bsl555
post Oct 16 2008, 11:53 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:49 PM)
alamak, so busy ah bsl? was hoping you will be around.. tongue.gif
hey Y.C., may be that door give will make bsl change his mind? laugh.gif
Sorry again guys. Absolutely have to be elsewhere that morning onwards till late.
Door gift...nevermind.. I pass. sad.gif

jazzy939
post Oct 17 2008, 12:04 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Understood bsl.. next time round, eh? wink.gif
Y.C.
post Oct 17 2008, 12:28 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

Err, even the Sonus Faber door gift would not be able to tempt you to change your mind? hmm.gif

On a more serious note however, we should not be over imposing our invitation although we sincerely would love to have you around in our T-amp session. Perhaps another time as Jazzy has put it. smile.gif

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:43 PM)
Hey guys, I won't be able to attend. Ada lain hal during this weekend.........
Enjoy yourselves ya!..  smile.gif

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 16 2008, 11:49 PM)
hey Y.C., may be that door give will make bsl change his mind? laugh.gif

TSxtorm
post Oct 17 2008, 12:29 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hope my work at site wont drag me too long, doing some troubler shooting, so hopefully all well.

but no tube pre-amp tho, no time to pick it up in klang
Y.C.
post Oct 17 2008, 12:34 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

You are the main star of our T-amp T/T session and better be there, else we would re-schedule it just to accomodate you. tongue.gif

It is okay with the tube pre-amp, we would do away with it till our next session to be hosted by Jazzy in due course.

QUOTE(xtorm @ Oct 17 2008, 12:29 AM)
hope my work at site wont drag me too long, doing some troubler shooting, so hopefully all well.

but no tube pre-amp tho, no time to pick it up in klang

jazzy939
post Oct 17 2008, 01:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Oh yes, you better be around, xtorm! tongue.gif

My turn next session? ohmy.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 17 2008, 12:34 AM)
You are the main star of our T-amp T/T session and better be there, else we would re-schedule it just to accomodate you.  tongue.gif

It is okay with the tube pre-amp, we would do away with it till our next session to be hosted by Jazzy in due course.
PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 04:41 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

had come across building this tamp with stock configuration except added rectifier on the power input, alps pot, and heatzink for the Tamp chip.. as i accidentally killed a klipsch promedia ultra 2.0 speaker internal amp by mistakely plug in the wrong polarity of the speaker. hence, the klipsch were modified into passive speaker with banana plugs to be driven using this T-amp.

i had mainly using this as my portable setup for roughly a month as currently i spend most of my time in lab. hence this will be perfect for me as the whole amp + speaker setup can easily fit into normal bag. so this will be my portable hifi setup.

Mini Amp + Mini "floor stander" form factor speaker + Portable player (zune) + Short speaker cable.

the 4 banana plug terminal is the most heavy things for the whole amp. all the other component added up still not as heavy as the 4 banana plug terminal. lol.

Internal picture

speaker cable.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Oct 17 2008, 05:26 AM
jazzy939
post Oct 17 2008, 06:20 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

PcWork,
Good job there! Just by looking at the cables I knew it was you! laugh.gif
You're running a stock T-Amp but with your cables.. wonder how much different if compared to a stock T-Amp with 'normal' cables.. hmm.gif
Will you be joining us tomorrow? wink.gif
PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 06:38 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i think tomorrow i can't join lah.
i not yet sleep since yesterday..
feel really tired. brain can't think already hence i come and post picture. lol

mikoblackcat
post Oct 17 2008, 08:38 AM

Nice... I am getting a T amp soon.. and it will be driven by a diy tube pre-amp (I actually had it long time ago). I also have the vintage CORAL 8A-40 full range driver but no enclosure yet..
jazzy939
post Oct 17 2008, 09:04 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

hi mikoblackcat,
soon as in 'batch 5' ? how soon is that? tongue.gif

Can you give some details of your DIY tube pre-amp..? TQ.

QUOTE(mikoblackcat @ Oct 17 2008, 08:38 AM)
Nice... I am getting a T amp soon.. and it will be driven by a diy tube pre-amp (I actually had it long time ago). I also have the vintage CORAL 8A-40 full range driver but no enclosure yet..
Y.C.
post Oct 17 2008, 10:29 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

PcWork,
Great pictures and neat handiwork  thumbup.gif
How do you like the sound of your T-amp? Share with us?
And as for your speaker cables, their weaving looks like Kimberkable but what are they?

Welcome aboard, Mikoblackcat.
You are collecting your T-amp in a day or two?

Jazzy,
I do not know whether if we were to push our T-amp T/T session to next weekend, would we have more people attending it? So far the only people having confirmed they are coming are Jazzy, Gabanyayaya, March, Xtorm and Y.C., did I missed out anyone?

On my part, the full discrete T-amp is not completed yet with some capacitors in Vishay MKT1822 2.2uF and Panasonic FM 470uF arriving from Farnell next week.

What say all, do we carry on as planned or we postphone our t/t session to the following weekend?

