129 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Hobbies BONSAI MALAYSIA, here we talk abt bonsai art

zabel8484
post Apr 3 2013, 07:06 AM

made a first shaping to the Buxus harlandii that Bonsailelong gave it to me months back..
thanks Bonsailelong!
proton-wira
post Apr 3 2013, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Apr 2 2013, 11:09 PM)
thumbup.gif

Hi Proton-wira,

Concerning about your boxwood, firstly I would like to say is I don't know much about the climate up there in your region.
All I can tell you about boxwood is growing in the hot wet climate in my country only.
Boxwood is a fiber root plant and grow well in loose soil with higher humus content but not water logged. During the dry season it got to be well watered.
I found that it grows better in a shallow wide pot rather than in deep big pot. Boxwood is absolutely an outdoor plant but can't be exposed to the hot blazing sun full day.
My boxwood are placed in between 2 palm trees and the hot afternoon sun is sheltered off. They only expose to the morning and evening sunshine.
As for application of fertilizer, I use urea-N46. dissolving 2 table spoon full of the N46 in 3 liter of water and apply once every 2 weeks. urea N46 give extra nitrogen
to all the plants and make the foliage greener, look fresh and healthy.
By looking at the photos of your boxwood, I suggest you look into the roots of your plant. As boxwood is fiber root plant, it can get root diseases easily. If so, you will
have to re pot and change all the soil. Or ... could it be over application of fertilizer? On the whole, I suggest you re pot your boxwood but try not to cut away much of their roots.
unless they are infested, and cut away all the dry branches and let them grow again.

Good luck to Buxus harlandii !  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi Bonsailelong
Thank you very much for your usefull advises. I will try to save the trees

Stephagorn
post Apr 6 2013, 06:30 AM

Hi All,

It has been quite a while since my last post.

WOW! You all have been fairly busy. Lately I've only had time to keep my plants alive and watered. I did manage to source a few cuttings here and there.

@ Bonsailelong. The Camelthorns are still growing quite happily. I have essentially let them all just grow wild as I realized their trunk thickness are not suitable and will probably not thicken up in the pots especially if pruned often. I also plan to plant then in the ground to speed things up. I should post some pictures.

The purple stars are also going well. They have been constantly flowering until I recently planted them in the ground in my garden. They are now beginning to show signs if new budding and I hope beautiful flowers will follow soon.

The boxwood gift from Bonsailelong is also happily growing along. full of new foliage and budding. Will give it some more time before it's first styling under my hand.

Yesterday, after quite some time of not getting my itchy hands on some bonsai material, I bought 2 fairly big water jasmines from a local Muar nursery. They are both raw material, but have nice thick trunks and well developed surface roots. The next free day I get I be doing an initial styling on them. Now just looking at them and considering what can be done.

This will be my first attempt at water jasmine.

Let me know your advice on Do's or Dont's for the Sui Mei

infrasonic
post Apr 6 2013, 03:57 PM

--
648 posts

my first styling! rclxm9.gif
felt so proud altho not very good biggrin.gif
got 1 branch finally grow new leaves liao, but then when i wiring just now accidentally removed it again..

before

after

any tips for me to improve? nod.gif
Bonsailelong
post Apr 6 2013, 06:50 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi Stephagorn,

Good to know that you are around, It's a long time has not heard from you, we though you has gone back to S Africa.
Anyway, good buy and enjoy your bonsai-ing! rclxms.gif

Finally you have try something Infrasonic, keep it up.
BTW, why not you get the boxwood from g400 ?
infrasonic
post Apr 6 2013, 06:56 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Apr 6 2013, 06:50 PM)
thumbup.gif

Hi Stephagorn,

Good to know that you are around, It's a long time has not heard from you, we though you has gone back to S Africa.
Anyway, good buy and enjoy your bonsai-ing!  rclxms.gif 

Finally you have try something Infrasonic, keep it up.
BTW, why not you get the boxwood from g400 ?
hehe thanks to you coz last time u showed me how to style it thumbup.gif
my parents wouldn't let me go out lool..i'm still a pmr student anyways~~
but still, thanks for the boxwood..really appreciate it
Bonsailelong
post Apr 6 2013, 07:05 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Bought some pots from Sanfong today after work.

Can't wait to re pot my tradisional Chinese style Water Jasmine.

In a new pot.

hmm.gif ... Oh my God! What an awful choice ! doh.gif blush.gif

Will look for a more suitable one next week.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Apr 6 2013, 07:10 PM
Bonsailelong
post Apr 6 2013, 07:25 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Another traditional Chinese style water jasmine.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

What do you guys say about this one blush.gif

Attached Image hmm.gif shakehead.gif .. looks a little unbalance right?! doh.gif
Bonsailelong
post Apr 7 2013, 09:21 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Chinese pagoda water jasmine in new pot.

