Depending on my mood, I periodically switch among 3 kinds of pre-amplifier to obtain a variety of color and tone. A passive pre can sometimes result in the music sounding on the lean side...thats primarily because the input sensitivity of a pure power amplifier is much lower than an integrated amplifier. More often, a power amp is designed to match with an active pre-amplifier.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 15 2008, 11:30 PM
wui223
post Oct 15 2008, 11:53 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:11 PM)
wui,
The 100k passive one is ready but but other preamp project is currently 'onhold' due to work commitments.
I have an 'active' preamp kit but like bsl was saying, that might 'color' the T-Amp and may not represent the true sound of our T-Amps on test...

How's your T-amp?
My T-amp is running well so far. i use a volume pot in t-amp, could that be considered passive preamp also? i am running t-amp as my PC amp now, movie and music with it all the time. force my siblings to use it as to burn in. it should have reach 100 hours ald, since sometime my bro forgot to turn it off at the midnight tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 16 2008, 12:12 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bsl,
It's not a matter of believing, rather an accepted logical reasoning that was given by you previously.
I use an active pre-amp with myT-amp all the time. It matches well with what I have. During the session we're on a different setup. An active pre-amp may or may not result in a better sounding music.
Your original proposal was interpreted that it would be better to use a passive, otherwise all the modifications that we did may not be obvious.. and that was the main objective of the TT Session, ie to listen to the different modifications.
Betul tak, sifu? tongue.gif

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:24 PM)
Caught you saying:
Errr.. quoting me and believing my view again? An active pre-amp may also enhance the sound and dynamics for more enjoyment lah. Depending on my mood, I periodically switch among 3 kinds of pre-amplifier to obtain a variety of color and tone. A passive pre can sometimes result in the music sounding on the lean side...thats primarily because the input sensitivity of a pure power amplifier is much lower than an integrated amplifier. More often, a power amp is designed to match with an active pre-amplifier.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 16 2008, 09:04 AM
TSxtorm
post Oct 16 2008, 01:24 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wah active, no active, cap, no cap lots of stuff...kekeke. must be a very happening TT this time rclxm9.gif
bsl555
post Oct 16 2008, 11:43 PM

8,046 posts

Hey guys, I won't be able to attend. Ada lain hal during this weekend. Even Amcorp Mall picnic too I've to skip again.
Enjoy yourselves ya!.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 16 2008, 11:44 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 16 2008, 11:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

alamak, so busy ah bsl? was hoping you will be around.. tongue.gif
hey Y.C., may be that door give will make bsl change his mind? laugh.gif

134 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top