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Oct 17 2008, 12:47 PM
PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 12:50 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 17 2008, 10:29 AM)
PcWork,
Great pictures and neat handiwork  thumbup.gif
How do you like the sound of your T-amp? Share with us?
And as for the speaker cables, are they Kimber?

Welcome aboard, Mikoblackcat.
You are collecting your T-amp in a day or two?

Jazzy,
I do not whether if we were to push our T-amp T/T session to next weekend, would we have more people attending it? So far the people having indicated they coming are Jazzy, Gabanyayaya, March, Xtorm and Y.C., did I missed out anyone?

What say all, do we carry on as planned or we postphone our session to the following weekend?
so far. as compared to my NAD 3020A (which i usually use the amp to drive my klipsch for internet radio at home)
the T-amp has lesser bass. and slightly narrower soundstage. but overall. it's superb considering it's size. as NAD were at least 10X the size of this T-amp. and the t-amp is hell portable for me.
and i really appriciate i can have more "hifi" sound in lab. i never miss my headphone at all as i have this set of portable setup.
so currently a lot of my headphone were stored in a cabinet.
and one of the reason the t-amp loose to NAD were that the klipsch is actually quite hard to drive. it is even harder to drive than my Tannoy bookshelve speaker.
and default internet amp supplied 15W for each channel.

the speaker cable is not kimber. it's DIY by myself with some cable imported from canada.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Oct 17 2008, 12:51 PM
Y.C.
post Oct 17 2008, 01:21 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

PcWork,
It would be great if you could join us in our t/t session so you could listen to the same amplifier with different configurations and see which you like most.
I have associated myself with many amplifiers in the past and in my opinion, the T-amp is way ahead of NAD amplifiers (no offence intended) but you must replace both its input and power rail capacitors on board. For input caps, I would recommend 2.2uF ones whereas for those on the power rail, 470uF.

You could read about my view of the T-amp here: listening to T-amp and further development

PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 01:57 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

well but i am not sure about other NAD. my NAD3020 had been refurbished. and i seriously think it's no fight between the NAD VS T-amp. the NAD is better in term of dynamic. better sound stage, more fuller sound, and much better control especially in orchestra music. and tonality of the NAD seems much accurate than the T-amp.
both amp were tested using VDH D102.

perhaps on your music, you seems like T-amp more. but i guess in any aspect. i will say that the NAD is more suitable for my personal taste, and the music i heard. however. T-amp is superb as it's portable.
i will do the modification as you mentioned and shall update with you the improvement. but it couldn't be done within this two weeks as i am heck busy. it is glad to know that the t-amp still has room of improvement, i also wish to max out the t-amp performance. with the hope i could has better sound in my lab. =)
thanks a lot for the recommendation.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Oct 17 2008, 02:00 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 17 2008, 02:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I think next week would be more apt, in the sense that more would be able to make it, bsl included hopefully..
My vote for next week? YES!

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 17 2008, 10:29 AM)
PcWork,

Jazzy,
I do not know whether if we were to push our T-amp T/T session to next weekend, would we have more people attending it? So far the only people having confirmed they are coming are Jazzy, Gabanyayaya, March, Xtorm and Y.C., did I missed out anyone?

On my part, the full discrete T-amp is not completed yet with some capacitors in Vishay MKT1822 2.2uF and Panasonic FM 470uF arriving from Farnell next week.

What say all, do we carry on as planned or we postphone our t/t session to the following weekend?
Y.C.
post Oct 17 2008, 02:26 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

PcWork,
You certainly do have great attitude. thumbup.gif
The views expressed in my blog are solely mine and not meant to be imposed onto others.

Jazzy,
Thank you so much for your understanding. smile.gif
I wonder how the rest of guys would take to the postphonement of our first t/t session. I was also looking forward to bsl joining us as a nuetral observer and listener, maybe we could succeed in spreading some T-amp poison to him as well. hmm.gif laugh.gif

bsl555
post Oct 17 2008, 03:07 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 17 2008, 02:26 PM)
maybe we could succeed in spreading some T-amp poison to him as well.  hmm.gif  laugh.gif
Thanks but no thanks in me doing up a T-amp in future, primarily because I've no need for anymore amplifiers.
I've already had enough fun with DIY amps in the past. I could always pop by to March05's place to listen if there's any opportunity. About next week, I'm also foreseeing not able to come to your party. Wrong timing and a lingering issue at this point of time I've no choice but address it on weekend. Yes, Amcorp Mall stint may again be dismissed. My apologies.
PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 05:04 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

by the way. it is strongly recommended to add a heat sink at the t-amp chip. i notice that before i add heatsink, the ratio of bass VS mid VS treble sounds slightly different at low volume and high volume. i assume it is caused by the heat of the t-amp chip hence at louder volume. the treble seems to be fatigue to ear, and lesser bass at louder volume. but it is solved with just added a heatsink.
worth to try though. else. it might as well pro-long the life of the amp.
definately worth trying.

March05
post Oct 17 2008, 05:35 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

For me, I think TT postponed to next weekend is a bit better. But if it is to be tomorrow, I will still be happy to come! Don't know why, suddenly this week ending so busy.......

134 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:42 AM