Attached Image smile.gif

An upright bloom style pre bonsai grown from air layering.

Attached Image ...still need a lot more time.

g400g400
post Apr 8 2013, 01:35 PM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

Got back home, a couple of days, busy tidying up my bonsai.. all grow wild like bushes.. sweat.gif

BTW, the auto watering system, works only 80-90%... cry.gif one pot of serissa dead and gone... cry.gif cry.gif
Anyway, could be my problem maybe....

But to my surprise, yesterday, a friend give me a big pot of Huang Yang.. in return for a favour i help him...

Here's how it look.. dunno how to shape yet... rclxub.gif whistling.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by g400g400: Apr 8 2013, 01:36 PM
Bonsailelong
post Apr 8 2013, 04:52 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Apr 8 2013, 01:35 PM)
Got back home, a couple of days, busy tidying up my bonsai.. all grow wild like bushes..  sweat.gif

BTW, the auto watering system, works only 80-90%... cry.gif  one pot of serissa dead and gone... cry.gif  cry.gif
Anyway, could be my problem maybe....

But to my surprise, yesterday, a friend give me a big pot of Huang Yang.. in return for a favour i help him...

Here's how it look.. dunno how to shape yet... rclxub.gif  whistling.gif  rclxms.gif

thumbup.gif
Good big bloom style!
Stephagorn
post Apr 9 2013, 12:49 AM

Had some time today to tackle one of the Sui Mei.

I repotted it into a training pot with bonsai soil.
Trimmed some roots.
Flared the nebari into position.
Initial pruning but no wiring or styling yet.

Ill give the tree some time to recover and make new shoots before the next round.

Let me know what you all think.
Bonsailelong
post Apr 9 2013, 08:30 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Stephagorn @ Apr 9 2013, 12:49 AM)
Had some time today to tackle one of the Sui Mei.

I repotted it into a training pot with bonsai soil.
Trimmed some roots.
Flared the nebari into position.
Initial pruning but no wiring or styling yet.

Ill give the tree some time to recover and make new shoots before the next round.

Let me know what you all think.
thumbup.gif

No photos?
Stephagorn
post Apr 9 2013, 04:16 PM

Had some trouble uploading pictures... Now managed to get it.

Will add some descriptions also:

Rootball just taken out of the plastic... plenty of roots

Busy reducing the rootball and combing out the soil from the roots I'm keeping.

In its new training pot with nice new free draining bonsai soil. Soaking it through in bucket of water after repotting.

Those satay sticks is an attempt at nebari training. I've pocked them into the soil to keep the surface roots in the position i want them. I covered the new surface roots lightly with loose soil.

Let the copping commence:

After quite a brutal pruning this is what I left. Still need more pruning to be done, but i left myself with some options open. (once its cut its gone) So, no rush.

Another angle of the tree after pruning.

Still another angle...

From the top. This view give you all a better idea of the branching structure of the tree.

As you can see, I have not done any wiring or styling as I think I need to give the tree a rest to recover from the shock.

How soon after such a severe root and branch pruning should I go back for a round 2 pruning, wiring and styling on a Sui Mei?

Hope you like... Let me know what you think

Stephagorn
post Apr 9 2013, 04:19 PM

BTW how come it rotates my pictures to be landscape??? Did so previously too. In my laptop the pics are the correct orientation?
infrasonic
post Apr 9 2013, 04:24 PM

--
648 posts

try upload it to imgur.com
then use the image button when you create post to upload it
Stephagorn
post Apr 9 2013, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Apr 9 2013, 04:24 PM)
try upload it to imgur.com
then use the image button when you create post to upload it
Thanks...

I'll try that for my next picture post.
Bonsailelong
post Apr 10 2013, 09:17 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Stephagorn @ Apr 9 2013, 05:51 PM)
Thanks...

I'll try that for my next picture post.
thumbup.gif

Here's my suggestion

Attached Image and defoliate all the leaves, let new leaves grow out.

Stephagorn
post Apr 11 2013, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Apr 10 2013, 09:17 AM)
thumbup.gif

Here's my suggestion

Attached Image and defoliate all the leaves, let new leaves grow out.
Thank you for the suggestion.

Can I do this now, or wait a while for the tree to recover the first pruning?
Bonsailelong
post Apr 12 2013, 08:25 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Stephagorn @ Apr 11 2013, 09:57 AM)
Thank you for the suggestion.

Can I do this now, or wait a while for the tree to recover the first pruning?
thumbup.gif

You should do it now, in a month's time new shoots will be budding out all over, then select the the branches you
want to keep, let them grow bigger before wiring and bend to the shape you like.

129 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:08 AM